BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 45 counties of Middle Tennessee and Southern Kentucky

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1990

Wehby Plumbing & Heating Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (615) 255-7424Fax: (615) 255-7832View Additional Phone Numbers510 27th Avenue North, NashvilleTN 37209 Send email to Wehby Plumbing & Heating Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1990

BBB has determined that Wehby Plumbing & Heating Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Wehby Plumbing & Heating Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wehby Plumbing & Heating Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
12/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Improper installation of tankless water heater resulted in additional repairs. Vendor was not agreeable to resolving issue.

***** Plumbing installed a tankless water heater and plumbing as part of a new addition to an existing home in December 2009. On several occasions upon using the hot water, the pipes in the addition would shake and rattle violently due to pressure build-up and water would discharge from the unit, as it was designed to do when such pressure build-up occurred. The first time it happened we were told that if the problem couldn't be replicated, they couldn't do anything about it. It happened again and we were told to replace the cartridge in the bathtub faucet. It happened several times after that when using the hot water. In June 2013, it happened again, but this time when the toilet was flushed. This time no hot water was involved. I spoke with ******* ***** in early June 2013 and he stated he would do what it takes to make it right. He said he was going to get with his contact at ****** (manufacturer) to get suggestions, and also mentioned that he would come out and take a look at the unit. After that, I could not get in touch with ******* ***** even after leaving him almost daily messages. I contacted another plumbing company on July 8 and they immediately diagnosed the problem. When the tankless water heater was installed, it ws installed without a pressure reducing valve (PRV). The water pressure coming into the house had a psi of 110, when it should be regulated at 75-80. This would certainly explain the valves in our faucets having to be replaced, the rattling of pipes, etc. The other plumbing company stated that it was a codes violation to not have the PRV installed at the time the tankless water heater was installed. I tried contact ******* ***** to inform him of the issues and gave him the opportunity to have his company fix the issue or reimburse the estimated cost of $369.11. I also notified ******* ***** of this via letter sent certified mail. I received no response to either method of communication. The repair was made by the other plumbing company on July 23, 2013 at a cost of $369.11. WE have had no issues with the tankless water heater since the PRV was installed.

Initial Business Response
Business mailed letter to consumer November 26, 2013 states:

Please find check enclosed in the amount of $369.11 for your cost incurred in installing a pressure reducing valve. I sincerely aplogize for our lack of adequate response to your situation. I am not exactly sure what happened on our end but will do my best to see that it does not happen again.

I hope this will serve as a satisfactory close to this issue.

Sincerely,
**** *****
Vice President

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/18/1989Business started: 01/01/1959
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1971, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles T. Wehby (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Andrew J. Wehby (Vice President)
Business Category

Plumbers, Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies, Water Heaters - Dealers, Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail, Water Heaters - Repairing, Sewer Contractors, Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Used, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company offers plumbing repair, fixture installation, and
new construction and remodeling of plumbing.

Alternate Business Names
Wehby Plumbing Co

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Wehby Plumbing & Heating Inc

510 27th Avenue North

Nashville, TN 37209

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Wehby Plumbing & Heating Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 538-5646
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.