BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/24/2007

Hers and His Plumbing, LLC

Phone: (615) 254-5750Fax: (615) 254-6750View Additional Phone Numbers2963 Foster Creighton Drive, NashvilleTN 37204 Send email to Hers and His Plumbing, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers plumbing contractors services, water heater service and repair, plumbing drains & sewer inspection, drain and sewer cleaning, sewer contractors, septic tanks & systems cleaning, and propane gas plumbing. This company also offers plumbing plan services.

While this company's physical location is in Nashville, TN, the company services the following areas: Nashville, Clarksville, Knoxville, Chattanooga, Memphis, Huntsville AL, Birmingham AL, and Atlanta GA.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/24/2007

BBB has determined that Hers and His Plumbing, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hers and His Plumbing, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service15
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 18

Additional Complaint Information

The company has indicated they would like the opportunity to speak with consumers before complaints are filed with BBB. Consumers are asked to contact Teri Collier at or 877-790-9414 prior to filing a complaint with BBB. BBB suggests allowing 48 hours, excluding weekends and holidays, for the company to resolve any concerns.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

90 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hers and His Plumbing, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 90
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 90 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (18)
03/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details


Desired Settlement

Business Response
We have come to an agreeable solution to this concern via phone. We will comply with the terms of the agreement immediately.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Manager contacted me promptly and we reach a settlement that was satisfactory to me.

02/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Hers and His overcharged me for a service that I did not need.
Hers and His Plumbing came out on Dec 14 2014 to fix one problem in my home but checked my water pressure and told me my water pressure was too high. Hers and His changed out my water pressure regulator, set the water pressure to my home far too low, and charged me **** plus the *** required by ***** ******** **** ****** *********** Hers and His Plumbing changed out my water pressure regulator that was set at 70(said it was too high) and put another one in and set the pressure at 40 - which was far too low. Hers and His Plumbing then refused to come back and fix the problem. According to ***** ******** (my warranty company), Hers and His Plumbing should not have charged me more than the *** fee because ***** ******** covered the water pressure regulator. ***** ******** home warranty had someone come out and fit the pressure. I've been in contact with the president of Hers and His plumbing trying to get my **** back that they overcharged me -

Desired Settlement
They charged me too much money. I want my **** back.

Business Response
When we arrived at the property, we found the water pressure was higher than recommended levels for residential homes. We called ***** ******** **** buyers warranty and informed them the home needed a pressure regulator replaced but to replace this device we need to create access to it as well as change some water piping to have it installed. The authorization representative from ***** ******** informed us that they cover the cost of the pressure regulator itself, however the remainder of the installation would be the responsibility of the owner. We gave Ms. *************** a written proposal for the cost she would incur and she signed the invoice authorizing the work to be performed. After performing the work we left the regulator at the manufacturers pre-set pressure level. Mrs. *************** signed approving the work was completed properly and she had inspected the work and it was performed in a satisfactory manner.

Both the plumber who performed this work, as well as his manager who came out around the same time for a different, unrelated repair provided me with feedback that they wished not to return to this home as they felt disrespected by the owner while working on her property. I spoke with a representative from ***** ******** and assured them we had performed the work to her satisfaction, but if any issues came up we would prefer a different company service her plumbing needs for the work that was covered by ***** ********* Since ***** ******** holds the warranty for this policy they stated they would honor all warranties for work we performed for them at the property and if they needed to charge us back for any additional costs they would do so. Since the issue with the pressure regulator was under the warranty ***** ******** agreed to have a different contractor return to fix the issue and to my knowledge they did not charge her anything for it.

I received a call from ***** ******** stating Mrs. ****** ******** was challenging the charge of **** that she paid us. They asked me to provide them with a copy of the receipt showing what she paid for. They informed me they would review the items she paid for and were potentially going to cover these items for her. They said they would get back with me if they were going to cover them in which case I could refund her the **** and they would reimburse us for these charges. To date, they have not agreed to cover these charges.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was charged **** because Hers and His (****) said he had to make an access to the regulator. **** did not create access to the regulator neither did he change water piping. There is an opening in the wall to get to my regulator and there is a built-in housing unit. I've taken a picture of the opening and the housing unit that covers the opening. Unbeknown to Hers and His (****), I had work done in this very area by ****** ** ********* *** on 11/15/2014. Water was seeping into my basement just below the regulator (see photo of inside repair). ****** ** ********* *** can testify that access to the regulator existed before **** got there - it has existed since the house was built in 2009. In addition, **** removed one regulator and put on another. There were no piping changes required. Look at the picture and tell me how he could have changed the water piping.

Final Business Response
We received compensation for the **** so we are sending Mrs. *************** a reimbursement check for that amount.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
All I wanted was my **** back. If Hers and His had return my **** that they defrauded me for, this matter would not have had to go on this long. Why charge me for a water regulator when I didn't need one and why charge for access to the water regulator when access was already there? How many people have paid for these unjust charges.

11/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Could not effectively complete a repair of water heater leaving my tenants without hot water for over a week.
Called on October 27th. After holding for well over 10 minutes, they could not schedule until Wednesday the 29th. Technician arrived and re-lit the water heater but didn't fix the problem. I was charged $75. Water heater ran but went out as soon as it was hot. Called again but after waiting on hold for another 15 minutes was told the warranty company would have to call them. The warranty company called and left a message as the plumbing company could not answer thier called efficiently. Called the plumbing company again to hold for another 15 minutes. Called the technician directly. Got another appointment and the tech re-lit the water heater but did not fix the problem. Water heater went out again and called both the warranty company and the plumbing company. On hold again for another 15 minutes and then no answer. The warranty company left a message as did I. No response from His and Hers. Called again on Saturday. Left another message after waiting on hold for yet another 15 minutes. No response. Calle yet again on Monday November 3rd. Waited on hold yet another 15 minutes. Was told the needed to order a part. I told them that parts are available locally and should take so long.

Claim number XXXXXXXX. Technician ****. Receptionist was **********

Desired Settlement
Fix the water heater or replace it immediately. These people have been without a shower for a week.

Business Response
I am sorry for the delay in the service. Unfortunately when we are subcontracting work from a home warranty company we must follow their procedures which are repair the water heater before replacing. When the plumber made the initial repair there were no signs of any problems and the water heater was working so we had reached the point at which the warranty company was no longer authorizing us for any additional service. Unfortunately, sometimes it takes a short while and the water heater will show additional symptoms a few days after the repair was made as was in your case. When we returned we found the part had to be ordered from the manufacturer and was not available locally per your inquiry. We took it upon ourselves to overnight the part at our cost (with no reimbursement from owner or warranty company) we have installed the part and the water heater is now working properly.

The plumber commented that you asked for a new heater a few times during the process. As he informed you, we are at the mercy of the authorization department at the warranty company as to the decision on replacing water heaters. Unfortunately they will always repair before replacing. It is my suggestion that next time the water heater goes out if you do not want to have a repair done you call us directly as opposed to calling your home warranty company. When you do this we can make the decision to replace as opposed to repair, this would be at your cost though.

Thank you for your business,

Consumer Response
From: **** ******* <*******>
Date: Tue, Nov 18, 2014 at 4:07 AM
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXXX)
To: Better Business Bureau <*************>

This issue has been addressed and repaired. Thank you.


Final Consumer Response

11/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Bait & Switch issue. Took our $100 deposit & changed their service price significantly after they left my home.Next day called asking for $600 more!!!
***** ?? was here approx 5 hours on Oct 23rd 2014 When he finally left my water leak was worse than when he came. He told me to my face that tomorrow he would come to fix BUT the next day he called saying they needed an extra $600. This is bull because I have already got my repair fixed for $300. I want my $100 back & we'll part ways!!

Desired Settlement
I want my $100 refunded.

Business Response
I apologize, due to my travel schedule I will be unable to look into this issue to see what has happened before the deadline. I do see this was a claim with a warranty company and the $100 refund request by the owner was required to be collected by the warranty company. In this case I will promptly refund the $100 requested to satisfy your request. I should note however that it is not in my power to waive that fee. That is between the owner and the warranty company to work out and they may ask you to pay it to them still.

I am sorry we were unable to meet your needs for the service call. When I return to town I will research the issue and should I find any errors in our process I will get them corrected for future customers benefit.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I wrote the check $100 payable to Hers & His. If he is saying he will refund $100 to me, then I accept. If he is paying the warranty company then I do not accept. I'm confused on his Verbiage.

03/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Job # XXXXXX/1, tech. ******* 1/24/24:4353 ********* ******* ********** the repair did not hold, it leaked after 2 days, due to a 4 day wait to return
Due to a 4 day wait to return and teh weverity of the cold which would have caused even further damage to the plumbing another company was called. ********* would send someone else but I would have to pay twice out of pocket for the repair. There is a warranty on the work that was not honored

******* did not clean the pipe before he put the new shark clamp on the pipe. We called 6 times over several days seeking resolution, was told to leave a complaint with the supervisor at ********** no one called me back from either Hers and His nior *********

Desired Settlement
I paid by check **** the amount of ****** and am requesting a full refund.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******
I have spoken with Mrs ******* and we have come to an agreement on a solution to her concern.

Final Consumer Response
Hers and His plumbing, 2969 Armory Dr., Ste 400, Nashville, TN has satisfactorily resolved the complaint. They quickly resolved the matter.

Thank you for your service at BBB . Please confirm that you received this e-mail and let me know if anything else is required of me.

**** *******
**** ********* ******
********** ** XXXXX

Page 1 of 2
04/20/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Warranty information wasn't disclosed before repairs.
***** repaired a pipe near my meter today. He advised me it would be 394.00. The rep who answered the phone said 49.00 srvc charge would be deducted. It wasn't. I called the office, rep said they have nothing to do with the prices..advised her ***** had just said he was calling them to get a price. He showed me what he had written on the receipt before repairs. After repairs he told me "the city had the water pressure too high." After paying I read the receipt, he'd added that the repair wasn't warranted because of water pressure. I wouldn't have allowed him to do the work if he'd said that BEFORE repairs. Who in their right mind pays 394.00 for ANYTHING without at least a 30 day warranty?? The only reason I called was because they'd done work here before through AHS. It won't happen again.

Desired Settlement
A warranty for repairs.

Business Response
I am sorry for the miscommunication and I believe this could have been diverted had I been given the opportunity to hear the concern directly when the work was finished.

I received this exact complaint via email at 7:30 this past Friday night and responded immediately with a return email stating I would be back in the office Monday AM and that I would get this issue cleared up. As promised, first thing Monday AM I spoke to the plumber and found what she had said was true about the warranty being void. I told the plumber to put a LIFETIME WARRANTY on the work as I was certain that it would be fine even with her high water pressure. I also found that he did not apply the $49 trip fee to the work performed because he never charged her the $49 trip fee. I called Mrs. ******* Monday AM to go over this with her and got her voice mail. I left a long message informing her I was sending her a new invoice indicating a lifetime warranty on the work we performed. I also explained to her that we did in fact waive the $49 trip fee and she never paid it, but if she prefers I could re-write the invoice charging her the $49 trip fee and then deducting it off the price of the work done. Either way, the amount she paid would be the same.

02/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The outside and inside drain of the house was not repair properly. We were charged almost **** to get the drain fixed and nothing got repair.
We called the home warranty to get our drain repair because we could not use upstairs bathrooms because all the water was coming up to the toilet and sink downstairs bathroom and kitchen's sink. The insurance sent us a plumbing technician ****** to see what was the problem. The insurance agreed to pay whatever problem we had inside of the house and anything outside we were responsible for paying any repair. The technician said that inside drain was clear and working properly and that we have to change the outside drain. We accepted because we though it will resolved the problem that we were having since we moved to the house. When he finished , he said to give him a call if something happen so three days later the problems got worse, we called him, he said he would call back , he never did so we called the insurance company back and asked them to call Hers and His, and had them to come and check our drain again.

The same guy came and checked our drain he said to my husband that in order to get our problem fix, we need to installed a sump pump outside because he said that our problem was that the water did not reach the city pipe and that all the water was coming back to us. He said that this pump would help to solve the problem. He said that the total cost to get a sump pump would be *****
From that day I started doing my research and I found out that the cost to installed a sump pump was not even in that amount.
I do not get why he did not say it from the beginning that it was the solution to our problems , why we spent **** for nothing and why we would be spending more than XXXXX!

We looked for second of pinion because we were or are now worse than before the insurance decided to have this guy sent to our house.

A new technician came and he inspected everything, even my husband took a picture before this new technician came to our drains inside of the house and he even open one drain cap and have all the water fell on our basement. The technician , the one that we called said that inside drain were damaged , filled with grease, stools from long time ago and they needed to be replaced. He said that the main problem that we were having is from inside of the house and that here were not need to have a sump pump installed because since the house was build in 1982 , it would be installed if it was necessary many year ago.

Desired Settlement
We would like that this company refund for what support to get repair for us which never got repair because , this guys didn't what he was doing or what was the problem at the beginning.

Business Response
Yesterday our service manager met with the Customer and confirmed the findings from our previous employee. We found that with the equipment we have available, there was no way he could tell what was going on under the ground until we performed the work we did. It is unfortunate that sometimes in our industry as well as others you need to begin the work necessary before you can uncover other issues, however that is the case here. We confirmed with the owner this information as well as provided suggestions as to what can be done to help recoup the costs of the work from the previous owners as they have only been in the home for a few months. Although the previous work was required to find the additional work needed as well as this original repair would be needed to get the future repairs done we are still going to apply part of the previous expenses towards the remaining work.

We are currently waiting on the owner to get back with us after they discuss the costs with the realtors / previous owners.

Consumer Response
The company agree to help us find more information from the city regarding the main sewer, company never returned or called us back about this.
As the company said or stated that they are waiting for us to settle it with our relator , this is not true because we cannot process any claim with the last owner of the house until this company provided us with the paper work that prove that there is a problem with the sewer that show there is problem. Mr. Rober never provide us with the evidence that proof there is problem of structure of our house sewer. We don't see that this company will really want to do something to help us.

Final Business Response
Per our contract with the home owner, the sidewalk restoration was not part of the proposal and was the home owners responsibility. We do this because we are not professionals at leveling and rebuilding concrete and we want the work to look good when we are completed.

We will in good faith come out and do our best to return the concrete we set aside back to it's original position.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It was my understanding when **** , the first guy who come to inspected and work on our home, said that he would put back the side walk piece that was taken from our side walk and he also said that he would be back in spring to fix the yard that he removed when he dinged.

He said he couldn't do it at that time because it was too cold.

Basically , we lost $ 1800 for a job that wasn't suppose to be done at the beginning because the guy did and bad diagnostic at that time and we were charge.

We are tired of this situation that they won't accept any responsibility , we just want the small piece of the side to be replace where it was before.

If they company do it we will appreciate it since they said they will do it.
If they do it we will close the case and forget about our money that we invest in a work that was not to be done at the beginning.

02/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Advised by plumber that needed a pole installed in garage because of installing an electric hot water heater for codes
Warranty co sent plumber from hers and his for hot water heater leaking. Plumber says hot water heater need replacing (electric). But advised he is a licensed plumber and have to bring hot water heater up to codes. There were two items he said that were
required. Some part on top of hot water heater and then a pole installed. My wife questioned him about the pole and he advised codes changed in 2006 making the pole a requirement. $ **** In case you sell the house or a car is driven into the hot water heater it protects him as a plumber and us as a consumer. He gave us no option but to have the pole installed. This took place on 12/8/2014. Home warranty paid for the hot water heater but we had to pay a total of ****
Out of pocket to bring hot water heater up to codes we thought. Finally talked to Lavergne codes on 12/16/14 and were told that the pole is not needed for an electric hot water heater only for
a gas hot water heater. Tried to call hers and his and explain pole not needed on 12/16/2014 asked to speak to supervisor, not available. Same plumber called and advised that if he is wrong he would refund money but needed for me take picture of garage and letter from codes. I advised I am not taking picture and can get letter from codes. Payment has been stopped on check till resolution is reached. We were given fraudulent information from plumber regarding codes requirement. We are willing to pay for requirements but not for a pole that is not required. I tried to call company again today spoke with someone over complaints ( supervisor never called) she was rude and advised I needed to take picture of garage and get letter from codes. I asked what the picture was for and would not tell me. I advised I would get letter from codes. She advised if you want your money back then you will send us a picture that is when I advised that payment has been stopped. She no longer wanted to talked but I advised I wanted them to pick up pole and bring concrete to fill up the hole that removing the pole will create. I got the email from codes they requested. This is totally fraudulent misrepresentation of codes.

Desired Settlement
New itemized bill without the pole. Pickup the pole and repair hole in concrete. We will send revised payment once pole amount is deducted. We have also reported to home warranty people. This should not be sent to collections . We are willing to pay what is truly required by codes and reach a satisfactory resolution. From now on I will ask for anyone to show me the code requirements or call codes. Lesson learned. Very disappointed with this service.

Business Response
We understand that the owner does not want unnecessary expenses associated with the work performed. However we are required to install all equipment according to both the manufacturers guidelines as well as codes. In this instance, both are stating we need the safety device in question installed. I am including documentation supporting this.

Mr. ******* states he spoke with someone at the city who stated it is unnecessary, however he has not provided us with documentation relieving us from liability that would potentially exist with the removal of the safety device. In good effort, we have also attempted to get the city to provide us with this documentation with no success.

If documentation can be provided by the city plumbing official relieving us from liability we will comply with the request.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Clarification,I did send a copy of the letter from codes to them specifically stating that only a gas water heater requires the installed pole. Codes also advised that they spoke to their business also. The first letter was from ****** ***** stating the above. The business strictly said it was a codes issue. The garage is not used to park vehicles and he was advised that no vehicles are parked in the garage. The hot water heater sits on a pedestal. Spoke with ****** ***** again today and he continues to state the above. I also spoke with ******** ******* from building codes and states did the company secure a permit to install the fixture. No permit was secured. They are relieved of liability when codes does not require the installation for an electric hot water heater. Codes has advised it is not a requirement. The business stated that Mr ***** was not a real codes guy but I also spoke to Mr ******* who is with building codes. They are both with the local codes department. How does the plumber assume liability for something in my house. I also spoke to the homeowners insurance agent. The plumber is not held liable. If damages occur.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We were advised that they needed a letter from Mr. ****** The letter was sent. Then we were told that they wanted Mr. ***** to sign a form stating that they would be responsible for our house. Mr. ***** and myself was in an agreement that he should not be responsible for my house, since I am the owner. This is a copy of what Mr. ***** and codes sent:

From: "****** E. *****" <******>
Date: December 17, 2014 at 3:32:31 PM CST
To: ***** ******* <********@RCSOTN.ORG>
Cc: ******** ******* <********>
Subject: RE: ***** ******* Request for Letter
Dear Mr. *******,

Per your request, the City of La Vergne does not require impact bollards in front of electric water heaters located in a garage. Impact bollards are required in front of gas fired equipment including gas fire water heaters located in a garage and those bollards would be required to resist an impact load of 12,000 lbs. Also gas fire equipment in a garage would be required to be elevated a minimum of 18 inches above the garage floor.

If I can be of further assistance, please contact me.


****** E. *****

City of La Vergne
Fire Inspector
5175 Murfreesboro Road
La Vergne, TN XXXXX
Phone# XXX-XXX-XXXX ext 4448
email: ******

I was then advised by Hers and His Plumbing that that was not sufficient, and that Mr. ***** was not really Codes. Then I was advised that their guidelines supersedes LaVergne City Codes.
His and Hers Plumbing stated that LaVergne Codes require that the pole have to placed even though it is an electric water heater. That is not true. LaVergne City codes states that that applies to only a gas water heater. Please provide document showing that LaVergne city Codes requires it to be placed in front of a electric water heater. All I'm requesting is that the pole be removed, and the holes that was put in the concrete of my garage be filled. I am willing to pay for the installation of the water heater and the thermal expansion. Thanks for your help in this matter.

***** *******.

Final Business Response
We have been in receipt of a letter from the local fire chief stating the post is not required for this type of installation, and has provided us with the name of the building official for further review. After multiple attempts to reach this official we have still had no success. Since this is no fault of ************ we will comply and remove the post and not charge him for this.

Our office will schedule for the plumber to return to remove the unit, fill the holes and will then accept payment for the work performed less the post charge.

03/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

10 minutes of service for hot water heater 2 weeks still no hot water...
H&H came to my home on 02/07/2014 within 10 minutes they were gone. H&H informed my attic was out of compliance because no walkway to heater and not enough room him fix water heater. I asked are you j refusing to do the job he said. He went back up and came right back down after saying on pilot was unlit. Only 10 minutes. Definitely want ****** fee. Before he left he said I would have hot water within hour--now that part was true; but by 4:00 p.m
No more hot water. Called them answering worker was rude and made the comment that they do not work weekend. Called S
*** about this situation and inform me that a re-called would be done. One was done. On 02/12/2014 H&H was supposedly due back to my home. Did they show Up NO! Called my home asked if walkway had been inputted informed them no asked them again if they are refusing the *** there again he no that they would be out
Called *** about and was inform by them that they (H&H) would be out. Do you *** called me...NO. blame *** as about this whole situation. If had known about them prior to coming to my home I would not let them nowhere near my hot water tank. Can you believe H&H told *** that he knew what was wrong with my hot water tank! My reply was how can he tell you what was wrong when he was only in my home 10 minutes.

Desired Settlement
I want my $75.00 back because they did nothing for me. I still have no hot water after two week and this provider does not appear honest and has limit amount of knowledge about plumbing. This provider will never enter my home anytime soon or whenever.

Business Response
This is the first time I have been informed of this call. Had the owner come to me I would have offered their *** Service fee back even though per their contract it is still due.

Per our plumber, we made a trip out and found the water heater pilot light was out. This water heater is in an attic that is not to code and is unsafe. There is no flooring to walk on to get to the water heater and no flooring around the water heater to work around the heater on. Should he miss a floor joist he would fall through the ceiling below. As a courtesy he crawled over to the heater and relit the pilot and waited around and could not get the problem to reproduce. When this happens we can not diagnos any further until it goes out again if it ever does. He did not feel safe working on the water heater with the code violations so he asked them to install plywood flooring to code to allow him accessability to the heater. He informed them that we would not work on this unit until safety precautions were made.

I agree with our plumbers decision to request the code repairs before we place ourselves in danger. If the owner wants a 2nd opinion I recomend they call the ****** codes department and they will confirm the codes and that this is a safety hazzard.

Nonetheless, the owners request is for their *** SF back and I am happy to do so if this will resolve their complaint and close out any responsability we have for their plumbing issues to date.

02/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I signed a invoice for a estimate to replace a water heater. Then 2 days later the plumber came and left without telling us he was leaving.
Our warranty company sent them to look at our water heater. We got a estimate and were told that th water heater would be replaced 2 days later.
I had to take off of work a half a day to be there when they came. The plumber came and didn't know anything about what had been written on the estimate invoice.
He looked at the water heater and then said he would have to call the warranty company. He then went to his van to call. A few minutes later he came back in and said he would have to call the office to talk to the manager about the permits.
Then after about 5 minutes I looked outside and he had left.
I called the companies office and was told that they no longer service this area.
Now why would they even come out if that was the case?
Why would the plumber not come back to the door and let me know he was leaving?
I believe they owe me 1/2 days pay that I lost.

Desired Settlement
I believe they owe me 171.00 for the 1/2 days pay that I'm out because they didn't give me notice that they wouldn't be able to do the work.

Business Response
I have little knowledge of this job other than what I see in the notes in our computer system. We did not stop serviceing this area, we closed the business down. Since we have done so I no longer have access to the employees involved to get clarification.

From what I see, we came out for a water heater repair through ******** **** ****** ****** When the plumber arrived he determined there was sediment in the heater and that was likely the cause of the failure. He set up for an installed to come out and install the new water heater as it was going to be paid for by **** When the installer showed up he found one of the elements on the water heater was out and simply needed replacing. This is a much more cost efficient solution so *** re-approved for the repair instead of the replacement. Our systems notes state that this was unacceptable to the owner and they wanted a replacement of the unit. The last notes state that AHS was likely going to get a 2nd opinion for them.

Unfortunately this is all I can offer as I again have no access to the ex-employees involved.

I can not pay the customers work wages for them missing time at work, however I am happy to reimburse all money they have paid to us for this claim. I do not see where we collected anything, but if the homeowner has paid anything on this claim I am happy to refund it.

Sorry for the inconvenience,

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

All of the above is not true. The old water heater only had one element, I was told this by ****** the man that did the estimate for Hers and His. I was also told this by the plumber that *** sent to install the new water heater on Jan. 31th.

I was still getting hot water, but it didn't last long before it got cold. So,if the element was simply out I wouldn't of had any hot water.

If *** had re-appoved for a repair instead of a replacement then why did they send out another plumber and paid for a new water heater, no questions asked to me?

I never said that it was unacceptable to repair the water heater. I told the plumber that the estimate for new water heater had been approved through **** so I was expecting him to install it that day, as was written on my estimate.

Since Hers and His Plumbing was going to close the business then why send a plumber out on a call that day?

Would it not have been better business sense to inform the customers that they would not be getting service that day? Instead of them losing money by having to miss work to be home.

Also the company that ended up installing the water heater siad that we didn't need everything that Hers and His Plumbing said we did to bring the water heater up to code.

The estimate we got from Hers and His was for $416 out of our pockets
All we had to pay the plumbing company that put the new water heater in was our $75 co-pay.

I work 10 hour work days. I still believe Hers and His Plumbing owe me $171 for the 1/2 day of work that I had to miss.

Final Business Response
I again am sorry about your time involved in the replacement of your water heater. I am still happy to reimburse all fees paid to us by the ***** for this claim. I can not set precedence in paying home owners for time off of work however.

Page 1 of 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 07/17/2006Business started: 02/28/2006
Type of Entity


Incorporated: February 2006, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles "Charlie" Bonfe (President)
Business Category

Plumbers, Drainage Contractors, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbing Plan Services, Sewer Contractors, Sewer Inspection, Propane Gas Plumbing, Septic Tanks - Treatment Supplies, Water Heaters - Dealers, Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning, Sewer Pipe

Alternate Business Names
Hers & His Plumbing, LLC, His & Hers Plumbing, LLC, His and Hers Plumbing, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hers and His Plumbing, LLC has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 90 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hers and His Plumbing, LLC

2963 Foster Creighton Drive

Nashville, TN 37204

To | From


1 Locations

  • 2963 Foster Creighton Drive 

    Nashville, TN 37204

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hers and His Plumbing, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (865) 577-7705
  • (877) 790-9414

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Plumbers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.