BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

American Plumbing Company

(615) 941-10013333 Old Franklin Rd, AntiochTN 37013-3123http://www.americanplumbingnashvillellc.com ! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial plumbing services.

BBB Accreditation

American Plumbing Company is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

The Better Business Bureau's role in the marketplace is to ensure the public's confidence in advertising and promote trust in business.

As of February 11, 2015 this company's website (http://www.americanplumbingnashvillellc.com) is claiming BBB membership. This company is not a BBB Accredited Business, and our policies prohibit such a reference. The name BBB/Better Business Bureau, its logos and service marks are federally registered trademarks owned by the Council of Better Business Bureaus and may not be used by any company other than the BBB itself (unless specifically authorized in a licensing agreement).

On February 12, 2015, BBB sent correspondence to American Plumbing Company requesting their voluntary cooperation in removing all reference of BBB until a licensing agreement could be obtained.

BBB will update this aspect of the report once additional information becomes available.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

This company has an NR rating due to the issues outlined in the "Advertising Review" section of this Business Review. BBB will update this aspect of the Review once additional information becomes available.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on American Plumbing Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service call was for back up sewer line. on 2/23/13. uninformed before, during or after the servie done, about the findings and the cost on the 2/23
Problem: sewer backup to the house, 2/23/13.Came to fix the same day. I was not informed to pay overtime rate, if the problem is resolved or any thing, untill I receive the statemen. I called the company and I complained about the charge 3/28/13.I was told there is nothing he can do about the charge and no garantee about the work. I need a new replacement line which will cost me about $3000.00. I used this company in the past not only on this address but different places. They were resonable. Starting 2/28/13 the drain started backing up mud! I called American plumbing agin and was told, I need to replace the line. My main complants are: 1. I should have been told about the over time charge prior to come. 2. The problem is more than before it seems a pipe is broken during ?repair it is to leak mud. On the statement note: there is no guarntee, will remain unstopped.The line has roots. The suction of the line nedds to be replaced. They told me it will cost me $3000.00. I am not asking the company to give me a free service. I should not pay for a service I did not receive properly especially without notice of payment and poor job.

Desired Settlement
I do not feel I should pay for a service done inappropriatley.

Business' Initial Response
On February 23, 2013 at 8:32 A.M., the consumer called and said her rental property on *********** had a sewer problem. She was told we don't normally work on Saturday and if she wanted it taken care of that day, we would have to call someone in specifically for that job. She was specifically asked if it could wait until Monday. She said it needed to be done that day. She was aware that this was not a call on regular hours. She did not ask what the charge would be. We called in a plumber who spent three hours there cleaning the sewer line because it was an old cast-iron line which had broken down and roots were growing in the line down near the tap. There is not a clean-out near the tap and it is 5' deep in places. We had to go from the clean-out near the house to unstop it. We thought we were being fair by charging $125.00 per hour. Our hourly rate to unstop sewer lines using one plumber after regular hours is $125.00 per hour. We did not charge her a service call or a truck trip. We sent her a statement which said that we would not guarantee that the line would stay unstopped due to the condition and age of the line. She called at 2:27 P.M. on February 27, 2013 and talked to the plumber who did the work at that residence. She did not mention anything about the working order of the sewer line on that date. She wanted to negotiate the bill. He explained to her that he worked for three hours to unstop the line and it was flowing properly when he left. He told her that it required being replaced in order to have any guarantees. Because of the the work that needs to be done, she asked for an estimate to dig up and repair the line. The plumber told her it would be $3,000.00. She did not like that price but he explained that the line is deep and is placed against an NES pole. He informed her this price was because the job would require three men and heavy duty equipment. She may not realize how much time, manpower, digging machinery or materials is needed to dig up and replace the line. The consumer called at 8:05 on March 4, 2013 and said there is mud coming up. Mr. ****** told her that she was told in her statement and when she called on February 27 that we could not stand behind the line because of it's condition. He told her that maybe she should get bids from other companies to compare our estimate to replace the line. She complained that we should stand behind unstopping the sewer line but we explained that it is going to continually have problems until it is replaced.
Our records show the at the same address, on November 9 and 17, 2010, we sent a plumber and helper to install PVC clean-out up at the house where it had rotted out. There was no previous clean-out near the house. She was advised on that date that the line needed full replacement and a bid was given. She has not acted on that bid. It has never been replaced. On January 7, 2011, we sent one plumber on regular time because she said the sewer was backing up at the ******* address. The plumber pulled the clean-out plug near the house, flushed the commode and filled and emptied the bathtub several times. Everything flowed as it should. He could not get anything to back up. She called on January 31, 2011 and said the sewer was backing up. We sent one plumber who went through the clean-out at the house to clean the line to the tap. He found the line broken down and roots were pulled back from near the tap near the street. We enclosed a note on her statement telling her that the sewer needs to be dug up near the tap and replaced where the 6" and 4" lines come together. I have copies of all statements sent to her showing the services rendered and the charges (the statements include the note about the line needing replacing). This last time she called about unstopping the sewer was not the first time she was told it needed to be replaced.
I need to explain our charge schedule. Although our insurance, gasoline, truck upkeep, wages, office expenses and taxes have gone up, we are operating under the same rate schedule we have been using since January 1, 2008. We have never charged her a service call or a truck trip charge. We feel we have been fair with her on our charges. Our regular working hours are 8:00 A.M. until 4:00 P.M. Monday through Friday. For one plumber using a sewer machine to unstop sewer lines during regular hours, we charge $100.00 per hour plus materials. For a plumber and one helper during regular hours for unstopping sewer lines using a sewer machine, we charge $130.00 per hour plus materials. For one plumber using a sewer machine to unstop sewer lines during overtime hours, we charge $125.00 per hour plus materials. For one plumber and one helper during overtime hours for unstopping sewer lines using a sewer machine, we charge $155.00 per hour plus materials. We have never charged a service call fee nor a truck trip fee. This is not to say that this will not change in the future. But, we have always tried to be fair in our pricing. Unfortunately, the situation is that often customers do not realize what all must be figured into pricing schedules.

Additional Information

top

American Plumbing Company of Nashville, LLC is in no way affiliated nor associated with American Plumbing Professionals of Middle Tennessee located at 1180 Antioch Pike, Nashville, TN.

BBB file opened: 01/13/2002Business started: 01/01/1971
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry W. Rakes (Owner)
Business Category

Plumbers

Alternate Business Names
American Plumbing Co., American Plumbing Company of Nashville, LLC
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3333 Old Franklin Rd 

    Antioch, TN 37013-3123

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Plumbing Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

American Plumbing Company of Nashville, LLC is in no way affiliated nor associated with American Plumbing Professionals of Middle Tennessee located at 1180 Antioch Pike, Nashville, TN.

The Better Business Bureau's role in the marketplace is to ensure the public's confidence in advertising and promote trust in business.

As of February 11, 2015 this company's website (http://www.americanplumbingnashvillellc.com) is claiming BBB membership. This company is not a BBB Accredited Business, and our policies prohibit such a reference. The name BBB/Better Business Bureau, its logos and service marks are federally registered trademarks owned by the Council of Better Business Bureaus and may not be used by any company other than the BBB itself (unless specifically authorized in a licensing agreement).

On February 12, 2015, BBB sent correspondence to American Plumbing Company requesting their voluntary cooperation in removing all reference of BBB until a licensing agreement could be obtained.

BBB will update this aspect of the report once additional information becomes available.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.