BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Nationwide Studios, Inc.

(800) 338-3339400 N Belvedere Dr, GallatinTN 37066-5405http://www.teddybearportraits.comView Additional Web Addresses

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers photography services.

BBB Accreditation

Nationwide Studios, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Nationwide Studios, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 175 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Nationwide Studios, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

175 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 170 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues8
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues82
Problems with Product / Service82
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 175

Additional Complaint Information

This company has a pattern of complaint alleging delivery issues, billing & collection issues, product issues, and customer service issues. Specifically, complaints allege there is a delay of delivery or failure to deliver ordered pictures, pictures received do not meet expectations, billing errors and failure to address or respond to customer dissatisfaction.

On October 21, 2015, BBB met with company to request their assistance in eliminating the pattern of complaint. The company provided the following response as a means to address the pattern:

Teddy Bear Portraits has been in business for over 50 years and takes great pride in the quality of their products, their people and their service. They are constantly looking to evolve within the photography industry while maintaining their high standards of customer service, integrity and striving for excellence. For the fall season, Teddy Bear Portraits By Nationwide Studios Inc has updated their technology and launched a digital viewing platform; allowing customers' same-day image viewing and purchasing of their child's portraits. For the first few weeks of the new program, customers experienced delays in the shipment of their orders, incomplete orders and incorrect charges due to unanticipated technical difficulties within the system upgrades. Nationwide Studios Inc has made the following changes to ensure timely and accurate orders going forward:

1) The customer service department has expanded by hiring additional professional support staff and to handle calls in a timely manner.
2) The internal telephone system has been upgraded to accommodate analytics on peak call times for extra support, a cue system to accommodate hold times and sophisticated reporting features to provide details on incoming calls to track incoming call volume to answering ratios, cue hold times and message retrievals.
3) A tracking system has been developed and installed so that all staff handling customer inquiries can quickly determine status of orders throughout the entire production process.
4) The production staff for processing orders has been increased with additional professional support staff to accommodate the seasonal increase of production. This will facilitate the completion of orders in a timely manner.
5) The entire production staff has been aligned with a new process, clearly defining roles to expedite orders internally and with our suppliers.
6) The unanticipated errors in programming to facilitate the processing of credit card payments have been corrected. Along with the customer experience platform to place an initial order have been corrected.

In order to better assist their customers, Teddy Bear Portraits by Nationwide Studios, Inc. has provided BBB with a Customer Service Line at 800-338-3339 ext. 5003 for customers to reach for complaint assistance prior to filing a dispute with BBB. Please allow the business 48 to 72 hours to respond.

In order to better assist their customers, Teddy Bear Portraits by Nationwide Studios, Inc. has provided BBB with a Customer Service Line at 800-338-3339 ext. 5003 for customers to reach for complaint assistance prior to filing a dispute with BBB. Please allow the business 48 to 72 hours to respond.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Nationwide Studios, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (175)
02/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have not be able to receive my pictures of my daughter from picture day at her school.
Teddy bear portraits states that they cannot retrieve my pics due to an employee did not set her laptop to company standards and images were lost. My complaint is, if that statement is true, then why did other parents from the same school(academy of little learners in York Maine) and same day did receive their pictures. Also there were some parents received pictures with an orange tint and teddy bear portraits was able to resend new pics correcting those as well, which were originally pictures that were taken from the same day and same school as my daughter. Wouldn't it make more sense that all or none would be able to be retrieved. Keep in mind I have been trying to get these pics since last October and now this is their resolution. Also teddy bear portraits kept asking what my daughter was wearing that day, did she go under a different name. Seriously?? I dont know what my daughter was wearing 4 months ago and no she did not take her pic under a different name(she is 4 years old). Why would they ask me these questions when they clearly know they are saying a employee did not set her computer to company standards which is something teddy bear P would have know about since last October when the pics were taken instead of asking me these ridiculous questions five months later.

Desired Settlement
Their explanation does not make sense and I feel my pics are still available due to other parents has gotten theirs which were taken on the same day, same school as mine were.I would like my pictures, please.

Business Response
Images of child were located on 2/4/16 and the parent was emailed the information, etc. The parent has been contacted to see if there was anything else that we could do in regards to the matter. Waiting on parent response....

Final Consumer Response
The csr manager has made an exceptable response that will close out my complaint.

02/03/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered pics 09/30/15. My money was taken 10/09/15 & I never received photos. 1/7/16 I don't have order or refund & customer service is MIA. Dont use!
Please please don't ever put yourself through this!!! Most unreliable, dishonest, difficult company ever!
This was going to be my sons first professional photos. I paid by check 9/30/15 and the $ was takin from my account 10/09/15. In November I still had NOT received any photos so I tried to contact Them multiple x's (phone, email, & on their site). Late December I finally got a call from Cassandra who told me that they do not give refunds to out of state. I asked her "so you take pictures and steal money out of state?" After multiple emails back in forth she called me & She somehow was able to pull up my missing order and told me she would give me 2 free sheets. 2 weeks later January January 2 I received an email from the daycare my son attended/had pictures takin from. I drove out to the daycare my son does not attend anymore and received 5 out of 8 of the sheets I ordered!!!! Not only the wait and the lack of customer service for months and my money stolen and it wasn't delivered to my address provided (should have shown in order Cassandra saw) but I only got half my order and the quality of the photos was horrible! I honestly could take a better pic with my iPhone! So now I email back asking where the rest of my order is and two I want a refund seriously!!!!!! I get a call 1/7/16 saying I CAN HAVE A REFUND but to send pictures back! Ok well this is absolute crap. I just want a guarantee to have my money back and am so upset my sons memories were never provided and such poor quality! There is no guarantee with anything with this company!!! I'm waiting for my refund and was not provided a date or how I would be refunded. I tried to email Cassandra and now the email is wrong and I got sent back to me? Shady!!!! So now I have half my order that I'm suppose to send back for a return I am not sure I will get....

Desired Settlement
I want a PROMPT REFUND WITH AN IMMEDIATE EMAIL STATING WHEN AND HOW THEY WILL BE REFUNDING ME. I also want to NOT deal with mailing back my sons half order of mediocre pictures.

Business Response
*****,

I am reaching out to you regarding a complaint filed with the BBB. I apologize for all the inconvenience this has caused in getting your order as well as a refund. Can you please provide me with the information below to go ahead and credit you back the amount paid? As soon as I have that, I will get with our accounting department to have this credited. I look forward to your response. Thank you.
1. Customer ID number
2. If no ID is available, provide name and phone number to your child care center.
3. Form of payment used (credit card, check, cash)
4. Your child's first and last name
Clarissa C*****
Customer Service Manager


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*THIS IS OUR CONVERSATION SO FAR AND I EMAILED MY ADDRESS. SO NOW I AM JUST WAITING FOR MY REFUND/CHECK...UNTIL THEN THIS ISSUE IS NOT RESOLVED! I PAID FOR PICTURES I STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED SO I AM NOT COUNTING ON MY MONEY BACK UNDER I SEE IT!

On Jan 13, 2016, at 2:16 PM, ***** <*******************> wrote:

Hi,
I never received a receipt or order #.

2) The daycare is;
***** ****** Daycare
(***) ***-****

3)Check for $61.36

4) My sons name is ****** ******

Could you please send me a confirmation email showing that you found the order and will be refunding me please.

Thanks.

Sent from my iPhone

On Jan 13, 2016, at 2:05 PM, Clarissa C***** wrote:

*****,

I am reaching out to you regarding a complaint filed with the BBB. I apologize for all the inconvenience this has caused in getting your order as well as a refund. Can you please provide me with the information below to go ahead and credit you back the amount paid? As soon as I have that, I will get with our accounting department to have this credited. I look forward to your response. Thank you.
1. Customer ID number
2. If no ID is available, provide name and phone number to your child care center.
3. Form of payment used (credit card, check, cash)
4. Your child's first and last name


Clarissa C*****
Customer Service Manager
Nationwide Studios, Inc.



Final Business Response
Parent was refunded the amount paid due to all the issues and a check was mailed from accounting to the parents address that she provided on email correspondence. Check was put in the mail on 1/13/16 by accounting dept.

01/19/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Photo they sold me was terrible quality and they would not replace it or return communications. I now have no Christmas gift for my kids' grandparents
On November 13, 2015, Teddy Bear Portraits, a subsidiary of Nationwide Studios, came to my children's school, **** ******* *****, located at **** ***** ****** **, Vienna, VA. My husband and I also took a family photo with the kids that day, which we ordered. The photographer told us the photos would arrive before Thanksgiving (which would have been great as we were seeing the kids' grandparents from out of town and wanted to give them the photo). Unfortunately, the photos did not arrive until December 1, and it was not at all centered - in the photo I was given, my husband takes up a disproportional percentage of the area and, when I tried to frame it, half of my son got cut off. This was not how it looked when I viewed it on the screen when I placed the order 11/13 - in fact, it appeared the version I received was more zoomed in, as my son's feet were visible in the photo I selected but not in the photo I was given. I immediately emailed Amanda D******, the school's point of contact at Teddy Bear/Nationwide Studios - the email was sent 12/1/15. Amanda did not respond until 12/7 - six days later - saying that they would ship a replacement photo to the school by the end of the week (12/11). I wrote back asking if there was any way to expedite, but she did not respond. I tried to call her as well, but her voice mail box was full. Friday, December 11 came and went and the replacement photo did not arrive at the school. I contacted Amanda again, by both email and phone, asking if perhaps she could email me the photo instead. I did not receive a response. I left yet another voicemail on 12/14, followed by an email on 12/15, wherein I expressed how unhappy I was, since the photo was supposed to be a gift, and now a full month had passed since my order. Amanda finally responded by saying she submitted the order on 12/5 and that it should arrive "any day." She further stated that she knew the portrait session had had a lot of "hiccups" but that it was not her job to do anything other than to submit the order to be fixed. Today is December 22, 2015. I still have not received the replacement photo and now it is much too late to get it to the recipient in time for their Christmas gift. I have emailed Amanda AND the general customer service mailbox multiple times (12/15, 12/17, and today) and have left numerous voice messages with both Amanda and with a manager named Karen. I have begged them to please just email me the photo and I would print it myself. I have not received the photo via email or mail, nor have I received any response to my communications. I have stopped payment for this product on my credit card, as this is the only thing I feel I have recourse to do. I am extremely upset at this unbelievably horrible customer service, especially during the holiday season, and have urged the school's director to discontinue working with this company.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to IMMEDIATELY email me the photo in question AND I would like a 100% refund on ALL the money I spent with them (a total of $67.60, which includes $17.90 for this photo and $49.70 for three others). Truthfully, I believe they should compensate me with even more given the inordinate amount of time I have spent calling and emailing them, with no response, and the fact that I can no longer give this photo as a Christmas gift. The very least they can do is email me the corrected photo and refund my money.

Business Response
Mother was refunded back to her account. Email was sent to parent letting her know 1/15/16


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


01/18/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pictures were not provided in timely manner. Compensation to parents/school has not been consistent for every client. Customer service is difficult
******** School had student pictures taken on Nov 5 & 6, 2016. Pictures were not delivered in a timely manner. School was told up to 2 weeks for pictures. Pictures have been coming through 1/11/16. Parents purchases were made on Nov 5 & 6 and billed/charged before pictures were received. ******** Management spent 60+ payroll hours on the phone with Nationwide Studios to resolve issues. There was a group of 25 parents who received nothing until late Dec, all digital pictures were not unlocked and mgmt had to request digital purchases be unlocked an opened. As of Dec 3rd many pictures were still unable to be found. ******** asked for some type of compensation for parents (not as a school) who did not receive their pictures in time for Thanksgiving (as promised by Nationwide). This has been a constant battle to receive pictures and refunds for parents who took over 6 weeks to get pictures. Customer service stated that they would work on a compensation for the select group of parents and for the school. ******** Management has had to work with several different sevice reps, while helpful to a point none of them listen completely. The reps have been Crystal M*****, Amanda M*****, and Michelle G*******. It is Jan 11, 2016, we just received another picture order that was incorrect. We have yet to hear on compensation. We have asked Nationwide for reimbursement for the list of parents whose pictures were "misplaced" and received their pictures very late in December. We have asked for a complimentary set of prints or partial reimbursement for the reminder of the school as pictures were not able to download for several weeks. This has been a huge inconvenience and cost ******** 60+ hours of payroll. Nationwide continues to unreported to emails and phone calls.

Desired Settlement
Resolution would be for the 20 families to be refunded and the remaining family to be offered a Free picture collage or set of prints. Nationwide has the list of 20 families.

Business Response
******,

I am reaching out to you regarding a complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau regarding refunds being requested for parents. Can you please provide a list of the 20 names that you have along with the family that you are requesting free portraits for? I apologize for the all the inconvenience your center has experienced and I am going to do my best to get all this taken care of for you. I look forward to your response. Thank you.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Nationwide/Teddy Bear provided an instant response and the situation was resolved very quickly.

01/14/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After multiple interactions with this company, I still do not have digital images that I have paid for.
I ordered pictures that were taken at my son's daycare through Teddy Bear Portraits/Nationwide Studios around October. After multiple weeks, we received communication from our daycare that Teddy Bear Portraits had been having some issues, I was given an email contact from our daycare. I emailed and was promised the order would be sent to customer service. No results. I followed up again about 2-3 days later to question the order status and was again told the order would be sent in. Again, no results. 3rd email finally resulted in the order being submitted. I know this because the check we wrote finally cleared....not because I received a follow up from the business. After about 2 weeks, we received a card with an access code for our digital images. I could access the website, but no option to download the pictures. I called Teddy Bear Portraits/Nationwide Studios and spent about 15 minutes with the rep just trying to find our account. Once the account was found, I was told the images were unlocked for download. 15 minutes later, I am still unable to download - 24 hours later, I was STILL unable to download. Call back 2-3 days later and am again told the images are now unlocked. STILL can't download images. Called back a 3rd time and explain I simply want a refund as we have purchased pictures through another photographer as we were approaching deadlines to have pictures on a family Christmas card. I was immediately informed there is a "no refund policy" and that I could be escalated to a supervisor. While on the phone, I was told the supervisor was not currently available and to leave a voice mail and I would be contacted back within 24-48 hours. That seemed a long time for an escalation, but I have now waited 3 days for a call back from the company. At this time, I still would like a refund...I have NEVER received a product. If I had received actual prints, I would understand a no refund policy, but I have yet to receive a product! Even more, if I get the product now, there is no way I can use it for our planned purposes of a Christmas card. It has been over 2 months since the original pictures/order was made.

Desired Settlement
I simply want a refund from the company.

Business Response
***** ****** was issued a refund check in the amount of $69.00 on 12/28//15 by our accounting department.

Clarissa C*****
CS Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept their response as this is what I asked for during my initial complaint with the BBB. My initial complaint with the company was that I did not receive the digital products I paid for. Unfortunately, I was never able to access them and we simply ran out of time to get the pictures in time for the holidays. I do not wish to pursue that any further as I have received the refund. At no point in this process do I feel I received good customer service from the company. Again, I don't wish to address it any further as this situation has been resolved. I will certainly not be using this company for any further photographs.

Page 1 of 14
07/05/2016Problems with Product / Service
06/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lack of service provided left me unable to purches pictures the day appointed to. I have tried countless times to order via phone unable to do so.
This company photographed my child's preschool. The day was to include both the taking of pictures and purchasing. When I arrived to purches them that afternoon I found a huge mess. The photographer was not able to get the computers up and able to view or purchase pictures until quiet some time after the dismissal of school. I waited until I could no longer wait due to having to pick an older child up form another school. When I left at this time I was number 30 in line to be able to view pictures that was arriving 20 minutes prior to dismissal time. My daughter became ill in the following week and did not attend school the next week. With no notice of any kind the company came back that week to view and purchase pictures. With no way of knowing this but to physically see it that day I was not aware of this. I called the company after finding this out the following week when she returned to try and order pictures. I was told that the prices were only valid the day of the viewings at the school which the first many many people were unable to do and the second there was no notification they would be there. After hours on the phone and countless arguments as to their errors they agreed to honor the price. When going online to purchase the pictures I found that the class photo was not able to be viewed or purchesed. Once calling back again I was told it was the schools job now to handle this. I contacted the school and they have no way of soliving this problem due to its the company's error. I have told them this several times now to be told over and over they can't do anything.

Desired Settlement
To be able to purchase the pictures at a discounted price and be able to view and purchase the class photo.

Business Response
On 5/11/16 the parent was contacted back and offered the same pricing for portraits due to all the issues. The mother wanted to order the class portrait and was told that she would get this complimentary too if we had the class portraits generated in the system. The center is sent an email confirming if the set up of the class portraits, etc. but unfortunately nothing has been set up by the center for the composites. The director needs to contact the composite department so that this parent as well as others can order, etc. This was explained to the parent on this day as well. We have a ticket stating that we are honoring the price of packages to parent.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The group photo does exist and other parents have purchased theses photos. The statement was not made to me as "if they exist" it was "we have found want we need to do which is contact the center and will call back to arrange the ordering of the photos". A week later and still no response I call to find out they claim the photos do not exist. Which indeed I know for certain they do.

Final Business Response
The representative over this account at our home office spoke to ****** today and told the parent that our processing department had researched this matter further and was able to find the group photos taken. We are sending her a complete package of her child as well as an 8x10 group photo for all the inconvenience. The order is being shipped directly to her home address.

5/25/16

02/03/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid for digital pictures in October, and am still unable to access those pictures.
My order number ********-** from Teddy Bear Portraits, owned by Nationwide, was paid for on October 9. This photo session was at ******** ****-*******, a daycare in Emmaus, PA. The order was for the digital picture package for which I paid $108.

On October 10, I received an email receipt at address ******@hotmail.com with a link to download the pictures. The link did not work, and when I went directly to the website and entered my access code, I was able to see the pictures but not download them. My only option was to buy more copies.

I have attempted to contact the company multiple times, twice through the contact form on their website, and three or four times by phone. The only time I received a call back was when I threatened in my message to file a BBB complaint. At that time, the customer service rep I spoke to said that we would receive a new link to download the pictures.

After that call there is a chance that the link was lost in a spam filter - I'm willing to assume that an email was sent at that time. I placed another call explaining this and asking that the link be resent. We have seen no emails, and I have not received a single call back.

At this time, the link in the original email has finally started working, but there is still no option to download the pictures. Again, the only option is to buy more copies. This is entirely unacceptable.

Desired Settlement
I want the pictures that I paid for.

Business Response
******,

I am reaching out to you regarding a complaint filed with the BBB. Do you still need the digital images sent to you or has the issue since been resolved? Please let me know if you still need assistance and I look forward to your response. Thank you!


Clarissa C*****
Customer Service Manager
1/15/16

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is only asking if I've gotten my pictures. They've done nothing to actually get them to me. I trust that after my response to this email (to the business) I will actually get some results.

Final Business Response
Mother emailed back on 1/15/16 at 8:40 am. stating she still needed assistance with her digital image issue. Images were exported again to the parent this same day and was informed of such.

02/03/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company failed to deliver paper and electronic images we paid for. For weeks, they haven't returned calls and emails and put all calls on hold.
We bought this company's service through our school. When the pictures came in, ours were missing. We also never received the digital copies we paid for, which were supposed to come through email. For weeks, they haven't returned my calls and emails and all calls are put on hold. Other families are also missing their pictures and the school is not able to get all the answers. The company has also failed to return calls to our school.

Desired Settlement
I need to have all pictures I paid for delivered, including the digital copies. The company also owes us and the school an apology for mishandling the orders and failing to communicate with us.

Business Response
Emailed customer apologizing and asked if they have received their portrait package and digital images.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company contacted me today and sent me the digital images through email. However, they still haven't indicated they will be sending the paper copies. The last time I heard about the issue they said they were able to find my payment, but not the order details.

Final Business Response
Reached out to parent on 1/13/16 to provide more information to assist her with her complaint but haven't heard back as of 2/3/16.

01/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In November 2015, I bought pictures taken by a Teddy Bear photographer at my son's Daycare Center, in McLean VA. All printed photos are out of focus.
On November 3, I bought pictures taken by a Teddy Bear photographer at the Daycare, in McLean VA where my children are schooled. Unfortunately, the printed photos are not acceptable because they are all out of focus. I am disappointed because I am not able to use these photos and certainly cannot share them with my family as is.

To resolve the problem, I requested that either I receive a refund or the company reprint the photos without them being out of focus.

I have left 3 voicemail to the company webpage (after waiting on average 30 mins on hold). I also sent 4 messages through the website "contact us" page. The company did not provide any other mean to communicate with them.

In addition, I asked the director of the daycare if they were able to help me with reaching out. The company has NOT RETURNED THEIR CALLS EITHER.

While I have been hoping for a response and a resolution to my problem, I am now quite unhappy by how the matter was handled by this company.

As this complaint on the BBB webpage is following my fourth request (done November 30), I hope other parents and daycare centers will read this post and not hire this company for their school pictures.

I am obviously available in case Teddy Bear Portraits finally decided to respond to my request.

Desired Settlement
Replace my photos (out of focus) with prints that are acceptable. If not possible, Please, refund me.

Business Response
*******,

Can you tell me how you paid for the portraits of your child? I have no problem giving you a refund for the amount paid, but I need to find the charge, etc. since accounting will need verification. I can't seem to find any charge on what I am able to see on my end. Thank you.
1/7/16 at 4:34 pm

As of today 1/13/16 I have not gotten a response from parent.

Clarissa C***** CS Manager

01/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My daughter had pictures taken in September, with the promise of having them 2 weeks later. It is now December 1 and ! still have not received them.
I called customer service today questioning the order and requesting a refund. After being on hold many times the rep stated my pictures were send yesterday 12/1. I still advised I wanted a refund because we were supposed to have them two months ago. She stated I would have to contact the school to obtain a refund because they were already printed. I told her I would be filing a complaint. I want my money back from that scamming company.

Order information:

Number: ********-***
Total: $14.72
Card: ending: ****
Auth Number: **********

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund. I don't care if they were printed, they did not provide the level of service they advised they would. I asked to speak to a manager and the rep stated I would have to contact the school. I stated I did not pay the school for the services, I paid their company and wanted a refund. She said she couldn't help me. I told her I would be contacting BBB to file a complaint.

Business Response
*******

I am reaching out to you regarding a complaint filed with the BBB. I will be more than happy to issue a refund for you in the amount of $14.72 with card ending in 8019. I apologize for the delay in receiving your order, but I will get this information sent down to our accounting department to credit your account. Please let me know if you need anything else and have a great day!


Page 1 of 21

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/28/1986Business started: 01/01/1968Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2008, DE

Business Management
Principal: Owner/Manager
Business Category

Photographers - Portrait, Photographers

Alternate Business Names
Teddy Bear Portraits, Teddy Bear Portaits by Nationwide Studios

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Nationwide Studios, Inc.

400 N Belvedere Dr

Gallatin, TN 37066-5405

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 400 N Belvedere Dr 

    Gallatin, TN 37066-5405(800) 338-3339

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Nationwide Studios, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.teddysmiles.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Photographers - Portrait

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

This company has a pattern of complaint alleging delivery issues, billing & collection issues, product issues, and customer service issues. Specifically, complaints allege there is a delay of delivery or failure to deliver ordered pictures, pictures received do not meet expectations, billing errors and failure to address or respond to customer dissatisfaction.

On October 21, 2015, BBB met with company to request their assistance in eliminating the pattern of complaint. The company provided the following response as a means to address the pattern:

Teddy Bear Portraits has been in business for over 50 years and takes great pride in the quality of their products, their people and their service. They are constantly looking to evolve within the photography industry while maintaining their high standards of customer service, integrity and striving for excellence. For the fall season, Teddy Bear Portraits By Nationwide Studios Inc has updated their technology and launched a digital viewing platform; allowing customers' same-day image viewing and purchasing of their child's portraits. For the first few weeks of the new program, customers experienced delays in the shipment of their orders, incomplete orders and incorrect charges due to unanticipated technical difficulties within the system upgrades. Nationwide Studios Inc has made the following changes to ensure timely and accurate orders going forward:

1) The customer service department has expanded by hiring additional professional support staff and to handle calls in a timely manner.
2) The internal telephone system has been upgraded to accommodate analytics on peak call times for extra support, a cue system to accommodate hold times and sophisticated reporting features to provide details on incoming calls to track incoming call volume to answering ratios, cue hold times and message retrievals.
3) A tracking system has been developed and installed so that all staff handling customer inquiries can quickly determine status of orders throughout the entire production process.
4) The production staff for processing orders has been increased with additional professional support staff to accommodate the seasonal increase of production. This will facilitate the completion of orders in a timely manner.
5) The entire production staff has been aligned with a new process, clearly defining roles to expedite orders internally and with our suppliers.
6) The unanticipated errors in programming to facilitate the processing of credit card payments have been corrected. Along with the customer experience platform to place an initial order have been corrected.

In order to better assist their customers, Teddy Bear Portraits by Nationwide Studios, Inc. has provided BBB with a Customer Service Line at 800-338-3339 ext. 5003 for customers to reach for complaint assistance prior to filing a dispute with BBB. Please allow the business 48 to 72 hours to respond.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.