BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1986

Nationwide Studios, Inc.

Phone: (800) 338-3339

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
09/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The representative for the company talked me into post dating a check for the following week and the company ran the check through early.
On August 21st the representative was at my boys daycare, at ******** **** ******** ******* with the display of the pictures. I looked them over and asked if they could be left there and I could purchase the package on August 29 which was the day that I got paid. I told her I could write a check on that Friday and pick up the pictures on my pay day. She then persuaded me that if I write the check that day and post date it for August 29 that I could take home the pictures that day. At first I was uncomfortable about post dating a check but she assured me that it would not be ran through the bank until after Friday August 29 and said that it would even take that long to get it to the accounting office. I wrote this check and Teddy Bear portraits ran the check through on 8/28 prior to the check date. My bank then returned the check and charge me a $35 return check charge on 8/29. I called Teddy Bear portraits and left two messages after hours on the evening of 8/29, in one of the messages I specifically asked the company to please not run the check through again and I that I would make other payment arrangements. I spoke with ***** ******* in the accounting office on Sept. 2nd and I verified with her and asked if they would try and run the check back through again and I stated to please not run it through since the bank charge caused there to not be enough funds in my account to cover the check if it would have be re ran again. She stated to me that the check would not be ran through again and that the check would be sent to **** **** ********* and she gave me the number to contact them and make payment arrangements. She did state that they would reimburse me the $35 for the bank charge and I e-mailed her the copy of the check and the screenshot of my bank account and the fee that was charged. I called and left **** **** ********* a message after hours on Sept 4 and did not hear back. My plan was to just mail in the payment but was waiting to hear back from them. On September 9th **** **** tried to run the check through again and also tried to run a $30 charge through the bank. The bank did pay the $30 charge but returned the check again. This caused another $35 return check charge and a $35 overdraft fee for the check that was paid. I do not think this was right at all that I was clearly told that the check would not be ran through again but then it was.

Desired Settlement
I am asking that the company reimburse me for the additional two $35 bank fees from the second time the check was ran through. The company stated to me that the check would not be ran back through the account. Every person I dealt with from the company did not give me full and complete information and did not speak the truth. I took care of the original cost of the check and gave **** **** ******** my debit card info on 9/12 for them to charge the card on 9/15.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* SVP of Ops
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@nationwidestudios.com
We at Nationwide Studios/Teddy Bear Portraits are truly sorry that this customer had a disappointing experience with her service. To correct the matter, Ms. ***** was contacted, and a $70 check was shipped to her to reimburse her for the fees charged by her bank. In addition, the $30 charge by **** **** ********* will be credited to her account on Friday September 19, 2014. Ms. ***** indicated that she appreciated our effort to correct the matter, and was happy with the resolution.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received the reimbursement check for the bank fees on Sept 20. I am truly happy with the end results and how the company has handles the situation. I thank the company for being so willing to solve the issue as a single mom with special needs children and living paycheck to paycheck it can be very hard. I will purchase pictures from the company in the future and would recommend their service to other parents as well. Thank you!.

03/06/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/13/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Were not given very good instructions or service from this company who came to do pictures for my sones daycare center.
Teddy Bear Portraits came and did pictures for my sons daycare, **** ***** *********** ****** a few months ago. The daycare was given two pieces of paper, one to fill out and bring on portrait day and one that had the date the representative would be back to sell us the pictures. They came and took some great pictures but on the day the representative was supposed to be back, he left early and we did not get to deal with him directly. He left the pictures for the daycare director to show to us. It was a selection of pre-printed pictures and pricing. There were different prices for the number of sheets you purchased. We choose to buy a 12 sheet picture package which was the biggest package they offer, but we wanted a different variety than what was pre-printed. My husband wrote down the quantity and styles we desired adding up to 12 sheets and put that with the check in the envelope with the pictures and gave it to the director. She contacted the representative who came and picked up the envelope. About a week later, the director told us that the pictures had been dropped back off and were ready to pick up. Our check had been cashed at that time. We picked up the envelope and it was the exact same pre-printed selection in it when we sent it back, not the order we had asked for. We asked the director to follow up on why we didn't get the pictures we ordered but had not heard anything from her. So I asked for the phone number this morning and called the customer service department myself. I had to leave a message to get a return call because the wait was long. A lady called me back and from the begining of the conversation, was very sassy and rude. She stated that to do a custom order, I had to place the order by phone or online, and that it was a different price than the pre-printed package price. That was never expressed to us because the representative was not there when he was supposed to be there the day the pictures came in. So I asked her how I could return the pre-printed picture package to purchase the correct pictures and she advised me that all sales are final, no returns allowed. She repeated over and over again, that their no return policy was written on the envelope. I tried to expressed to her that by the time I got this envelope, they had already taken my money and cashed my check. If the representative had been there when he was supposed to be there, we would not have paid for them that day. We would have gone home and ordered the pictures that we wanted. She would not budge on the no return/exchange policy. She never apologied for a bad experience, for the miscommunication, for not having the rep available when they said they would be available or anything. I have never had such poor customer service from a photography company! I had planned on spending a decent amount of money on these pictures but not anymore. I feel like they stole my $144 and they will not get another dime of my money. I would like for it to be know on their profile that they do not provide thorough information and are completely unwilling to cooperate when they are in the wrong.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get the 12 sheets that I picked in exchange for the picutres they picked for the pre-printed package.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@nationwidestudios.com
We at Nationwide Studios/Teddy Bear Portraits are truly sorry that this customer had a disappointing experience with her service. To correct this matter, we have contacted Ms. ***** and sent her an order form to order the sheets in the configuration that she prefers. We will provide the custom order as a replacement for the pre-printed sheets that were originally ordered, and the additional charge for custom orders will be waived. We also told Ms. ***** that she can keep the original sheets that she purchased. Ms. ***** seemed happy with this resolution, and indicated that she would place the order when she had time. As of September 30, 2014, we have not received her order, but we will fulfill the order as soon as we receive it.

03/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
my son did not have a portrait envelope from the school so I wasn't able to view & purchase his portraits. now they want me to pay shipping fee.
my son goes to lapetite academy in Orlando. the students had their portraits taken & everyone got their portraits already printed a few weeks later except for my son. the director of the company gave me a phone numer to call so I did & no one returned my phone call. finally, I emailed someone & they gave me a claim code so I can view his portraits on their website. I did, except it was not my kid. so I emailed again, & finally got the right one. after many frustrations of creating an account so I can place an order, they wanted me to download a Microsoft software so I can view a slide show, which I did but did not work. I finally called customer service. all I want is to order his pictures & she tells me I have to pay a $10 shipping fee. I asked if that could be waived since he did not get the preprinted portraits like all the kids from his school & she told me yes he did. so I asked where is then? I told her the reason why I am trying to place an order is because the director of the school told me to contact them about my child's portraits. she said everyone had to pay shipping & I said all the parents that received their printed portraits did not have to. & she said she cant do anything for me. I am very disappointed after all this months of trying to view my son's pictures & the inconvenience I had to go through, they were not willing to waive shipping fee?

Desired Settlement
I just want the same envelope that all the parents got when they received their children's portraits so I can view them & order without having to pay shipping. & I think I should be offered a discount after having to go through this much trouble.

Business Response
I have contacted *** ****** by email correspondence as well as by phone and haven't had a response back to either one. An email was sent to Ms. ****** at 8:14 a.m. this morning waiving the shipping fee when placing her order via phone. Ms. ******'s picture package was printed back in October of 2013 and made available for her to purchase on 10/29 and 10/31 which she states wasn't present. We were never informed either by local representative or center director that this parent had a problem with her picture package. As of 2:25 p.m. central standard time, I am still waiting to hear from Ms. ******.

******** ******
Customer Service Supervisor
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ****
*******@nationwidestudios.com

02/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I never received the rest of my daughters package which included an oil painting I was going give her grandma for Christmas.
My daughter took pictures at ** ****** daycare in roughly ****** ***** I paid for the pictures 2 weeks later when they were sent to the school. I handed the teachers a money order for roughly ******* which included the whole package of pictures and an oil painting (perfect for Christmas). I waited and waited only to be told by customer service for teddy bear portriats that my money order was never received which was a lie because i kept the stub and handed it to the teachers along with two pictures from the package of my daughter. ******** **** rolls around and i'm still waiting. I and the director made numerous calls and placed messages to be contacted back to no avail. Just yesterday ******* ** **** the director told me she got someone to handle the process but when i called that night they said they couldn't find any record of me placing an order. I'm very hurt by the misrepresentation of this company who takes great pictures but fail to deliever what people pay for( especially if it's a lot of money). I live on a single parent budget and worked my **** off for the pictures and dont appreciate the run around or not having my phones calls returned.

Desired Settlement
Either return my money or give me my oil painting. Preferably both

Business Response
The grandmother called on ******** #XXXXXX-XX asking where her digital images were and the oil painting. The ** rep looked up her account and noticed on the runsheet that this was marked as a ** missing package in the amount of ******** She gave the ** rep the money order receipt #XXXXXXXXX in the amount of ******** The ** rep spoke to Katrina, the supervisor in Acctounting on the same day letting her know that the money order was never received or cashed by us. The CS rep told ***** to contact the place where she bought the money order and have it traced. Grandmother then got upset and told ***** it wasn't her responsibility to trace it and wanted her order sent. ** rep explained that we were showing a missing payment and we didn't get any pictures back since envelope was missing. I have spoken to the money order company and they informed me that Ms. ***** could go back to the place where she bought the money order and ask for a refund form. She would then need to fax it to Fidility (money order company)and they would refund her the amount of ******* because it never was cashed and was probably lost. I called ***** to let her know but had to leave her a voicemail asking her to call me directly.

******** ******
******** ******* **********
***** **** *********
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ****
*******@nationwidestudios.com

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
******* told me to research for a money order that once handed to my daycare director is not my responsibility to track. The photographer took the envelop which contained a lot of checks and money order and all of a sudden mine is the only one missing. And if the package wasn't returned thats an indicator I paid bc u can't take the pics home without paying for it daycare policy. They can do their job and give me my oil painting and I will never ever do business with them. Just lucky its not my checking account and just a money order but that still don't make it right


Final Business Response
Due to a third party being involved with the handling of the customer's money order and the fact that our company never received payment, we are unable to send any additional items. We have explained to the customer that since it has been verified that their money order was never cashed she can be refunded her money for the full amount by going back to the location where she originally purchased the money order. The customer feels she shouldn't have to do so.We have done our best to assist her in this matter and have gone above and beyond to ensure the customer's satisfaction.

******** ******
******** ******* **********
********** ******** ****
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX *** ****

10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid Teddy Bear Portraits $146.79 on 9/25/13 for a portrait package that included digital images. The company never sent them to my email.
When we purchased the hardcopy photos at our daycare/pre-school, the representative told us that we would be able to download the photos directly from the website, as we did the year prior. We were told that we were supposed to receive login code via email. After 2 weeks passed, I both called and emailed the company (******* **** *******)the rep could neither email the photos or code to me. She said their company had server issues which is not my problem. I still do not have the digital photos.

Desired Settlement
The company needs to refund the value of the CD or digital rights, which according to their own price list was valued over $40. They can mail us the CD at no additional cost, since their server does not work properly.

Business Response
Mrs. **** contacted our company via our online chat system (Gigi was the online operator)and said she wasn't receiving her digital images which were included with the package she purchased on 9/25 and 9/26. On 3 occasions this email was sent to her 10/2, 10/3, and 10/7.She emailed us stating she wasn't receiving them at which point she asked for a Supervisor. I emailed Mrs. **** on 10/10/13 at 11:36 am letting her know that we apologized for any inconvenience and would be more than happy to send her a CD at no charge. She responded at 9:59 pm (same day)demanding we overnight this to her and she would report us to BBB. I emailed her this morning 10/11/13 at 8:47 am to let her know we would try to get the CD to her by Monday 10/14 or Tuesday 10/15 and also emailed her the online code to view online. I was able to rush the process and emailed her at 9:05 am giving her the Fed Ex tracking # and letting her know we would be overnighting the item. I didnt get an email back from Mrs. **** with any response.

******** ******
Customer Service Supervisor
Teddy Bear Portraits

06/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i WAS GIVEN INCORRECT INFORMATION AND I MISSED OUT OJ PURCHASING A VERY SENTIMENTAL PRODUCT
MY SON TOOK GRADUATION PICTURES AT THE DAYCARE AND THE PHOTOGRAPHER SAID THAT I HAD UNTIL FRIDAY TO PICK THE PHOTOS UP BUT WHEN I WENT TO PICK THEM UP ON FRIDAY THEY DIRECTOR STATED THE PHOTOS HAS ALREADY BEEN PICKED. I AM UPSET BECASUE THE PHOTOGRAPHER SHOULD HAVESAID THURSDAY. IT WAS VERY INCONSIDERATE FOR HIM NO TO THINK ABOUT PARENTS THAT GET OFF WORK AT 5PM. I AM UPSET BECAUSE WHEN I CALLED TO COMPLAIN THE LADY SAID I WILL HAVE TO WAIT 2-3 WEEKS FOR A CODE SO I CAN ORDER THEM ONLINE AND I AM UNABLE TO GET THE PACKAGE DEAL THAT WAS DISCUSSED AT THE DAYCARE. NOW I DO NOT MIND WAITING 2-3 WEEKS BUT BECAUSE THE PHOTOGRAPHER FAILED TO PROVIDE ME WITH ACCURATE INFORMATION I SHOULD BE ABLE TO GET THE SAME PACKAGE DEALS. I AM UPSET BECAUSE THESE ARE MY CHILDS GRADUATION PICTURES.

Desired Settlement
I WANT THE SAME PACKAGE DEAL I WAS GIVEN BEFORE THE PICTURES WERE PICKED UP

Business' Initial Response
I have spoken to ****** ****** regarding the complaint that she emailed in. I had called Mrs. ****** on 5/20 and had to leave a voicemail letting her know that I would be more than happy to assist her with any issues or concerns she was having. I didn't get a return call from her, so today 5/23 I attempted to contact her again and had to leave another voicemail. She finally contacted me back and the issue has been resolved.
****************
Customer Service Supervisor
Nationwide Studios, Inc
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ****

Page 1 of 2

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.