BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/12/2005

Franklin Pest Control, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (615) 771-5866Fax: (615) 771-5859View Additional Phone Numbers3326 Aspen Grove Dr Ste 306, FranklinTN 37067-4857 Send email to Franklin Pest Control, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/12/2005

BBB has determined that Franklin Pest Control, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Franklin Pest Control, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Franklin Pest Control, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They were suppose to drill holes and treat for termites properly and did not do so. They charged $1,760 for a 'Full Home Treatment' and did not.
On 4/18/15 at 12pm we discovered flying insects in attic of current residence. At 1:30pm we contacted Franklin Pest Control to come out and give an estimate on the work that needed to be performed. Around 3:30pm **** ******** (Owner) and another unnamed Associate arrived at the property and addressed concerns. After reviewing the insect activity in the attic they confirmed that we had an infestation of subterranean termites. **** ********, associate and myself went back downstairs to review the outside property so they could determine a proper estimate. An estimate of $1,960 was given to resolve the infestation and resolve the problem including the following detailed summary of work:
* **** explained in detail that 3/8" holes would have to be drilled in the mortal between our current brick exterior (every three bricks apart in length) to gain access to the gap/void that exists between the brick and foundation/wood walls of our home
* **** further explained in detail that once the holes were drilled a product called Termidor would be pumped into each hole all the way around our home (once again every three bricks)
o I asked **** the following question: ' How do you ensure the product is penetrating between each hole
ï'' He responded that the nozzle used to pump the Turmidor in each hole fans out to ensure all void areas were sealed with the product
In addition there were some areas that would be (**** used the term 'Flooded' with Termidor that could not be drilled)
* These areas included the garage door opening, front covered entryway and rear patio where the aggregate patio meets the brick
o I asked **** 'Are you supposed to drill into the concrete across the garage entry, back patio and entryway? ( As my father previously had this same process performed on his residence)

****'s Response was: 'We use to do that but don't anymore'
**** noticed I had a wood fence around the back side of my property and said each wood fence post would have to be 'Treated' as well
* I asked **** what was involved in 'Treating' the fence posts?
o **** explained that he/associate would drill into the ground at each post and inject the Termidor into each hole
I wanted to think about it and **** gave a 'Hard' sales pitch

He left and we called back within the hour and scheduled for the work to be completed based on his recommendations
He offered a $200 discount bringing the total to $1,760
**** said he would be out on Monday morning 4/20 to complete the job
On Monday morning **** called and due to rain canceled to complete the work as discussed.
**** stated that it needed to be dry weather to complete the job accordingly
**** and his associate did treat the inside of the residence for other no related termite concerns free of charge as requested on Monday morning 4/20
On Tuesday 4/21 **** and his associate returned to complete the Termite 'Full House Treatment' as explained previously
The Associate, began drilling random hole in the brick exterior of our home
While the associate was 'supposedly' drilling the holes, **** walked around with a garden hoe style tool and grated a small 4" wide trench around the exterior of our home less than 1" deep (**** never explained that he was going to dig this trench as part of the process to treat the problem
After **** was finished grating the small trench he began using a pressure washer style device to 'Spray' some kind of chemical over the trench he had dug
I was outside multiple times throughout the process and never witnessed **** or the Associate pumping Termidor, or any chemical for that matter, in the holes drilled
After only being on the property for 1 hour he said the job was complete.

I contacted the State of TN Agricultural Dept. and a State Inspector performed a 3 hour inspection. He performed a complete inspection and confirmed that the work was not done correctly/as stated and Termidor was not applied properly.

Desired Settlement
Above Continued:

I witnessed **** on multiple occasions spraying the fence with chemical in a back and forth motion covering the fence with chemical
**** never discussed this as part of the process and when explained initially said it had to be drilled and pumped into each post.After further review once they were completed, the holes were NOT drilled every three bricks as discussed previously and when we signed the contract
In addition, 80% of the holes drilled were not drilled all the way through the mortar
Furthermore, the Termidor product was NEVER injected into the holes as the holes were not dilled completely as discussed when I signed the contract and gave my credit card information
I called **** on his cell number listed on his business card and left a voice mail stating I had concerns. I had my wife attempt contacting him from her cell phone as it was different
He immediately picked up. She explained the concern as far as not drilling all the way through the brick. **** then explained that drilling through is not needed and they only drill until they hear a pop. **** said he could come back in 20 minutes to discuss. After further review and discovering the work was not performed correctly, I did not want **** or his associate back on my property.My wife then contacted **** to tell him that we were going to review and we would not be available.Around 30 minutes later, We noticed **** and his 'Associate' driving up and down our street. 15 minutes after that, **** and his 'Associate' pulled in front of our residence and knocked on our door. I called **** and explained that I had been in communication with the State of Tennessee Agricultural Department explaining my situation, I had also explained that he had not performed the work as discussed when I signed the contract. ****'s tone of voice became elevated and he asked 'What did I do wrong?' I replied, ****, you said you were going to drill completely through the mortar and fill with product. 80% of the holes are not drilled completely through. I asked **** refund my payment in full by 5pm or I would be taking appropriate action with my credit card company, the State of Tennessee Agricultural Department, etc... **** just screamed that I was wrong and he was right... I contacted two different Nationwide pest control companies. I asked both technicians over the phone if the holes had to be drilled all the way through the mortar in order to inject Turmidor. Technicians from both companies explained that the ONLY way to inject the product was to drill a hole all the way through the mortar
One Technician came to the property to give an estimate and confirmed that majority of the holes were not drilled all the way through the mortar as **** agreed to doing. The second Technician from another company explained that there was no way to 'Flood' the product in order to fix the problem. He stated that all of the aggregate around the from garage door, entryway and rear patio would have to be drilled through to the soil in order to correctly apply the product
**** did not do this ****.
I also contacted the Tennessee Department of Agriculture to explain my issue
They quickly sent out a state inspector to assess the work performed and current damages
The states inspector noted that the product was not applied as discussed or as noted on the product label
Furthermore the State Inspector verified that the holes were not drilled completed through the mortar and product was not applied in the void as described initially on 4/18
The State of Tennessee Agriculture Inspector is drafting a complete summary of the work performed or lack thereof...

I am seeking a complete and full refund of the $1,760 we spent on this service that was not provided. This refund should be made in full to go back on my credit card used for transaction. A total of 9

Business Response
On Friday April 18, 2015, Franklin Pest Control, Inc. received a call regarding flying insects
with wings in the attic. Mr. ******* ******** requested we come out today if possible for an
inspection. Upon our arrival to the property, the customer answered the door and immediately
took us to the attic. I informed the customer that they were indeed swarmers along with a few
wasp. I asked if I and my trainee could examine the garage and the customer escorted us to the
garage.
I explained to the customer the process for the treatment:
1. Initial light trench to make sure we would not hit any irrigation or drain system.
2. Drill every 3 bricks in between the brick mortal.
3. Inject into the brick mortal
4. Complete the trench 6 inches deep & wide and then inject with a rod that gives a 4 way
spread.
5. Rod every post of the fence. (The customer mentioned he had spent $6,000.00 to install
the fence and he did not want termites to destroy the fence.)
6. Drill in front of the garage
The customer wanted to proceed with signing the agreement, but the customer emphasized the
investment on a fence he was having installed. The customer had been drinking and stated that
he needed time to really think it through. I advised the customer to give us a call when he is
ready. The customer stated that he would give us a call on Monday. After leaving the prop
erty, in 20 minutes, I had two missed calls from the customer. I called the customer and he
apologize and requested that I return because he wanted the job done as soon as possible.

The customer was informed that in Tennessee you have a three day cancellation policy but since
you requested us here Monday, I will need your initial not to cancel your contact. The customer
signed the agreement and initialed not to cancel.
On Monday April 20, 2015, we arrived in the rain. I advised the customer that we would not treat
the property under those conditions. The customers stated that he had no problem with the arrangement.
The customer advised me that he was familiar with the plan because the worker installing his fence had
to do catch up because of the weather. I explained that Franklin Pest Control was experiencing the same
situations due to the weather.
On Tuesday April 21, 2015, we began the process and explained the procedures to the customer.
The trainer with my supervision started the light trench and then the drilling of the bricks. The
customer was going in and out of the home. I explained to the trainee that with experience he
will feel the break as the drill goes through the mortar. I began to ask the trainee can you
feel it, his response was "I am not sure or no". I informed the trainee that I would check the
holes and re-drill any holes that did not go through on Thursday April 23, 2015.
I informed the customer that we will finish the job on Thursday. The customer was in agreement
and agreed to see us on Thursday between the hours of 10:00 AM-11:00 AM to complete the job.
Within thirty minutes to one hour after our departure from the property, the customer's wife,
contacted me by phone and asked "Where are you and what did you do". I explained to her I had
explained to her husband that we would be back to complete the treatment on Thursday and she
said "Ok see you all on Thursday".
Within one hour later I had three missed calls for the customer's phone.
I called the customer and he informed me that he had contacted two companies and he was advised to contact
the state representative. He informed me that he was going to do everything he could to get my license
taken. Also, he informed me that he was going to contact the credit card company to get his
money back and he hung up the phone on me. All this was done without my ever knowing the customer was
dissatisfied with the process thus far.
After completing an appointment on Bancroft Way for a different customer, I stopped again to try to resolve
the matter at the customer's home. The customer called me, he never answered his door, and requested that I
leave his property and do not return. I considered this behavior to be of the type that no matter what
I did, it would not be satisfactory to the customer.
From the proceedings thus far, it appears I was correct. If for some reason a customer is not completely
satisfied with results of our service, Franklin Pest Control, Inc. will correct the conditions if
allowed to do so. The customers have not allowed us to resolve their issues but instead, they
have sought to damage the repetition of Franklin Pest Control, Inc with unproven acquisitions.
At this time, we are left with no other recourse but to seek legal representation. However, in the
interest of community service Franklin Pest Control remains committed to resolving the issues
personally with the customers. Please do not hesitate to contact us.
Franklin Pest Control, Inc.
**** *** ********, Owner

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response from **** at Franklin Pest Control continues to be a tangled web of lies. First of all I am not trying to ruin the reputation of Franklin Pest Control. I am seeking complete reimbursement of my $1,760 as the work was not performed as discussed. As far as 'Unproven Acquisitions' that is why I contacted the TN. State Department of Agriculture and requested a complete investigation as I wanted to make sure my family and I were protected under TN. State Law. I gave **** this option on Tuesday over the phone to refund my money in full which he denied. I was never notified that a 'Trainer' was going to be performing work on my property. He said the other individual was an 'Associate.' **** said nothing about 'Digging a trench to stay clear of pipes or lay product. Furthermore, the holes are not drilled every three bricks. There are supposed to be a total of 92 holes if every brick was drilled three times. there are only 65 and only 14 of those were drilled completely through. Product was never injected into the brick mortar on any of the holes as I walked around the house and noticed the ground was moist but not any of the holes. Also, how can product go through a hole if it is not drilled completely? A trench was never dug 6" deep and wide. The top layer of an inch was only scrapped off. This has been completely documented during the inspection. In regards to the fence.I never asked for my fence to be treated. **** noticed the fence and said 'Did you just have that installed?' I said yes and that is when he said the it would 'Have to be treated!' Furthermore, every post was not 'Rodded' and the chemical was just sprayed on the fence. Once again, there was never discussion around spraying product anywhere! Garage floor was not drilled! In regard to the cancellation of my contract, the reasons I initialed the right to 'Wave' my right were never discussed or explained. Furthermore I learned that legally I cannot 'wave' my right to cancel a contract. Also a valid contract number must be listed on the contract as per Tn. State Law which my contact did not have. I have attached a copy of my contract for reference. As you can see no Contract Number is listed which is required by Law. I also submitted my cancellation to **** within the the 3 required business days. In regards to the holes not being drilled properly: **** informed me that he had 'Completed' the job at around 10:45am. I asked 'You are all finished?' he said yes and shook my hand. He said 'All we have to do is come back out on Thursday to put the plugs in the holes.' He never mentioned the fact that more drilling would take place on Thursday or he needed to complete the work of his 'Trainee.' Furthermore when my wife asked him on the phone afterwards about not all the holes being drilled. He said, you don't go all the way through... you just drill until you hear a 'Pop.' If that is the case then why were some holes drilled all the way through??? In response to not having Franklin Pest Control back on my property, they did not perform the work correctly and as agreed upon! They also continued to lie and we question their ability to perform the work correctly and by TN. State Agriculture Guidelines and Law. We are not willing to risk the safety of our family, community and the environment knowing the current severity of this situation with the use of harmful chemicals, how they were mixed and knowing they were applied incorrectly on our property. The reason I did not answer my door is that when my wife spoke with **** she requested multiple times that he not come back to the house. We noticed him and his associate driving up and down the street and then they pulled up, parked and knocked on our door. Once again, we requested multiple times via phone that **** not return and he chose to not agree with our request and come anyway. We felt threatened with a young child in the house and did not want to answer the door. I DO NOT ACCEPT THIS RESPONSE FROM FRANKLIN PEST CONTROL. It is nothing but blatant lies which they have been from the beginning. I expect a complete refund from Franklin Pest Control in the amount of $1,760 as requested initially.

Final Business Response
Franklin Pest Control, Inc. has tried to resolve the issue in question to your satisfaction. Our corporate policy is providing our customers with first class quality service. Franklin Pest Control's final act to resolve this matter is to fully return your credit card payment within seven (7) to ten (10) business days.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the businesses resolution of a complete refund of $1,760 within 7 - 10 business days.

******* ********

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/30/2005Business started: 10/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

The commercial application of pesticides (insecticides, herbicides, fungicides, etc.) in Tennessee requires certification, licensing, and a charter. Consumers may search the Tennessee Department of Agriculture's web site to determine an applicators regulatory compliance by clicking here: http://agriculture.state.tn.us/listcharter.asp

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2005, TN

Business Management

According to information supplied by the company, Earl Lipscomb has had 20 years previous experience in another pest control company before his ownership with Franklin Pest Control.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Earl Lipscomb (CEO)
Business Category

Pest Control Services, Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation, Termite Control, Contractor - Insulation, Insect Control Devices, Waterproofing Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers commercial and residential pest & termite control services, mold & mildew inspection/removal/remediation and waterproofing. This company also provides crawlspace and attic insulation services.

Industry Tips
Home - Termites

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Franklin Pest Control, Inc. has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Franklin Pest Control, Inc.

3326 Aspen Grove Dr Ste 306

Franklin, TN 37067-4857

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3326 Aspen Grove Dr Ste 306 

    Franklin, TN 37067-4857

  • PO Box 681912 

    Franklin, TN 37068

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Franklin Pest Control, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 822-1992
  • (615) 895-7890
  • (931) 552-3373
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Services

Home - Termites
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.