BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Bailey Patio Construction, Inc.

Phone: (615) 591-1001 (Disconnected)Fax: (615) 591-1130View Additional Phone Numbers1120 Lakeview Drive, Ste 500, FranklinTN 37067http://www.betterlivingsunroomstn.com ! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Bailey Patio Construction, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.

The company has provided BBB with the name and direct phone number that consumers should call prior to filing a complaint with BBB. BBB suggests consumers contact Dede Bailey, Vice President, at 615.591.1001to discuss any concerns, and allow her 72 hours (excluding weekends and holidays) to resolve the matter before filing a complaint with BBB.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Bailey Patio Construction, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Defective motors, damage shades, metal shavings when lowered. Install electrical outlet. Shades were damage when they were taken down in Dec 2012.
On June 6, 2012 I entered into a contract with Beterliving Mid-South to have a roof and Solar shades put on my Betterliving patio for $11,890.00, **** **** was the salesman for Betterliving. The contract consisted of (2)11X6 width,5ft drop, (1)7ft width,(1)5ft width,5 ft drop Solar shade w/track,(2)motors, 4 zone remote, color to be Desert sand, Satire fabric, Desert sand in color, Company to install electric for motors. Company to shingle existing sunroom, Company to obtain rec permits. All job debris removed. Company to replace damaged screens and key lock. 6 Months SAC. The biggest problem with this contract was I requested a 4 zone remote and Mr. **** only ordered 2 motors. This was not discovered until 2 shades 11x6 was installled. I told Mr. **** that I wanted each shade on a single zone but he only ordered 2 motors. The cost for these solar shades $5,945.00. I went back to Mr. **** and ordered another motor because we had one motor that was being use on a shade that was 23 ft long. I was told Oct 2012 by Mr. **** that the motor would be in a weeks time but it never happen. I made numerious calls to ******, ********* during Oct thru Dec 2012 and everyone knew nothing about the motor. One day in Nov 2012 I was showing these shades to a neighbor and I noticed something like rust spots on one shade and rust spot and something black like grease on the other shade. The marks were all in a straight line. I also went out side and to see if they were on outside. I noticed metal shavings on the metal bar on both shades. In Dec 2012 they sent one of there workers and they saw the defects on the shades and the metal shavings on the bar. In Dec 2012 they took the shades back to the Btterliving shop to examine these defects. I never heard anything from Betterliving from Dec 2012 until I called them in May 17, 2013 and talked to ******. I gave a message to ****** to have ********* to call me. I talked to ********* on May 22, 2013. I asked her about the Solar shades and the motor and she stated that they were on back order. I couldnt understand how something could be on back order for 6 months. Also I couldnt understand why no one had called me to keep me informed. On May 22, 2013 ********* called me and told me that the motor had arrived and crew would be up to install the shades. The crew came up and installed the shades and had the new motor and found out the the original motor was defective. We also discovered that the damaged shades had not been examined, nor taken apart to see where the matal shavings were coming from on both shades. From what was told to me by ********* , she noticed the shades on the shelf since Dec. I called ********* on June XX XXXX and asked to speak to ****. After talking to ****, he wanted to see the defects and came to Clarksville, TN on June 18, 2013. He saw the defects and we discuss the motor and he promised to have everything done ASAP. I told him that these shades had been in his shop for 6 months and asked what had been done to them but didnt receive any answer. On June 19, 2013 ********* called me and told me that someone would be up to get the shades on June 25, 2013 and no one showed up. So I waited a week to give them every chance to redeem them self but like in the past I had to pick up the phone. On July 2, 2013 I called ********* to asked why no one picked the shades and there was every excuse you can think of was given to me. On July 2, 2013 ********* called me back and stated that someone would be here to pick up shades on July 3, 3013. Ive had enough. There management stinks. The Crew did a awesome job on my roof. Theres no communication. I paid this company 5,495.00 to do a job in a time mannner. Its been over a year and this job is not complete.

Desired Settlement
This company is not the same company that built my Betterliving Sunroom. The Crew that did the work is awesome but management stinks. Im looking for Betterliving to either replace those (2)11x6 or refund my money. Its been a year since this job was contracted and I dont have confidence that this company can provide service in the future. The shades have paint that have scratch off the shades from being miss handled. This can affect the 5 year warranty on the paint finish. They have had 8 months to find out whats causing the metal shavings to fall from the inside. Replace the shade because of the defect being cause by the roller. If these things cant be replaced then Im requesting a refund for the(2)11x6 shades.

Business' Initial Response
We contracted with ******* ******* for 4 solar shades on 6/6/2012 to be manufactured and installed. These were sold as tandem solar shades, where two solar shades go up and down operated by one motor. Subsequent to the installation, Mr. ******* requested that the two larger solar shades be re-engineered to operate independent of each other. We forwarded Mr. *******'s request to the manufacturer. We were told by the manufacturer that this had never been requested before and the engineers would have to review and determine what would be required. Unfortunately, the engineers misplaced the request. We were waiting on the response from the engineers to proceed. We can understand Mr. ******* being upset with this delay. We re-contacted the manufacturer and they were apologetic as well. We received the parts necessary to separate the solar shades unto individual motors. Mr. ******* then told us of his concern about metal shavings that he thought might be rust. The manufacturer failed to clean these metal shavings when the metal roller was cut to size and does not interfere with the functioning of the solar shade. We explained that all the metal on the solar shades is aluminum and would not rust. We took the solar shades down and brought them back to the shop to separate them onto individual motors. While we had the solar shades in the shop, we addressed the defective electric motor problem. We have also addressed the paint scratches. These paint scratches would not have had any effect on the 5 year warranty. We have addressed all the issues with the solar shades. We then returned the solar shades to the home of Mr. ******* to be re-installed. Mr. ******* refused to allow these solar shades to be nstalled.

Consumer's Final Response
I don't except this proposal for the following reasons. First, I purchased solar shades from Betterliving and the contract states that the shades would be delivered and installed free from defects and damage. This company has failed to abide by this contract. When I ordered these shades, I requested a four zone remote because I wanted each shade operate independent of each other. Mr. **** wasn't knowledgeable on what equipment was needed to make solar shades work independently of each other. Mr. **** who is no longer with the company understood my request and knew this would be the only reason I purchased the solar shades. The contract does not state and I was never told that these were tandem solar shades and they was going to work with only two motors. Mr. **** was the salesman who sold me the shades and apologized to me because me failed to order enough motors for the four zone operation. So I told him I would except a extra motor because 25 feet was to much shade to operate one motor. Second, In December 2012 Betterliving picked up the Solar shades because I discovered the metal shaving and the shades were being damaged on the roller. The mark looked like the head of a rusted rivet. There was also a black substance over one of the rust marks.The shades were at Betterliving from December until April. When I called ********* in April 2012 and asked her about the shades, she told me that the motor was on back order. I told her about the metal shavings and shade that was being damaged by the rivet on the roller. She said that she didn't know anything about metal shavings and damage shades. There was no communications from this company explaining what was going on with these shade. When they returned the shades in April 2012 nothing had been done to the shades. The rust marks and the black mark was still on the shades. Metal shavings was still falling out the shades and both the casings that hold the shades were damaged extensively. In June 2013 *** came to my house to see the what the problems with the shades, now remember, these shades were at Betterliving shop for six months. That shows that no one had looked at the other defects and no one had tried to see what was damaging the shade and what was causing the metal shaving to fall from the casings. At that time I showed *** the damage to the casing, rust marks, black marks and he responded like it wasn't a big deal. These are suppose to be professional installers and there shouldn't be little or no damage to the casing of the shades. I hold Betterliving responsible for all damages. Thirdly, when Betterliving came to install the Solar shades in June. They tried to install these shades when they thought no one was at home. They called me and said they would be at my house on a Friday. They showed up on a Thursday unannounced. At that time I was taking a shower and I heard someone in my back yard. When I went outside Betterliving was in my back yard going to install the solar shades without my permission. I asked the installers what they had done to the shades. I think Betterliving was just trying to get Solar shades out their possession. I asked them if they found out where the metal shavings were coming from. I asked them did they find out what was making that rust marks and what was damaging the shades. They said that they cleaned the shades. I also asked them did anyone repair the damage to the casings. They said no one repaired the casings.I refused to let Betterliving install the shades because I don't think they even attempted to find out why there were shaving coming form both rollers. Also, the marks on the shades were never addressed. The marks on the shades might be the way the roller was made.They should have returned shades to the company as being defective. Remember, Betterliving had this product for 6 months and returned them to my house in April 2013 in the same condition as I sent it to them in December 2012 for repair.
I will only except these solar shades when this company repair or replace all the defective material and find out why metal shavings are falling from shades and what's causing the damage to the shades made by roller when shades are lowered. There's something on the roller that's making these marks. If Betterlive can't replace casings and repair shades, I'm requesting refund of money for Solar shades not installed.

Business' Final Response
All repairs have been made to these solar shades:
- Metal shavings cleaned from roller
- Paint touch up
- Stain removed from fabric

We have been unsuccessful in reaching Mr. ******* and took a chance that he might be home when we took the solar shades to his home to be installed.

Solar shades are in our warehouse and we are waiting for Mr. ******* to decide when he would like them installed.

Additional Information

top

On July 11, 2014, the company filed for bankruptcy under Chapter 7 of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case number 14-27076 dsk.

Those with monetary claims against the company are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to Tennessee Western Bankruptcy Court, 200 Jefferson Ave Room 175, Memphis, TN, 38103 for resubmission to that court.

The case number should be entered on the form.

Claims must be submitted by 2014-10-06.

BBB file opened: 05/03/2000Business started: 09/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1999, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jay Wells (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Christine Alvarado (Office Manager)Ms. Dede Bailey (Vice President)
Business Category

Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Windows, Awnings & Canopies, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Contractors - General

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers: sunrooms, English conservatories, retractable awnings, replacement windows/doors and rattan furniture.

Alternate Business Names
Betterliving of Nashville, Betterliving Mid-South, Better Living Sunrooms
Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bailey Patio Construction, Inc. has received 1.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1120 Lakeview Drive
    Ste 500 

    Franklin, TN 37067(615) 899-2135

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bailey Patio Construction, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 899-2135
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures

Home Improvements
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

On July 11, 2014, the company filed for bankruptcy under Chapter 7 of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case number 14-27076 dsk.

Those with monetary claims against the company are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to Tennessee Western Bankruptcy Court, 200 Jefferson Ave Room 175, Memphis, TN, 38103 for resubmission to that court.

The case number should be entered on the form.

Claims must be submitted by 2014-10-06.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.