BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2008

Sharper Impressions Painting

Phone: (615) 731-6189Fax: (615) 469-3486View Additional Phone Numbers3617 Sabre Dr, NashvilleTN 37211-3214 Send email to Sharper Impressions PaintingView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers painting contractors services, fence and deck staining, pressure washing, wood repair and replacement, caulking and sealing, and minor drywall repair.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2008

BBB has determined that Sharper Impressions Painting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sharper Impressions Painting's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sharper Impressions Painting

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
From: ** ******* (mailto:******@gmail.com)
Sent: Thursday, May 05, 2016 1:17 PM
To: bbbnash@gobbb.org; bbbwilliamsoncty@gobbb.org
Cc: 'Michael M*******'; info@sharperpainting.com; *******, Cheryl
Subject: Left in a "Lurch" by Sharper Impressions Painting Co.

Good afternoon Mid-Tenn and Williamson County BBB,

I am sending this email to both BBB Headquarters and Williamson County Branch as my wife and I live in Williamson County and Sharper Impressions has a Nashville address. Advertised as a BBB Member, with a mailing address of **** ********* Drive, Nashville, TN *****, Sharper Impressions Painting Co. has abandoned the job that was started with power washing our house on April 19, 2016.

We have agreed to two contracts: One to paint our outside trim, including window sashes and frames, with two coats. The second contract is to paint the walls, trim, closets, bathroom trim, and repair and repaint one wall and stair case trim. Neither project has been completed as of this date.

On Wednesday, April 27, 2016 around Noon, the Local Manager of Sharper Impressions notified me via email that he re-assigned the painting crew to another job. He also stated that he wanted to do a walk through and prepare a punch list of items remaining, having responded to an email I sent wanting to know what was going on? The crew left without giving any notice. I haven't heard from Sharper Impressions since.

Since receiving the email from Sharper Impression's Local Manager, I have given numerous dates and times that we are available for that "walk thru and punch list" but have not received any response since the email of April 27, 2016 previously mentioned. I have pleaded to at least get the master bed room completed so that we can get back to a normal life, but have not received any reply from anyone at Sharper Impressions Painting. The outside trim and windows have only received on coat whereby the contract specifies two coats. Our back porch ceiling and trim have not been painted at this point in time, although specified. Our biggest problem and disappointment with Sharper Impressions Painting is that no one has returned calls or emails since the email from Mr. M******* requesting times to set up a site visit.

Please also note, that we had to leave town unexpectedly for a funeral and were gone from April 30 through May 3. Mr. M******* was appropriately and timely informed of this on April 27 very shortly after I knew the funeral arrangements. I in fact sent Mr. M******* three emails on April 27.

Since the last contact from Mr. M******* of Sharper Impressions, I have made the following attempts to contact him or their home office in Kansas City:

April 27, 2016 3:11 PM Phone call to M******* leaving a message to please call regarding re-scheduling
April 27, 2016 Email to M******* wanting to know why the painting crew had left without any notice.
April 27, 2016 Email to M******* providing dates we are available along with a plea to get our master bedroom completed.
April 27, 2016 Email to M******* explaining our need to leave town unexpectedly for a funeral.
April 29, 2016 9:26 AM Phone call to M******* asking about status.
April 28, 2016 Another email following up on the email of April 27, 2016.
April. 29, 2016 Note to founder in Kansas City via Sharper Impressions Painting Co's web site regarding the abandonment.
May 4, 2016 Email to M******* asking him to please call me.
May 4, 2016 10:57AM Phone call to M******* leaving a message to please call.
May 4, 2016 ?? Call to Nashville Office asking that M******* call me.

Bottom line..... Our house is a mess, especially the master bed room. The interior painting has not been completed. The exterior has only one coat instead of the two specified, and the porch ceiling and trim have not been touched. We've been abandoned!!! Although we've made numerous attempts to contact Sharper Impressions, no one has returned any phone call or email since April 27.

Please help!!

**..
** *******
*** ********* ***
Franklin, TN *****
615.***.****

Business Response
Mr. ******* had a funeral that he needed to leave for an extended period of time.
We were nearly complete with his painting project.
He demanded that we clean up the entire project and leave during his funeral absence. Which we did.
He refused to let us complete the painting project, even on the outside of his home while he was gone at this funeral.

Since we don't take a deposit, he has paid nothing. We have thousands of dollars in labor and hundreds of dollars in material invested in his home. We definitely want to and intend to complete this project.

We made it very clear to Mr. ******* numerous times in writing and verbally that this was going to through off our busy Spring schedule.
We also made it very clear that we had a very large project after his that we could not leave until we were complete to meet our next customers scheduling needs.

When we are done with this very large project, we will return to complete the ******* project.


Consumer Response
Satisfactorily resolved June 7, 2016

06/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sharper Impressions has not followed up for almost 7 months regarding concerns with painting completed at our property.
To Whom It May Concern:
Last fall (2015) we hired Sharper Impressions Painting to complete both interior and exterior painting of our home. Both jobs were extremely rushed resulting in quality issues. My husband and I partnered with the internal painters directly to correct some of the issues and completed others ourselves while others are still outstanding. For the exterior, there were several challenges with the job. For example, pressure washing was completed in the dark which resulted in areas that were prepped for a smooth finish to be pitted. In addition, we were asked to inspect the home during very early or late hours which hid many of the imperfections of their work.
When unpacking our home we saw many places where caulking and painting were not completed looking outward from our windows. Our black wrought iron fencing, brick pavers, brick exterior, fireplaces and outdoor appliances were not appropriately covered leaving white paint flecks and drips all over our property of which we have spent countless hours trying to remove.
We attempted to report these issues to ***** (the individual that managed our project) shortly after the job was completed who never responded. We later found out that ***** had left the company although his phone was still in service. As a result of not receiving a response from ***** we reached out to the home office during the holiday season. We have asked numerous times for a representative to come to the property to walk it with us and collaborate on a resolution. However, after providing pictures and punch lists etc. we still have not received any assistance from their office. We asked for a second opinion from another painter who informed us that there were definitely not two coats of paint (which was how the contract was written) applied to all areas of the exterior and that areas were definitely not prepped and protected appropriately. At this point it has been close to 7 months of being in touch with the home office without resolution. To make matters worse we are already starting to see area of the paint job begin to peel and chip etc.
We are writing in hopes for assistance in resolution of this matter before escalating further. We would definitely not recommend this company to anyone for their painting needs as they rush their crews, do not follow up on concerns and string along customers.
Thank you.

Desired Settlement
We are looking for a representative of their business to come and walk the property with us to determine how best to resolve the issues with the painting services that were completed at our property. We are looking for the company to correct all issues with the painting completed.

Business Response
This complainant had hired and fired another painter previous to our company coming out. This experience was very stressful for this customer and the other painting company. We want to avoid this same stress for both our company and the complainant.

This customer was very happy with our work as proven by the attached customer satisfaction form they filled out upon completion.

We asked this previous customer for photos of areas that they had a warranty concern with this year after they submitted their warranty request.
They provided the pictures attached.

Our warranty clearly states in writing that warranty covers paint failure. This is industry standard.
Even though there is no paint failure in the pictures attached we dispatch our Manager who walked around the entire property.
This Manager saw no paint failure so there is no warranty work to be done. We want to keep this customer satisfied, but there simply is nothing to fix. They were happy with our work when we were done and the paint surface is intact, secure and not failing.

If the complainant wants to provide pictures where paint is failing, which by written definition is peeling or flaking, then we will dispatch our painter to fix that area.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Responses Below.
This complainant had hired and fired another painter previous to our company coming out. This experience was very stressful for this customer and the other painting company. We want to avoid this same stress for both our company and the complainant.
The prior painter was not fired. After the original quote, the company told us that they had not quoted us enough to complete the job to the quality we had requested at the time of the quote and written in the contract. We allowed the company to requote us what they thought was reasonable to complete the work. In the end, when it came the date to complete the work, the company informed us that they could not complete the work to the contract. They offered a refund, we actually did not want a refund, we wanted them to be able to perform the work we contracted them to complete. None of that concern is relevant to this issue. If Sharper Impressions wanted to avoid the creation of stress we don't believe that they would have led along the conversation (as you will see in the timeline below and the attached supporting documentation) for 8 months. Putting us through multiple rounds of documentation and then never providing a response when our request was simple - send someone to review the paint job against the contract with us - does not send the message of wanting to partner. A pretty simple request from a $15,000 client.

This customer was very happy with our work as proven by the attached customer satisfaction form they filled out upon completion.
Our rating of the work, based upon what we could see with the light we had available, was A-B rated as indicated on the survey. We could see that there were gaps where paint was light etc. We were asked to review the work (despite poor light due to our work hours) so that "the crew could be paid" & were told that the touch up would still be completed. Our comments were to specifically compliment 2 of the crew members who were working very hard.

We asked this previous customer for photos of areas that they had a warranty concern with this year after they submitted their warranty request.
They provided the pictures attached.
We have not been submitting a warranty request. We are submitting a request against the original contract in terms of the work that should have been completed.

Our warranty clearly states in writing that warranty covers paint failure. This is industry standard.
Even though there is no paint failure in the pictures attached we dispatch our Manager who walked around the entire property.
This Manager saw no paint failure so there is no warranty work to be done. We want to keep this customer satisfied, but there simply is nothing to fix. They were happy with our work when we were done and the paint surface is intact, secure and not failing.
There are some areas where paint is beginning to show potential failure around the pillars but it is not our main concern. As stated above, our concerns are about performance to the original the contract. Further, we do have an issue with someone accessing our property without being notified. We view this as trespassing and are at a loss to understand why after 8 months of requesting someone to come and meet us at the property someone would be sent without notification to us and our approval to be on our property. As noted, we have had damage at our property with your company on the premises without our presence of which we were never compensated for. Under no circumstance should your organization be on our property without proper notification.

If the complainant wants to provide pictures where paint is failing, which by written definition is peeling or flaking, then we will dispatch our painter to fix that area.
Total Investment: $15,000 +
Customer Request: To send a non-painting crew member to walk the property with us & review the integrity of the painting so that we could align on the gaps/issues that needed to be addressed. Please keep in mind that we never asked for reimbursement for the fire pit that was completely damaged & had to be thrown away, we addressed many of the interior issues ourselves and have invested weekend upon weekend scrubbing paint drippings off of just about everything on our property. To ask for an hour of time to walk the property with us, review the job & correct any issues seems like a pretty small request for a $15,000 job.
Total Time Waiting for Response from Organization: 8 Months
Recommendation on Vendor: Our advice is to stay away from franchised painting organizations such as Sharper Impressions (there are many others). From our experience they charge double the going rate of working directly with a painting professional (they subcontract out all of their work). For the additional expense you will incur (almost double) the warranties, customer service, quality etc. are all substandard to working directly with a painting professional. As you can see, even with a bill of $15,000+ these organizations will not invest even an hour of time nor provide a response to clients spending this amount of money in their organization. So if you have a small job imagine the service you will get in return for your business - basically non-existent. In addition, the quality of the paint job will be much lower as the crews are rushed to complete the work & still make a reasonable hourly rate after the franchise and owners take their cut. We also now know that many crews are not legally permitted to work in the U.S. As for Sharper Impressions we would no longer recommend doing business with them specifically as their customer service is extremely poor no matter the amount of spend or size of your project. They rush their crews just like every other franchise by under quoting the jobs in terms of hours causing the teams to work very quickly creating quality gaps. We have since found a wonderful local painter. He covers each & every detail of your home to ensure no paint splatter and restores your walls to look brand new. Working directly with painting professionals has served us well in other markets outside of Nashville and has proven to be the best approach in Nashville. Better pricing, better quality, better service and overall experience working direct & cutting out the franchise. We tried the franchises here in Nashville looking for better quality & service & have encountered the exact opposite.
Timeline of Events
10.15.15 - Exterior paint job begins. We reported concerns out of the gate as the crew showed up to pressure wash at 5:45pm. This would be the first of many nights that the crews would work well into the evening without adequate light. We believe this evening is when the work we had completed to smooth all of the pillars was damaged on some of the pillars. (text msg attached)
Mid- Nov - Early Dec - Many voicemails were left with ***** re: concerns over our fire pit that had been run over as well as painting. We connected with him one time of which he said he would follow up with our concerns and we never heard back.
12.2.15 - Sent follow up text message regarding the damage to our fire pit (the text message captures that we had been trying to get a response for over 3 weeks. Text message also provides reference to our ongoing concerns of gaps in the exterior paint job that we continued to find and some example photos. (details attached)
Mid-Dec - Contacted office re: concerns and lack of response from ***** - we connected with **** ***** who informed us that ***** was no longer with the company.
Jan - Did not receive any updates from the office since the holidays. We were trying to be patient due to holiday season. We reached back out via phone and were informed that an email had supposedly been sent to us regarding the request for pictures which we did not receive.
2.11.16 - Initial photo examples provided. (email attached)
2.16.16 - **** confirms receipt of initial examples and informs us that "Upper Management" wanted to wait until all photos were received before responding. (email attached)
2.21.16 - Provided add'l photo examples of issues as requested. We requested for a non-crew member come to review the integrity of the paint job with us as we had been requesting since two weeks after the job was completed. (email attached)
3.1.16 - **** stated that our images/notes have been passed onto "upper management". She instructed us to provide a written, detailed punch out list for them to address for us later this spring. (email attached)
3.9.16 - Requested Punch Out List was provided to ****. (email attached)
March, April, May - We continued to call without any updates. **** continued to state that she would let "Upper Management" know (of what we don't know) but no response ever came leading us with no other option but to submit this complaint to hopefully prompt the follow up we have been requesting.
*Many phone calls were also made

Final Business Response

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/09/2008Business started: 01/01/1996Business started locally: 10/01/2007
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2002, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Abby Allen (Office Manager)
Business Category

Painting Contractors, Pressure Washing, Drywall Contractors, Caulking Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Sharper Impressions Painting Company, Sharper Impressions Painting of Nashville, LLC
Industry Tips
Home - Painting Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sharper Impressions Painting has received 4.1 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sharper Impressions Painting

3617 Sabre Dr

Nashville, TN 37211-3214

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3617 Sabre Dr 

    Nashville, TN 37211-3214

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sharper Impressions Painting is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 665-5566
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Painting Contractors

Home - Painting Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.