BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/03/2002

Two Men And A Truck - Nashville

Phone: (615) 248-6288Fax: (615) 248-4430View Additional Phone Numbers4801 Alabama Ave, NashvilleTN 37209-3448 Send email to Two Men And A Truck - Nashville

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/03/2002

BBB has determined that Two Men And A Truck - Nashville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Two Men And A Truck - Nashville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Two Men And A Truck - Nashville

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
06/30/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They provided a price to pack and move my house from Nashville, TN to Jackson, MS. They failed to pack and move everything and charged my over $11,00
They were hired to pack and move my house. They failed to pack and move all of my belongings. There is still about half of a truck left. This is not just a move across town, but 6 hours away. They have refused any option other than charging me an additional $3,000 after i have already paid them over $11,000.

Desired Settlement
They need to pack and move the rest of my belongings to myna house.

Business Response
Dear sir,
Thank you for sharing your comments about our company.
The signed agreement that we have between your family and our company states that we would first pack your belongings at an hourly rate, and then provide 2 trucks and 4 men to load and move your belongings to your new home. Unfortunately, our men were asked to stop packing before every item could be packed. We also fully loaded two trucks which were larger than the trucks guaranteed in our contract, and we were not able to fit the remainder of your belongings on the two trucks for which you paid.
Because we empathize with your frustration, we were happy to offer you with two options. We offered to either move the remainder of your belongings to a local storage unit of your choice free of charge, which would allow you to find an alternative moving option to Mississippi, or to move the remainder of your belongings to your new home with a discounted rate of roughly 64% of the typical cost of that type of move. Both of these options were rejected.
Unfortunately, we cannot offer to move the rest of your belongings to Mississippi at no cost, due to our company policies.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We did not ask the men to stop packing - they said they were done and would finish the next day. This is an absolute lie!!!

Your solution for me to pay an extra $4600 is not a viable option after already paying you $12,000.

I checked with corporate in Lansing, MI and they have no policy that states this - this is some policy you have made up to give you an out for being unscrupulous.

You are unethical and will be sued!!!



Final Business Response
Dear sir,

To address your first comment, please see the attached, signed paperwork stating that our movers completed all services required. The relevant signatures have been highlighted for your convenience.

To reiterate again, we have not asked for an additional payment of $4,600 for any service. As a good faith gesture, we offered to provide a free move of the remainder of your belongings to a local storage facility as you decided on a further course of action. We also offered the alternative option of a discounted move of the remainder of your belongings to your new home at a discounted cost of $3,000. These options were previously offered on numerous occasions.

Finally, please find attached an email from our corporate office in Lansing, MI stating that we cannot, due to several regulations, conduct an interstate move for free. Please find this statement highlighted for ease of research.

For your convenience and help in investigating this matter further, I have also attached our pre-move letter, which states our burden of providing two trucks and four men for your interstate move. The signed paperwork from your move date shows that we completed this service. Please also find attached our contact log, which is generated automatically through our database, which shows that this pre-move letter was sent in plenty of time before your move date for your review.

10/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company did not supply appropriate employees to handle our move, taking twice as long to complete the process so they could overcharge us.
Two Men and a Truck originally estimated a 2 to 4 hour move for our small list of furniture (large items only with NO packing)from a two bedroom condo. We moved only 75 yards down a parking lot in the same condo complex. When the written estimate came by email, they had switched it to a 4 to 6 hour move. I called to ask why, and they said it would probably take less than 4 hours but they wanted to make it 4 to 6 just in case. They said not to worry, we would not be charged for the extra hours. I took them at their word. On the day of the move, they sent one truck and two men. One of the men was experienced and a very good mover, the other man had only just started and clearly had no experience lifting heavy furniture. He kept repeating, "We aren't used to moving "real" furniture!" We were terrified that he was going to drop our furniture, as his arms and legs would shake every time he lifted something. After about 6 hours, these two still had not completely loaded our short list of large furniture items, and it became clear that they were trying to stretch out the hours of work so we could be charged more. (As a side note, we had moved every single box we had packed (ourselves)and every single picture and every small piece of furniture and all clothing items to the new condo, and they still had not finished!) At this point, my 54-year-old husband decided to become the second mover (replacing the shaking guy, who then spent the next 3 hours standing around and watching)so that we could get the move completed and we would have less damage. About NINE HOURS after they started, they finally finished (although the second helper was done long before)and left. The local manager said he would do us a favor by only charging us for 6 and one half hours. It is not a favor when the move should have taken a maximum of 4 hours and the second mover was basically worthless. After many conversations with the local manager and the home office in Michigan, we still feel like we were ripped off. We have moved 10 times over the last 30 years (locally and state to state), and we have never experienced anything like this. It was a horrible experience and I would never recommend this moving company to anyone. They used deceptive practices and unqualified employees to conduct business.

Desired Settlement
We would like to be refunded a minimum of two hours of charges (@ $125 hour) and be compensated for the damages to our furniture. We are not asking to get something for free, we just want to pay a fair amount for the services delivered and have them take care of the damages to our items. They damaged a new mattress which we have not been compensated for; they broke a glass shelf and we have not received a new one; and they damaged a mirror that they offered to pay $125 for but we have not yet seen a check.

Business Response
The customer was given a 4-6 hour estimate and this is reflected in her pre-move letter. Mrs. ****** was sent a pre-move letter via email on 8/6/2014 at 11:01 am. Under the estimate section of the pre-move letter it states:" The estimate is based on information you provide, and on the assumption that your house is packed and ready to move upon arrival. Estimates are given to inform you of approximate costs and allow us to schedule movers appropriately. Actual charges reflect the time spent on your move, plus boxes, packing supplies, travel time and other extra charges."
The customer's move was from 8:15 am to 3:45 pm. However, she was only charged for 6.5 hours. The movers called during her move and stated that they were having issues maneuvering a dresser down the stairs. The move manager went to the customer's residence to mitigate the issue and he was onsite for 30 minutes. The move manager helped to move the dresser and he took an hour off the customer's bill to accommodate for the time spent with the piece.
The customer signed release of liabilities for her damaged items. She initialed the release statements "mattresses must be in bags or not covered release and the glass and pictures in boxes/crated or not covered." The customer did not have the mattress in bags or the other items crated. Even though her damaged items were fully released, we still made several good faith gestures to the customer. We hired a restoration vendor to repair the mattress and we sent Mrs. ****** a check for $125.00 for the mirror and glass shelf. It takes up to 5 business days to receive the check once a check request is made to our bookkeeper. The customer signed that they were satisfied with the repair made to the mattress.
The customer contacted the Customer Care Department at home office. The Customer Care Department did an investigation and found no issues with the resolution process given to the customer. The Customer Care Department has closed the case.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company employs bait and switch tactics in order to charge the customer more money and operates in a dishonest and unprofessional manner. As previously stated, we were initially told that the move would take between 2 and 4 hours. In writing they changed it to between 4 and 6 hours, and when I emailed to find out why they changed it, they said it did not matter what was on the pre-move letter since it was just an estimate. It would likely only take 4 hours and we would not be charged. And it was the kind of move that should have only taken a maximum of 4 hours if we had had two competent movers as promised. What we got was one mover and another guy who stood and watched the majority of the time while my husband stepped in as the second mover. I also was not informed as to the mattress issue. The mover handed me a sheet to sign and told me that he could not start unless I signed it. It was not explained to me that I had to purchase mattress bags or damages would not be covered. As for damages, I was called on the phone and asked if I would accept $125 for the broken mirror frame ONLY. I said that I would. There was no discussion that the $125 was to cover all damages. I still expect to receive a replacement glass shelf for my china cabinet (which they had promised they would make and get to me) and I expect additional repairs to my ripped mattress. I also expect to be refunded for the excess moving hours over 4. I can forward the email where I asked why they changed the estimate to more hours, and I have pictures of the unresolved damages.

Final Business Response
Two Men And A Truck is upfront with our customers about the billing process. Every estimator reads from the same script to ensure all customers receive the same message. The script covers the service fee, 1 hour minimum, how we prorate the bill and that you are billed on the actual cost of the move. Our script reads as" In terms of the rate, our service is billed by the hour with a one-time service fee which covers the cost of fuel, mileage, and the equipment needed to complete the move. The service fee for your move would _______ dollars. The rate for 2(3 o4) men is_______ per hour Monday-Thursday and_______ per hour Friday and Saturday. With our service, we do have a1 hour minimum. After the initial hour, we do prorate into 15 minute increments so you receive the fairest bill as possible. The time would begin when we arrive to the first location and it ends as soon as they have completed the job at the final location There is no tax on our moving service and there are zero hidden fees You are only billed on the service fee and the actual time of the move."
As stated in the previous correspondence, the pre move letter details the estimate and informs the customer again "actual charges reflect the time spent on the move." We email every customer their pre-move confirmation letter.. In an effort to promote good customer service, we sent a manager onsite during the move to help the movers navigate a piece that they were having issues with. The manager took an hour of the bill totaling $125.00. The customer didn't voice any complaints to management during her move. The company is fully released from all liabilities for the damaged mattress, broken mirror and glass shelf based on the release statements the costumer signed. However, we still made good faith gestures to the customer. We sent a restoration vendor to repair the mattress. We also sent the customer a check for $125.00 for the damaged mirror and glass shelf.
Our commitment is to continuously strive to exceed our Customer's expectations in value and high standard of satisfaction. When we fall short of this it deeply concerns us. In spirit of our mission statement we made several attempts to satisfy the customer. Even though we are legally released from liability based on the signed released statements, we still gave the customers good faith gestures by way of repairs, time off the bill and compensation for damaged items. The customer has received discounts, repairs and reimbursements, totaling $325.00.

03/18/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The potential cost of service was not accurately articulated. I was told I would be charged 105 per hour but did not know about drive time charge.
I moved into my apartment on 3/5/14. About a month before the move I booked with this organization and went over the specific details of the move with one of the managers. After talking to him I was under the impression that the movers start billing once they get there and the bill stops after the last item is placed in the home. If a move takes 2 hours at 105 per hour equals 210. Once the movers arrived I come to find out that there is a charge of 15 minutes for them to drive from their office to my home and another 15 to drive back to the office which means I am automatically charged 2 hours for the move and 30 minutes for them driving. Which means if they take exactly two hours the cost will be around 260 which it was. I do not believe that the manager presented the information to me correctly because I would have continued to shop around for better prices. If he did stated the billing information correctly I believe the terminally used was deceiving because it does not accurately state basic billing practices.

Desired Settlement
I would like the manager I spoke to to find both conversations I had that day with the two associates and review them to make sure that the information I was given was correct and they did not omit anything to deceive me. If I an right I would like a refund because 2 men and a truck's organization prides themselves on having no underlining charges and if I am billed for this that would be a direct violation of you all mission statement. If your worker did go over the information as he said he did you are more than welcome to call me and I will apologize because I told you I would do that and I am a man of my word especially if I was wrong. If I was wrong I would also like for $30(15 to each mover) to be tipped to the young men who moved me that day. It always nice to get a pat on the back for congratulations but because of the type of work they perform on a daily basis an monetary reward is mandatory for a job well done. Because I was surprised by the charge I was not able to tip them and I think that is very important in this line of employment.

Business Response
Mr. ******* is correct, we do pride ourselves with the fact we do not have hidden fees. Every customer is read a script that clearly states that the time does begin with our departure from the office and ends upon the arrival back. We read it from the script and we send it in the pre-move letter that is emailed out to each customer. The paragraph directly below is copied from the pre-move letter that was emailed to Mr. ********


"Estimate: The estimate is based on information you provide, and on the assumption that your house is packed and ready to move upon arrival. Estimates are given to inform you of approximate costs and allow us to schedule movers appropriately. Actual charges reflect the time spent on your move, plus boxes, packing supplies, travel time and other extra charges. Billing begins when the movers leave the office and ends when they return to the office."

With that being said Mr. ******* was estimated 2-4 hours to complete his move. It was within the estimate and at the lower end of the estimate. Mr ******* expected the move to only take two hours. He was informed that there is a two hour minimum and that it could take anywhere from 2-4 hours. This was also sent to him in the pre-move letter. He was satisfied with the work the movers did. He did mention that he would like to tip them. There was never any intention to deceive Mr. ******** We apologize to Mr. ******* for the confusion but it was mentioned to him.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
To whom it may concern,

After reading the email I received you are correct in the fact that you sent literature with information about the move. What is confusing about the information is a term your employee claimed to used on the phone and not in the email. You all spoke of preset drive times. Basically the minimum charge for a move is 2 hours and the preset drive time. So I was automatically going to be charged 2 hours and 30 minutes(preset drive time). This was explained in person but I don't believe is was clearly articulated over the phone.

You are correct I think the movers did a good job but there is a financial aspect of our interaction that needs to be address and resolved.

I do not accept this response because I believe our phone conversation conflicts with the email that I received. In order for me to be a satisfied customer I would like you to do as you said when I called to discuss the issue. You said your calls are recorded and you would go through the call to make sure your employee read from the script that you have memorized. I only ask for this because YOU said YOU would do this and I believe YOU and 2 Men and A Truck is and organization of YOUR word.


Final Business Response
Hello my name is ******** ****** and I am the operations manager. We train our employees to be as detailed as possible during the booking process. Preset drive time counts towards the 2 hour minimum and any time over the minimum is billed in quarter hour increments.Preset drive time is worded in our scripts and is mentioned in every conversation. We also send a pre-move confirmation email to every customer with an email address. The confirmation states we charge preset drive times as well. In addition,our drivers and movers are trained to explain the drive time during the initial walk-through and it is also written on the invoice.

Mr.******* originally spoke with ******* the "Quality Control Manager" when he booked his move and upon completion of the move. ******* explained the situation and I stepped in on the call. I listened to what Mr. ******* had to say. I apologized for any confusion and explained our booking processes. I admitted to Mr. ******* that I was not part of his original booking conversation but I listen to my staff each day and can say with confidence that we explain preset drive time to every customer.

I informed Mr. ******* that some of our calls are recorded. I explained that if he called from one of our pay per click sites campaigns that the conversation would be recorded. However I also explained that conversations are not recorded for customers that call our direct lines. I told him there was a possibility the conversation was recorded but it depended on which number he used.

We are an organization of our word and I did research all 34 of the recorded phone calls from 2/12/14-2/13/14. Unfortunately his call wasn't one of the recorded conversations. However I did listen to all 34 recorded calls and preset drive time was mentioned in each conversation.

We mention preset drive time 3 times during the moving process. We do know that Mr. ******* received a pre-move confirmation email before his move and that the movers explained the drive time during the initial walk through. We arrived to Mr. ******* scheduled move on time and finished within the 2-4 hour estimate given. . Even though we finished with in the estimate we are willing to make a good faith gesture of 30 minutes off of Mr. *******'s next move. Once again I apologize for any confusion.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
To whom it may concern,

I believe that myself and most people in the state of Tennessee hire moving companies because most don't want to move items themselves or they are busy. I hired your organization because I had a strict schedule that I had to go by to get this move done and from the phone conversation I had I was under the impression that I knew all information correctly so I did not read the email that was sent to me which I have explained once before. If 34 recorded calls shows that your organization gives the information correctly then sending emails sound like a waste of time because your employees are proficient at giving information.

Preset drive time was explained to me in person correctly(which I have mentioned in previous responses),but because of time restraints I could not argue the pricing information that I now knew correctly. If I was to cancel that day your organization has 48 hour cancellation policy that means I can not get my money back. So I really had no choice but to go ahead and proceed with the move because we all know that I could not call another moving organization because my money is now locked in with 2 Men and A Truck.


I do not accept this business's proposed resolution for the following reasons:

1. It took your third response to address the first issue I had. When I called I asked if you could look over the phone records to see if your employee gave false information or if I missed the information so I could apologize for my error. You DID say that calls are recorded but you DID NOT tell me that call monitoring was only used for select lines. Its good to hear that from the 34 calls you checked that everyone explained your organization's prices which addresses one of my issues. Its unfortunate that if someone is on a phone line they know will not be monitored they CAN potentially say what they want without being held accountable for their actions because there is no proof of what was said.

2. I asked that some of the funds from my move be given to the workers because I feel that they deserve more than just a "pat on the back" they deserve to be compensated for a job will done and since the billing process was not explained to me correctly I was not able to tip them.

I do not want free 30 minutes off on my next move because I just moved on 3/5/2014. If I accept that it means that I would have to wait till MARCH OF 2015 to possible redeem that discount and because of our lack of communication so far I in good faith don't believe your organization can uphold that type of moral responsibility.

You have checked on one issue and I thank you for that. Now there is one more issue that needs to be addresses. The movers deserve some type of reward for there good job. You can give them $20 dollar gift cards to a restaurant if you want. I just want them to be rewarded because I was not allowed to do so. You are more than welcome to say that you will do that in good faith and I will accept that response because you are holding yourself accountable for compensating your employees.

I am honestly tired of going back and forth about these issues because now its to a point where we are just regurgitating the same information but I will continue to voice my concerns until they are met.

Thanks,

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/13/1996Business started: 08/01/1995
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Delaney (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Nick Taylor (General Manager)Mrs. Sandi Delaney (Executive Director)
Business Category

Movers, Packaging Materials, Piano & Organ Moving, Packing & Crating Service, Moving Supplies, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Moving & Storage Company, Travel & Moving Services, Relocation Service

Products & Services

This company offers residential local moving services.

Industry Tips
Moving - Selecting a Mover

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Two Men And A Truck - Nashville has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 3 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Two Men And A Truck - Nashville

4801 Alabama Ave

Nashville, TN 37209-3448

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4801 Alabama Ave 

    Nashville, TN 37209-3448(615) 292-4077

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Two Men And A Truck - Nashville is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 248-6289
  • (615) 870-1300
  • (615) 292-4077
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

Moving - Selecting a Mover
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.