BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/02/2013

True Friends Moving Company, LLC

(855) 668-3615View Additional Phone Numbers1104 Old Hickory Blvd, Old HickoryTN 37138-2839 Send email to True Friends Moving Company, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full service residential and commercial moving services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/02/2013

BBB has determined that True Friends Moving Company, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised True Friends Moving Company, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service10
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Additional Complaint Information

The company has indicated they would like the opportunity to speak with consumers before complaints are filed with BBB. Consumers are asked to contact Chris Knowles directly at 615-484-5781. BBB suggest allowing the company 72 hours (excluding weekend and holidays) to address the concerns before filing a complaint with BBB.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

11 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on True Friends Moving Company, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 10
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 11 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
09/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
damage to items by movers
on 7/29/15 I had true friends moving company move my belongings from ***9 ******* dr in gallatin, tn 37066 to my new home at *** ********* ***** Hendersonville tn ,37075 during the loading of my gun safe they dropped it on the ramp leading into their truck causing structural damage also damaged was a computer cabinet that was moved by the movers employees causing some chipped wood on the side and gouging on the front of computer cabinet after numerous attempts to resolve this problem my calls and email are not returned.

Desired Settlement
I would be willing to except a partial refund of my payment to true friend moving in the amount of $600.00 for the damage caused by his inexperienced workers.

Business Response
We were unable to have our restoration team scheduled for repairs prior to this complaint although Mr. ******* and *********** **** were copied on the email regarding scheduling but never connected. We apologized for the scratches which of course were accidents but went over our standard insurance claim for the free liability option since he didn't purchase full coverage. Mr. ******* did not find that satisfactory so being a local small business his opinion of us is more important than money and we are sending him the requested $600 to find this complaint resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
***** ******* took care of the problem with the scratches and chips by sending a professional repair service out and he gave me enough to have the damage to my safe repaired , there were a couple of items that were not located but in time I hope they will resurface.

11/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was overcharged for the move in which took place. No documentation was given to me showing the charges & now they cannot tell me how long it took.
I hired this company a few weeks before my move which took place on 10.11.2014. I was scheduled for 12-2pm on this date. I told them that if they could come earlier that would be GREAT but to call me ahead of time. Well, that started the failure to communicate. They called me 3 hours early and told me that they would be at my home in 15 min. Well, since I had not heard from them the day before, I assumed the 12-2 time slot is where I stood. I began moving some of the items I could move myself and I rec'd a phone call and had to turn around and come back from my current location which was 30 min away. In this event, my mother was there so she was able to greet them regardless but it was the whole point. When they showed up (and keep in mind that I have moved several times in my life and always used moving companies) they did not give my mother paperwork as to when they got there or anything for her to sign indicating that I rec'd initial service with them. Not even showing what time they got there. I have the time in my phone where my mother called and told me they arrived but that is all I have. Now, the moving process went pretty smooth. They were fast and were serious about their jobs but when I indicated to them what needed to go on that truck some things were told to me that i could place on my SUV and others that they stated that they would get, they left behind, so which had me calling friends over to finish the move with me. At the time when all was done, I rec'd a total due but no paperwork telling me what was done at what time and what time they left or even the fuel charged. I also asked upon the moving if they could haul things away but they told me that there was a $50.00 charge for that but their website clearly states as of 10.24.2014 "Free Removal of Unwanted but usable Household Items" but they were gonna clearly charge me for that??? So, I carried that stuff off myself and disposed of it. When I finally called ***** ******* and told him that the time spent for this move seemed wrong along with what I was charged and the fact that i did not sign anything upon arrival or departure was unprofessional, he told me that the truck"clocks" the time. Well, that is great and all but that does not help me to know if I as a customer have gotten rightfully charged. I did give a tip to the delivery guys which stated upon the payment that it is kindly appreciated but not required. ***** seemed slightly aggravated with my call and the fact that I asked for detailed paperwork. BUT he did tell me he would get me the breakdown and email it to me to the email address that he and I have used to talk for weeks. It is now 10.24.2014 and I have yet rec'd an email from him and we talked at the beginning of this week. It was great on the set up of the service but after it was bad. I just think communication is the key and without that, there is nothing. Do i think I was overcharged... YES but obviously, i may never see this paperwork. I just think it was unprofessionally handled and I will not be using them again.

Desired Settlement
As mentioned,I feel I was over charged and this company has clearly stated to me that they have no record of the time in which they took to move me for whatever reason. I WANT to pay for what service I rec'd but NOTHING MORE than that. I feel I was overcharged.

Final Consumer Response
Everything has been resolved with True Friends Moving. He sent me the check for the overage charge of $149.00. I am requesting to close my case. Please let me know if there is anything further that you will need from me.
Thank you

09/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Movers damaged several items during the move. Owner of company will not return phone call to discuss the matter.
I was moved by ****** and ***** on July 29, 2014. The guys were professional and hardworking, however, several precious items were destroyed during the moving process. ****** deducted 10% from my moving bill as compensation for the destroyed items. The very next day I contacted *****-"Owner of True Friends Moving Company" because I was still unsettled and distraught over the movers breaking sentimental items connecting with the loss of my deceased son along with other items. I left 2 messages on *****' cell phone on July 30th. I again contacted ***** the following week and left another message. He has yet to return my call. I feel that this sort of behavior is VERY unprofessional and shows that ***** has no concern or care for his customers. It looks to me that he cares nothing about the customer but only the welfare of his business and business finances. The company has a "money back guarantee" posted on the website but based on my experience you will not get your money back nor will you receive a phone call back.

Desired Settlement
A return phone call and compensation for loss time and damaged items.

Business Response
*******,
Thank you for your feedback and certainly want to come to a timely resolution with you as your opinion of us is very important. I am glad to hear the guys and the move itself went great other than the accidents mentioned. We certainly apologize again for that and will always take care of anything that was broken/damaged within our liability. After looking back at your move, it was a couple of items that were not packed by us so unfortunately are not covered by our insurance (standard across the moving industry). However, myself and the crew leader still extended a discount off of your bill to your satisfaction and agreement at the time of the move for any inconvenience. Please let me know what else that we can do to make you happy and feel free to email or call my cell directly...

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
*****-It is very sad that I had to go through the BBB to get a response from you. A professional business does not operate in such manner. I'm sure that you received all of my voicemails but intentionally did not respond. Just consider me as 1 customer who you will no longer have the privilege of serving in the future. Take care and best of luck staying in business with that kind of customer service.

07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Movers were to show up at 1 and never showed. Was told they were running two hours late and never heard. Left many voicemails.
Scheduled a move 3-4 weeks in advance. I followed up with movers 48 hours prior to the move to confirm and was told they would be arriving around 1 P.M. with an hour window. 1 1/2 hours after the scheduled time I called and was told they were running 2 hours behind. Never received another phone call. Called 10-15 times and left 3-5 voicemails. Never received a call back. By 7 P.M. I called and rented a U-Haul with no help to move me out of my apartment. Received a phone call at XX-XX:XX from True Friends apologizing. Unacceptable and disrespectful customer service. I took off a full days work and lost 1 days pay because of True Friends not showing up.

Desired Settlement
If I would have known True Friends would be a no call/no show I would have moved myself on Saturday. I would just like to be reimbursed for the cost of the moving truck $200.

Final Consumer Response

07/17/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
During a move,this company damaged a TV, furniture, grandfather clock and has my jewelry box. This company will not communicate with me or my husband.
The movers were scheduled to load our belongings on the 27th between 1:00PM and 3:00PM. Two guys showed up around 4:00PM to load all of our belongings which loaded into our ***** Truck which we rented and their True Friends Moving Truck. They delivered our belongings the next day 27th to our new home, we noticed our 60" Smart TV was broken when they were unwrapping while it was still on the truck. We also noticed that our large entertainment center was broken and damaged along with other tables and our grandfather clock. After we saw and pointed out the damage to the TV, we called the owner, Chris K****** and his remark was (Accidents Happen!) and then gave us the option to file a claim with his insurance but they will not pay the entire amount for the TV but a percentage after depreciation, which he said a percentage off of $800. I have an Amazon add right now for the same model for $1498.00 used. We had paid him for 2 moves plus tips for the 2 guys. The next day, I noticed that my jewelry box was not delivered. It was wood with 3 or 4 drawers and side cabinets which stood approx. 3 to 4 ft tall. We know it was put on the truck, but it was not delivered to our home and our ***** truck was checked upon delivery so it had to be on their truck. We have made several calls and had to leave messages, emailed and text numerous times to find out the status of my missing jewelry box. This was a big loss to me because my mom (which has deceased) left me her watch for my birthday and this is just one of the many items that were in that jewelry box. We have not received any response since that Friday, 27th, this is Wednesday 6-1-2016. Please note that I have stated urgent matter and still no response at all!!! Chris K****** will be glad to schedule your move, but does not take care of or care of the customer's needs. Since we were not able to communicate with the owner, we felt we had no choice but to contact our bank and put stop payments on the checks that were written which also caused us a lot of trouble with our account! This is just BAD Business. This is our first move in 33 years, which has left us very devastated!! I don't want this to happen to anyone else!

Desired Settlement
I have tried and wanted to work this out with the owner, Chris K****** and wanted to ask him to just to replace our TV with the same or better model and return my jewelry box and I will make sure he gets paid and I will not even ask him to replace or repair any of the other damaged furniture. I try to be a fair and honest person and trusted him to take care of our moving needs. He has taught me that just because he states he is a Christian on his face book, does not mean that he is an honest or caring person. I am very disappointed that he can ignore any and all communication with his customers and does not take the responsibility of correcting any errors made with his employees.
I have record of all emails and texts that were sent to this company in attempt to reconcile this problem, but as mentioned earlier, no responses to any of the above.

Business Response
*******,
I apologize for the delay as I have been out of the office the last couple of days and trying to get all caught up from the holiday weekend. While most moves with us go seamless, I want to say again that we feel terrible that some of your items were damaged/missing during your relocation with us and assure you that we would always do everything we can to make it up. However, moving companies still have so much liability although we will always try our best to make everyone satisfied just as the homeowner also assumes some responsibility. While we are fully insured, there are different levels of liability and the basic valuation coverage which is standard throughout the moving industry and was included for free on your move covers $.60 per lb. and is based off how much the item(s) weighs and NOT their value or cost (Example - 100lb piece of furniture would get you $60 in coverage). If we gave you a gracious 1000 Lbs of losses then it would result in $600 in coverage. Your move total over the 2 days came to $1123 in which I understand that you have stopped payment on. I assume we should take that as you would like your move for free but see that you have also filed a BBB complaint and given us poor reviews online so I am not sure what more we can do for the accidents? There were no additional items left on our truck as we use those trucks everyday in which they must be cleaned after each move and nearly impossible to miss anything once the cargo area is emptied.

Please check out our Policy and Limitations Page below for FAQ's and answers about these types of situations. As a local small business that values your opinion of us as well as our reputation, we hope to have this resolved timely : )

http://www.truefriendsmovingcompany.com/company/policies-limits-of-liability/

Your Friend in the Moving Business,
Chris K******
************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After numerous attempts to contact the owner, he made no efforts to help us and did not respond until after the complaint. He has had no communication with us for any assistance. He took no responsibility as an owner of the company and those he hired and placed in our homes. We were not informed up front with how little his insurance covered in case of damage caused by his movers and he showed no responsibility or cared of the damage that occurred and of my missing items such as my jewelry box . This was the size of a piece of furniture or table. I initially sent him a picture of the item which was sitting right in the middle of the furniture that was loaded onto a truck and I had pictures of the same room afterwards which was completely empty and proof it was loaded, but not unloaded in our new residence. After numerous attempts to contact the owner- he only sent one email after the complaint. We found out after our 60 inch Smart ******* TV was damaged and approx valued at $1,500 but only weighed 48 pounds therefore we would only receive $30.00 to replace the TV and no mention of speaking with the movers or even addressed the possibility that my jewelry box could have been missing!!! The owner was nice to book the move but when damaged occurred , his personality totally changed and it was obvious we would not receive any assistance or responsibility from him. I am out a TV , damaged furniture and jewelry which took years and money to obtain! He has made no effort to assist us with any of the above! I hope this can help others by choosing a moving company that takes more responsibllity for the consumer!
******* *******


Final Business Response
*******,
We apologize again for the accidents on your move as those guys usually get great reviews but we have never been unable satisfy our clients in the event of something getting scratched, broken, cracked etc. We take full responsibility and liability but as mentioned before, there is a limited amount of liability as a mover and we provide the industry standard at no cost to you. The damages to the pieces you mentioned were to be scheduled for restoration ($3-400 estimate) as we would do any claims since accidents do occasionally happen unfortunately. Again, our liability for moving household furniture covers $.60 per LB and that coverage unfortunately does not consider the value/cost of an item but only its weight. Example - a TV that costs $5000 and chair that costs $100 would have the same amount of liability/coverage if they weighed exactly the same (100LB item/tv/chair etc is $60 in coverage). Your TV that you want us to buy you could not have weighed more than 100LB and the cost of your move ($1123+$200 tips) is like claiming over 2000LB worth of damages but was realistically less than 1000 giving you twice the amount we are required to pay out as a resolution.

Here is the exact TV you guys had (link attached) for just $899 with Free shipping if you prefer the same one and just showing you this as you are claiming you want us to pay you $1500 for one after stopping payment on your $1323 in checks for your move?

http://www.************/************?***************&************************************************************************************************

Please check out our Policy and Limitations Page below for FAQ's and answers about these types of situations. As mentioned in the link below and this goes for all moving companies (money, firearms, jewelry, passports, currency etc are not the responsibility of a mover and should not be held responsible for such). Please if you ever move again, even if you choose another mover, have those things transported personally as items of extreme value should be, for everyone's safety.

http://www.truefriendsmovingcompany.com/company/policies-limits-of-liability/

We have already exceeded the amount of liability and/or coverage for the items on your move that were damaged/missing so I am not sure what more we can do to resolve the accidents. We apologize again for any inconvenience and hope to have this resolved timely...

11/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
During the move, the linoleum on the kitchen floor was ripped. The owner has refused to pay for the replacement and has not returned our phone calls.
On August 31, 2015, movers were trying to move the refrigerator and ripped the kitchen linoleum. My husband spoke with the owner, Chris Knowles, and he was informed by Mr. Knowles that it was an accident and they weren't liable. He will not return phone calls and has not repaired the linoleum. We need the linoleum replaced because we will be putting the house on the market.

Desired Settlement
We would like the linoleum replaced. It can't be repaired because the damage is not in a place that would be covered by any appliance.

Business Response
*****, we apologize again for the scratch/tear on the laminate and told your husband we would make it right at the end of your move in which we gave you guys $450 off the bill for it. Standard coverage (included for free) allows up to $100 for things like that due to laminate's inability to repair and high susceptibility to tears. Be sure to check out our Policy and Limitations page below all of which are common throughout the moving industry so I hope you have a change of opinion as we are an honest local company that does all we can to keep everyone happy. As a homeowner you are also partially responsible for damage as we even have other levels of insurance available to purchase prior to your move but received $450 off of your bill which was $350 more than we are responsible for: ) http://www.truefriendsmovingcompany.com/company/policies-limits-of-liability/

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The owner of the company didn't call until we filed this report. Both my husband and I had left several messages on his voicemail. There was no "discount" discussed when his employee told us how much we owed. The consumer should not have to take responsibility for damage caused by the movers and it shouldn't matter what kind of flooring is in a residence. When he called, he asked what it would take to resolve this matter and he offered $250.00. I told him $300.00 would be an acceptable amount since that would be about half of what it would cost to replace the flooring. He told me he wasn't giving us that amount and said "good luck with selling the house." Unfortunately, this is not going to be resolved.

Final Business Response
We certainly tried all we could to get this resolved with a mutual satisfaction but after a 2nd attempt and discussion, they refused us helping with an additional $250 toward the repair on top of the discount for the accident at the time of their completed move. We had informed the homeowner the same day of the move that we are not responsible for a scratch/rip to linoleum due to its high susceptibility to scratches and inability to repair without replacing the entire piece of vinyl and our limitations on that is upto $100. This is common for all moving companies with the standard liability coverage option they chose at no cost. Feel free to reach out if we can help with this anymore but with any insurance, there is only so much we are responsible for and we have never been unable to resolve an accident : )

06/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company did not respond to our complaint that two pieces of furniture were broken during a move they performed for us.
We hired the moving company twice, first to move furniture from our current home (*** ****** Drive, Nashville, TN 37205)to a storage facility (**** ********* Pike, Nashville, TN 37209)and then to move from the storage facility to our new home (**** **** Lane, Franklin, TN. In the storage unit the movers piled heavy furniture on top of each other. When the movers returned on May 5, 2015 to move the contents of the storage unit they found two pieces of furniture (a large brown office desk and a medium-sized brown book shelf) that had broken under the weight of the heavy pieces on piled on top. We showed this to the movers and the following day notified the moving company about the damage by email using two different email addresses: qualitycontrol@truefrienddsmovingcompany.com and info@truefriendsmoving.com but did not get a reply. Repeated phone calls to the company (***-****-***) were also not answered.
To document our case we took photographs of the damaged/destroyed items that we can forward upon request.
We seek compensation for the damaged items and would also appreciate a response of the company regarding the lack of appropriate customer service.

Thank you,

******* ******

Desired Settlement
We seek a replacement of the desk and shelf that were broken during the move or a payment equal to the replacement value of the two items of furniture. Our research revealed that equivalent pieces of furniture can be purchased for approximately $330.00 (desk $ 250.00 and shelf $ 80.00).

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Chris K******
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: *****@truefriendsmoving.com
*******,
I apologize that there were some accidents that happened during your move and really wish we could have connected prior to a BBB complaint against us as I am really unclear why we haven't received any emails from you. We are fully insured of course and we even have an in-house restoration team for instances like this as damage unfortunately happens in this industry from time to time. You mentioned over the phone though that the items damaged were pressboard which are unrepairable due to its lack of structural integrity. For that reason, not even our insurance will cover that type of furniture due to its nature to crumble or fold during a relocation and why we are required to disclose that on our website http://truefriendsmovingcompany.com/company/policies-limits-of-liability/ and specifically #19 . You might want to check your homeowners or renters insurance as that just might be covered through them and really hope it is but even then would be a depreciated amount and not what something costs new. I want to give you a positive opinion of us though so would atleast like to send a $100 refund back just to show our support. Please confirm and hope that we may find this resolved : )


12/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Services were unacceptable. I also cannot get a response from the business.
I used True Friends Moving for my moving needs from an apartment in Antioch, TN to Smyrna, TN on Wednesday 9/24/14. I had originally communicated with ***** *******, the office manager prior to the move. I did have a few issues following the move. The arrival window I was given was to be between 1:00-3:00 p..m., but they did not arrive until 3:45 and I could tell they were already really tired as they explained that they had just gotten back from a move in Kentucky that morning. They slowed down many times and took at least 2 15-20 min. breaks that I know of. My neighbors even noticed them just sitting in the truck and mentioned it to me. I was sitting in my apartment just waiting for them to come back in. The second time, my cousin stopped by and she asked what were the movers doing, because again they were just sitting there. At that point I started just packing my car and moving items towards the door so that they would speed up. When they noticed, we started moving items, they came back in. I had some items that were to go to storage as well. On the way to my storage unit, which was just 4.1 miles from my old apartment, they decided to turn down another street. They mentioned to me beforehand that they knew exactly were the storage place was. My cousin and I waited on them there for about 15 mins. for them to arrive. We even asked if they had gotten lost and they said no. The fact that they now had drinks that they didn't have before leads me to believe that they made stops on the way to the storage unit on my time. Again, I indicated early in the move which items were to go to storage that needed to be packed last, but they did not pack them in the truck accordingly. Items had to be taken off the truck to get things out which wasted more time. Now the unloading part at our actual apartment went very quickly because we had them just drop boxes off in the living room because at this point it had already been 6.5 hrs and they didn't even move all my items. They decided to just move the bigger/heavier items because they were tired and felt like it would be quicker. I ended up having to rent a U-Haul van Thursday 9/25/14 to move the items that were left at my old apartment which cost me another $42.71. Also, the travel time charge was not explained to me. In talking to Mr. ******* (office manager) I asked about any other fees, I was told was stated: $149 for first 2 hrs, $99/hr after, $35 trip charge, and a $25 charge for the extra stop. He even went on to emphasize how these were their flat fees and there were no other hidden charges. Had I known about the travel fee, I would have more than likely gone with another mover. I believe the movers we were sent, were just too tired to quickly move our items in an efficient manner. I would also like to state that when my sister went to put her bed together, the parts to put it together were missing. These are not parts that would fall off. They had to be removed. She now has to sleep on the floor until the parts can be replaced, which could take a few days. We checked online and saw that those particular pieces cost about $25 or more plus shipping charges that we would have to be out-of-pocket because of their neglect while moving our items. This was my first time using movers, and it was not a great experience. I would also like to state that I have tried contacting the office manager, and their quality control department several times, with no response as of yet. Their website boasts, a 100% money back guarantee, but it is hard trying to even get someone to respond to my issues. In the end I had to pay them $753.50 and they did not even complete the job.

Desired Settlement
I would like some type of refund, because this service was not up to par. I also had to help the movers that I paid, move my items. After paying that much money, all of my items should have been moved. I do not think they had the right to pick and choose what they wanted to move and it should have never taken almost 7 hrs to do so. As stated, my sister is still sleeping on the floor because we are still trying to find the parts for her bed, that the movers lost. In all, I had to spend almost $800 for a move that was 8.2 miles between my old and new apartment. This is not even including the charges for the bed pieces.

Business Response
*******,
To follow up on your recent move and BBB Complaint, I want to say that I feel terrible that you had such a bad experience with us as those guys specifically usually get great reviews. I was atleast glad to hear that you thought the guys were polite and worked hard for you. Please forgive us as I try and make this up to you but please be a little flexible as I am just a small local business owner trying to maintain our positive reputation and keeping everyone happy. I would be more than happy to resolve this with you and want to make it up to you timely.

I apologize on their behalf for running behind a little but we always ask to leave an hour window of flexibility around the estimated time (see confirmation email below). Unfortunately scheduling afternoon moves is not a science but more of a best guess so occasionally they do run over as much as I wish we could make it as planned every time. I am on your side and just want to try and help you have a better idea of us any way that I can. Most clients are usually given the option to have us get all the large items (fastest and most inexpensive way to move) which is usually preferred so I hate to hear that you would have preferred them get everything because I am sure they would have since there's really not much that we cannot take if asked but would've just added more on your time or bill. Travel time is also explained in detail in your email confirmation below as we charge everyone the same I assure you. Sounds like you feel some of your time was wasted so we can give you back an hour ($99) along with the $42 spent on moving your small items yourself and then the $25 for the piece that you said was broken for a total of $166. Will round it out to $200 for you in hopes you can feel fairly reimbursed for the inconvenience.

You and I both know that every company has bad experiences at times from the largest fortune 500 to the smallest mom and pops but this is personally our worst and I hate it. I hope that you have seen some of our many happy clients comments/testimonials and see that we are a good local small business that obviously aims to please. Hope to resolve this right away as keeping an unbiased opinion for our future customers is very important along with making sure you are satisfied with exactly what you received : )


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Part of the response that was sent to the BBB was not in the response the business sent to me. I am still in negotiations with the company pertaining to the appropriate amount for a refund. I am just waiting to hear back from them.

Final Business Response
Business notified BBB that a check was sent to the consumer for $314.00.

09/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Movers showed up late and did not complete the job with no response from owner.
I scheduled our move with *****, the owner for 7/29/14. He gave me a time of 12p-2p. I advised that i had a 4 bedroom house full to move and he assured me that was fine. Movers showed up at 4pm. When they arrived, they advised that they would do what they could but it was an all day job. The guys who came were very nice and did move part of my home, assuring me that the owner would send someone else to finish the next day. On 7/30, I called several times with no answer. I left 3 voice mail messages and emailed the owner. He never responded. This is one of the worst experiences with customer service I have ever had. The owner could have at least called me back or answered the phone and apologized for screwing up. I was lucky enough to find one company with a cancellation to finish moving me, but this has been a huge inconvenience as I'm not sure that i will meet my deadline to be moved and cleaned up by 8/1 now. I will likely have to pay more money because of this poor customer service.

I do not seek any money. I just would have liked for him to complete the job he agreed on performing or at the very very least, an apology for obviously screwing up.

The owner called me telling me that the movers would be there to finish the next day after i filed this complaint. At that time, it was too late. I had already arranged for another company to come. He offered to give a discount and to finish the move, but it was too late at that point.

Desired Settlement
I do not seek any money. I just would have liked for him to complete the job he agreed on performing or at the very very least, an apology for obviously screwing up.

The owner called me telling me that the movers would be there to finish the next day after i filed this complaint. At that time, it was too late. I had already arranged for another company to come. He offered to give a discount and to finish the move, but it was too late at that point.

Page 1 of 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/03/2012Business started: 01/01/2012
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Knowles (Founder & President)
Business Category

Movers, Packaging Materials, Piano & Organ Moving, Packing & Crating Service, Moving Supplies, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Delivery Service, Moving & Storage Company, Travel & Moving Services, Relocation Service

Service Area

Serving All of Greater Nashville and across the State of TN

Industry Tips
Moving - Selecting a Mover

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

True Friends Moving Company, LLC has received 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 11 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for True Friends Moving Company, LLC

1104 Old Hickory Blvd

Old Hickory, TN 37138-2839

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1104 Old Hickory Blvd 

    Old Hickory, TN 37138-2839(855) 668-3615
    (615) 484-5781

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*True Friends Moving Company, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 484-5781
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

Moving - Selecting a Mover
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.