BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/02/2013

True Friends Moving Company, LLC

Phone: (855) 668-3615

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Additional Complaint Information

The company has indicated they would like the opportunity to speak with consumers before complaints are filed with BBB. Consumers are asked to contact Chris Knowles directly at 615-484-5781. BBB suggest allowing the company 72 hours (excluding weekend and holidays) to address the concerns before filing a complaint with BBB.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
12/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Services were unacceptable. I also cannot get a response from the business.
I used True Friends Moving for my moving needs from an apartment in Antioch, TN to Smyrna, TN on Wednesday 9/24/14. I had originally communicated with ***** *******, the office manager prior to the move. I did have a few issues following the move. The arrival window I was given was to be between 1:00-3:00 p..m., but they did not arrive until 3:45 and I could tell they were already really tired as they explained that they had just gotten back from a move in Kentucky that morning. They slowed down many times and took at least 2 15-20 min. breaks that I know of. My neighbors even noticed them just sitting in the truck and mentioned it to me. I was sitting in my apartment just waiting for them to come back in. The second time, my cousin stopped by and she asked what were the movers doing, because again they were just sitting there. At that point I started just packing my car and moving items towards the door so that they would speed up. When they noticed, we started moving items, they came back in. I had some items that were to go to storage as well. On the way to my storage unit, which was just 4.1 miles from my old apartment, they decided to turn down another street. They mentioned to me beforehand that they knew exactly were the storage place was. My cousin and I waited on them there for about 15 mins. for them to arrive. We even asked if they had gotten lost and they said no. The fact that they now had drinks that they didn't have before leads me to believe that they made stops on the way to the storage unit on my time. Again, I indicated early in the move which items were to go to storage that needed to be packed last, but they did not pack them in the truck accordingly. Items had to be taken off the truck to get things out which wasted more time. Now the unloading part at our actual apartment went very quickly because we had them just drop boxes off in the living room because at this point it had already been 6.5 hrs and they didn't even move all my items. They decided to just move the bigger/heavier items because they were tired and felt like it would be quicker. I ended up having to rent a U-Haul van Thursday 9/25/14 to move the items that were left at my old apartment which cost me another $42.71. Also, the travel time charge was not explained to me. In talking to Mr. ******* (office manager) I asked about any other fees, I was told was stated: $149 for first 2 hrs, $99/hr after, $35 trip charge, and a $25 charge for the extra stop. He even went on to emphasize how these were their flat fees and there were no other hidden charges. Had I known about the travel fee, I would have more than likely gone with another mover. I believe the movers we were sent, were just too tired to quickly move our items in an efficient manner. I would also like to state that when my sister went to put her bed together, the parts to put it together were missing. These are not parts that would fall off. They had to be removed. She now has to sleep on the floor until the parts can be replaced, which could take a few days. We checked online and saw that those particular pieces cost about $25 or more plus shipping charges that we would have to be out-of-pocket because of their neglect while moving our items. This was my first time using movers, and it was not a great experience. I would also like to state that I have tried contacting the office manager, and their quality control department several times, with no response as of yet. Their website boasts, a 100% money back guarantee, but it is hard trying to even get someone to respond to my issues. In the end I had to pay them $753.50 and they did not even complete the job.

Desired Settlement
I would like some type of refund, because this service was not up to par. I also had to help the movers that I paid, move my items. After paying that much money, all of my items should have been moved. I do not think they had the right to pick and choose what they wanted to move and it should have never taken almost 7 hrs to do so. As stated, my sister is still sleeping on the floor because we are still trying to find the parts for her bed, that the movers lost. In all, I had to spend almost $800 for a move that was 8.2 miles between my old and new apartment. This is not even including the charges for the bed pieces.

Business Response
*******,
To follow up on your recent move and BBB Complaint, I want to say that I feel terrible that you had such a bad experience with us as those guys specifically usually get great reviews. I was atleast glad to hear that you thought the guys were polite and worked hard for you. Please forgive us as I try and make this up to you but please be a little flexible as I am just a small local business owner trying to maintain our positive reputation and keeping everyone happy. I would be more than happy to resolve this with you and want to make it up to you timely.

I apologize on their behalf for running behind a little but we always ask to leave an hour window of flexibility around the estimated time (see confirmation email below). Unfortunately scheduling afternoon moves is not a science but more of a best guess so occasionally they do run over as much as I wish we could make it as planned every time. I am on your side and just want to try and help you have a better idea of us any way that I can. Most clients are usually given the option to have us get all the large items (fastest and most inexpensive way to move) which is usually preferred so I hate to hear that you would have preferred them get everything because I am sure they would have since there's really not much that we cannot take if asked but would've just added more on your time or bill. Travel time is also explained in detail in your email confirmation below as we charge everyone the same I assure you. Sounds like you feel some of your time was wasted so we can give you back an hour ($99) along with the $42 spent on moving your small items yourself and then the $25 for the piece that you said was broken for a total of $166. Will round it out to $200 for you in hopes you can feel fairly reimbursed for the inconvenience.

You and I both know that every company has bad experiences at times from the largest fortune 500 to the smallest mom and pops but this is personally our worst and I hate it. I hope that you have seen some of our many happy clients comments/testimonials and see that we are a good local small business that obviously aims to please. Hope to resolve this right away as keeping an unbiased opinion for our future customers is very important along with making sure you are satisfied with exactly what you received : )


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Part of the response that was sent to the BBB was not in the response the business sent to me. I am still in negotiations with the company pertaining to the appropriate amount for a refund. I am just waiting to hear back from them.

Final Business Response
Business notified BBB that a check was sent to the consumer for $314.00.

11/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was overcharged for the move in which took place. No documentation was given to me showing the charges & now they cannot tell me how long it took.
I hired this company a few weeks before my move which took place on 10.11.2014. I was scheduled for 12-2pm on this date. I told them that if they could come earlier that would be GREAT but to call me ahead of time. Well, that started the failure to communicate. They called me 3 hours early and told me that they would be at my home in 15 min. Well, since I had not heard from them the day before, I assumed the 12-2 time slot is where I stood. I began moving some of the items I could move myself and I rec'd a phone call and had to turn around and come back from my current location which was 30 min away. In this event, my mother was there so she was able to greet them regardless but it was the whole point. When they showed up (and keep in mind that I have moved several times in my life and always used moving companies) they did not give my mother paperwork as to when they got there or anything for her to sign indicating that I rec'd initial service with them. Not even showing what time they got there. I have the time in my phone where my mother called and told me they arrived but that is all I have. Now, the moving process went pretty smooth. They were fast and were serious about their jobs but when I indicated to them what needed to go on that truck some things were told to me that i could place on my SUV and others that they stated that they would get, they left behind, so which had me calling friends over to finish the move with me. At the time when all was done, I rec'd a total due but no paperwork telling me what was done at what time and what time they left or even the fuel charged. I also asked upon the moving if they could haul things away but they told me that there was a $50.00 charge for that but their website clearly states as of 10.24.2014 "Free Removal of Unwanted but usable Household Items" but they were gonna clearly charge me for that??? So, I carried that stuff off myself and disposed of it. When I finally called ***** ******* and told him that the time spent for this move seemed wrong along with what I was charged and the fact that i did not sign anything upon arrival or departure was unprofessional, he told me that the truck"clocks" the time. Well, that is great and all but that does not help me to know if I as a customer have gotten rightfully charged. I did give a tip to the delivery guys which stated upon the payment that it is kindly appreciated but not required. ***** seemed slightly aggravated with my call and the fact that I asked for detailed paperwork. BUT he did tell me he would get me the breakdown and email it to me to the email address that he and I have used to talk for weeks. It is now 10.24.2014 and I have yet rec'd an email from him and we talked at the beginning of this week. It was great on the set up of the service but after it was bad. I just think communication is the key and without that, there is nothing. Do i think I was overcharged... YES but obviously, i may never see this paperwork. I just think it was unprofessionally handled and I will not be using them again.

Desired Settlement
As mentioned,I feel I was over charged and this company has clearly stated to me that they have no record of the time in which they took to move me for whatever reason. I WANT to pay for what service I rec'd but NOTHING MORE than that. I feel I was overcharged.

Final Consumer Response
Everything has been resolved with True Friends Moving. He sent me the check for the overage charge of $149.00. I am requesting to close my case. Please let me know if there is anything further that you will need from me.
Thank you

09/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Movers damaged several items during the move. Owner of company will not return phone call to discuss the matter.
I was moved by ****** and ***** on July 29, 2014. The guys were professional and hardworking, however, several precious items were destroyed during the moving process. ****** deducted 10% from my moving bill as compensation for the destroyed items. The very next day I contacted *****-"Owner of True Friends Moving Company" because I was still unsettled and distraught over the movers breaking sentimental items connecting with the loss of my deceased son along with other items. I left 2 messages on *****' cell phone on July 30th. I again contacted ***** the following week and left another message. He has yet to return my call. I feel that this sort of behavior is VERY unprofessional and shows that ***** has no concern or care for his customers. It looks to me that he cares nothing about the customer but only the welfare of his business and business finances. The company has a "money back guarantee" posted on the website but based on my experience you will not get your money back nor will you receive a phone call back.

Desired Settlement
A return phone call and compensation for loss time and damaged items.

Business Response
*******,
Thank you for your feedback and certainly want to come to a timely resolution with you as your opinion of us is very important. I am glad to hear the guys and the move itself went great other than the accidents mentioned. We certainly apologize again for that and will always take care of anything that was broken/damaged within our liability. After looking back at your move, it was a couple of items that were not packed by us so unfortunately are not covered by our insurance (standard across the moving industry). However, myself and the crew leader still extended a discount off of your bill to your satisfaction and agreement at the time of the move for any inconvenience. Please let me know what else that we can do to make you happy and feel free to email or call my cell directly...

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
*****-It is very sad that I had to go through the BBB to get a response from you. A professional business does not operate in such manner. I'm sure that you received all of my voicemails but intentionally did not respond. Just consider me as 1 customer who you will no longer have the privilege of serving in the future. Take care and best of luck staying in business with that kind of customer service.

07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Movers were to show up at 1 and never showed. Was told they were running two hours late and never heard. Left many voicemails.
Scheduled a move 3-4 weeks in advance. I followed up with movers 48 hours prior to the move to confirm and was told they would be arriving around 1 P.M. with an hour window. 1 1/2 hours after the scheduled time I called and was told they were running 2 hours behind. Never received another phone call. Called 10-15 times and left 3-5 voicemails. Never received a call back. By 7 P.M. I called and rented a U-Haul with no help to move me out of my apartment. Received a phone call at XX-XX:XX from True Friends apologizing. Unacceptable and disrespectful customer service. I took off a full days work and lost 1 days pay because of True Friends not showing up.

Desired Settlement
If I would have known True Friends would be a no call/no show I would have moved myself on Saturday. I would just like to be reimbursed for the cost of the moving truck $200.

Final Consumer Response

06/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company did not show up for move as agreed on 4/26/2013
I had an appointment for them to move me at 1pm on 4/26/13. At approximately 1:40pm they contacted me and indicated they had underestimated the time needed for the job before me and they would not be able to come and move me. The worker that called me gave me the cell phone number of the company owner but he would not answer my calls or return my messages. Owner of company finally contacted me about 5pm that afternoon but by then I had made other arrangements.

Desired Settlement
Reimbursement for the cost of renting a truck and paying for help to move myself in the amount of $300.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@truefriendsmovingcompany.com
I want to say again that I feel terrible that we missed your move and definitely wish we wouldn't have as we are not in the business to miss appointments. Will even cost more now than we would have even made so please forgive us as I try and make this up to you and your family but please be a little flexible as I am just a local small business owner trying to keep everyone happy.

I never received an email from you for some reason and BBB actually encourage you to go directly through the business first? Definitely wish we could have resolved it outside of here as
BBB is simply a mediation site for consumers to get their complaints resolved if they were unable to do so themselves through the company directly.
BBB strongly encourages consumers to first attempt to resolve complaints directly with the company.

I would be more than happy to resolve this with you as we stand behind our service so much actually that we are the only moving company I know that offers a 100% Money Back Guarantee for each part of your move(scheduling, driver, movers) in the rare case that we may fall short. You and I both know that every company has bad experiences from the largest fortune 500 to the smallest mom and pops but this is personally one of our only and I hate it. I am just a local small business owner that will do anything and everything I can to keep our great reputation in the community up. I hope that you at least saw some of our many happy clients that actually got the chance to work with us comments/testimonials on our Facebook and see that we are a good local small business that obviously aims to please.

Most local truck rental companies charge only $29-$69 per day and you even informed me that you were using a friends so unclear as you want so much from me? I even offered to come help you that evening personally but you said you had it covered already so can I send you our special back that you would have paid us ($149) and we find this resolved?


Consumer's Final Response
I will split the difference with you. I will settle this for $150. I'm not trying to take you for a ride, I just feel you should accept responsibility for the situation. I will resolve this with BBB when I have received the check and it has cleared the bank. Address to send check is ********************************************************

Business' Final Response
******,
I will send you the $300 that you feel I owe you for missing/needing to reschedule your move and again apologize. We are definitely not in the business to do that obviously and value our great reputation especially just starting out as a new local small business. We are not some big moving company though as its just 2 trucks with myself trying to schedule everything accordingly and keep everyone happy. $300 is a lot of money and it's things like this that messes it up for small business' to even stick around but if you are not flexible and that's the only thing that will make you happy then we will do whatever it takes.

I am just a young newlywed entrepreneur with a baby on the way so it's not like you are just getting hundreds from some big biz as its coming directly from our family. What address would you like me to send a check and I beg of you to find this resolved 100% with nothing else negative to say about us : )

Page 1 of 2
09/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Movers showed up late and did not complete the job with no response from owner.
I scheduled our move with *****, the owner for 7/29/14. He gave me a time of 12p-2p. I advised that i had a 4 bedroom house full to move and he assured me that was fine. Movers showed up at 4pm. When they arrived, they advised that they would do what they could but it was an all day job. The guys who came were very nice and did move part of my home, assuring me that the owner would send someone else to finish the next day. On 7/30, I called several times with no answer. I left 3 voice mail messages and emailed the owner. He never responded. This is one of the worst experiences with customer service I have ever had. The owner could have at least called me back or answered the phone and apologized for screwing up. I was lucky enough to find one company with a cancellation to finish moving me, but this has been a huge inconvenience as I'm not sure that i will meet my deadline to be moved and cleaned up by 8/1 now. I will likely have to pay more money because of this poor customer service.

I do not seek any money. I just would have liked for him to complete the job he agreed on performing or at the very very least, an apology for obviously screwing up.

The owner called me telling me that the movers would be there to finish the next day after i filed this complaint. At that time, it was too late. I had already arranged for another company to come. He offered to give a discount and to finish the move, but it was too late at that point.

Desired Settlement
I do not seek any money. I just would have liked for him to complete the job he agreed on performing or at the very very least, an apology for obviously screwing up.

The owner called me telling me that the movers would be there to finish the next day after i filed this complaint. At that time, it was too late. I had already arranged for another company to come. He offered to give a discount and to finish the move, but it was too late at that point.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.