BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 45 counties of Middle Tennessee and Southern Kentucky

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1972

Ted R. Sanders Moving & Warehouse, Inc.

Phone: (615) 350-7080Fax: (615) 350-7006View Additional Phone Numbers7149 Centennial Blvd., NashvilleTN 37209 Send email to Ted R. Sanders Moving & Warehouse, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1972

BBB has determined that Ted R. Sanders Moving & Warehouse, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ted R. Sanders Moving & Warehouse, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ted R. Sanders Moving & Warehouse, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
02/17/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/26/2011Problems with Product / Service
10/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service estimate or agreement

Complaint: Missing items, dishonest practices
We used *** *******/Allied van lines for an interstate move from Nashville, TN to Boston, MA on June 14th-17th 2013. We hired them to pack and move the contents of our four-bedroom home and transfer to a storage facility in the Boston area. The salesman who came to our house to do the quote ***** ******* before hire when describing the services they would offer us included moving the contents of our liquor cabinet and several large houseplants. He also described our right to observe the truck's weigh-in and agreed to payment on delivery. This understanding and agreement was one of the reasons we hired *** ******* to do our move over other companies.

The first day of moving went smoothly, as the packing crew did a good job overall. Unfortunately moving day did not go well. The crew showed up and initially refused to move the plants and liquor. When I explained that Bill the salesman had told us otherwise when we signed the contact, they claimed that "he does that all the time, and should know better". We were upset, and they told me that they would fit it onto the truck as long as we knew there were no guarantees it would make it to the destination.

Towards the end of the day, the movers stopped tagging and logging our items from the basement because they were running out of time after a 1.5 hr lunch break. They expressed displeasure with having to move boxes of expensive wall tile that had been used in a previous home remodel project onto their truck, but I watched them add these items at the end of the load. They then refused to add the plants and liquor bottles. I brought back up the agreement, took the bottles to dispose of them myself, but had no way of getting rid of the large houseplants (as we were driving to MA as soon as they left). They agreed again to take the plants. I loaded my car and went to get gas--when I returned I saw that their truck had left and the plants were just left in front of the door. This was a problem since I had no way of now transporting these goods off the property that was being sold.

Because of this dishonesty, I spoke with ******* ******* about what had occurred. He offered to go pick up the plant but did not compensate me for the value of the goods I had to leave. We requested to observe the weigh-in for the truck as was my right, but he said this was impossible since our goods were on a truck with other shipments.

Separately, we had originally agreed to "pay-on-delivery", but I noticed by credit card was charged before our items were delivered--a particular problem given how much difficulty were were having resolving some of these issues. When I called the company to ask them why they charged me before delivery--against our agreement--they threatened to not deliver our items unless we pain upfront. This removed some of our leverage in not allowing a resolution to some of these issues before payment and went against the signed agreement.

On delivery, there were about 25 items with no tags from the end of the loading day that were delivered. Unfortunately, our tile was not found. I estimated the cost of replacement to be roughly 350 dollars (was about $30-34 per sq foot, had 10 sq feet in a box; had other tile too that was less valuable as well). ******* told me to claim it with the other missing and damaged items, but the insurance company rejected the claim because the item was not logged with the rest of our goods. I have made three efforts to call ******* to work out an agreement to handle this issue, but he had not returned phone calls despite his presence in the office confirmed but others at the company.

Initial Business Response
I am very sorry that *********** move wasn't handled to his expectations. I will attempt to answer his complaints in order. We normally do not move liquids because of the possibility of them leaking out of the cartons and causing damage. Plants are moved at the Drivers discretion. Since we were picking up the Shipment on Friday for the Driver to load from us on Monday, the men were told to load the plant, and we would try and convince the Driver to take them when he arrived. My men did fail to load them. I did retrieve the plant but the Driver did not take it with him. We loaded the goods on 6/14/13,the Driver loaded his goods directly off our van onto his. There was nothing left on our van when he finished. We called Mr. ****** on the 17th after the Driver loaded and told him his total cost for the move, based on his weight and number of cartons supplied and packed. We gave him a Guaranteed maximum price of $7,414.30. He was told that although his box count went over, and the weight was 9,440# he would not have to pay more. His estimated weight was 9,000#.

He at that time said he thought the men had possibly manipulated the weight since they were mad about having to take the plant. I explained to him that was simply not the case, because the men would have no reason to do that, as they had no animosity.And that he could have witnessed the weighing in Nashville, but obviously didn't feel the need to then. That the Driver could reweigh the load in Mass. but it would be a considerable amount of time and effort for both he and the Driver in Metropolitan Boston. He agreed and that was the end of that. Having other Customers on the van is irrelevant.
Our Company policy is to "run" the credit card the day after we load a Customer. More times than not, the Customer ends up having to call the credit card company to ok the large charge, plus other complications that occur. This way it does not delay the Driver, his hired labor, and the Customer on delivery day.I find it interesting that Mr. ****** was wanting to not pay until AFTER the delivery was made so he could "leverage" his issues. There were no issues to "leverage" until after delivery he claimed to be missing a box of tile.He had signed the Contract for payment before delivery.
I asked the three men if they remembered loading the tile from his residence. They said they left the tile on the work bench as instructed by Mr. ******. When I relayed this to him, Mr. ****** called back and said that was a different tile. I offered to go to his house and verify and make sure it wasn't left behind by mistake, and he said no.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I continue to find the behavior of this company insulting and bullying; this is the main reason I am rejecting this resolution. I went back to read the text of my response to their initial offer for resolution, and can't understand how that was characterized by name calling or ranting, however this response very nicely sums up the attitude that we have received from this company's representatives. I also don't know where they are coming from when they say I am changing the amount of tile I have said was lost--I think I am pretty consistently listing the inventory that is missing as a box of tile appx 10 sq feet total. There were other boxes of tile in our home, some of which was staying for new homeowners (the boxes that the company is referring to) and also some less valuable tile that was supposed to come to our new home that is also missing--we are not focused on these items since they are not as valuable.

I do understand the substance of their position however to provide a receipt for the missing tile. If that had been their position up front rather than 3 months down the road we probably wouldn't have needed to complain to the BBB. We will search for the receipt and attach it if we can find it in our records (they are in storage)--the tile in question was from a fireplace renovation we completed in 5/2011, and was green glass tile from Emser. I found the charges on our credit card from that month but this does not list model number or price/sq ft. Would be happy to provide to the BBB if that would help our complaint.

Lastly, I think it is entirely in my right to review the services of any company I use on the internet. I'll note that I only did this after repeatedly not having calls returned from this company (specifically from ******* *******) over a three week period after our insurance claim was denied. If the company does not like the reviews they receive they should reconsider the services they provide.

Final Business Response
Since Mr. ****** is so quick to label people and call them names, we will leave that to him. Our position was that we were instructed to leave 3 boxes of tile at the residence in Nashville. On delivery day Mr. ****** called to say out of everything that was unloaded into his new home AND a mini storage unit, he is missing a box of tile. Now it is 3 boxes of tile. Mr. ****** is the only one that has seen this tile. We will move off of our former position to one of compromise. If Mr. ****** shows us the receipt to prove that the undetermined number of boxes of tile even exist, and shows the model number of the tile so that the cost can be verified, we will entertain his claim. Mr. ****** has not mentioned in his rants that he took a $500 insurance deductible with his move. Mr. ****** threatens to "consider other actions and be sure to spread the word". This is interesting that he is now "considering" other actions since he went to social media prior to subjecting you to his personality. Perhaps if he were a little more professional and a little less sneaky, he would come across as more believable.
We are asking for a receipt showing what is missing.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

10/03/2011Delivery Issues

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/10/1972Business started: 04/01/1970
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1980, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ted R. Sanders (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Charles Sanders (Manager)Ms. Charliene Sanders (Vice President)Mr. Mike Sanders (Sales Manager)Mr. Darryl Shepard (Comptroller)
Business Category

Movers, Warehousing Services, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Piano & Organ Moving, Packing & Crating Service, Moving Supplies, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Moving & Storage Company, Relocation Service

Products & Services

According to information in BBB files, this company is the surviving company resulting from the merger of Sanders Transfer & Storage which was a Charter member of the BBB since 1961.

The company offers both local, long distance, and international moving. The company also offers warehousing, storage, packing, and crating services.

Alternate Business Names
Allied Van Lines, Ted Sanders Moving
Industry Tips
Moving - Selecting a Mover

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ted R. Sanders Moving & Warehouse, Inc.

7149 Centennial Blvd.

Nashville, TN 37209

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7149 Centennial Blvd. 

    Nashville, TN 37209(615) 350-7080

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ted R. Sanders Moving & Warehouse, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 251-2071
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

Moving - Selecting a Mover
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.