BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/24/2012

On the Move Moving & Storage, Inc.

(615) 793-0500129 Wheeler St, La VergneTN 37086-3119 Send email to On the Move Moving & Storage, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial moving and storage services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/24/2012

BBB has determined that On the Move Moving & Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised On the Move Moving & Storage, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on On the Move Moving & Storage, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
06/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mover Insurance not being honored
I used on the move for my move from Murfreesboro to Hendersonville. i paid for the extra insurance for my items for the move. The movers damaged my entertainment center and I filed a claim with the company. I have called several times and have not had any follow up or returned calls. When I inquire about the claim ***** said it takes some time to figure out the weight of the item. I have sent all of that information to her with the claim form and pictures of the damage. The last time I spoke with her she said I should have a check by the last week of May. I called on Tuesday and Wednesday this week and was given the run around. ***** is off until Thursday' so I called today and she is conveniently out to lunch. I just want the check for the item that was damaged by their movers.

Desired Settlement
I am just wanting what I paid for with the insurance - the price per pound for the item that was damaged by their movers.

Business Response
We handle all moving claims through a process. The initial process is sending an email out along with an attachment that indicated the claim process can take 3-6 weeks to be reviewed and processed. Mr. ***** was given a claims form on May 1st which he returned on May 6th. On our claims form we have a section for the customer to write the item damaged and indicate the estimated weight and cost of replacement. However, we do our own research trying to find the true or actual weight or it is based on weights provided by America Moving & Storage Association's "depreciated weight guide". I spoke to Mr. ***** the week of the 11th and indicated the check would be available for mailing the last week of May. I took a vacation over the holiday weekend that started Thursday May 21st to Wednesday May 27th. I was back in the office May 28th. While I was out of the office I was informed the Mr. ***** had called several times and he was informed I was out of the office and would be available Thursday afternoon. Mr. ***** did call at 12:07 pm while I was out to lunch, and I returned his call once I arrived back into the office at 1:12pm. When we talked I told him I would be mailing out his claim letter and check May 29th. It has been place in the mailbox this morning. This claim has been handled and processed exactly as indicated.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received a check today for the damages as well as a survey for the movers.

01/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
UNREASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME TO LOAD AND UNLOAD FURNITURE. INVOICE #4493
MOVED FROM FRANKLIN TN, TO BOCA RATON FL. ON NOV.13,2014. 2 MEN LOADED MY FURNITURE & BOXES. THEY ARRIVED 9:00 AM AND FINISHED 9:30 PM. THIS WAS ONLY A TWO BDRM. 1200SF CONDO. I WAITED 12 HRS. TO GET IT FINISHED. I MADE PLANS TO HAVE DINNER WITH MY DAUGHTER WHOM WAITED SEVERAL HOURS FOR ME UNTIL IT BECAME TO0 LATE. I ATE DINNER AT HER HOUSE @ 10:30 PM.
AT 6:00 PM I CALLED A SUPERVISOR NAMED *** AND ASKED FOR AN ADDITIONAL MAN TO COME AND GET IT FINISHED FASTER, I WAS PROMISED 3 MEN. HE SAID NO THAT HE HAD SEVERAL MEN CALL IN SICK AND DIDN'T HAVE AN EXTRA MAN. THEREFORE IT TOOK ANOTHER 3 1/2 HRS.
WAS UNLOADED IN FL ON NOV. 18, 2014. MEN ARR. 3:00 PM. AT 7:00 PM I REQUESTED THEY LEAVE AND COME BACK IN MORNING TO COMPLETE AND ASSEMBLE BEDS. OTHERWISE IT WOULD BE 11:00 PM. I EXPECTED TO SLEEP AT MY VILLA THAT NIGHT BUT HAD TO GO BACK TO MY SONS HS. NOV. 19, 2014 MEN ARR. AT 9:30AM AND FINISHED 3:30PM.
I CALLED *** THE SUPERVISOR SEVERAL TIMES THAT DAY THE 2ND CALL I ASKED FOR HIS SUPERIOR, I WAS TOLD HIS NAME WAS *** AND HE WAS IN A MEETING AND REQUESTED HE CALL ME. NEVER RECEIVED NOT EVEN A COURTESY CALL OR APOLOGY FROM ANYONE. 3RD CALL ASKED *** FOR COMPENSATION BUT HE NEVER RESPONDED.

I CHOSE ON THE MOVE MOVING BECAUSE I TRUSTED THEIR SALES REP. ************** WHOM PROMISED ME SEVERAL THINGS THAT NEVER HAPPENED. I THOUGHT A LOCAL SMALLER CO. WOULD GIVE ME PERSONAL RESPECT AND HELP. I RECEIVED SEVERAL QUOTES FROM OTHER MOVING COMPANIES, LARGER NATION WIDE COMPANIES WERE LESS MONEY AND WOULD HAVE HAD THE JOB DONE IN 1/2 THE TIME. I ALSO RELIED ON THE BBB RATING AND ONLY FOUND ONE COMPLAINT ABOUT THEM. WHAT IS THE RUTHIE AWARD THEY CLAIM.
I MADE A VERY BAD MISTAKE. I AM A SINGLE SENIOR WOMAN WHO WAS TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF. MOVING IS A VERY STRESSFUL THING, IT HAS TAKEN ITS TOLL ON ME.
BEWARE! IF YOU CHOOSE ON THE MOVE MOVING COMPANY AND HAVE A WHOLE HOUSE TO MOVE, YOU'LL NEED A WEEK TO GET IT ACCOMPLISHED WITH THEM.

Desired Settlement
THE 2 DAY SALARY OF THE 3RD MAN THAT THEY DIDN'T HAVE TO PAY AT MY EXPENSE.

Business Response
Mrs. *********'s move to Florida was not based on an hourly figure or an exact number of men. The move was based on weight of shipment and distance. We would normally have 2-3 men to load this size of shipment since it was coming off a second floor condo (apt). The third man assigned to help on loading day had called in sick that morning. *** the Operations Manager was in touch with 3 other crews during the day trying to get an additional man over to help, each of those crews were out past 8 pm. We regret that it took as long as it did.
At the destination, we unloaded into the garage since it was raining and came back the following day to place the furniture. It actually did take much longer to unload doing it this way but the crew was trying to do their best to please the customer. We would normally send only 2 out of town to do a delivery this far away.
We are extremely sorry to hear that the timing of Ms. ********* move did not go as planned, but trust that the rest of the move did.
On The Move would be willing to compensate the Ms. ********* up to $100.00 to resolve this matter.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In reply to On the Move Movers excuse for why this happened is not satisfactory.
The management was very rude not to at least call me and apoligize. I called them several times for help and at 8:30 PM just got another excuse. Perhaps *** should have come to help. I paid several hundred dollars more to them when I could have chose four other companies that were less money.
I made this same move from Florida to Tennessee with North American Van Lines exactly one year ago with two men. They had no problem loading me from a two story house in 6 hours and unloading me to the same condo in Tennessee in 6 hours. They used the one flight of stairs next to my condo door to get the furniture up which I suggested to On the Move Movers instead of the small, slow elevator. which took twice the time. I am sorry about additional men not being available but this is not my fault. Perhaps *** should have volunteered to come and help since it was so late. Therefore I'm sure they can compensate me more than they offered. Surely they have a fund for this bad experience. I paid the men that did the labor more of a tip than they are offering me.

They took advantage of me, a senior, single woman.

Final Business Response
On The Move is again very sorry the loading of her goods took longer than expected. We cannot change that fact, we did however tried to go above and beyond at destination to make the customer satisfied as best we could. The customers desired resolution was to be reimbursed for the salary of the "third" man. The total time at loading was 24 man hours if we had a 3rd man the job would have been expected to be completed in 7-8 hours which would have resulted in a net amount of 24 total man hours. we have offered to send $100.00 to compensate for the shipper missing dinner with her family on loading day. We would be willing to raise that to $150.00 to resolve this matter. On The Move is in no way trying to take advantage of our customer our cost is the same whether we used 2 or 3 men. OTM is again sorry for this inconvenience.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I repeat, I had several other moving companies quotes for my move from TN to FL. They were several hundred dollars less and it would have been much less hours involved. If three other companies could quote for less money and meet there expenses I'm sure On The Move Moving is also covering all their expenses with their profit. I would like other people planning to move with On The Move Moving to be aware of this problem. In order to resolve this dispute, I am willing to accept $200.00. ***** *********

11/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The movers of the company lost our items, they were loaded on the truck but never unloaded at our new home. They refuse 2 admit they lost our stuff.
The container held memories of my parents & grandparents. Their pictures, newspaper clippings, pictures, personal items, letters to me, items you cannot replace. They sent someone from their office named ***** to search our entire home to see if we were telling the truth. I cried as he went through out belongings. My husband stayed with him the entire time. He went through every box in our garage. Went back and told a lie. He said our garage was packed from floor to ceiling from front to back & that he couldn't get to every box. That was a lie on his part, our garage never looked like that and he was able to go through all the boxes just fine. There reply each time was, "Once you clean out your garage you'll find your box." We'll it's all cleaned out and no box and no planter with flowers which was also missing. They finalized and closed our case today. Even though they broke antiques and ruined the glass on our coffee table by leaving it cracked in more than one place. If you run your hand over it you can cause your fingers to bleed. They torn off a light fixture and marked up 7 walls plus took huge chucks of wood out of our furniture. They did send someone out who fixed these items. My husband went back to our old place the very next morning and there was nothing left behind. The key to our Secretary from back in the 1930's was in that plastic container, we can't get in it nor lock in now. We asked them to pay for a locksmith to make a key, the refused. I believe one to the men moving us stole the container and the plant with flowers. I would never recommend this company to anyone for movers. They ***'t care anything about you and your missing items. They talk rude, act like it's your fault. I would never want any of our friends to use them for moving. They ***'t stand behind there words.

Desired Settlement
A locksmith to come out and make a key for the Secretary. Find our container and our plant. Be nice to your customers. I want my container back. Did they go back and check with other's who moved the day after, did they leave our container with them. Call and check on all moving to see if the container is someone else? They have only searched my home.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********** Office Manage
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@onthemovetn.com
We have handled her claim based on the level of valuation coverage she chose on the day of the move. It is part of our claim procedure to ask the crew members about specific situations. We have asked all of our employees about the items that are "missing" and no one knows anything about them. If someone did they would have informed us of any information. As far as the trucks, in a conversation that we had via telephone with Mrs. *********** she told me that she physically witnessed the back of both trucks being swept out, so she knew that nothing was left on the back of the trucks. If something had been found, we would have returned the item(s) to her.
We have gone above normal claim procedure by attempting to repair the coffee table, repairing the couch, and sending a crew member back out to her home to search for the missing items. So yes we have done our part in trying to help locate the container. In no way did we go out to see if the ************ were "telling the truth" as Mrs. *********** states. This was our way in trying to help locate the container for her. She has told me that she just recently had back surgery and is just now barely able to walk, but in the next breath she has searched high and low. We are not refusing to admit the items are lost I have put the items on the claims form which I will attach for your review as well as our claims letter to them.
On the Move: Moving & Storage, INC sent out one of the crew men, *****, out on Thursday October 3rd at 3 pm for one and half hours to search for the container that has been misplaced. ***** went through the garage as best he could. When he arrived she was crying hysterically and she informed ***** was praying because her husband had a new job. Mrs. *********** inquired to ***** "What do you think, what was the other ***** person's name do you think he took it because the other one got a fishing pole?" Items have already been moved in to attic, which we are not allowed to enter due to liability. (If the attic is a finished attic we can enter.) He checked the crawl space in the bonus room, under beds, and other areas of home. Basically husband was informing him that he has gone through everything, and also he was in agreement with ***** that they would find the missing box somewhere. Garage was heavily loaded with boxes. I, *****, made the mistake of saying floor to ceiling front to back, but you would not be able to get a car in the garage stated by *****. I also have confirmation from the repair man informing us of the cluttered garage and that it was still heavily packed when he was out on Monday October 14th.
Statements from our crew about the move date. Day of the move the garage was floor to ceiling front to back. During move day, Mrs. *********** only specified about one box being of extreme importance was her china which was located and shown to her on moving day. Both customers witnessed our crews folding pads and sweeping out the back of the truck, hence no items left on our trucks. The stairwell that was damaged was repaired as well as the light fixture. Our crew members explained to the customers the risks in moving the couch upstairs on more than one occasion and we had objections to moving the couch back downstairs, which was released on our release of liability- "unique and unsafe moving circumstances". When the husband arrived to the house, he told our crew members that it was the wrong couch. Mrs. *********** told them the first couch was the correct one. Upon Mr. *********** informing us to remove that couch, is when the damage occurred. All items were inspected when entered the home by the customers and no complaints, they never saw cracked glass on coffee table.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Being of sound mind do not accept the response given by the company "On the Move". What is so disturbing is the lack of "truth" in what was written. One person be it *********** or ***** is being untruthful throughout the response and are not to be trusted.
1. I never said I saw the trucks swept out are the blankets folded. This never happened on my part.
2. We didn't take the time to check the cabs for stolen items, never dreamed any of the men would steal from us.
3. They couldn't repair the coffee table back to it's original form. The coffee table weights a lot more than any 40 pounds, it has a thick beveled glass top with long scratches you can feel on top. We just purchased the coffee table and end tables this year being 2013.
4. Never, ever, did I say I had back surgery. I hurt my back, found it hard to walk, but if I sat down I could still unpack items. This statement was a lie, plain and simple by ************
5. When ***** arrived at our home we had just received some wonderful news, in doing so I had just finished praying & praising God for his goodness which had lead me to tears of joy. This is where another lie from ***** and ***** comes in as they stated I was crying hysterically. Please *****, have you not told enough lies as is.
6. My husband and I both watched ***** go through our entire attic. Two of us saw ***** do this, ***** lied if he told you he didn't go though the attic.
7. Due to the back problems it slowed down the process of unpacking the boxes. ***** closed out our case even after we found a heavy green glass vase broken. A antique clear glass candy jar, large with a big circle lid. 12 pounds easy. Vase another 8 pounds.
8. The movers didn't take the boxes to the rooms but left them in the garage instead. Boxes were marked as to which room to be carried and they did not do their job.
9.***** never explained to me or my husband anything concerning the move of the couches. My husband explained before the move where they were to go. They got the chairs correct along with one small couch. They, the workers moved the wrong couch to the wrong room. This was all their fault, not ours. That's when they tore out the light fixture and marked up five walls that had to be repainted.
10. Our two neighbors that live across the street from us could see right in our garage. One is a policeman for Mt. Juliet. The other I sat down with to get advice as what to do about the theft of our items and which police department to file with. He is Deputy for the Sheriffs department of Lebanon.
11. The key to the old Secretary is taped to the top of the missing container, without this key you cannot unlock the desk. None of the keys from Lowes or Home Depot work. The desk was built back in 1920 or 1930, it needs a special old key to open it. The least they could do, which I asked was send out a locksmith to make a key for the desk since they misplaced a rather large container or one of the men stole it.
12. It's best to never assume something nor to believe one employee's words without checking with the owner's who have four ears and four eyes.
13. I found remarks made even in the emails sent by *********** to be rude. ***** and ***** to lie and not get their facts correct. Someone stole the container and plant, you cannot misplace something that large.
14. I do not recommend any customer to use the company "On the Move" located on Wheeler St. in La Vergne, TN. I have already spoken with a police officer in La Vergne and been advised what to do next.
15. To see this happen to anyone, to be put through such an ordeal, to have people tell lies about what happened. No, this is wrong and I hope no one ever uses this company ever for moving.

Final Business Response
We have responded to her complaints the first time. Now she is making allegations about our company and employees that are not true. We are not going to respond to those things. If she feels this way then she needs to go through the legal process versus the BBB. We have completed her claims process based on the valuation coverage she signed. They signed for $1.25 per pound with a $250 deductible. All weights are based through the American Moving & Storage Association guide (AMSA), they offer a depreciated guide for all furniture. We have gone above and beyond normal procedure trying to help the ***********' as much we could within reason. We have sent out an employee to help search the home, we have repaired the couch and walls that were damaged. The container that is being complained about was PBO (packed by owner), those contents are unknown to us. We do not know what is in each individual box. The individual items such as vases- would have been packed by owner. We categorize those items based on the size carton (box), they would have been packed. We are apologetic that the items were damaged and (allegedly) misplaced.

11/28/2012Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/08/2007Business started: 01/01/2005New Owner Date: 02/01/2012
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2008, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adam Reynolds (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Don Watson (General Manager)Ms. Beth Reynolds (Corporate Secretary)
Business Category

Movers, Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing, Moving Supplies, Movers - Office, Moving & Storage Company

Industry Tips
Moving - Selecting a Mover

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for On the Move Moving & Storage, Inc.

129 Wheeler St

La Vergne, TN 37086-3119

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 129 Wheeler St 

    La Vergne, TN 37086-3119(615) 793-0500

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*On the Move Moving & Storage, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

Moving - Selecting a Mover
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.