BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
45 counties of Middle Tennessee and Southern Kentucky

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/05/2013

Motivated Movers

Find a Location

(615) 812-09124633 Trousdale Dr, NashvilleTN 37204-4584 Send email to Motivated Movers

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers household moving and packing, local and long distance moving.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/05/2013

BBB has determined that Motivated Movers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Motivated Movers' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Motivated Movers' rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Motivated Movers

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: Requested move with 3 people at agreed upon rate of $150 - sent 2 at $125 at the time of move. not previous notification.

Accepted multiple bids from local moving company bidders for the move of my daughter on 9/13/14. I decided to accept the Motivated movers bid since they had 3 men available at rate of $150 (equivalent of $50 per man per hour). Unfortunately, without notice only 2 showed up at the move and they charged their typical $125 rate. I was pretty stuck with the situation, so attempted to call on the date of move to discuss but received a voice mail. NOONE called me back. We proceeded with the move as my daughter had to be out by 17th. Assumed this company would be willing to adjust based on their personnel issues caused the changes. The previous were less for 2 man move of $89 but because it was day of move, it removed my choices. They charged $125 per hour at $562.50 plus tax. I called to discuss but the manager ***** decided it would not have saved but maybe 45 minutes if I had 3 people so allowed me only a credit back of $37. I tried to explain that I felt it was only fair I be charged no greater than $100 per hour ($50 per man - equivalent of $150/div 3 men) but he was determined to convince me other moving companies may have lower per hour rates but not as fast as motivated movers per job and would have made minimal difference in time. I explained that my take was that he cannot change how long it took or make comparisons that cannot be qualified for time worked, that the change could apply would be the per man rate that I was charged. He was unwilling to see my side, despite feeling cheated and mislead. I made the effort to iron this out at the beginning of the move but no one would return the call. I would not EVER recommend this company again. Take the less rate per hour it is worth not being mislead.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *****
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ******************@*********
Mrs. *****,
Thank You again for expressing your concern with your move, we are glad the went smoothly. The movers indicated that you all were exceptionally pleased with service we provided and that you all gave them a very generous tip. Which we thank you for doing and the movers were very thankful for.

As stated in previous emails and phone calls we do apologize for only being able to send 2 movers to your move. We had you scheduled with 3 movers and had one of those 3 call in before work so we called in our on call mover who was sick and could not come in. It is absolutely our fault for only sending out 2 movers. We should have notified you and for that I apologize. We could have sent over a different crew that had 3 movers but you all would have had to wait several hours past your estimated arrival time when they finished their job and we did not want you to be mad that we were not on time. However we should have let you make that decision.

As for our rates,. we charge $100 per hour for a man and a vehicle and $25 per hour for each additional mover. We do not charge $50 per man as you have stated.

You stated we charged you $562.50 plus taxes. There are no taxes on services so we did not charge a tax. We charge a 3% cc fee because you chose to pay by credit card.

As for the other company's rates that you could have chosen, they do charge $89 per hour for 2 movers plus a 13% fuel surcharge which totals $100.57. for 3 movers they charge $109 plus 13% fuel surcharge which totals $123.17. Both of which are less than our rates and you stated you used them before and they did a good job. Which is fine, however again an hourly rate being low or high has nothing to do with how long a move will take or the total cost of your move. The motivation and efficiency of the movers is the only factor that can dictate that.

You stated we did not call/contact you back. You left 2 messages on Saturday afternoon, the office had closed for the day. We received your message on Monday morning and called you immediately, after I spoke to you, we had a manager call you twice on Monday to get everything resolved but you did not answer and did not call him back. We also called your daughter whose items were moved to ask her about the situation and she asked us to call you. On Tuesday you sent an email and I replied immediately letting you know we had tried to contact you multiple times the previous day and that I could have the manager contact you in 10 minutes, which he did.

Please see the below text from the email we sent you yesterday showing how we as a courtesy generated a refund for the inconvenience we caused you.

The following is how we calculated your refund:

2 movers 4.5hrs x $125 =$562 +3% cc fee of $16.88= $579.37 (what you paid)


3 movers 3.5hrs x $150=$525 = 3% cc fee of $15.75=$540.75 (what you would have paid for 3 movers)

Total Refund amount: $38.62

Our rates are set so that if a customer chooses 2 or 3 movers the total cost generally works out about the same. With that said a 3rd mover typically reduces the time a move takes by about 20%. In this case the move time was 4.5 hours, 0.75 was spent driving between locations so the total time the movers were moving items was right around 3.75 hours. 3.75 x 20%= .75 so with 3 movers your move would have taken about 3 hours of actual moving and 0.75hrs driving between locations for a total of 3.75 x $150 which equals $562.50 which is exactly what you were charged for the 2 man crew.

I am sorry if the change of number of movers caused you any confusion but you were not charged unfairly. Again thank you for expressing your concerns, please let me know if you have any questions or concerns and your courtesy refund of $38.62 has been refunded to your card.

Sincerely,
*** *****



Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There were NO calls made to me on Saturday. I have a cell phone showing NO calls made. The calls received were on Monday AFTER the move and not before. Regardless how they classify the 3 men costs, I choose them for the 3 person job, again my consumer's view is 3 men at $150 equates to $50 per hour per man. Again they are justifying the difference in a projected time savings for 2 men versus 3 men job. There is no way to do this. I could have paid only $89 for the same 2 man crew, but was given no opportunity to make the change. I appreciate the minimal refund, but customer service should be more valuable. I will tell anyone NOT to use this company. My daughter will be moving again and it will not be with this company! I have been mislead and overcharged.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/04/2013Business started: 02/01/2012
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Race Harrison (President)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Nate Hewitt (Manager)
Business Category

Movers, Relocation Service, Seniors Moving & Delivery Services, Travel & Moving Services, Piano & Organ Moving, Moving Supplies, Moving & Storage Company, Movers - Office, Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing, Moving Brokers, Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Alternate Business Names
Race & Nathan Ventures, LLC
Industry Tips
Moving - Selecting a Mover

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Motivated Movers

4633 Trousdale Dr

Nashville, TN 37204-4584

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • PO Box 4101 

    Brentwood, TN 37024-4101

  • 4633 Trousdale Dr 

    Nashville, TN 37204-4584(615) 812-0912

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Motivated Movers is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

Moving - Selecting a Mover
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.