BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 45 counties of Middle Tennessee and Southern Kentucky

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/05/2013

6th Man Movers, Inc.

(615) 830-1313309 Hermitage Avenue, NashvilleTN 37210 Send email to 6th Man Movers, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/05/2013

BBB has determined that 6th Man Movers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered 6th Man Movers, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised 6th Man Movers, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 6th Man Movers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
07/01/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised written warranty or guarantee

Complaint: Broke an item during the move and refuse to reimburse even though I had insurance.
Occurred on June 11th during a local move.

This is for the Nashville location but since they use the Memphis BBB accreditation at the bottom of their Nashville page I'm filing the complaint here.

****************************************************

4 days after the move we were still unpacking.When the wife got to her elliptical the main post fell over. The movers had broken off the post and propped it back on the frame so we wouldn't notice.I contacted the company and was asked for any information concerning the damage. I sent an email describing it and included pictures to the same address I had been in contact with them previously. After a week, no response. Tried again a few days later and still no response. It's now been 2 weeks and still haven't heard from them after they first received my complaint and evidence.I had the basic insurance which covers .60 per pound so they should owe me around $108 going by weight, since it weighs 180 pounds

Business' Initial Response
The customer was reimbursed in the amount of $120. he was satisfied with the resolution.

Consumer's Final Response
This has now been resolved. The business contacted me and took care of it.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/13/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/25/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/21/2011Problems with Product / Service
02/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose key conditions of the offer

Complaint: 6th Man Movers failed to disclose in the fine print that the deal on Livingsocial always requires a mandatory $50 fee.
6th Man Movers failed to disclose in the fine print that the deal on Livingsocial always requires a mandatory $50 in travel time. https://www.livingsocial.com/cities/28-nashville/deals/XXXXXX-two-hours-of-moving-services

To me, if 6th man Movers is going to require and additional $50 fee on the promotion, that should be disclosed upfront in the deal posted on Livingsocial. E-mails to Livingsocial have not been fruitful.

I've also contacted BBB in Washington DC concerning Livingsocial.com.

Here is the fine print from Livingsocial:

* Distance restrictions apply; service area includes the following zip codes
*Limit 1 per household per visit
*Pre-consultation included and required; call XXX-XXX-XXXX to schedule
*Appointments required and subject to availability
*Merchant cancellation/re-scheduling policy of 72 hours applies; voucher subject to forfeiture
*Distance restrictions apply; service area includes Nashville, Davidson, Cheatham, Robertson, Sumner, Wilson, Rutherford, Williamson, and Montgomery counties, call XXX-XXX-XXXX with questions
*Additional fees may apply, call XXX-XXX-XXXX with questions
*All services must be redeemed during a single visit by same household
*Other conditions apply

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** - Owner
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@nashvillesbestmovers.com
Every move scenario is different, as we perform many different services that this particular promotion would be applicable. We worked hand in hand with living social on this deal to establish the fine print. The one statement in fine print I would like to point out is one that has seemed to be overlooked of misinterpreted:

*Additional fees may apply, call XXX-XXX-XXXX with questions

There is not "always" a $50 charge. In this case there was a travel fee of $50 based on the location of service. This was a 41 mile trip drive(round trip) and GPS tells us that should take 48 minutes without traffic.Not only do we do say this on that deal, but there are a few other points in our sale of service well before we get to that job site that this $50 fee is discussed. 1st when a customer calls to book their move, we shed light on any other charges they might have out there for that day's service. We explained the $50 travel compensation that would be charged, and this was taken up front over the phone to serve as their deposit on the move date.This is turn leads to the next point, where an emailed receipt of the transaction is sent. The last time that this would be addressed is before we get started, we go over the bill of lading where it clearly stated the advance deposit.

I would like to add one thing before I conclude this response: Please understand we do not cover cost in a particular deal like this one. The whole point of a promotion such as this is to invest monetarily and physically into the customers move in hopes to gain their future business. The exposure is what we are in this for, so please understand that the last thing we want to do is leave a bad taste in their mouth. That being said we sure don't want to blow our first impression, so we really focus on being transparent through the entire process.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I called to make the appointment, I was told there is always a service fee. It may not be $50, but there's always a fee. When I looked yesterday, their website even says "6th Man Movers charges a one-time service fee and an hourly labor rate" at http://www.sixthmanmovers.com/faq.

Thus, the Livingsocial promo was just for 2 hours of labor.
https://www.livingsocial.com/cities/28-nashville/deals/XXXXXX-two-hours-of-moving-services

To me, words have meaning and the English language should be exact when we're dealing with the fine print. Hence, the additional fees that "may" apply is inaccurate and deceptive. It should have stated additional fees "will" apply and the amount is based on location. A change in a few words would have altered my whole perception before purchasing the promo.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

05/07/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/21/2011Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/14/2011Business started: 01/01/2010
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2013, TN

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Jacob Greer (President)
Contact Information
Mr. Eric Concklin (Sales Manager)
Business Category

Movers, Piano & Organ Moving, Movers - Office

Alternate Business Names
6th Man Movers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for 6th Man Movers, Inc.

309 Hermitage Avenue

Nashville, TN 37210

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 309 Hermitage Avenue 

    Nashville, TN 37210

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*6th Man Movers, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.