BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
45 counties of Middle Tennessee and Southern Kentucky

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/23/2011

Harley-Davidson of Cool Springs

(615) 771-7775View Additional Phone Numbers7128 S Springs Dr, FranklinTN 37067-6231 Send email to Harley-Davidson of Cool Springs

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/23/2011

BBB has determined that Harley-Davidson of Cool Springs meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Harley-Davidson of Cool Springs' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Harley-Davidson of Cool Springs

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
10/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: The Finance Manager ******** failed to detail the process of utilizing Pre-Approved Bank Draft PRIOR to signing all legal documents.
8/22/13 I deposited $1,000 for a future delivery of a 2013 Ultra Classic Tri-Glide Black and Cayenne in color. I also obtained a pre-approved bank draft from my credit union for the purchase when upon the bike's arrival at the dealership.

9/16/13 Via telephone, I confirmed the bike had been delivered to the dealership

9/17/13 I responded to the dealership at 0900 to initiate the contract for sale. At that time I presented all documents, called my vehicle insurance company and paid them via electronic transfer for the vehicle insurance. AFTER signing all documentation, I was informed of the procedure that the dealership would be taking for receiving their clear funds from the bank. There was no discussion of this prior to the contract being signed. Had there been such a discussion or disclosure by the dealership prior to the contract being signed, I would have pursued another avenue of financing. In addition, there was NOTHING addressing method or forms of payment accepted mentioned on the contract or other legal paperwork signed by myself and the Dealership Representative.

The Representative stated that they would overnight the original of the Pre-Approved Bank Draft to the bank and that they believed by 9/20 or 9/21 2013 I would be able to take the bike home (that they would not release my bike until such a time as they had the money in their pocket). I was not given any clear reasoning behind their actions of retaining my bike, as there was no protocol established in signage or documentation of and by the Dealership addressing this issue.

On 09/24/2013 after repeated calls to my credit union by myself, my credit union requested that the Dealer Representative initiate a three way call between myself, the Credit Union and the Representative. The Representative stated that they were "too busy" to do that. At that point in time I calmly stated that I felt that perhaps they had promised the bike to another buyer and were trying to force me out of the contract. I also said because of what I perceived to be a stalling tactic, I could not recommend the dealership to my friends and family as a place to do business. I was assured that the bike was still in the shop waiting for me. I further stated that I have been an Harley Owner for over 30 years and have never been put through so much by any dealer in any state prior to this.

Later on 9/24/2013, at 1653 hours and again at 1739 hours, a male saying he was the General Manager with the name of ****** called my phone and said (initially) that he wanted to know what was going on. I tried to tell him the timeline of events but he kept interrupting me and raising his voice. He stated that he was "going to refund my money" and that I could "go somewhere else and buy a bike". I asked him if **** ******* (Owner) was in and he said "no." I told him that I do not want out of the contract and I want him to honor the contract. He said "I can terminate the contract any time I want, for any reason I want, I don't have to do business with you." I reminded him that there is NOTHING in the contract that makes that claim and if need be, then I would obtain an attorney to force him to perform the contract. He then really started getting angrier and talking over me, not letting me say anything further. He said he was no "lawyer" but he did not have to honor the contract. When he called back the second time, he was even more volatile in his speech and loud. I had to raise my voice just to try to talk to him. I had to hang up because he was so out of control.

At this point I am afraid to even go near the dealership to take possession of what is leagally mine according to their contract that was initiated on 09/17/2013.

Initial Business Response
The finance manager at Cool Springs never failed to do anything during the process of ******** ****** attempting to purchase a new 2014 trike from Harley Davidson of Cool Springs.

As the owner of Harley Davidson of Cool springs, I personally tried every conceivable option to try and complete Mrs ******** purchase the day she came in to sign paperwork on the trike. I even called the financial institution where Mrs. ****** was receiving her loan. I was hopeful that there was some sort of new process where upon HDCS faxing or scanning over the documents that a wire transfer could be completed to conclude the purchase of the trike. The lady at the financial institution was very nice and explained that Mrs. ****** was slightly confused about payment to the dealership. She informed me to send the paperwork with signatures from dealership personal as well as Mrs. ****** and that they would process the loan and send payment in form of a check to the dealership in a few days.

As stated, although HDCS has processed several several loans this way, we still took the time to call the financial institution to see if there by chance was some new method or means of getting payment over immediately, however there was not.

Mrs. ****** just would not accept that without payment we could not release the trike to her. I understand that Mrs. ****** had purchase papers drawn up, but without a form of payment she did not purchase anything. She became very demanding and hostile at this point. Demanding that she "watch" us get the paperwork sent over so she could ensure it went out.

I'm sorry, but I don't know what business would release the vehicle without receiving the $34000 it took to purchase it. Mrs. ****** simply demanded the vehicle be released from a faxed copy from her financial institution of a "pre-approved bank draft".

The paperwork was sent out as promised and by the following Wednesday (almost a week later) the check had still not been received from the lender. During this time period Mrs. ****** called into the dealership many many times, getting more angry each time. She eventually started making statements to anyone and everyone who she could get on the phone with regards to how poor of a dealer we are and how she was going to tell all her friends, etc.

At this point we decided we had allowed Mrs. ****** ample time to pay for the vehicle. I had our general manager call and explain to Mrs. ****** we still had not received payment and that at this time we no longer would be doing business with her.

When the check finally did arrive we simply returned it to the lender and refunded Mrs. ******'s deposit money.

The bottom line is HDCS was never paid for the 2014 trike. Although Mrs. ****** believes a "pre-approved bank draft" is payment, it doesn't suffice as payment.

As of today, the 2014 Trike that Mrs. ****** tried purchasing is still available for sale at the dealership.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: I tried multiple times to get someone to contact me concerning my service experience; responded to their survey. Made multiple requests on the website
3 July 2013
I decided to have someone look at my bike; after riding it long enough for it to get hot, it doesn't want to idle. Dies while idling at a red light or a stop sign. I had spoken to one of the sale associates, ******* and he said HDCS service department was the best in the nation.
I was not pleased with HDRG; I had taken bike there for 10k service and carb adjustment. (they are close to where I live) When it wouldn't idle after getting hot, I contacted them to see if they were willing to "own it"? He wasn't. He said bring it back in and we'll see if we can find out what the problem is...? I'm not someone to throw good money after bad! If I tell someone I'll do something, once I touch it, I own it! I see it through! I expect the same service that I give.
I went online at HDCS and filled out a service inquiry explaining how the bike would die and leave me embarrassed at lights and stop signs. I received a call from ***** ** He said bring it by and he'd take care of it. Rode the bike down on a Saturday and pulled around back and rode up on ***** ** He acknowledged yes I can tell there is a problem...we pulled it inside and he filled out a service form...with my name and number on it. Explained to him about the 10k service at HDRG...he asked me to fax a copy of the service if possible?
Monday morning I faxed a copy of the service agreement. Showed a carb adjustment during the 10k...$40. By Wednesday I still had not heard anything so I called HDCS. They said ***** B was out all week? I said service department then...they said they had the bike but didn't know what to do with it??
I explained it didn't want to idle when hot...but ran fine initially and on start up. Ride the bike until it warms up and you'll be able to see what I'm talking about...ride it home, ride it to lunch; wherever, I'm insured.
Called back on Thursday; ***** said he was able to duplicate the problem and knew exactly what it was...someone had damaged the carb...screwed something in too far. Had to have a new carb...gonna run me about $683. I said put it back together I'd come pick it up. Then, I called back about 10 minutes later and told ***** go ahead and make the repair. He said they would have to order the carb, 3-5 business days...but would install it on the day it arrived. I said I would like to have it back before they closed on the 4th. He said it would just depend on if they got the carb in time?
I called today, Wednesday, 10 days after dropping off the bike. ***** B said it was ready, they were cleaning it up...but no one had bothered to call me. $683 ended up being $774. Whatever! Riding the bike back to Maryland Farms it died on me three times...twice on the way while sitting at traffic lights, and after arriving, before I had a chance to shut it down.
Called ***** B and he said he would send someone to pick it up. ****** arrived and I called ***** B to see if he was willing to "own it", as I wasn't interested in spending more money after just having spent $774. He said he didn't understand what "owning it" meant...but that the carb wasn't the problem and he would diagnose the issue and call me before any more money is to be spent.
Verbally and in writing I feel I explained what that issue is? Parts are too expensive to just swap things until it runs better, especially if it's coming out of my pocket! I doubt the best Harley Davidson service department in the nation operates as such?
------------------
Received a call from ***** B on my way home saying they had place the bike on diagnostics and it pointed to a crank positions sensor; they had used a shop one for testing and it seemed to be working fine? He said he would install a new one for cost of sensor and no labor. I said sure. (My question is, can I see the print out from the initial troubleshooting/diagnostics that pointed to the fact that I needed a new carburetor?...though I doubt there is one; ...which ended up costing me $775)
I did receive a follow up call Weds night asking about my experience

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Ownder
Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@hdcoolsprings.com
As a valued customer Mr. ********* does have a few valid concerns regarding the lack of communication between the service counter employees at the dealership. After understanding the communication break down between service writers, we have implemented a new process to help ensure there are better lines of communication in our service department.
The repairs done on Mr. *********'s bike were all necessary repairs. It is easy to understand his concern regarding the question of wanting to see the print out of the initial diagnostic. Unfortunately Mr. *********'s motorcycle is a carbureted model and is too old to get diagnostic readouts for that type of trouble shooting. We have explained to Mr. ********* the reason for not being able to provide an initial diagnostic readout for his initial request for repair.
Prior to installing the new $774 carburetor we not only showed Mr. ********* the reason for needing to replace it, but we also obtained his authorization to do so.
It is easy to understand his concern that the $774 repair didn't necessarily fix the entire issue because the second repair was needed as well in conjunction with the $774 carburetor replacement.
In efforts to make Mr. ********* happy, we (after receiving the complaint) have offered to drive to his residence, pick up the motorcycle, remove the new $774 carburetor, install the original one and refund his $774 dollars.
Mr. ********* has declined our offer. Mr. ********* also failed to mention in his complaint that the second necessary repair done to his motorcycle was done at no labor charge as well as the replacement part was sold at dealer cost with not retail mark up. We also drove to his residence and picked up the motorcycle at no charge.
Mr. ********* has agreed to accept a $170 gift card to Harley Davidson of Cool Springs as a good faith gesture for any inconvenience. He has also agreed that his motorcycle has been repaired to his satisfaction and is running correctly. He also agreed to notify the BBB of a positive resolution to the complaint.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/02/2004Business started: 01/01/1998New Owner Date: 01/20/2010
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rich Gargano (Owner)
Business Category

Motorcycles - Dealers, Motorcycles - Renting & Leasing, Motorcycle Riding Instruction, Riding Apparel & Equipment, Motorcycles - Supplies & Parts, Motorcycles - Repairing & Service

Products & Services

This company offers the sale and service of motorcycles, along with clothing and apparel. The company also provides motorcycle safety classes and motorcycle rentals.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Harley-Davidson of Cool Springs has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Harley-Davidson of Cool Springs

7128 S Springs Dr

Franklin, TN 37067-6231

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7128 S Springs Dr 

    Franklin, TN 37067-6231(615) 771-7775
    (866) 211-1486

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Harley-Davidson of Cool Springs is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 211-1486
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Motorcycles - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.