BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/17/2009

All Star Medical, LLC - Hermitage

(615) 730-94383520A Central Pike, HermitageTN 37076 Send email to All Star Medical, LLC - Hermitage

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers lift chairs, stair lifts, mobility scooters, walking aids, bathroom safety, compression garments and many other medical products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/17/2009

BBB has determined that All Star Medical, LLC - Hermitage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised All Star Medical, LLC - Hermitage's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on All Star Medical, LLC - Hermitage

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
01/23/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
All Star Medical apparently intentionally sold an item to us in such a way as to avoid it falling under their contract with our health insurance.
My husband has Parkinson's Disease, and his doctor felt a walker would enable him to walk more easily and safely.  We contacted our health insurance company for preferred providers for medical equipment and were given the names of 3 local stores.  One of those stores was All Star Medical.  As it was located the closest to us, my husband purchased a walker from them on October 15, 2014. 

When he purchased the $230.00 "Rollator" (walker) from All Star, he gave them his insurance card, so they knew he was covered and wished to use his insurance benefits. They requested he go ahead and pay for the walker, then file the insurance claim himself.  That alone should have set off warning bells, but we are trusting souls, so he gave them a check for the total amount.  In trying to file the claim with our health insurance, we learned some very disturbing information. It appears that All Star Medical has 2 separate businesses, one located at ***** ******* ***** and the other, at the same location, at ***** ******* ***** both apparently going by the name "All Star".  All Star says these two businesses are separate legal entities.  The All Star business at 3520B is apparently the company that has a contract with our health insurance company, and it has not only a different address, but also a different tax ID number and a different telephone number, according to our health insurance company, from All Star located at 3520A. An internet search shows 3520A as a retail store, and nothing for *********** Star conveniently failed to tell my husband at the time he presented his health insurance card that they were selling him a walker NOT from the business that had the health insurance contract, but from the business next door. They were nice enough to give us a detailed invoice to send to the health insurance company, but the invoice was, of course, from the wrong location with the wrong address, phone number and tax ID number. When we contacted All Star beginning around the 6th of January to try to work out a solution , **** *****, whom we were told is the manager, was never available to take our calls, even after repeated attempts and messages left. It seems he is always either "out", or taking inventory "in the other store" and can't be bothered. Yet, he was certainly there and eager to take the check my husband wrote.  We believe that All Star Medical intentionally failed to tell us that they were selling the walker to us at full retail price, completely aware that the business from which they said they were selling it was NOT the store which would have required them to sell it to us at a presumably lower pre-negotiated contract price, and where they would have been required to submit the insurance claim. Instead, All Star has, to date, refused to even have anyone in a decision-making position talk with us. We believe All Star knowingly sold us the walker under false pretenses.

Desired Settlement
We wish All Star to refund our check for $230.00 and to submit the charge for the rollator to our health insurance company ***** ******** ******* ***** using the tax ID, address, and telephone number which is on the preferred provider contract they have with **** ******** ******* ***** We will be happy to cover the appropriate copay, if any.



Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** **** - Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@**************
We have reached out to Mrs ******* several times now to issue a discount or full refund, which ever she prefers. We no longer bill walkers through insurance and have not for over a year now. I understand there was some confusion with this up front which is why we would be more than happy to issue a full refund.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We appreciate Mr. ******'s prompt response to the BBB inquiry. Unfortunately, neither my husband nor I have received any kind of message from him regarding resolution of our complaint. Indeed, this is the first semi-direct contact we have had. We have reviewed our Mail Handlers Benefit Plan policy as it relates to Durable Medical Equipment. Assuming All Star Medical, LLC.'s charge of $230.00 is the same amount for the walker that was negotiated by them with Mail Handlers Benefit Plan in their preferred providers contract, the split for such equipment is 90%/10%. That is, the health insurance company pays the provider 90% of the negotiated cost, and the customer pays the remaining 10%. As this is the percentage under the Plan, Mr. ****** owes us 90% of $230.00, or $207.00, the amount the health insurance company would have paid him. If this is agreeable to Mr. ******, he may mail us a check for that amount, made out to ***** ******, by January 27, 2015.

Final Business Response
We a more than happy to refund you for the walker, however we do not and have not billed insurance for walkers in over a year. I have left four messages to try and resolve this issue and have not heard back so please feel free to call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. We have a refund check waiting on you once the product is returned to our retail store **** ******* **** ********** ** XXXXX. Store hours are 9-5 M-F and 10-2 on Saturday. Sorry for the confusion

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We agree to return the Drive Nitro walker for a full refund of the purchase price: $230.00. As offered by All Star, a check in this amount will be available at the All Star retail store in Hermitage for us to pick up. We are presently working with both our insurance company and a preferred provider to purchase a replacement walker. We anticipate such purchase to be completed not later than Jan 30, 2015. As soon as we have the replacement, we will return the walker purchased from All Star.

02/10/2016Billing / Collection Issues

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/17/2009Business started: 08/01/2009
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Brown (CEO/Partner)Mr. Richie Reid (Partner)Mr. Josh Story (Partner)
Business Category

Medical Equipment & Supplies, Pain Management Services, Scooters - Medical, Orthopedic Appliances, Medical Alarms, Compression Clothing/Garments, Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies, Chairs - Orthopedic & Lift, Canes, Health & Medical - General, Wheel Chairs, Home Design & Planning, Diaper Service, Furniture - Retail, Bedding, Bed Wetting Aids, Stair Lifts, Lifts, Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs, Wheel Chair Lifts & Ramps

Service Area

Serving a 75 mile area around Hermitage TN

Alternate Business Names
All Star Medical
Industry Tips
Furniture - Buying

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for All Star Medical, LLC - Hermitage

3520A Central Pike

Hermitage, TN 37076

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3520A Central Pike 

    Hermitage, TN 37076(615) 730-9438

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*All Star Medical, LLC - Hermitage is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Medical Equipment & Supplies

Furniture - Buying
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.