BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 45 counties of Middle Tennessee and Southern Kentucky

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/19/2013

Mattress Warehouse of Nashville

Phone: (615) 361-7852Fax: (615) 361-78864648 Old Hickory Blvd, Old HickoryTN 37138-2070 Send email to Mattress Warehouse of NashvilleView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of mattresses.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/19/2013

BBB has determined that Mattress Warehouse of Nashville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mattress Warehouse of Nashville's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mattress Warehouse of Nashville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
08/02/2011Problems with Product / Service
07/25/2011Advertising / Sales Issues
12/11/2012Problems with Product / Service
12/29/2011Delivery Issues
04/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: 12 hours after my purchase i noticed a problem with my mattress. I was told to deal with the manufacture for any help.
i bought a mattress set for $707.94 on 4/2/14. the next morning i noticed one side of the mattress was caving in. I called first thing and spoke to the salesman who I bought the mattress from. he said I would have to speak to the manager.I finally spoke with him at 1pm. when I told him I needed to exchange the mattress he said i need to break in the mattress, and if there was a problem i would have to deal with the manufacture. When i said i didnt want to he began to talk to me like a child and curse me. I spoke with the manufacture they said the retailer should exchange the mattress for me, I called back and was treated even worse. I finally got him to bring me a new mattress only after I agreed to pay the delivery charge of$49.00. I was threatened physically and verbally by the manager Daryl Lang, a sorry excuse for a human!
i still feel like he owes me my $49.00 back.
It does say no exchanges all over his store but this was the next day and the delevery guy said it was messed up

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ***** President
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ************@yahoo.com
This customer was sold a mattress by **** ****** the store manager. The day he called in and complained, he was offered a swap on the mattress with only paying a redelivery fee, which is standard in the industry and is noted on our invoice. The consumer signed for the product in good order. Once the consumer receives the product, we don't know what they've done with it. He was offered to bring the mattress back and we would swap it right then and there. He refused the offer to bring it back and swap, and he refused to pay a redelivery fee which is required on the invoice as independent contractors do the deliveries. Also, warranty process claims are provided by the manufacturer and not the retailer, and the process for filing a warranty claim is on the invoice. I personally discussed this with the consumer, and he stated he did not want to follow any protocol on getting a return to vendor authorization. We offered the swap anyway and he still refused to either bring it back or pay the redelivery. All of these protocols are notated on the invoice, and on large signs posted at the store. We did swap the consumer's mattress, inspected it, and found absolutely nothing wrong with the mattress. This consumer threatened to "come down to the store" and "whip some a.." which he did do, and **** ****** the store manager asked him to leave because he started telling other consumers not to buy from us. We tried everything in our power to satisfy this individual. When speaking with this individual, who was a man, he even admitted he had been offered the swap on the mattress and refused. We swapped this man's mattress to resolve his complaint. He stated "he didn't care what the terms were on the invoice" and I tried to explain to him the independent contractors who deliver have to be paid, and are college boys who work their way through school delivering mattresses, and also explained that just as if he had bought the mattress at ***'s club, if there was a defect he would have to bring it back there, he cursed me and stated he didn't give a **** about anything. This information is on the warranty card in the mattress bag, on our invoice, on our store walls and on our website. We don't know what else we could do to satisfy this individual. He has been swapped, and there was nothing wrong with his mattress to begin with.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all when the delivery guy swapped the mattress out he sat on it and it was clear it had a problem. Second of all I never cussed the manager he was cussing at me. And finally the stores manager didn't offer to swap me out he said I would have to talk to the manager. I realize what I signed but thought after just 12 hours the manager should have made it right. I am a 53 year old grown man who was treated like a childstore owner! Our community should be warned about him and his business. All you would have to do is ask the delivery guy and he will tell you the mattress was faulty. The store manager telling yet another lie that it was fine speaks to his lack of character.
I did come down to the store to talk face to face but he was not there. Any real man would have showed his face.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

09/08/2011Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/14/2011Business started: 09/01/2006
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2005, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darrell Lange (President)Mr. Mark Felts (Customer Service Contact)
Business Category

Mattresses

Alternate Business Names
Mattress Warehouse, Inc., Mattress Warehouse

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mattress Warehouse of Nashville

4648 Old Hickory Blvd

Old Hickory, TN 37138-2070

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4648 Old Hickory Blvd 

    Old Hickory, TN 37138-2070

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mattress Warehouse of Nashville is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Mattresses

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.