BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2005

Mattress Gallery Direct, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (615) 896-0428Fax: (615) 896-4110View Additional Phone Numbers132 A St Andrews Drive, MurfreesboroTN 37128 Send email to Mattress Gallery Direct, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the retail sale of mattress sets and futons.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2005

BBB has determined that Mattress Gallery Direct, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mattress Gallery Direct, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mattress Gallery Direct, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 5 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
03/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I NEEDED TO PURCHASE A COMFORTABLE MATTRESS AS I WAS MOVING AND THE KING SIZE BED I HAD WOULD NOT FIT INTO MY NEW HOME. I WENT TO 3 DIFFERENT BUSINESSES AND DUE TO PRESIDENT'S DAY SALE WEIGHED THE DIFFERENT OPTIONS I HAD FROM ALL 3 BUSINESSES. I CHOSE THIS COMPANY DUE TO HAVING TO PAY NO SALES TAX AND THEM OFFERING TO GIVE ME MY BED FRAME AND MATTRESS COVER DUE TO ANOTHER MATTRESS COMPANY OFFERING TO DO THIS FOR ME AND THEY WANTED MY BUSINESS OR SO I WAS TOLD. UPON THE SALES REP WRITING UP MY INVOICE HE SAID I PAID $1149 FOR MY MATTRESS BUT FOR INVOICE PURPOSES ONLY HE HAD TO BACK OUT AND SHOW ALL SEPARATE CHARGES ON THE INVOICE. I WAS CONCERNED ABOUT THIS AND VOICED MY CONCERN BECAUSE HE NOTED MY MATTRESS NOW ONLY COST $999.00 VS. THE $1149 HE HAD TOLD ME I WOULD RECEIVE IF I HAD TO RETURN THE MATTRESS WITHIN MY 30 DAY WINDOW. BUT ASSURED ME I WOULD RECEIVE THE $1149 NO PROBLEM. I HAVE AN INJURED RIGHT SHOULDER AND AGAIN VOICED THIS TO HIM AND WENT WITH THE MATTRESS HE SUGGESTED AGAINST MY BETTER JUDGMENT AND LESSON LEARNED. MY MATTRESS WAS DELIVERED ON 2/10/16 AND BY THE MORNING OF 2/18/16 I WAS IN PAIN AND PLACED TWO PHONE CALLS TO ASK TO PLEASE CALL ME I HAD TRIED AS I WAS TOLD TO TRY THIS NEW MATTRESS BUT COULD NOT DUE TO NOT SLEEPING, ETC. I TOOK LUNCH TIME AND WENT TO STORE AND WAS TOLD THEY BEING TIM AND THE OTHER MAN WHO WOULD NOT GIVE ME HIS NAME THAT THEY WOULD CONTACT THE ENGLANDER REP FOR THE MATTRESS AND GET BACK WITH ME TO SEE WHAT COULD BE DONE. I MADE A SECOND TRIP TO THE STORE AFTER I WORKED ALL DAY AND HAD BEEN UP ALL NIGHT DUE TO NO SLEEP AGAIN AND WAS GREETED WITH RUDENESS AND GESTURES BY THESE TWO MEN THAT MADE ME UNCOMFORTABLE AS A 5' WOMAN WITH THEIR LANGUAGE AND BEHAVIOR. I TOLD THEM THEY WERE RUDE AND I WAS REPORTING THIS TO THE BBB WHEN THEY TRIED TO GET ANOTHER $800 AND GIVE ME A MATTRESS I NEVER LOOKED AT BACK ON PRESIDENT'S DAY. THEN THEY TRIED TO GIVE ME A MATTRESS THAT I DID NOT WANT AND STILL CHARGE ME $450 MORE. I LEFT DUE TO BEING TOLD TO LEAVE.
Product_Or_Service: MATTRESS
Order_Number: AGAIN JUST A RECEIPT
Account_Number: WAS NOT GIVEN ONE JU

Desired Settlement
I WOULD LIKE THE MATTRESS I WANTED IN THE FIRST PLACE OFFERED TO ME ON PRESIDENT'S DAY AT $1399 AND THE $1149 I PAID TO BE PLACED AGAINST THAT AS A CREDIT AND PAY THE DIFFERENCE AS STATED TO ME BY THE SALES REP ON PRESIDENTS DAY THAT FOR SOME REASON I CAN'T CONTACT AND THEY SAY IS TELLING THEM I LOOKED AT ANOTHER MATTRESS ENTIRELY. WHICH I DID NOT. I WOULD LIKE AN APOLOGY BECAUSE NO COMPANY SHOULD BE ABLE TO TREAT CUSTOMERS IN THIS MANNER AND GET AWAY WITH IT. THIS IS WRONG AS I TOLD THEM!

Business Response
On 2/6/16 ***** ****** purchased from Mattress Gallery Direct, a queen Biltmore Bamboo Mattress Set, queen frame and received a queen mattress protector at no charge. The purchase resulted in a subtotal of 1,051.72 plus tax of 97.28, for a total of $1,149 as stated on her signed invoice. The merchandise was delivered on 2/10/16.

Mrs. ****** was given a 30 Day Comfort Guarantee Exchange, which allows her to come back to the store and pick out a different mattress set of equal or greater value if she was not satisfied with her purchase. If she chooses one of greater value, she would pay the difference in price.

It was confirmed with the original salesman and with the information she provided that she had also considered the Simmons Beautyrest Priam Set as an option but chose to purchase the Biltmore mattress set. On 2/18/16, the customer came back to take advantage of the comfort guarantee option. Mrs. ****** was confused about which Beautyrest mattress she was originally interested in, this is understandable since these mattresses look a lot alike and she did state she had already visited 3 stores before making her purchase at Mattress Gallery Direct. The difference in cost for the Beautyrest Priam (the mattress set she was also considering on 2/6/16 would result in a total difference of $437.

At no time did any of the salesmen get rude with Mrs. ******, however, when she refused to agree with the comfort guarantee option she was told it appeared we had come to an impasse *** we had no other options available.

Mattress Gallery Direct will extend ***** ******' Comfort Guarantee until March 15, 2016.
She will still be allowed to get the Queen Beautyrest Priam Set at the sale price until that time. Mrs. ****** is welcome to call the Cool Springs Mattress Gallery Direct to set up an appointment to finalize the details should she desire to do so.

We at Mattress Gallery Direct wish to satisfy all our customers and would like for Mrs. ****** to accept our apologize for any misunderstanding that she feels might have taken place.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this response because it is false and not at all how this incident happened. I am very clear on which mattress I was looking at and I did visit two other stores prior to visiting this establishment and should have gone with Mattress King. I was told by salesman Mr. Marsh that due to the other stores I had visited as well as their current President's Day Sale he would "throw in" the mattress cover in question and also the frame since I had stated the $1,399 that I was quoted from Mattress King. Again, I state as we approached the back of the sales floor to where he wrote up the invoice he then backed out all the figures so that the mattress only appeared on paper to be worth $999.00 vs. the $1,149 in which the salesman Mr. Marsh told me was the cost of the "mattress" not including the mattress cover or the frame as he was "throwing those in" to earn my business so I would purchase from their store. So, I clarified and re-clarified that if the Biltmore Bamboo mattress he talked me into buying did not work that I would have $1,149 to put toward the mattress I came in there to buy in the first place. I was assured more than once during the conversation that that was the case. The man that made fun of me and stated, "it's such a bad world and my son has autism" (whom I can not provide the name because he asked me to leave and would not give me a name) was also present the date in question in which I purchased the mattress and told me that the reason they have to write up the invoices and back out of the prices is because they were audited and had 6,000 invoices that had to be corrected so that was the ONLY reason the mattress was listed as $999. In fact, on my original invoice I am now looking at in my hands right now the salesman Mr. Marsh hand wrote $1,399 and then crossed it out and hand wrote $999.00. I also questioned the sales tax because he told me there was no sales tax due to the President's Day sale and that too was included on the invoice. This is wrong and also stating that I am confused and that I was not treated in the manner in which I WAS by those two men is another slap in my face and I do not appreciate them lying about this. It takes time to file this complaint and it is ridiculous that companies can promise you something and then not stand behind their word when a consumer indeed has a legitimate complaint. I am not nor will I say these things did not happen as I know they did and I have all my faculties and am not confused about anything. I know what I was told and I know their response is 100% bogus as the words that were spoken to me on the date of 2/6/16 were as well. I am appalled that companies can get away with these types of business practices and consumers have to explain and re explain what took place. The word "Priam" was NEVER mentioned to me and I know full well which mattress I laid on. I also talked with salesman Mr. Marsh in deep detail about how each store labels their mattresses based on their chain. So, for me nothing has changed and their response is yet another ploy at now trying to lie to the BBB which is just as wrong as lying to me. I have learned from this horrid experience that I should have bought the mattress I came in there for in the first place. They will not admit to their behavior much less their poor business practices and I am stating as I have stated before how this occurred. So, to back track; on my invoice it clearly states $1,399. I am still saying that was the price I was quoted and the difference between that amount and what I paid is $250 and that is for the other mattress I laid on not the one they are proposing (the Priam). I should be afforded the mattress I laid on at the price I was quoted which is $1,399. I also would like to add that I was told by "Tim" that salesman Mr. Marsh was giving me a $400.00 rebate but that was no longer available because they gave it to someone else? Which I don't even understand because salesman Mr. Marsh never said anything to me about a $400.00 rebate? All this is wrong and this entire experience has been and still is a nightmare and businesses like this should be fined and or put out of business because this is not how you treat customers - especially with something as serious as a mattress. My shoulder is sore every day and I tried what was suggested and I want the mattress I came in there for not for $437.00 more dollars but for the $250.00 difference and THE MATTRESS I LAID ON which was never the "Priam"! I also do not appreciate the playing on words in their response of ..."we would like Mrs. ****** to accept our apology for any misunderstanding that SHE FEELS MIGHT have taken place." I am very clear on what took place and what I was told and this is wrong as I told them repeatedly on 2/18/16 when I was laughed at, mocked and told to leave their store all because I said I was contacting the BBB. Absurd. Simply absurd. I need the BBB to tell me what to do in this instance as I am now at a loss for words and tired of dealing with this. These people are liars and apparently will remain liars and I nor should anyone have to deal with this type of treatment from any company claiming to have a 30 day money back guarantee should you need to return the product in question. I am only expecting what I was told; at the price I was quoted; should I return this mattress I was told would be better for my shoulder. I came to the BBB for justice on my behalf as I have never done this or had to do this before in my 50 years on this earth. Thank you.

Final Business Response
As stated in Mattress Gallery Direct's response, the Simmons Beautyrest mattress set Mrs. ****** showed interest in is the Beautyrest Priam set. On 2/6/16, Mrs. ****** showed Mr. Marsh a picture of a Beautyrest mattress set and he directed her to Mattress Gallery Direct's corresponding set which is the Priam. The mattress set the customer is confusing the Priam with is the Puerto Vallarta Ultimate Plush. The Puerto Vallarta was on sale for $1899 during the Presidents Day Weekend Sale. The Puerto Vallarta was never offered at $1399.

On 2/18/16, Mrs. ****** brought a photo of the specs for the Simmons Beautyrest mattress she said she wanted. Tim showed her the Simmons Beautyrest Priam set that matched her spec information.

I will state again that the Puerto Vallarta Ultimate Plush is not the mattress set she was considering on 2/6/16. This has been proven by the pictures and information that Mrs. ****** herself provided, by the pricing of the mattresses and confirmation from salesman Cody Marsh. The two mattress sets are the same color, from the same Beautyrest Collection, displayed in the same area of the store and within 1 1/2 inches of the same thickness. I understand how someone could get them confused however, if Mrs. ****** truly believes she looked at the Puerto Vallarta, she is mistaken.

In a measure of good faith, I will extend her comfort exchange option and allow Mrs. ****** to purchase the mattress she was also interested in on 2/6/16, the queen Simmons Beautyrest Priam Mattress Set at a total of $1399. She has paid $1149 for the first set she chose(Biltmore Bamboo). That amount will be credited to the Priam Mattress Set at 1399 leaving a balance of $250. This offer will only be available until March 15, 2016. If she desires to take advantage of this extended offer, I ask that she call to set up an appointment with a store manager.

Please note that Mattress Gallery Direct does not offer a 30 day money back guarantee as Mrs. ****** stated. Please also note that Mrs. ****** was never lied to, laughed at or mocked, however she was asked to leave when she became irate and called the salesman diabolical.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am agreeing to this resolution though I disagree with being asked to leave this establishment due to calling their employees in question "diabolical." I called and spoke with a Tim and he said I needed to speak with a "****" because he doesn't handle BBB problems. **** called me back and I told him if I only had to pay the $250 difference that I am willing to agree to this. He stated no new frame would be needed, they will pick up the Biltmore Bamboo mattress and box spring I currently have and will deliver the Priam Plush mattress this Saturday between 11 am - 12 pm. He asked if I could come to the store tonight to pay the $250 and complete the invoice that the price will be $1,399 - $1,149 which I have already paid and the difference will not have additional tax so the total amount will be $250. I agreed to that and told him I can not come tonight due to working my 2nd job but would be able to either Tuesday or Thursday of this week prior to Saturday's delivery. We agreed on that and I told him I would now respond to the BBB. I wanted to pay over the phone but that is not a possibility so I will however be dealing with "Tim" after all? He is the man that told me today that he does not handle BBB problems. So, hoping all goes well and thanking the BBB for helping me with this matter. I work very hard for my income and it is still only a portion of what most people make in Franklin but a comfortable mattress is mandatory for me and my right shoulder. Should any further assistance be needed I will not hesitate to reopen this matter with the BBB and thank you again for your awesome assistance. Debbie ******

02/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a mattress and it is not a fit for us at all and company won't do anything about it
We purchased a bed and within a few days we knew it was not a good fit. I have had three back surgeries and my wife has RA. I went to the store and was immediately turned off by the sales person and got upset and told him I was going to stop payment which I did. Discover has denied the claim because we signed the form but these people are not truthful. I never said the bed too tall for my wife and we have always had the low profile foundation. The bed is very uncomfortable for me because of my back surgeries and my wife falls in pot holes in the bed. My wife can't make the bed because her hands hurt to pull it up because it is so heavy, I never said it was too tall. The way they designed the mattress it is very deceiving and it looks like a normal mattress and while looking at it in the store it didn't seem like it was that deep of a mattress that would be so heavy to pick up to put sheets on it. Also Englander asked me for pictures, which admittedly were bad, but the one thing that they did not understand is all mattresses come with certain tags on them and the one tag they wanted a picture of was a tag saying in large letters, DO NOT REMOVE, and I will take a lie detector test, that tag was never on it making us wonder if it was a used mattress to begin with.
We gave this bed at least 45 days and finally my kids moved it to the guest room and we got our old bed from there. We are in our 70's and know this will be the last mattress we will ever buy. No one seems to care and we are at a loss as to what we do next. I feel as though the DO NOT REMOVE tag missing on a new mattress is ground alone for us to be able to send it back with no fees or trouble.

Desired Settlement
We bought a headboard, frame and mattress set. We just want our money back for the mattress with no penalty. I don't understand why Englander or Discover was not bothered by the fact that tag is gone.

Final Consumer Response
Mattress Gallery Direct has agreed to give us an exchange on the mattress. It was delivered on Friday and we would like this complaint closed. Thank you so much!

*** *******
2/8/2016

06/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a mattress protector on 5/19/16. I found out from other business that I was overcharged by almost $40.00,they declined are turn on 5/23.
Comfort Plush mattress protector twin XLnwas purchased on 5/19/16, found out that they overcharged me by Almost $40.00. I went to return it on 5/23/16, the sales person and the manager declined to take it back. They said I was not supposed to take it out of the box. The sales person broke the chain in the packaging box. The second person rudely supported the sales and declined to take it back. When I said I will complain to BBB they did not care and said have your attorney call us.
I paid $97.23 by AMEX including taxes,it should have costed me only $59.00. They told me on 5/19 the item costs $118.00 at *** **** and ******.

Desired Settlement
Take the product back and refund my money, they are unprofessional, I do not want to deal with them.
Thank You

Business Response
On 5/19/16 Mrs. ********** purchased a mattress protector from Mattress Gallery Direct for $89.00 plus tax for a total of $97.23. The protector the customer chose is regularly priced at $119.00. She purchased it during a Mattress Protector Special Event allowing her to purchase at a discount, $89.00 plus tax. Mrs. ********** was not overcharged. As stated on Mrs. **********'s signed invoice, Mattress Gallery Direct does not allow returns or exchanges on mattress protectors. This policy is set in place for sanitary reasons.

There are an enormous amount of mattress protectors on the market at many different price ranges. I can only assume the customer has our top quality mattress protector confused with a less expensive one.

The salesman was not aware he broke the package. Mrs. ********** may call the store. We will be happy to send her a new package or she can come to the store to receive her new package.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They refused to open the box to see the mattress cover, there was no sale on the product, it was small for the size of the bed. They refused to take the cover as I opened it at home to see the size. I visited other businesses in the area and they all quoted a lower price- $59.80 to be more specific with taxes.
They refused to take the package as I opened it. They told me at the time of purchase that I can bring it back with the receipt. That is what I did.
So, I want them to take the product back and refund me the money.


Final Business Response
Mrs.********** was not overcharged for her purchase. The mattress protector was on sale at 89.00 plus tax and that is the amount the customer paid. As stated on the customers signed invoice mattress protectors are not eligible for return. This policy is set in place for sanitary concerns. Mattress Gallery Direct will replace the packaging should Mrs. ********** desire.

03/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
NEVER SHOP AT THIS STORE!!I feel I was financially taken advantage of as a senior and I was mislead as to the quality of the mattress I received.
I am filing a complaint with the BBB for being over charged for a mattress set and being mislead as to what I would be receiving as replacement.
I feel $3500 for a Beautyrest PR Ultra Recharge queen set, that I need stools to climb into my bed, is totally outrageous, unsafe and totally unacceptable!!
I was told (within the the first week of sleeping on mattress and was dissatisfied with mattress) the comfort of the mattress would improve as it was "broke in". I have found that to be untrue as well. I did try to call ******* at Mattress Gallery Direct about my problem but once again, I feel pressured to conform to their desires and benefits, not my own.
An example of that was clear, when I first made my purchase on 11/28/15 and got home BEFORE MATTRESS DELIVERY, I opened the pillows to find blood like stains on them and immediately called to cancel delivering due to feelings of poor quality of merchandise.
I was talked into letting them deliver the mattress set. Within the first night I knew my first instinct was dead on. The mattress was sagging the first night and the adjustable base was not working well with my sub stander-ed mattress. They were Delivered 11/30/15
Once again I spoke with the same pressure salesman and after much persuasion I agreed to come in 12/15/15 and try another mattress. I did, and found one I thought was much better, that is the Beautyrest I am stuck with. This salesman even acted as though he was doing me a favor taking the adjustable base off my hands and replacing it with a box springs for no extra charge.
Seriously! NO EXTRA CHARGE! I should of had, at the very least, a $1000.00 credit!
I get home and while putting all my paper work together I notice he not only had not done me any favors but I had been ripped off not once but twice. It clearly stated on the original shipping list-queen mattress, adjustable base, protector and it said Queen foundation, (meaning a box springs).
So here I am paying, $3500.00 for a mattress that clearly isn't manufactured out of the same materials as the mattress I tried out in the store on 12/15/15 as I can feel the coil springs and I risk a fatal fall every time I get in or out of it.
To add insult to injury, that same pressure salesman's suggestion to me on 1/15/16 about the uncomfortable condition of the mattress and feeling the coils springs was to purchase a 2"-4" topper to the top of the mattress!!!
Seriously? Not only will that make the bed higher and harder to get in but the toppers cost from $200-$400 and if I were going to do that, why wouldn't I just bought one of those to begin with and added it to my old mattress?!!
I sent them a email 2/16/16 detailing all my issues and I never received a reply.
I feel due to me being a senior I was totally taken advantage of in every way. This has been the worse experience of my life!
Please take my advice and DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM MATTRESS GALLERY DIRECT!!!!

Desired Settlement
I would love a resolution where they take their products and return my $3500.00 so I'm not stuck paying for a mattress set that is dangerous for me to use and very uncomfortable.

Business Response
On 11/28/15, ****** ******** purchased 1 Queen Signature Adjustable Base and queen Grand Chateau Mattress. She also received 2 Vitality Pillows and 1 Queen Mattress Protector at no charge. Mrs. ******** called the store with concerns about a stain on the pillows. It was found the pillows had a fabric dye stain on them, we had received a whole shipment of new Vitality Pillows with this fabric stain. They did not appear "blood like" and were replaced from a new case promptly. Mrs. ******** was issued a $200 credit to her account on 11/30/15 for her inconvenience. Her mattress and adjustable base was delivered to her home in Shelbyville on 11/30/15. Her old mattress set was delivered to a neighbor's house by our delivery crew at no charge.

On December 11, the customer called with a height issue on her adjustable base. Several sets of different height legs were delivered and she chose the height she wanted. The delivery crew installed the new legs per her satisfaction.

On December 15th, Mrs. ******** called and talked with **** expressing that she did not like the Grand Chateau. At that time, Mrs. ******** had filed a dispute with her credit card company. **** suggested they meet and he would do everything he could to help her with her issues. They met and **** allowed her the opportunity to replace the Grand Chateau and Adjustable Base with a Simmons Beautyrest Queen PR Ultra Mattress and Simiflex Foundation. This total cost of this Beautyrest Set is normally more than Mrs. ********' previous purchase total.

In order to satisfy the customer, **** arranged to have a discount applied to the new transaction allowing Mrs. ******** the new Beautyrest Mattress Set at no additional cost. Mrs. ******** cancelled the credit card dispute and stated she was well taken care of by Mattress Gallery Direct.

I'm not sure why Mrs. ******** proposes a $1,000 credit, as she knew her new set was more expensive than the Grand Chateau/Adjustable Base purchase and agreed to the new purchase price. Concerning the statement she had been dissatisfied with the comfort of the mattress; the break-in period was explained in detail at the time of purchase as well as stated in our New Mattress Guide Brochure which was given to her at the time of delivery. Our mattresses are delivered sealed, brand new and the foams may require a break-in period. We always ask the customer to try the new set for 30 days to allow for themselves and the mattress to adjust.

Concerning the height of the new Simmons Beautyrest Set, Mrs. ******** was given a choice of foundation/box springs heights at the time of delivery. The customer chose the regular height foundation not the lo-profile which is about 4 inches shorter. I can only assume that may be her confusion about the topper issue. Mattress Gallery Direct never suggested the customer to purchase a mattress topper.

Mattress Gallery Direct does apologize if Mrs. ******** actually feels she was taken advantage of. However, Mattress Gallery Direct feels that with the discounts given, the 4 trips to change mattresses and/or base legs, and accessories at no charge, the free delivery of her old set to a neighbors house, and the allowing of a mattress exchange even prior to the normal 30 day break-in period Mattress Gallery Direct has exceeded beyond what would normally be expected.

As you can see Mattress Gallery Direct always tries to go beyond the normal expectancy to satisfy our customers. In another effort to satisfy Mrs. ********, I will allow her to exchange her regular foundation for a lo-profile foundation. Should Mrs. ******** desire to take advantage of this offer, she should call Mattress Gallery Direct by X-XX-XX and speak with the manager on duty. They will help her set up the exchange.

As stated on Mrs. ******** signed invoice, mattress sales are final and are not eligible for refund.

11/02/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was told there was a 30 day guarantee to try another mattress or to return and get money back on both times I went to store before purchase.
Purchased a Full Size Ruth Firm mattress on 8/15/15 from BD. It was delivered 8/19. On Thursday 8/27 called, spoke to Tim as BD was not in. Explained it was not at all like the bed I tried in the store. I woke up several times a night in the same spot. It rolled me to the middle and was sunken and wavy. I had such severe neck pain I could not sleep on the bed with a pillow. It was causing very bad low back pain. I don't have back or neck issues and just could not sleep on the bed at all. He said it sounded like it could be a defective mattress. I said I just wanted to return everything and get my money back as it was the absolute worst thing I had ever slept on. Sleeping on the floor was better. He assured me we could work it out and he would have BD call me on Friday. No one called on Friday. Two more horrible nights sleep so I went into the store on Saturday 8/29. I was discreet and tried to make sure other customers were not close. Explained it all over again to BD and Tim. BD said he would have to talk to the distributor but they were closed until Tuesday because of the holiday. I stated I just wanted to be done with it and return everything. He said I said it was defective and that would have to go thru the distributor. I told him TIM said it was defective I just wanted to return everything and get my money back. The bed was nothing like the one I laid on in the store. The bed was much taller and I rolled to the center and woke in actual pain. They took me to the bed and showed me how the top side was firmer then the middle side where people sat. They told me to go home and "Break" the sides of the bed by siting on it over and over. Not BREAK IN but "Break". That would help with the rolling to the center. My response was "as you stated when I got the bed Im am only 130 lbs and the bed will hold up because I am light, not a big person. I'm not heavy to make it sag or get an impression or "Break" the sides of the bed." He told me to call back Tuesday afternoon and he would talk to the distributor. I chose not to cause a scene and left. Even my neighbor that was with me said that was really odd and they didn't need a distributor. They just needed to honor the return. On Tuesday 9/1 I called BD. Long story short he said he could not resell the bed and the policy he gave me on the phone to try a new bed was not what he had said in the store at all.
1. The bed is not the bed I tried in the store. I laid on the bed for at least 15 minutes in the store. The bed I got was uncomfortable, rolled me to the center, and hurt to sleep on. It was at least 6-8 inches taller that the one in the store.
2. I was told twice that there was a 30 day guarantee to try another mattress or return this one. At not time did they say all sales final. When I signed the paperwork at the store he just said I was signing to get it delivered. We were discussing the payment, the delivery, etc. At no time did he point out or state all sales final.
3. The bed is not even close to the bed I tried in the store. I can't sleep on it. I get severe neck and back pain. I don't have neck and back issues. I don't sleep well and it is very uncomfortable. This is not the bed I laid on in the store.
4. In the store I was told trying a new mattress would just mean coming in and picking out one preferably of equal value or pay more if it was more. They charge delivery but I would not have an issue so not to worry. Sometimes they even waive the delivery. On the second call on 9/1 I was told to get a new mattress I would be put in touch with the distributor and get one at close to wholesale, pay a $239 or $259 delivery fee and I could choose to donate the mattress I had.
There has to be a way when you get a product that is not what you paid for to return it. This is the worst bed I have ever slept in. It is not the one I tried in the store. HELP!

Desired Settlement
I just want to return everything and get a refund. The bed is not at all comfortable, I can not sleep and have pain where I have never had pain issues before. I thought I did due diligence and thought I chose the best place to get a mattress. BD was nice and helpful and I made the error of believing he was a good business and a good person. They have a A+ rating with the BBB according to them and wanted to help the customer get the best night sleep. I was assured a return was not going to be necessary but if it were there would not be any problem. They wanted to help people get the best beds in the industry. Now I have the bed and its my problem. I just want to return the bed and be done. I can't sleep on it.

Business Response
On 8/15/15, Mrs. ******** purchased a full size Ruth Luxury Firm Mattress Set. Approximately a week later she spoke with Manager, Bill. The following is a brief summary of the issues she stated she had with the new set:
(a) She believed it was the wrong mattress set.
(b) The sides were hard.
(c) She rolls into the middle.

It was explained to Mrs. ******** the mattress is brand new and she should allow longer than a week for the mattress break-in period as stated in her New Mattress Guide she received with the new set.

While in the store, Bill showed Mrs. ******** an example of a mattress that sides (foam encasement) were broken in and sides not broken in. The sides would break in over time. Mrs. ******** stated it did not matter if that would solve the issue or not, she did not want that mattress set. Mrs. ******** also stated while in the store that the name tag on the mattress did say Ruth Luxury Firm.

Bill talked with Mrs. ******** on Tuesday, hoping to help her with her concerns. He asked her to check the name tag just to confirm again the correct mattress set was delivered. He also asked about her center support system. This is information Mattress Gallery Direct as well as the manufacturer would need to determine if she is having a warranty issue(defective product) or a comfort issue. Mrs. ******** refused to assist Bill by checking the tag or the support system. He also offered a free center support system if she didn't have one.

Mrs. ******** said she would not check and asked what her refund options were. It was explained that under the warranty policy, if the mattress or foundation was found defective, it would be replaced at no cost to her. At that time, she could choose a different set if she desired.

If it was just an issue that she didn't feel she liked the Ruth Luxury Firm Set she had purchased we have a program with our manufacturers allowing a customer to purchase a new mattress set at a substantial discount.

As stated on Mrs. ******** signed invoice, as well as posted in the store, mattress sales are not eligible for return.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The information in the response is inaccurate and untruthful. At no time did I state I received the wrong mattress set name, at no time did they ask me to confirm the name of the mattress in the store nor did he ask me to check the name of the mattress tag in the last phone call. I do not dispute that the name is the correct name. The mattress in the showroom and the mattress I received are named Ruth however the mattress in the store, the one you lay on to determine what one you like, feels completely different than the one delivered.

The Ruth mattress in the store is much lower than the one delivered. You receive no information before purchase that the bed will not be the same height as the bed in the store. It is 6 to 8 inches higher. I laid on the mattress in the store for a good 15 minutes, rolling over, asking questions. He even stated I was of small frame and would not have any issues with the bed getting formed to my shape or having a pit or dent. I was too light for that to be an issue. The bed delivered is extremely uncomfortable. I do not suffer from a bad back however this bed gives me horrible neck and back pain. Not just discomfort but pain. I can't sleep with any kind of pillow, I end up in the same spot over and over right from night one. I wake up several times a night with neck and back pain.

When I called and then came in they asked me to "break" the hard sides by sitting on them up and down over the long weekend. He demonstrated what he wanted me to do. They state in the response that they said I need to give more than a week. I have now had this mattress over a month and it is still not "broken in" as they claim it will. Sleeping in the bed gives me pain I do not normally suffer from. I'm in good health and don't suffer back issues normally. This bed gives me pain.

As for the frame and the center support. At NO TIME did Bill offer me a "free center support system". It is a full size bed, all other mattress companies I have checked with say full size center supports do not exist. If this is something that Mattress Gallery Direct has why was it not discussed before I made the bed purchase. If they do indeed have a center support system for a full size bed this is the first time they are "offering it free" to me. It was NOT offered on the phone call. I was told to get a block of wood or something.

As for the mattress not being eligible for return that is not what Bill stated on two different visits when specifically asked about the return policy. He stated multiple times I had 30 days to return it or get a different mattress.

There is a reasonable expectation that what you see in the showroom, what you lay on is what you will receive. Although I got a mattress called Ruth, it is NOT the same mattress I laid on in the store. Over the past 30 days it has not "broken in". The New Mattress Guide is given to you at delivery, after you get a bed that is not the same height or comfort level as you agreed upon. If you can not return the mattress as I was told I could then the New Mattress Guide is useless because it is given after the purchase.

I was assured I could return the mattress. I was assured that if the mattress did not meet my expectations and was not the right fit for me I could return it or could get a different mattress for only a delivery fee and cost difference between the sets if there was a difference. At no time did Bill say I could not return the mattress or that I would have to buy a new set at "a substantial discount". The return policy was an important part of why I chose to get the mattress there. Multiple times I asked and was assured it would not be an issue.

The bed has been slept in for more than a adequate amount of time to determine if it is a good mattress. This is not a good mattress at all. From day one it has caused pain not comfort. All I have asked is for the company to honor what was discussed. I was told I could return the mattress for a full refund. I can not sleep on this mattress. It is not the same comfort level as the one in the store. It is painful.


Final Business Response
As much as Mattress Gallery Direct would like to apologize that Mrs. ******** feels she is having issues with her purchase, we cannot change our return policy. As stated on the customer's signed invoice, as well as posted in the store, mattress sales are not eligible for return. Mrs. ******** was never told that Mattress Gallery Direct would issue a refund if she did not like the mattress.

We do ask all customers to allow their new mattress sets ample time to break in before determining they do not like the mattress they purchased. When our mattress sets are delivered, they are brand new and require time for the customer and mattress to adjust.

Concerning the center support Mrs. ******** was told that blocks of wood at the correct height under her slats would work. Later in an effort to satisfy the customer she was offered a center support system. In Mrs. Philips correspondence she did not say what store told her center supports for full size does not exist but I usually keep approximately 20 on hand at my warehouse at all times.

It seems that Mrs. ******** is just not satisfied with the mattress set she chose to purchase on 8-15-15. If this is the case, I will extend her the option to purchase a different mattress at the manufacturer's substantial discounted rate until October 31, 2015. If Mrs. ******** wishes to take advantage of this offer, she may contact Mattress Gallery Direct at XXX-XXX-XXXX. At that time we will set up an appointment so we can assure ample time is spent with her in choosing a new mattress set.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
You state I was never told that you would issue a refund if I did not like the mattress. That statement is FALSE. I most certainly WAS told that I had a 30 day guarantee. We discussed this at length on 2 different occasions. On the second visit we discussed how other stores offered 120 days to try a mattress and I asked why 30 days. You stated a customer only needed 2 weeks to adjust to a new mattress in reality. I would know if it worked but I would not have to worry about brining it back because you knew I would like it.

You also assured me there would be no issue with returning the bed within 30 days if there was an issue. You would try to get me something I liked as long as it was the same price or more OR I could return it.

The only time you have offered me a center support was in the response prior to this one. At no other time did you offer me one prior to that. You ask above "what store told me center supports for full size do not exist". 1. Marks Mattress Outlet 2. Mattress King - The store manager there even looked it up on line as he had never heard of one. 3. MATTRESS GALLERY DIRECT - Murfreesboro Location - Sales Rep Glynn T*****. Even your own sales associate at your own store stated Full size beds do not have center support.

As for me not being satisfied with the mattress. It isn't that I just don't like the mattress. This mattress is not at all like what I laid on in the store. You may have sent a "Ruth" mattress but what you have in your store is not what this is. The mattress delivered is uncomfortable, wavy,(And that is not just the cushioned top), my butt sinks, laying on my stomach is almost impossible with how wavy and awkwardly the bed is, I can't use a pillow because of the neck pain. It gives back pain, the support is uneven, it causes discomfort to my back, neck, legs and arms. The mattress you display in the store was a completely different support, comfort and feel. I am able to sleep on couches, futons, motel beds and not have issues. The delivered bed causes me such discomfort and wakes me up several times during the night with pain. I don't have back issues.

The main issue is this mattress is not what was in the store. There is a reasonable expectation that what you try in the store will be what you receive. This mattress is nothing like it. They may both be called Ruth but they are not at all the same support or comfort level. If you are saying the bed in the store has had more "use" and is more broken in then you have a responsibility to make sure that you replace the "floor model" so they feel the same. People should get what is advertised on displayed.

If you are confident in your product and feel you do have an accurate representation of the product on your floor then you should be concerned when a client says something is wrong and this is not the same. You seem to have taken the stance that this is my problem. I want a mattress that I can have a great nights sleep on. I want what I laid on in the store and this is not it.

I'm not trying to cause your business harm or cause problems. We spoke at length both times I came in. We did discuss the guarantee. You did state it could be returned in 30 days. Now you say that is not the policy. At no point did you point out any signs in the store that is was "all sales final". I did specifically ask that when we were discussing the policy of your store compared to the other stores in town that offered more time. You were clear that you were better. You made a point to tell me how much better you were than the other guys in town detail by detail. We discussed this twice. Was that nothing more than a sales tactic to say one thing then claim something different when an issue arises?

The mattress is not right. Offering me the option to purchase a different mattress at a substantial discount until 10/31 is not a resolution. Please look at this from the point of view of your customers. Would you buy another product from someone that gave you a substandard product, told you one thing then would not honor what was stated? So far you have not proven trustworthy. Why would I buy another mattress from you? How would I expect to get a quality product and be taken care of if you have not taken care of me now? That just does not make sense.

You have the opportunity to respect your customer, honor your word and business. Please do the right thing.

09/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The sales rep never explained the cancellation policy. Spoke with owner during visit and at time of cancellation. Confirmed he would take care of me.
I purchased a mattress that I researched and found that it had bad reviews. I called and spoke with ****, the owner, and he tried to sell me on another bed. Once I said I didn't want it, he tried selling me on how well his rating was with the better business bureau and how well he takes care of his customers. We came to an agreement that I would cancel. He told me he would have someone look at my account, because he didn't do that, and he would have someone call me back. He then called me back personally about 5 minutes later and tried convincing me on buying a different bed. He then tried to drop the price to get me to take it. I told him NO. He then tried to sell me on his BBB rating again. I told him I didn't want the bed again. He then said he would take care of me and he was sorry that I decided differently. I asked him at that time when I would get my money back and what was that process. He stated, don't worry about that. *******, who handles that will get in contact with you and we will refund you all of your money. At that point, I said thanks. I went in the office that same day and dropped off the pillows and bed cover that I had taken at the time of sell. **** confirmed again that ******* would be in contact with me and would refund me all of my money. He asked me again if I wanted to change my mind and I said NO. ******* and I, because of schedule conflicts, finally talked today. ******* made me aware that they would charge me 20% for backing out. This was never explained to me by a sales rep or the owner at the time of purchase. I talked to both of them and asked them that question specifically. I asked if I cancelled would I get my money back. They both said yes. We are family owned and we will take care of our customers at all cost. At that point, that was reasssuring. Since the time of cancellation, they have all been very rude. One to the point of stating that I can't read, relative to what I read online. The salesman and **** have not been total ethical and aren't owning up to what they told me. Back to **** and my conversation on Monday. He stated multiple times upon trying to get me to change my mind about how he prides himself on customer service and making every customer happy. This has definitely not been a happy venture and he has definitely not held up to his end of the bargain.

Desired Settlement
I want to receive my $340 back as a credit on the card in which they took the monies from. There was no service completed. I was mislead in reference to the mattresses being in the location. I was told by ******* today that he apologized, but I was misinformed. He stated that the mattresses were loaded and driven over 30 miles to the Cool Springs location. There wasn't $340 of services completed. Furthermore, ******* said they never explain the 20% cancellation policy because they hardly ever have anyone cancel. The law says that they are suppose to explain that cancellation policy. I'm sure I'm not the only customer that has cancelled and have been TOTALLY dissatisfied with this process. I would like my money back and to never deal with this business again. I will make sure I make everyone I know aware of how they practice business.

Business Response
On Saturday 9/5/15, Mr. ****** ****** purchased The Resort Collection Tribeca Mattress Set as well as pillows and a mattress protector as stated on his signed invoice. Also stated on the signed invoice as well as posted at each Mattress Gallery Direct store location is our Return and Cancellation Policy. During the purchase, deliver was set for 9-7-15. On Monday Mr. ****** called and said he wanted to cancel his order. Mr. ******'s mattress set was en route to be delivered and he had already received his pillows and mattress protector. He was told that cancellation or refunds were handled through customer service and was asked would he be available Tuesday as they were out of the office on Labor Day.

Mr. ****** returned the pillows and mattress protector to the store later on Monday without charge. Pillows and protectors are not normally allowed for return after being in someone's home as stated on Mr. ******'s invoice. I, the owner, spoke with Mr. ****** at that time and told him customer service would contact him concerning his refund, I did not state he would receive a full refund. Customer service placed 4 calls and left 2 messages for Mr. ****** on Tuesday in order to resolve the issue promptly as promised by Mattress Gallery Direct.

I do want to apologize to Mr. ****** if he feels ******* or myself was rude. We do not like to charge the stated cancellation fee and we do everything we can to satisfy our customers prior to needing to charge a fee. This includes investigating to find out what is causing the customer concern and even offering discounts when it is possible. In hoping to satisfy Mr. ****** a discount was offered, a choice to transfer his payment to another mattress set of his choosing(something that is not normally able to be offered in a cancellation) or lastly the charge of the cancellation fee. Mr. ****** chose the later.

The Tribeca Set that Mr. ****** says he read about is relatively new and I named it myself. Since naming the Resort Collection's Tribeca, I have found that 2 other companies also have mattresses named Tribeca. I feel that this may have helped to cause some confusion in his research. Please don't confuse this information thinking anyone said Mr. ****** could not read.

The Tribeca Set Mr. ****** purchased was on a special limited quantity sale that could only be offered during the Labor Day Weekend Event.

I hope this clears this matter up for Mr. ****** as well as our partners at the BBB.

Thank You

02/16/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The mattress was delivered on a rainy and muddy night on 1/12/15. They made no effort to wipe or cover feet leaving our house covered in mud.
Our mattress was delivered on 1/12. Due to the fact it had been raining the men delivering our item, walked through mud and made no effort to clean or cover their shoes before entering our home. We were pleased with the customer service we received in store, but unfortunately, we are very disappointed in the delivery process and lack of respect to our personal property that was shown to us during the delivery process. Our bedroom is on the 3rd floor which means the entire two flights of stairs, pathway from the 1st to 2nd then 2nd to 3rd are covered in mud and dirt. We will now have to hire a company to come shampoo our carpets. After leaving messages with the store and emailing the store I have received zero feedback.

This was a large purchase for us and one that we do not make often, at this point, due to the delivery process, extreme disappointment of seeing our house afterwards and no follow up from the company I would not recommend Mattress Gallery Direct.

Desired Settlement
Reimbursement for carpet cleaning

Business Response
Mattress Gallery Direct does and has apologized for any inconvenience our delivery crew may have caused the ****** family. When Mrs ****** called about the delivery issue she was asked to send a picture of the carpet and she did, however there was some confusion with the email address. Once this was discovered Mrs. ****** was contacted and we are now awaiting the copy of the cleaning invoice. This is very much out of the ordinary for Mattress Gallery Direct, normally the calls we receive are to praise the delivery team. Again we do apologize.

Page 1 of 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/31/2005Business started: 01/01/1989Business started locally: 06/01/2004
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2004, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Duncan (Owner)Mr. Ron Duncan (Owner)
Business Category

Mattresses, Beds - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Mattress Gallery Direct
Industry Tips
Furniture - Buying

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mattress Gallery Direct, LLC has received 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 5 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mattress Gallery Direct, LLC

132 A St Andrews Drive

Murfreesboro, TN 37128

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 7090 Baker's Bridge Road 

    Franklin, TN 37064

  • 132 A St Andrews Drive 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37128

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mattress Gallery Direct, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 764-0939

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (615) 764-0938
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Mattresses

Furniture - Buying
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.