BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2005

Mattress Gallery Direct, LLC

Phone: (615) 896-0428Fax: (615) 896-4110

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
02/16/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The mattress was delivered on a rainy and muddy night on 1/12/15. They made no effort to wipe or cover feet leaving our house covered in mud.
Our mattress was delivered on 1/12. Due to the fact it had been raining the men delivering our item, walked through mud and made no effort to clean or cover their shoes before entering our home. We were pleased with the customer service we received in store, but unfortunately, we are very disappointed in the delivery process and lack of respect to our personal property that was shown to us during the delivery process. Our bedroom is on the 3rd floor which means the entire two flights of stairs, pathway from the 1st to 2nd then 2nd to 3rd are covered in mud and dirt. We will now have to hire a company to come shampoo our carpets. After leaving messages with the store and emailing the store I have received zero feedback.

This was a large purchase for us and one that we do not make often, at this point, due to the delivery process, extreme disappointment of seeing our house afterwards and no follow up from the company I would not recommend Mattress Gallery Direct.

Desired Settlement
Reimbursement for carpet cleaning

Business Response
Mattress Gallery Direct does and has apologized for any inconvenience our delivery crew may have caused the ****** family. When Mrs ****** called about the delivery issue she was asked to send a picture of the carpet and she did, however there was some confusion with the email address. Once this was discovered Mrs. ****** was contacted and we are now awaiting the copy of the cleaning invoice. This is very much out of the ordinary for Mattress Gallery Direct, normally the calls we receive are to praise the delivery team. Again we do apologize.

07/07/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Merchant misrepresented their services and used "bait & switch" technique by delivering a defective, substandard product.
On May 5,2013 we went to the store to shop for a firm mattress for my wife who suffers from back problems. After trying several mattresses, we decided on Simmons BeautySleep full size and we were told that we must also buy the protector/cover in order for the warranty to be valid. On May 6th, we ordered that specific model and they delivered & set up the mattress later that evening. The first night, my wife did sleep well. By the 4th night, my wife noticed that she seemed to be sinking into the middle of the mattress but kept thinking no way that a new expensive mattress would be doing that. By the second week from delivery, the mattress was so sunk down in the middle that there was no question that there was something wrong with the mattress. First we called the store and were told that they don't deal with complaints and gave us the phone number of Joyce, a lady whose voice mail states that she doesn't work on Tues or Thurs. That was the first verbal breech of contract, because we were promised by the salesman that we would not have to deal with anyone but the store because they stand behind their products and have a BBB rating of A+. When she finally called back, all she said was that we need to put the mattress on the floor to check if it is the mattress or the boxspring that is defective and to call her back. While moving the mattress to the floor, the middle of the mattress bulged from both sides and was mushy & saggy like an old mattress from the trash. Although I'm not an expert, I realized that this mattress is MAJORLY defective and misrepresented. After several attempts to reach her on the phone, she calls back being rude & the gist of the conversation was that she couldn't do anything about it and we need to talk to someone totally different at another store named Bill. Several days later, after getting hold of Bill, he was very arrogant, demeaning & basically informed us that he doesn't have to do ANYTHING and it is just OUR problem. I did hang up on him for his rudeness but my wife tried to call him back again but he would not return her phonecall. In summary, this company is unethical, their verbal contract is misleading, they use the BBB rating to appear legitimate, their mattresses are substandard and I wonder if they don't refabricate old mattresses in their warehouse and sell them as new mattresses while hiding under federal laws for a perfect SCAM operation. After a little internet search, we discovered that we are not the ONLY ones with similar problems and I wonder how they are getting away with this?

Desired Settlement
Full refund of Purchase price. These people are dishonest and don't deserve our business.

Business' Initial Response
On May 6, 2013, ****** ****** purchased a ************************* mattress set. The ******'s were not told that they had to buy a mattress protector. They were told that some stains can void a mattress warranty and protecting your mattress against any stain is a good idea. Please note on the ****** sales invoice, they did not purchase a protector but were given a $89.95 mattress protector at No Charge.
The week of May 20th, the ******* contacted our store expressing they had an issue with their mattress set. They were told that the store employee that handles any warranty or problem issue is ***** and was given her direct phone number. Mattress sets are warranted by the manufacturer, however as a free service to our customers and to expedite the process, ***** helps the consumer with questions and/or warranty issues. When talking with the ******* on May 22nd, ***** explained this is unusual for a new mattress to have a problem such as they described. ***** asked Mrs. ****** to lay the mattress on the floor to determine if the problem was in fact the mattress or if it might be the foundation or the frame setup. This is the normal trouble shooting procedure. During the next conversation, Mrs. ****** stated it appeared to her it was the mattress with an issue. Since this was a recent purchase ***** said she would have **** call to set up a home visit. Thursday, May 23rd, **** called and left a message for the ******* to call to set up an inspection for Friday, May 24th. Monday, May 27th, Memorial Day, Mrs. ****** called **** and said she was having phone trouble and just got the message. **** explained that he would visit the ******* to see what issues they might be experiencing. He said he was available Friday morning for inspection and she said it would probably be fine but let her check with her husband. Mr. ****** got on the phone and told **** that he must come out that very day, Monday, or he would expose Mattress Gallery Direct as a fraud. **** explained that he was not available that day, Monday, however, he could schedule another day. Mr. ****** became rude and irate and stated that Mattress Gallery Direct did not know who we were dealing with and hung up the phone on ****. The manufacturer warranty does not state that we must go to a customer's home to inspect a mattress, this is a service we offer to our customers at my discretion. When a consumer presents Mattress Gallery Direct with a rude and threatening attitude such as Mr. ****** did, it is not in our employee's best interest to visit the home.
In summary our company is not involved in unethical business practices, we do not mislead our customers and our BBB rating is legitimate. As stated on the signed invoice, all sales are final. There will not be a refund issued. If Mr. or Mrs. ****** wish to further the warranty claim, they may contact the store for possible consideration.

Consumer's Final Response
Obviously, we are not happy or satisfied with Mattress Gallery Direct. We are so
blown away by their exaggeration of the facts, lying and dishonesty. If anybody
was "threatened" - then it was US! My wife (who is having major back problems)
and I. We are grandparents with 6 grandchildren - just how "intimidating" can
that be to anyone? I know at this point that it is our word against
theirs ...however, the liars will be exposed very quickly.
This is what I would like the Better Business Bureau to investigate: How can
Mattress Gallery Direct with their obnoxious, threatening **** and fact changing
**** ****** conduct a business when they do not know the guarantee that they
should be providing on behalf of ******** mattress?
In the paperwork that we received, that Mattress Gallery Direct delivered to us
with our mattress, we called the warranty phone number of ******* Mattress
(XXX-XXX-XXXX). We were told over the phone that ******* warranty will
replace ANY defective mattress but first it has to go thru the store from where it
was purchased. Since Mattress Gallery Direct "does not accept any returns at
the store" - and also would not come out to check on the mattress themselves ...it
seems we are left out in the cold and stuck with a defective product with no
recourse ...after multiple verbal promises at the store that they always "bend over
backwards to satisfy all customers" and attempt to prove this by showing
customers a copy of their A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau.
We believe this business misrepresents both their product and their warranty.
They show the customer one mattress at the store and then deliver a totally
different, much lower quality product and when customers complain, their
response is that "they do not guarantee comfort" and leave the consumer stuck
with defective inadequate products that are way overpriced. We are not happy
with Mattress Gallery Direct and it is obvious that they are using the Better
Business Bureau's rating to continue their deception and cheating.
We have googled reviews online for this business and found that there is a
routine rhythm of deception and misrepresentation reported by more than a few
consumers who are very dissatisfied with Mattress Gallery Direct, their products
and their business practices. Our advice to consumers is do not buy from or deal
with this disreputable business and the Better Business Bureau definitely should
not be partner to their deception!
We are not happy at all with this business or their product. We've been cheated
and lied to and they have done nothing to try to remedy this or even
acknowledge it much less show any type of concern. Mattress Gallery Direct
should not be rewarded and supported in continuing their deceptive practices.

Business' Final Response
On May 6, 2013, Connie ****** purchased a ************************* mattress set. Mrs. ****** was delivered the correct mattress set as stated on her signed invoice.

There has not been any dishonesty, lying or exaggeration of the facts, deception or cheating by Mattress Gallery Direct as stated by the *******. Mattress Gallery Direct is not involved in unethical business practices, we do not mislead our customers and our partnership with Better Business Bureau is legitimate.

If Mr. or Mrs. ****** feel the product is defective and wish to further their warranty claim, they may contact the store for possible consideration.

04/16/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/03/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purch mattress set, i asked salesman if frame included he said yes. He said we were $40 short of the free delivery chrg so purch bed pad & were ok
The salesman originally told usthat the frame for the mattress set we bought was included, my son was present and heard the same thing. Then when he totaled our bill he said we were below the $399 needed for free delivery.so Lee told us we could either pay $80 for delivery or purchase a bed pad $40 and we would then meet the free delivery amount. So we purchased the pad. When the bed was delivered on 4.2.13 the drivers did not have the bed frame. I called the store and they just told me too bad that the salesman probably thought I being a woman did nit know the difference between the frame and boxsprings. So I had to pay another $49.11 to get the frame.I then called the store complaining about having to spend that extractor $40 for the pad when if I bought the frame initially I never would have spent that extra $40. They are scamming peopleout of money that is not necessary. I called the store again and told them st this point it was yhr principle of the matter and they told me too bad. I feel they could have at least refunded me the money for the bed pad. They. Just did not care about me or my feelings, they got the extra money and that is what they wanted.

Desired Settlement
A refund for the bed frame the salesman told me was included $49.11.

Business' Initial Response
As much as Mattress Gallery Direct is sorry for any confusion on what items were included when Mrs. ****** purchased her mattress set, we do not include a frame in the price. All mattress sets are priced with mattress and foundation only(the foundation is the item that everyone used to call a box spring). Not all customers need a new frame, so we feel it would be improper to charge for an item they might not need. The salesman did tell Mrs. ****** that the set consists of mattress and foundation. When Mrs. ****** called the store, I was there, the manager she talked with did not say anything about her being a woman. He was only speculating that someone could possibly get the term foundation and frame mixed up. He never said "too bad".

Concerning the mattress protector, *** was offering a way for Mrs. ****** to save by actually receiving a mattress protector at the discounted price of $40.00 bringing her subtotal up to $399. Local delivery is no charge on items $399 and above, otherwise it is $79. Mrs. ****** chose the $40 mattress protector and received free delivery.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The only one helping us was ***, no one else was around to hear what transpired but ***, myself and my son. Again, if I had not been told that the frame was included, then why didn't *** asked me if I needed a frame? It makes sense that if he told s us the frame was included we would not ask us if he needed a frame, but he did not ask us if we needed a frame. I was told on the original phone call that the sales people always ask customers if a frame is needed. They scammed me out of 40.00 by me buying the bed mat. They got the money for the frame and the bed mat yet I did not need the bed may to make the free shipping cause I eventually paid for the frame; so they scammed me out of 40.00.

Business' Final Response
Case #XXXXXXXX

Mattress Gallery Direct apologizes for the confusion on this matter. The salesman as well as the owner that was present during the sales process states that a bed frame was not included in the sales transaction nor was a frame mention. Mrs ****** signed invoice shows she was charged for a Full Summit Pillow Top mattress set and a mattress protector only. Mrs ****** did however purchase a bed frame later regularly priced 89.95 discounted for her to 44.95.
I hope this clears the matter up for you.

Thank You
******
******

05/29/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.