BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1983

Green Hills Lawnmower Company

Phone: (615) 292-6416Fax: (615) 297-8162

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
05/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Lawnmower not repaired. Billed for parts that were not needed.
I delivered the mower to the company on Thursday, 7 May 2015. I explained that the problem was difficulty in starting the mower engine. I explained that I had already replaced the spark plug and air filter.
When I went to collect the mower today, 15 May, I objected to their having replaced the spark plug. I asked to have the bill adjusted, but my request was refused. I asked to have explanation of repairs undertaken, but I was given no explanation.
I also noted that I was charged for a new air filter, and motor oil, neither of which were needed. The work order filled out by company simple said "service," with no mention of the real issue, i.e. difficulty starting the engine. Unhappily I paid the bill in full, $115,29. and took the mower home. Upon commencing to try to cut grass, I discovered that the mower was still extremely hard to start. Approximately 20 pulls were needed to start. Obviously the central issue had not been addressed, yet unnecessary part had been replaced.

Desired Settlement
I wish not to pay for service that did not address the problem that I had articulated at the onset.

Business Response
please note we gave his money back sat 5/16/15 we felt that there was no way to make him happy but to do that. It seemed like he was having a very bad day?

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

09/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Mower repaired in June - used 3 times and new belt came off pulley. They claim i abused mower and will not replace belt unless I pay them. Bad repair.
Greenhills mower repaired my lawnmower in June of 2015 under the extended warranty. Part of that repair included the drive belt and some associated parts. 3 months later and less than 4 hours of mowing time later, the drive belt came off the pulley and shredded itself in the process. I sent it back to them and they determined the belt was worn out and not covered under my warranty. I pointed out it was a new belt that they had installed 10 weeks ago. Then they claimed I was abusing the mower. I've used this mower on the same yard (only) for 4 years, without any issue (until June this year). They repair it and it lasts only 4 hours? That's a bad/faulty repair on their part. Bad repair and bad customer service.

Desired Settlement
Fix it right this time.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******
Transmission belts were replaced and mower tested prior to returning to customer. The belts appeared worn and stretched and it appears the mower is being used to tow and there is a considerable slope/grade noticed on the yard this mower is being used on. The mower was returned to the consumer upon completed work in good working condition with the new belts. Of course we are unable to test under the same conditions the customer is using the mower in. It is believed the conditions the mower is being operated under are playing a significant role in the troubles with the belts.

Upon notification the mower was having trouble again with the belts, the warranty company BBT notified Green Hills Lawnmower they would not cover any additional warranty work on this issue.

Green Hills Lawnmower company spoke with the customer on 8/29/15 and have made arrangements to pick up the mower again on Sept 1st and replace the belts again at no cost to the customer in hopes this will resolve the issue.

04/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Took mower which ran fine for minor repair(pedal cable disconnected), they took apart engine without permission, broke engine, now want over $600.00.
I contacted ********** because mower I bought from them along with an extended warranty and the company (BTTW X-XXX-XXX-XXXX) who handles warranties for ********** sent me to Green Hills Lawn Mower Co, 4106 Hillsboro Pike Ste A, Nashville, TN, to get the gas pedal cable fixed. I took this to them 4 weeks ago come this Saturday. They hadn't called me during the past 3 and 1/2 weeks so I called them today to see what was up and the man who answered, the owner ***** assistant, said the warranty company (BTTW X-XXX-XXX-XXXX) turned down the repair estimate. I then called the warranty company(BTTW X-XXX-XXX-XXXX) to ask why they declined my mower gas pedal repair and they said that Green Hills Lawn Mower Co faxed them a repair quote for $626.00 and they thought it was too much so they declined the fix. I asked them what all was on the repair quote and they said Green Hills Lawn Mower Co had taken apart my engine and wanted to replace the carburetor, the cellinoid (not sure of spelling), replace belts on the mower, etc. and said nothing about the main and only issue I signed and gave them permission to fix, which was the broken cable to the gas pedal. The warranty company (BTTW X-XXX-XXX-XXXX)did a three way call between myself and Green Hills Lawn Mower Co. ***, the owner of Green Hills Lawn Mower Co said my motor was broke when I brought it in and it was not broke by them when they took apart the engine. He said, Mr. ****** you know you pushed the lawn mower off your pick up truck into my shop. I said of course I pushed it, because the main reason I had brought him the mower was that the gas pedal cable had disconnected so it would not have made sense to start the mower while pushing it off from the pickup truck. I told him I had tested the mower the day before and it had started up fine, just the pedal cable was disconnected. He put his mechanic on the phone and the mechanic described to me what he thought the problem was; he described a mower engine that runs with different gears/speeds, say 1 being slow, 2 faster and so on. I stopped the mechanic and said sir you are talking about a mower that has different speeds and I said sir my mower has an automatic transmission on it and he shut right up.
All I wanted was to get the gas pedal fixed. All I gave them permission to do was to repair the gas pedal. The engine was running fine the day I took the mower as I tested it the day before, now they have taken actions on the mower by taking the motor apart, which I, nor the warranty company never gave them permission to do and they have broken my mower engine and want over $600.00 to fix it both the mower engine and the problem with the gas pedal.
They basically laughed at me when I said I was going to report them. This is wrong and they are getting away with it. Please , please help. I served this City two terms as a Councilman so when I give you my word that I never gave them permission to take the mower engine apart, and I promise the mower ran when I took it to them, please believe me. It is just not right. Go to City Search and see all of the other people this company has taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement
I want my engine running again. I am not sure the warranty company will even pay to get the cable fixed now that Green Hills Lawn Mower Co has tried to scam them, so I think they should be made to fix the cable too, for what all I have been put through. If they at least get the mower back to the state where it was running when I took it to them, I could probably go to a reputable repair place and get the cable fixed next to nothing. Please help.

Business' Initial Response
Complaint Case #: XXXXXXXX
Consumer: ****** ******

To Whom It May Concern,

Green Hills Lawnmower Company has been in business for nearly 41 years (1972 - present) and is has been registered with the Better Business Bureau since 1983. Green Hills Lawnmower Company takes its affiliation with the BBB and commitment to excellent customer service as an integral part of doing business. We are proud of our excellent standing over the years and recognize this as the first complaint received through the BBB.

We appreciate the opportunity to respond to Mr. ******'s complaint. While it doesn't change his opinion, it is important to have both sides of the story and we are disappointed that he did not leave this experience as a satisfied customer as this is always our goal.

When Mr. ****** brought his mower to us the only issue indicated was the gas pedal not functioning properly. Our certified technician reviewed the mower and assessed the problem. The problems were with the belts that drive the transmission which are not something the warranty company will approve. We communicated to Mr. ****** that the problem he has with the mower is not something warranty will cover. Mr. ****** called BTTW and discussed the issue and a representative from BTTW did contact me to review the claim from Mr. ******. Upon advising BTTW what the problem was BTTW did agree that this is not a warranty issue which we again communicated back to Mr. ******.

It is important to note, according to BTTW Warranty Company Mr. ****** had previously taken this mower to another lawnmower shop to have this issue addressed. While our technician was reviewing the mower he found additional problems with the mower that Mr. ****** did not divulge to us at the time he brought the mower in. We found the carburetor was leaking gas and had the appearance that there had been mechanical work already performed or attempted on the mower prior to it being brought to Green Hills Lawnmower Company. The condition of the mower indicated extensive use which leads to believe it had a high number of hours of use on it.

Mr. ****** claims we took apart other areas of his mower and are the reason the mower is not working when in actuality we did no other work on the mower except the authorized work regarding the gas pedal. Between the estimate and time spent with submitting and following up on the warranty claim, Green Hills Lawnmower has approximately 3 hours invested into resolving this.

Once Mr. ****** was advised the necessary work to fix the mower would not be covered under warranty and there were additional problems besides the belts it became apparent he did not want the work to be done. We released his mower back to him at his request and charged him nothing for the time and effort we had spent to resolve his issues. We apologized for the inconvenience and he left with the mower.

If there any additional questions or concerns I am available to discuss this matter in further details.


Green Hills Lawnmower Company
************************************** XXXXX

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.