BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Superior Landscaping & Lawn Service

(615) 331-00741216 Newlodge Ct, AntiochTN 37013-5718http://www.superiorlawnservice.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers landscaping and lawn care services.

BBB Accreditation

Superior Landscaping & Lawn Service is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Superior Landscaping & Lawn Service's rating include:

  • 2 complaints filed against business that were not resolved.

Factors that raised Superior Landscaping & Lawn Service's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Superior Landscaping & Lawn Service

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
08/28/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We signed an agreement with Superior Landscaping to provide specific monthly services. they did not comply and quit and owe us a refund
an agreement was signed with Superior Landscaping and Lawn Service on November 5th, 2012 with work to begin the next day. The agreement was for 12 months of specific services to be rendered each month in consideration of $1270.00 monthly fee.The specific schedule offered by the company follows;
Weedeating 32 times per year
Mulching 2 times per year
Flowers 2 times per year
Aeration and overseeding 1 per year
Fertilzation 6 times per year
Pressure washing 1 time per year
Shrubs and trim 3 times per year
Leaf removal 1 time per year
weed control beds as needed
Beds sprayed as needed
As of today the following services have not been done;
Fertilzation not done 5 times
No weedeating since Sept.13th
no power washing to date.
There have been numerous occasions we have asked for a specific time for things to be done that were in the agreement and did not get done in a timely manner creating frustration for us. We were asked to begin documenting things we saw that needed doing in email so there would be no confusion. On 9/19 we sent an email listing several outstanding items to be done & got a response back saying co-owner was leaving on vacation and would be back 9/30, but employees would be by to weedeat on 9/20. nobody showed up on 9/20 and then on Tuesday September 24th the co-owner called to say "things are not working out for either of us and he had lost $4-5000.00 because of us and was not going to lose any more money ,Goodby ****" I have no idea what he was talking about and attempted to state that he owed us work that we had paid for but he cut me off and hung up.
His September service consisted of two weed eating efforts of approx. 45 min. each.


Desired Settlement
We feel we are due a refund of one half the September fee of $1270.00 =$635.00
5 fertilizations@ $248.00=$1240.00
(based on a quote by another oompany)
Power washing of decks $100.00 for a total of
$1975.00.
Year to date we have paid eleven installments (contract was for a year) of $1270.00 for a total of $13,970.00

Business Response
The customer had 6 lawn treatment. Applied. The custome. Still have bal ance. Of over. 3000 dollars. We performed. Work. That were. Never. Paid we gave the customer. A estimat. He was told that. It could be. More he never paid. For tree saplings. Work tree saplings are not. Aweed

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is absurd. ***** quit in September which voided the agreement. Why on earth would we owe him for October ???

Final Business Response
The items have everything to do with the 1270.00 The consumer was on a yearly agreement broke down into 12 payment the consumer still owe for October plus 400 dollars we will finish work if consumer pays balance

05/13/2015Problems with Product / Service
05/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The quality of the $675.00 worth of flowers I was "hustled" into buying are NOT of the qulaity promised during the "sale".
I contracted with Superior Landscaping & Lawn Service on 4/3/2013 to have fresh mulch spread in my shrub and plant beds. Although I requested bark chips, it was not specified in the very high level contract/work order...nor was the treatment of the beds for weeds prior to placing the mulch, although this, too, was discussed with ****** during the initial conversation. Regardless, I was pleased with initial end result, that is, until I was hustled into adding "color" to the beds. ****** suggested an array of flowers at at cost of $600.00 with and additional $75.00 to "touch up" the mulch in the planting process. The date for that "service" was scheduled for about a week later, with the promise that the 15 flats would be of the highest quality. When he arrived with the crew to plant the flowers, not only were there not 15 flats, the quality was extremely poor. When I pointed out the poor quality, ****** stated that his normal supplier was out of stock, so he had to get the flowers from another supplier. The flowers were not planted in any particular order, but rather, by flat...no random placement...all red here...all purple there, all yellow over there, etc. A quarter have not survived, despite the watering I provided and the rain we have had since they were planted. ****** promised to "stop by" in 2 weeks from the date they were planted to check on them, but that hasn't happened, nor do I want this company near my property again. I will not recommend this company to anyone. SOME of their work is fine, but I don't like feeling like I'm being hustled!

Desired Settlement
I would like a partial refund as resolution to the complaint. By partial, I mean I am seeking a 40% refund.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@comcast.net
Will replaced any dead or damaged plants one time only or fertilization all flowers. The consumer never called superior once with complaint

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1. The type of mulch we discussed was not the mulch they provided (and the red mulch is riddled with weeds).
2. The crepe myrtles he suggested I have pruned were not pruned.
3. The flowers were not from the supplier he said he would use and were not of the quality promised.
4. His statement that he would follow up in 2 weeks did not happen.
Based on these factors, I do not accept the proposed resolution.

Business' Final Response
Mr ****** approved everything before and after job.we offer a maintenance programs for weed control. Mr ****** waited 3 weeks before he starts complaining

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/05/2007Business started: 02/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

The commercial application of pesticides (insecticides, herbicides, fungicides, etc.) in Tennessee requires certification, licensing, and a charter. Consumers may search the Tennessee Department of Agriculture's web site to determine an applicators regulatory compliance by clicking here: http://agriculture.state.tn.us/listcharter.asp

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Danyelle Tipton (Owner) Mitch Tipton (Co-Owner)
Business Category

Landscape Contractors, Lawn Maintenance, Irrigation Consultants, Hardscapes, Landscape Designers, Landscape Maintenance

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Superior Landscaping & Lawn Service

1216 Newlodge Ct

Antioch, TN 37013-5718

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1216 Newlodge Ct 

    Antioch, TN 37013-5718(615) 331-0074

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Superior Landscaping & Lawn Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Landscape Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.