BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/25/2006

Essex Technology Group, LLC

Phone: (615) 846-3938Fax: (615) 620-5437

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
01/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Record Head purchased
6 Pallets of Air Filters, Unmanifested, New Condition, Est. 1,000 Units, Est. Retail $10,000, LaVergne, TN, AIR140
on December 14th 2015 on an auction hosted by b-stock. As you can see the title says new condition in big letters. When we received the air filters 1/6th, not to mention two large boxes were damaged goods caused by either poor packing or general mishandling. Essex maintains that these were new air filters when in fact, they are not. I'm attaching some photos to show the obvious contrary. The shipping on this order was $821.88 we asked them for the following as a reasonable way to make up for their mistake.
1/6th of the shipping price
$136.98
1/6th of the merchandise cost
$21
Man hours spent opening,examining, and sorting merchandise
$150
Special Pickups for dumpsters
2x$100=$200

Total
507.98

They continued to offer a 20% refund of the purchase price that equates to $25.
We believe this fraud and false advertising.
Product_Or_Service: Air Filters
Order_Number: E4853

Desired Settlement
1/6th of the shipping price
$136.98
1/6th of the merchandise cost
$21
Man hours spent opening,examining, and sorting merchandise
$150
Special Pickups for dumpsters
2x$100=$200

Total
507.98

Business Response
Good Afternoon,

Mr. ******* contacted me in reference to the auction in question being in used condition.

I requested pictures of the product and then spoke with my team who processed this load and also viewed the pictures we took of the product for processing purposes (see attached photos) and concluded that the filters were in fact brand new.

The pictures the customer sent confirmed this for us as well; however, some of the pictures did show slight damage to some of the corners of the air filters. Because we do know that the filters stay in storage and also transport can cause slight damage to the product, I did offer a 20% refund.

The total purchase price of the air filters equaled $125 (estimated $.12 per filter), so a 20% refund was $25 (equivalent to refunding 200 air filters).

The customer then responded that they believe that a sixth of the auction was used condition.

Prior to knowing that he submitted a BBB complaint, I e-mailed the customer 12/28/2015 at 11:23 a.m. and then, in good faith, offered a full purchase price refund in the amount of $125 as well as he keep the product to help offset any additional expenses he may have occurred.

I am still willing to offer the full purchase price refund.

Please let me know if you need any additional information or pictures.

Thank you,

************
Contract Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


11/04/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Keurig Vue 500 coffee maker broke less than 90 days after buying it through ******.com. Essex Technologies has yet to respond to the email.
Machine broke. Unable to use. Still under warranty.

Desired Settlement
Refund

Business Response
Good Afternoon,

There is a 45 day return policy period, the customer contacted 75 days after purchase via ****** claim. ****** denied the claim.

The item does have a manufacturer warranty; however, we have decided to refund the purchase price of the item.

We will send a certified check to the designated address provided by the customer on Monday. I will provide the tracking number as soon as it ships.

Thank you and have a wonderful weekend!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The company is being most reasonable in helping customers.

08/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a 'defective' Ipod Touch charger from this company via ******. I plugged it into my Ipod and it completely 'fried' it.
On April 8, 2014, I purchased an Ipod charger from Essex Technology Group via ******. It was advertised as being new and compatible to the Ipod Touch. On April 11, 2014, I received the charger from the Essex Technology Group in the mail. The day that the charger arrived, I plugged it into my Ipod Touch. It completely 'fried' it. I took it to the Apple Store and the manager said it was destroyed. I told the manager that I would be filing a complaint on this company with our local Attorney General's Office in Arkansas. He said that I should file in the state where the company is located.

I have sent several emails to Essex Technology Group and I finally got a response from them stating "All we are allowed to do is a full refund for the product purchased, please call ******." I have been going back and forth with ****** & the Essex Technology Group on whose responsible for the damages to my Ipod, and to no avail neither will accept responsibility. I have filed a complaint with the Arkansas Attorney General's Office and recently filed with the Consumer Complaint Division in Tennessee. Essex Technology sent an email to the Arkansas Attorney General's Office stating "In the interest of appeasing this customer, we ordered an Ipod from ****** and had it shipped to the customer. This is all we were able to do. It did not ship from us, it shipped from ******.com, so it should be new and complete." I never received any correspondence from the Essex Technology Group explaining how they rectified this issue; they did not send a tracking number nor anything that indicated when I should expect it. When the package finally arrived in the mail, the only thing inside was ear phones and a USB cable cord for an Ipod Touch (see attachment) ... NO IPOD TOUCH. Not only do they falsely advertise their products, but they are not a company who stands behind their word. ****** had agreed to reimburse me for what I spent on my Ipod and then ****** was going to file a complaint this company. Sadly, that did not happen either. I want to make sure that no one else has to go through what I have been through with this company. They are very deceitful in both their advertisement as well as not keeping their word.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have the 'new' Ipod Touch that they promise to send me through Amazon.

Business Response
Good Afternoon,

I spoke with the department over this matter and they have sent me the order confirmation showing that they sent an iPod to the customer in June. Please see the attached document. Order XXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX

The iPod was ordered from a different company that sells on ******. Essex was not made aware that there were any issues with the replacement sent.

We can order the customer another iPod from a different seller on ******.

Consumer Response
I received a package from ****** on June 13, 2014.
Inside the package was an Ipod charger (cord) and a set of ear phones. (See photo below)

There was no letter included in the package and no Ipod.

I'm not sure why they even sent this to me because they are aware that my Ipod no longer works no I have no need for a charger.

The items also looked used.

When I took it to the Attorney General's Office to show them what came in the mail. That's when I was told that they were suppose to send me a new Ipod. As you can see from the photos it's not there.

This is the FIRST time I have seen this paperwork showing an Ipod being sent. Unfortunately, I never received it.


Final Business Response
We can refund the customer, certified check, in the amount of $150.00.

This will allow the customer to purchase a new unit directly from a retailer.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am willing to accept the check in the amount of $150.00 to compensate for my Ipod.

Consumer Response
I still have not received the 'certified' check from Essex Technology.


Business Response
I personally e-mailed the customer 2 times requesting confirmation of where to send the check.

I cannot do anything until the customer confirms where to send the check to and I need it in e-mail form.

Please ask the customer to check their e-mail and respond to Essex's e-mails.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Yes, I have responded back to the company with my mailing address.

06/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company sold me damaged/defective item, Wintec one 8gb ram, system memory. I have found this item was recalled from all major computer sales sites and not to be resold, seller will not issue a refund. This purchase was made through amazon, and neither party will help.
Product_Or_Service: Wintec ONE MHzCL9 6GB(3x2GB) UDIMM Kit 2Rx8 1.5V
Order_Number: XXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
$42

Business Response
This customer contacted us after our return period had passed ****** to return computer memory he bought from us.

We told them it was past our return period. They filed a claim with Amazon and Amazon sided with us and denied the claim.

We will refund the customer despite the refund policy which states that the customer has 30 days to return the product.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept as they agree to a refund. Please advise business to send me payment or for them to reimburse my credit card through amazon.Please contact me with whatever ele i need to do on my end as I have never gone through this process before.

01/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received most of the shipment Damaged products
I purchase 24 pallets from this company very upset when a received the merchandise. They look like junk as if they had gone trash picking. The manifest I received was missing a lot of products and what I received most of it was Junk.

Desired Settlement
I'm requesting 1,500 refund

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern,

Thank you for providing this forum.
The customer won a truckload of Manifested Salvage product from our B2B auction site.
The title of the auction was:
Truckload of Major Retailer .COM Salvage, 24 Pallets Total, Sporting Goods, Furniture & More, 612 Units, Retail $46,103, LaVergne TN, SVG146
The condition description of the auction was:
Salvage. This product did not meet quality standards to go to retail stores. Products are damaged, broken, used, have bad or missing packaging. All units are sold AS-IS.

I offered the customer a $100 discount in regards to this order in good faith when I initially received her complaint over the phone.

This refund was accepted by the customer on (December 9 at 9:05 p.m.):
"Yes I would like a refund, if you can send me a $100 in a check."
(If you would like, I can send you her e-mail)

I then sent a response asking for her address (December 10 at 6:59 a.m.):
"Please provide me with the address you would like this sent to.
Please let me know whether you would like the check made out to your company or your name."

She responded by giving me her address (I will not list that information as it is sensitive information to the customer)
The next day, December 11, we received this BBB complaint requesting a $1,500 refund for missing items and the condition of her order.

CONDITION COMPLAINT:
On every auction that we list, we give conditions; she won a salvage truckload which had this listed on the auction page where she bid:
Salvage. This product did not meet quality standards to go to retail stores. Products are damaged, broken, used, have bad or missing packaging. All units are sold AS-IS.
Here is the link: http://www.essexb2b.com/index.php/auction/auction/view/id/1297/
If you would like to access this, we could give you a log in, please let me know.

MISSING ITEMS:
Essex was never made aware of the missing items before this complaint was issued. She only spoke of the condition saying it was damaged (our definition of salvage listed above).
After the BBB complaint was issued she sent me an e-mail listing her missing items with this in the body of the message:
"And all the rest is not sellable, due to damaged or missing parts"
She had the very top item listed as missing (Retail Value $1,113), which is odd because we always check items over $1,000 on any manifest before we list the auction.
Our team member, *********, checked this manifest and has confirmed that they checked all items above $1,000 on this truckload.
Her statement is provided below:
"I check all items over $1,000 associated with any auction; I checked this specific truckload on 11/15/2013. There initially were 2 items on the manifest above $1,000, one of which I found, the other I did not; therefore, I removed the item that I could not find and listed the manifest with the one that was confirmed as in the pallet. I have the original paperwork if you would like me to fax that to the BBB."

****** contacted information is below:
Phone Number: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
E-Mail: *****@essextechgroup.com


ADDITIONAL COMMENTS:
We have sold 157 truckloads of manifested salvage in the last year with only 3 complaints. All were about missing items and we refunded on all the items that customers marked as missing; however, this customer never made Essex aware of the missing items until they submitted the BBB complaint.

Thank you for your time in reviewing this case.
************
Contract Manager
(XXX) XXX-XXXX
Essex Bargain Hunt
455 Industrial Blvd, Suite C
La Vergne, TN XXXXX


Final Consumer Response
From: Roberto *******
Sent: Tuesday, January 14, XXXX X:XX PM
To: Terrie Page
Subject: Re: FW: Essex - Case ID: XXXXXXXX - Requested Information

Yes, I will accept The $444.70 from this complaint.


Final Business Response
Good Afternoon,

I did not e-mail the customer requesting a list of the missing items or offer to send a check for missing items. Up until the complaint with the BBB, I was never made aware of any missing merchandise.

************* has not e-mailed her; however, he did speak with her on the phone about the condition of the load but missing merchandise was never discussed. They discussed how she was not satisfied with the condition because it was damaged and he stated that the condition was provided on the auction site.

I have documentation of all e-mails to and from the customer, please let me know if you would like me to send them to you.

The customer never reported to me that she was missing any items before the BBB complaint. Please note that I spoke with her twice before she made the complaint, and again, there was no mention of any shortages.

Once again, I appreciate your time on this matter, please contact us with any questions or if you need more information.

************
Contract Manager
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.