BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/29/2008

Tennessee Farmers Insurance Companies

Phone: (931) 388-7872Fax: (931) 388-8254

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
08/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure pay an Insurance claim. Processed only the repair the rest of the claim was not denied, now paid just ignored
The client pulled out in front of me on June 22nd ****** **** called me on July 3 rd did not ask about the accident but asked my age 3 different ways gave me the claim number and contact information. I faxed 3 estimate on my car that day. Seven (7) weeks later when I had received nothing regarding the claim I called and she told me that my Insurance should pay my claim. When asked why they would pay for the negligence of her client the car repair was made. The doctor bills and lost wages when contacted about that several times she said she would send a form 5 months later she did. The form was sent the company office in Packistan and she told me over the phone on January 16th, 2014 she had it but wanted the doctor information again. I faxed still no replay form her now she as canceled the claim because she managed to put off the settlement beyond a year. I am out the lost wages and the doctor bills. And this %^*(*&%^&^% has a job. So I guess not doing her job is the best way to maintain the job. Company Policy???? She never contacted me I had regarding needing anything and never in writing. No one in that office has a Lincense from the adjusters Bureau Because they would have lost it by now.

Desired Settlement
Payment of the claim that was ignored $1,000.00 in lost wages and 1,500.00 in medical cost I can not pay and are the responsiablity of the person who pulled out in front of me and pain of suffering from having to deal with her and the man who was supposed to be the head of the office.

Business Response
We have reviewed the complaint filed by ***** **** and we feel that we have handled the claim that she made against our insured as best that we could. Unfortunately, we are unable to share specifics of the case without the permission of our insured and the complainant is not our insured.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They did not respond to the information filed the Fax sent on January 16th was not replayed that they needed any additional information as they are required to do by the State of TN. They simply waited and did not say that they wanted any further information then canceled the claim without contact perhaps writing a letter is beyond the clerks skills. Or they do not pay claims without a law suite. I do have the fax receipt since I did have to pay to send it

Final Business Response
We have once again reviewed the complaint by ***** **** and find that we have correctly handled the claim that she made against our insured. Regretably, since Ms. ***** is not our customer, we can not share specific information on the case without our insured's permission.

07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Storm/Wind Damage to roof. 2 roofing co. advised replacement. Tennessee Farm Bureau would not replace.
5/1/2014

Claim: XXXXXXXXXXX
Insured: Darrell L. ********
Doni **** ********

***** *** TFB Adjuster came out after storm of Feb 20, 2014. We had already had a roofer out: ****** ******** Roof inspection identified wind lifted shingles in various places on entire roof surface, caused by high wind gusts. Recommended replacement.

Followed by a third party person sent out by TFB: ***** ***** from ******* ****** Consultants.

Here is the information progression from each of these professionals:


***** *** TFB Adjuster: After inspection, verbally told me, "Your roof has lifted shingles and as soon as the weather heats up they will reseal. Other than that, your roof looks great and who ever did the install, did a great job!" And then he stated, "Because the roofing companies findings differ we will call out a independent company to look at the roof."

***** ******** Because Mr. *** had stated the shingles would reseal, I contacted ***** ******* to find out if this was in fact, true. Here is a copy of the email I received from them concerning the matter:

****:

Thank you for contacting ***** ******** Again to recap over the conversation moments ago.
Once the seal on any brand of our shingles is broken be it by wind, or any other means
including but not limited to acts of god the shingles will not reseal again. I'm sorry for
any unneeded stress this may have cause, but also if you would like to file a claim as well
through ***** ******* you can contact us at **************************
If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to write us again.

Thank you for contacting ***** *******
***** A.
***** ******* Customer Support
*******@answers.owenscorning.com
1-800-GET-PINK M-F 8am-8pm


******** ****** Consultants:
Assessment stated that the damage to the roof was not from wind but was due to the failure
of the sealant.

The response we got from Mr. Tony ******* states that he doesn't believe that the damage to our roof
was not caused by wind.

We have had in the past several years several weather events
that did involve wind. Here are references to these weather events:


01/30/2013 EF2 Tornado
http://www.srh.noaa.gov/ohx/?n=20130130_tornado EF2
120 MP


An EF2 tornado touched down south of Mount Zion Road east of Coopertown and moved northeastward before lifting about 4.3 miles southeast of Springfield. Major damage occurred on Stacy Springs road where a TVA high transmission tower was toppled, several homes and outbuildings suffered moderate roof damage, and dozens of trees were snapped and uprooted. Several businesses and barns also had roof damage on Highway 11. More barns and homes were damaged and numerous trees blown down on Old Greenbrier Pike and Worsham Springs Road. Winds were estimated around 120 mph.

Feb 20, 2014- Severe Weather, High Winds

http://www.srh.noaa.gov/ohx/?n=XXXXXXXX

Robertson County Downburst
Counties: Robertson
Time: 700-730 PM
Wind Speed Estimate: 60-80 MPH
Damage Path Length: 20 Miles
Damage Path Width: 5 miles
This is the storm that took shingles off our roof.

Because of the extreme weather our home has been exposed to on several occasions, we believe that the damage was caused by wind. The tornado of 1/30/2013 would have produced the the type of damage that is observed on our roof.

Tennessee Farm Bureau states that this damage was not caused by wind but by poor installation and by deflective shingles. Not there first story. First it was "your roof looks great, whoever installed it did a great job."

We asked the adjuster to come out with our roofer and us to come and discuss the situation and they refused saying they had done all they were going to do. The patch done on the roof was less than our deductible.

We Believe the weather event in Jan 2013 did the majority of damage and we were unaware of it. The storm hit in Feb 2014 it got our attention.

Desired Settlement
We would like them to pay for the replacement of the roof less the deductible and less the prorated amount of use of the roof. The roof was 8 years old. It was a 30 year roof.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** AVP Property
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@fbitn.com
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint. Our review of the file indicates that the claim was handled in a timely and professional manner and within the contract.
Feel free to contact me should you have any questions.

05/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company refuses to pay its portion for roof repair.
In early April after a storm with hail and high winds I noticed that shingles were missing from the back of my roof. My partner called Farm Bureau to let the agent know about the damage. A person by the name of *********** came to inspect the roof. He said nothing was wrong with the roof except for a couple of shingles missing off of the back. I knew this was not true because I had been on the front of the roof to wash a foyer window and noticed a loose shingle. I then called Farm Bureau of Tennessee's claim line. They seemed to know nothing about the person sent by my agent. I think this person was somebody my agent uses to deflect claims. The claims department assigned an adjuster named ****************. He sent a contractor from ****** Construction to inspect the roof. This person did find damage. After his inspection he did not call me to let me know the results. Out of nowhere, a check arrives for $2,516.37 to pay for partial repairs to my roof. So, the first person said nothing was wrong, and the second person said something is indeed wrong but only in certain areas. I find it difficult to believe that a storm chooses to only damage parts of the roof. Even if this is the case, it makes no sense aesthetically or structurally to have parts of a roof repaired at different times. The proper thing for my insurance company to do is to pay for the cost of repairing the entire roof minus my deductible. It is completely shameful how I am being treated by Farm Bureau. I have car, life, and two homeowners policies with this company. When it is time to do the right thing for a customer, they attempt to find the cheapest way out of the problem and ask me to make partial repairs to my home. This is simply pitiful. Many homes in my subdivision experienced roof damage at this time and none seem to be partially repairing large areas of their rooves. Obviously, I chose the wrong insurance company. I appreciate any assistance you can provide.

Desired Settlement
I am asking that Farm Bureau replace the check they sent me with a check that pays for repairs to my entire roof minus my deductible.

Business' Initial Response
I have reviewed the complaint filed by ********* and our corresponding claim file. Contact has been made with the handling office and Regional Claims Manager relating to the handling of *********' loss.
Due to privacy restrictions, we are unable to share the specifics of any claim file as the contents are confidential. It does appear upon review that the correct protocols were followed and our handling of the loss was correct under the contract. There is not attempt to "deflect" claims by any representative of the Company; our goal is to investigate, evaluate and settle all legitimate claims submitted according to the contract promptly.
Farm Bureau Insurance of Tennessee has an obligation to all policyholders to evaluate any loss based on the damage present and pay only those charges allowed by the contract. All our contracts relating to damage to structures specify that we will pay the lesser of the cost to repair or replace the damaged property.
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint. Should you need anything further, please feel free to contact me directly.

06/18/2012Problems with Product / Service
05/05/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.