BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/10/2007

Haulers Insurance Company, Inc.

Phone: (931) 381-5406Fax: (800) 296-0419

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
08/27/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Hauler's has failed to resolve a bodily injury claim from an accident occurring on May 7, 2015 where their insured was deemed "at fault" per MNPD.
On May 7, 2015 while stopped in traffic on I-40, I was rear ended by a Hauler's insured driver. My car was pushed into the car in front of me, resulting in the total loss of my vehicle. The police estimate the driver that struck me was going approximately 45-50 mph based on the length of skid marks left. At the scene of the accident, I did not seek immediate medical attention. Less than 12 hours after the accident, I began experiencing migraine headaches which caused me to feel my pulse in my ear. I went to Summit Hospital Emergency Dept for medical attention. The BI adjuster, ******* ****** mailed me a HIPPA release form which was signed and returned along with copies of my 3 medical bills from the ER visit. To date, I have not received a return phone call or correspondence in the mail regarding these medical bills. They are now 90 days past due and have been assigned to collections which is negatively affecting my credit scores. I also have not been able to work a full 40 hours/week since the wreck due to continuous headaches. I have not been back to the doctor simply since Hauler's has already failed to pay the $13,000+ medical bills I've already incurred, and I am afraid to go into further financial debt.

Desired Settlement
Hauler's needs to resolve the medical bills and provide me compensation for loss wages, future medical treatments, and reporting to the credit bureaus that I was not responsible for these debts in good faith. I will give Hauler's 30 calendar days to submit payment to me in the amount of $13,000 for the medical bills. I also expect a settlement in the amount of $50,000 for my lost wages, future medical treatments, and pain and suffering from the stress that this accident has caused me. Failure to respond and comply will result in my taking legal action.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* ****** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@********
As Ms. ******* states, liability is not an issue in this claim. The property damage portion has been concluded. Bodily injury claims are settled once all treatment has been concluded and the injury has resolved. At that time we will reach a settlement with the injured party and obtain a signed release. Since this is a third party liability claim, we cannot pay medical bills as they are incurred.

On May 12th the claim representative discussed Ms. ********** injury with her. On May 15th a medical authorization form was sent for Ms. *******'s signature. Review of our file indicates no documents have been received. Review of file documentation indicates no follow up phone calls or correspondence regarding our receipt of the returned medical authorization form was received.
I am uncertain as to why Ms. ******* did not inquire here first with the claim rep, a supervisor or manager as to the status of her claim as opposed to filing a complaint through your office.

I contacted Ms. ******* to discuss her claim. I explained that we did not receive the medical authorization form and did not have any information on her injury. She indicated she was not through treating but wanted to settle her claim. I explained we cannot settle based on what future medical treatment or costs might be since we have no records or projected treatment, but we could attempt to evaluate her claim based on current information available. She stated that was not acceptable, advised she would obtain an attorney, and then disconnected the call.

As we have not received any documentation on her injury, treatment and prognosis, I am unable to reply to her demand at this time. We will order her records and bills for evaluation should she wish to provide a copy of the signed medical authorization form, or alternatively we will work with her attorney to resolve this matter should she decide to retain one. We are taking no further action until we hear from Ms. ******* or her attorney. We stand ready to resolve her claim as soon as the necessary documentation is provided.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As stated above, the insurance company is not willing to reach a settlement to include the costs of any future treatments I will require. To date, I have not been able to have a follow up visit with a physician or chiropractor due to the fact that I do not have the financial means to pay for treatments up front. I have yet to work a full 40 hour work week since this accident as a result of constant headaches and discomfort in my hip making it difficult to sit for extended periods of time.

I have sent an email to Mr. ****** requesting a new medical release form be sent to me via email and regular mail. Once I receive a new medical release form, I will sign and re-fax to Hauler's insurance.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Now that Haulers is being more active in getting this claim settled, I will accept their efforts for now. If the claim process turns in a negative manner or we are not able to come to an agreement at that time, I will repursue a complain at that time.

Final Business Response
Ms. ******* and I have been in contact several times. I have received her medical authorization form and the records have been requested. Once the records are provided we will begin discussing settlement with Ms. *******.

02/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

No response from adjuster on my claim.
On 12/14/2013 our car was rear ended while sitting at a red light. The other driver was cited as at fault and financially responsible. The other driver filed the claim with Haulers within a few days.

I contacted Haulers' customer service in early January and was provided claim number and adjuster's phone number. I requested the adjuster contact me to repair my car. 2 weeks later I left a voice message with the adjuster.

As of today 2/07/13 I have not been contacted. I am considering legal action to compel Haulers to repair my car.

Desired Settlement
I expect my car repaired and to be compensated for any loss of value resulting from this accident as I plan to trade in the vehicle. I expect a rental car to be provided while my car is being repaired.

Business Response
Mr ******** was rear ended by one of our insureds but we were unable to obtain a valid phone number or correct address from the police report and other sources. When we received your information, we contacted him immediately and have his vehicle scheduled to be appraised and repaired as well as a rental for him during repairs. He appears to be satisfied with the current status. I will report back to the BBB should there be any issues and then when the repairs have been completed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After receiving my complaint I was contacted by a very apologetic adjuster from Haulers. My car was in the body shop within 72 hours and I have received my check. They provided me with a rental car as well. I accept their statement that they did have my correct contact info as this happens. I've not received my car back as of yet but it appears they are doing what I requested.

07/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I have an active claim with HICI and they fail to return phone calls. No action is taking place and when you speak to a manager then do not follow up.
I have an active claim with HICI. It has been in a pending status since October 2014 at which time they had acquired all the necessary information that they needed, at least that's what ***** *****, the adjuster told me. I followed up with her on October 21st 2014 and was in order ready to process. I followed up on November 11th with additional information. Three months passed, and I followed up on February 10, 2015, at which time she said and I quote, "I am horribly behind and apologize for the delay, it will take another 30 days from now, but probably longer to process", even though she had all the information. She said she was so busy she couldn't even pull the file that day. I called again on April 8th, 2015 and left another message at 2:57pm. No response was ever given to me.I called again on May 1st, 2015 and asked to speak to a manager, I was transferred to ***** ***** He said that he would talk to ***** and would have her give me a call back. I was never contacted. I called back on May 29th, 2015 and asked for a manager again. This time I was transferred to ***** He pulled the file, and we reviewed what was there, at the conclusion of that call he stated that he had everything that was needed and confirmed this with me on the phone, and that either he or ***** would give me a call back the following week to get this all done. I never received a call. I called back today, June 19th, and got *****'s answering machine again, and left a message. I called back, and asked for a manager, and was transferred to ***** ***** I gave him the claim number and told him that I was looking for a resolution to this claim, and gave him the history of calls. He argued that I hadn't spoke to him before and was completely rude on the phone. I told him that I spoke with Todd last time and he was to have someone call me back, and I spoke to ***** the time before that and he was to have someone call me back. He said he would check with ***** and get back to me. I asked him to put me on hold and get ***** on the line so we can take care of this today, to which he replied, "I'm not walking around the building to see if someone is here or not". I asked if he could take care of it then and I'd stay on the phone, he refused, I asked to speak with **** again and he said he would give him the message but would not transfer the call to him now. I asked to speak to someone above his level, and he said I was at the end of the line, there was no one else to speak to. That is simple not the truth. This has been long overdue and the management seems to be inept and they are assigning too large of a workload to the case workers. ***** has complained about being understaffed every time I have spoke to her. Their customer service is ridiculous.

Desired Settlement
Finish the claim, have open communication and get this situation resolved. There is no good reason that a company should act this way. Their executive management needs to be made aware of these practices and if they can't seem to find a way to correct them, then the public needs to be made away of the type of company they are dealing with.

Business Response
We are in receipt of your inquiry on the report of a complaint filed by ******* ****** regarding an automobile accident of March 1, 2014 that occurred in Moscow Mills, Missouri. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.
HICI takes complaints of this nature very seriously. We have long advertised "Service Second to None" and approach each situation with a goal to live up to our motto.
We have reviewed Mr. ******'s file and acknowledge that we could have provided a better customer experience and reacted more timely to his needs. We have used this complaint as a guide in taking steps to see that situations of this nature will not occur going forward.
In reviewing the details of the accident, we note that Mr. ****** was in a 2004 Toyota Camry proceeding north on US 61 when a 2006 Honda Ridgeline truck driven by Haulers insured driver, ******* ********** pulled out from the median of the divided highway and ****** was allegedly unable to avoid rear ending the ********* vehicle. Damages to the vehicles were relatively minor, mostly caused by the variation of height between a truck and a sedan. There were no witnesses nor were any tickets given to either driver. Neither driver was transported by ambulance from the scene.
Initially, we were delayed in contacting Mr. ****** until we received the police report on March 11, 2014 since we did not have information as to who he was or how to contact him. He was initially contacted on March 12, 2014 and an assignment was made for his vehicle to be appraised by an independent adjuster.
Mr. ******'s physical damage claim was processed and included delays due to his non-availability for the appraiser to write the estimate for the vehicle which drove the rental expense well beyond what would be expected for the damage incurred. The assignment was made to the appraiser on March 12, 2014 but we did not receive the report until April 9. 2014 as the vehicle was not made available for inspection.
During the initial conversation with Mr. ****** his complaint of injury was noted. The file was assigned to an injury adjuster on March 13, 2014 and contact was made the same day. The injury process was explained and a medical authorization was sent to ****** to be signed and returned. It was not returned until 7/29/14 when it came in a packet of non-certified medical bills. Mr. ****** treated once with a physician had 27 visits to a Chiropractor.
In a conversation with Mr. ****** on October 24, 2014 he was mistakenly told by the injury adjuster that we had all the information required to evaluate the claim. On November 11, 2014, we became aware of a wage loss claim and requested and received wage loss information in a form that would not be considered admissible in court, citing wage loss of $884.19 per doctor visit based on 2014 compensation of $452,707.76.
At that point, we should have recognized that we needed more complete financial and medical records in order to fully evaluate Mr. ******'s claim.

We have recently transferred the file to another handler who has set forth to handle Mr. ******'s claim on a priority basis. Mr. ****** was offered payment of his medical bills, a general damage payment for his pain, suffering and inconvenience, and a compromise figure on his wage loss claim. He refused to settle based on our offer.
Tax documents were received on June 22, 2015 which raised further questions about Mr. Gerber's wage loss claim. ****** agreed for us to hire a forensic accountant to help him prove his wage loss claim.
Once the study has been completed we will review the materials presented and reevaluate our offer. We remain ready to settle now based on our prior offer.
Again, we remain steadfast in providing "Service Second to None" and regret that Mr. ****** has not had the customer experience that we strive to provide to anyone who does business with us. It is the nature of the business for customers to disagree on valuations at time, but we would like for all to be treated in a timely, fair and respectful manner.
Should you need further information, please let us know.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was an admission of delays, but no outline as to what has been done to remedy it. There was also no apology. In addition to that, the claim of delayed access to the vehicle is not true. The vehicle was always available and the adjuster they used told me he covers multiple states and could not schedule to see the vehicle until he was in the area. Any delays were caused by their own adjusters incompetence or work load limitations. Furthermore, I initiated contact with their firm for the property damage and assessment. I called them to get the claim process started, they delayed returning my calls and repairing my vehicle which lead to a long rental car period. They have now hired a firm to evaluate my wage loss claim, however they have no current privacy of information policy statement. This is quite unprofessional. If they can not provide such a document to ensure the privacy of sensitive tax information, I cannot send them additional information. That is a reasonable request. They seem unwilling to recognize the level of compensation I earn, even though I submitted official tax documents substantiating my compensation for the tax year 2014 when the accident occurred.

Final Business Response
We have acknowledged delay and expressed regret that Mr. ****** has not had the customer experience we strive to provide our customers. Mr. ****** seems more interested in pursuing his claim through the BBB rather than cooperating with our investigation and trying to move forward with settling his claim. The last time our Claims Supervisor reached out to Mr. ****** asking about concerns regarding the forensic accountant he received no contact; rather Haulers received a response via this BBB complaint forum. The Claims Supervisor has yet to hear from Mr. ****** in relation to his direct contact via email to Mr. ****** on July 6.

The forensic accounting firm is currently revising their privacy policy due to recent pronouncements by the ***** ********* ********* of ****** In addition, claimants such as Mr. ****** are technically not clients. As such, Mr. ****** (along with all third party claimants and litigants) has been given the opportunity to provide a confidentiality agreement for the forensic accounting firm to review and sign if found acceptable. This would be done before any confidential information is provided by Mr. ******.

We still stand ready to evaluate and settle Mr. ******'s claim provided necessary information needed to evaluate the claim is presented. I encourage Mr. ****** to contact the Claims Supervisor directly as he has taken over the handling of the claim and will give it his undivided attention. We await Mr. ******'s further direct contact, as continued rebuttal and counter-rebuttal through the BBB complaint forum will not enable us to bring his claim to a conclusion.

06/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

They do not call you back and it has been a month since the accident. We still have no rental or even know what is going on.
I was rear ended April 22nd 2015 I had called my insurance and the other persons insurance. I could not get a hold of the person in charge of adjusting my claim they gave my claim over to her boss. they sent out a jester who never made it out told me he would call me and never called me on top of that the two agents the boss and the one that was supposed to be handling my case originally would tell me that they were going to call me on a certain date and I would never get the call it has been a month now and I still do not know what is going on I have called and left several messages and have not had a return call I am a single mother and have been out of a car for a month

Desired Settlement
I want it to be corrected I want to hear from the insurance I want to get my claim settled in a timely manner and most importantly I would like some sort of communication

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Claims Super
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******
The consumer was involved in an auto accident which was reported to Haulers on April 23rd. We had trouble reaching our insured due to a bad number provided. The driver of the insured vehicle was not on the policy. We were unable to reach him either, despite multiple messages being left for him. In order to expedite the process, an appraiser was assigned on May 1.

On May 8th we confirmed liability through our insured (the driver has yet to contact us). On May 11th we received the appraisal back. The vehicle is a total loss. The valuation was ordered.

On May 18th we made an offer to settle the total loss with the consumer. We are currently waiting to hear back from her.

This claim was delayed by our difficulty/inability to locate reliable contact information for our insured and the unlisted driver. We cannot finalize liability until we complete a thorough investigation of the facts of the claim.

12/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Haulers Insurance refuses to provided required assistance or even answer the phone. Multiple messages have been left for weeks with no response.
4 weeks ago my wife and I were involved in a multiple vehicle wreck on the interstate. We were able to avoid damage until a driver, insured by Haulers, rear ended our vehicle and totaled it, as well as injuring my wife and me. The car we were in was our primary source of transportation as it was very fuel efficient and reliable compared to our secondary vehicle. It has been three weeks since the documentation for this auto accident was made available to insurance companies, yet Haulers has done NOTHING to contact us and make amends. The multiple other insurance companies, my wife, and I have left SEVERAL messages in attempts to contact this company and get retribution.
It has been three weeks since the proper documentation was made available, three weeks since my wife and I have had to share one vehicle for jobs in opposite directions, three weeks of burning unnecessary fuel and income, three weeks of waiting for someone to pay medical bills that we can't afford, three weeks of waiting for an incompetent business to do its job.
I once was able to speak with the supervisor of the adjuster supposedly handling this claim. He said according to her paperwork it was OUR fault. We were REAR ENDED. Not our fault. Then, he asked for me to e-mail him the police report (his job, not mine), which I did and then called him back to see if he received it, I never got an answer.
They have our contact information, it has been left for them to use in SEVERAL voicemail messages, so that is no excuse.
This is not the first time this has happened with this company, according to my research, I, however, will not wait a month or more before taking legal action.

Desired Settlement
At this point, my wife and I are seeking no less than $25,000 dollars to cover medical expenses, vehicle cost, the cost of items destroyed in the wreck, and retribution for our pain and suffering.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Todd Worley, Claims Sup.
Contact Phone: 9319816033
Contact Email:
The complainant was involved in a 6 vehicle collision on October 18, 2014, wherein an unknown vehicle had dropped a refrigerator in the 3rd lane of I24 East in Nashville, TN. A sudden emergency situation ensued with the six involved vehicles taking evasive action to avoid the refrigerator. During the course of these maneuvers, numerous collisions and secondary collisions resulted.

The claim was submitted by our insured on 10/20. Our insured did not have contact information on any involved parties. We ordered the police report through our normal channels. On 11/3 the complainant contacted us and emailed a copy of the police report.

As there were numerous involved vehicles in the accident, recorded statements of the drivers needed to be obtained. The complainant's wife's statement was taken November 12. In addition to statements, we needed to inspect the vehicles to determine points of impact and degree of damages.

Due to the involved and time-consuming investigation needed for this accident, we recommended if the complainant needed quick resolution he should make a claim with his own carrier and the insurance companies would sort out liability amongst themselves once all investigation was complete. The complainant flatly refused and continued to press for us to accept liability. Due to our ongoing investigation, we were unable to do so.

We have now completed our investigation and find the proximate cause of this accident is the unknown party that dropped the refrigerator on the Interstate highway. The other involved drivers were presented with an emergency situation and all took evasive actions to attempt to avoid collisions.

I have attached a copy of the police report and denial letter sent to the complainant. The denial letter was sent on or around November 14 (there is a typo in the date line). We feel none of our actions under the circumstances above constitute any violation of fair and ethical claims practices. Please feel free to contact me if any further information is needed.

11/11/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

I Went in to my agent to pay my insurance bill and ad a new car at the same time.. My agent added the new car and collected my premium..
At the time, my agent did not ask for any additional money for adding the new vehicle.. Today, 15 days later I get a Notice of Cancellation stating I must Immediately pay 43.00 dollars, of which 10.00 is a late fee.. I called my agent and said it was not fair that I pay the late fee because I was never notified of any money due before now.. She called the company and they said they could not wave the late fee.. This is unfair!!!

Desired Settlement
I want the 10.00 dollars refunded or taken off my next bill or I am going to cancel my policy asap..

Business Response
The above policyholder is referring to a policy he had with Haulers Insurance Company, Inc. effective 04/02/2013 to 10/02/2013.
On 08/30/2013, the company received and processed a request from FCNB Insurance Services, to add a vehicle to Mr. ******* policy. This request generated a pro-rated additional premium amount of $33.00. A statement for this amount was generated and mailed to him on 08/30/2013 with a due date of 09/09/2013. Our recored show that a payment of $102.45 due on 09/02/2013 was made at the agency on 09/02/2013. The $33.00 statement had been generated on 08/30/2013, therefore Mr. ******* could have paid and the agent accepted the $33.00 on the 09/02/2013 date that he paid his agent the $102.45.
On 09/13/2013, a Notice of Cancellation was proof of mailed to the insured since the above $33.00 payment had not been received. THis statement added a $10.00 reinstatement fee in addition to the premium amount that was past due.
HICI will always listen to its customers who present payment concerns warranting consideration. When reviewing this particular policy, Mr. ******* had made late payments earlier in the policy term and out of courtesy, the company had already waived the $10.00 reinstatement fee once on 05/20/2013.
Since making this complaint to your office, Mr. ******* was offered and accepted a renewal policy with HICI. His current policy is effective 10/02/2013 to 04/02/2014.


***** ********
Operations Manager

08/19/2013Problems with Product / Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.