BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1982

Millennium Maxwell House Nashville

Phone: (615) 259-4343

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
12/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The hotel was very worn out looking, literally falling apart. I took pictures of the room. A $213.82 a night room should not look like that.
I checked in the Maxwell house hotel on Sept 26, 2014 for two nights. As soon I as I saw the room I immediately called the front desk to alert them of the awful condition of the room. After a while I received a callback advising me that the hotel is very old, upgrades are needed and that they're waiting on the corporate office to make improvements. I was also told that i could switch rooms or check out. This was a very busy tourist weekend of Nashville so I could not find another hotel and if the entire hotel needed renovations what good was switching rooms going to do. I advised the hotel of my dilemma and asked if the room could be discounted due to the obviously falling apart ceiling over the shower, molded/rusted shower head, torned up door, malfunctioning a/c unit and over all bad conditions. I was told to wait and speak with ******* the front desk manager. I tried several times to speak with ******* before I checked out but she was always away from the desk. After I checked out, I finally spoke with ******* and she advised me again that the hotel was very old and in need of renovations and that they are just waiting on the corporate office for approval but that she would see how she could compensate me for my stay and get back with me. After about a day or so ******* had another person from the hotel callback me and offer me a future free night stay. I advised the female that that would make my an oxymoron when my whole complaint is regarding the condition of the hotel versus the price. So why would I want to stay there again, she stated that the free night is good for one year and hopefully the renovation would have taken place by then. I advised that was unacceptable and to have the manager ******* call me back. I never received a call. VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE! This hotel experience could be compared to a super 8 or motel 6, the only differences are the price and the cheaper hotel would have had better customer service. This hotel room and experience was not at all worth $213.82 a night.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting at least one night $213.82 to be refunded due to the conditions of the hotel and the lack of customer service received.

Business Response
Ms. ******** was credited $213.82 on the 2nd of December. ******** spoke with her yesterday and she told me about an issue, ******** fixed it and told her about the credit.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received the refund that I requested.

04/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Millennium has refused to refund me for my three nights stay after I realized I booked the incorrect hotel!
On Friday, March 21st I booked the Millennium Maxwell House Hotel through a groupon getaways booking. Five minutes later I realize that I had booked the incorrect hotel for my stay in Nashville! I contacted groupons customer service immediately and was informed that they would reach out to the Millennium right away to see about getting a refund since the transaction had went through. Several hours later I was following up and was informed that the individual at the hotel that could make that decsision was not available. Today, March 24th I was contacted by ***** L from groupon customer service XXX-XXX-XXXX he indicated that he spoke with the Director of Revenue at Millennium Maxwell House Hotel and was informed that they were unwilling to authorize a cancellation and refund. It should not matter if I booked this hotel through groupon or Millennium themselves, the funds were taken out of my checking account and Millennium has taken my money. Had I been able to reach someone at Millennium right after I had discovered the error perhaps this would have made a difference but neither myself or anyone from groupon was able to speak with someone that had the authority to refund me until today. I'm scheduled to stay at the Millennium Friday, May 9th - Monday, May 12th under booking number XXXXXXX. Had I been canceling this booking short notice I can understand not being refunded but I had contacted groupon within 5 minutes of the transaction!

Desired Settlement
I'm looking for a full refund of $601.30

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** GM
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****************@************
The company that called our hotel associate was Expedia and there representative did not mention the situation. They asked only for a refund on a non refundable booking. We will accommocate her request to refund the amount. Thank you

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I'm in agreement with their position and would just like to know when the funds will be credited to my account.

Thank You,
******** *****

05/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charging for room for full stay/ not compliant to summary
We booked a room here in XX-XX-XX for 6-4-14 to 6-9-14,put a 500.00 deposit down and was told the final amount would be taken out 30 days prior to stay.On May 9th we had a family emergency and had to cancel, was told that they were taking the whole amount and not returning it (1,251.45) As i read over the confirmation it says nothing about cancel but has the letters CXL on it,I have faxed the paper to them(says they never received it)called them numerous times,was extremely rude asked to speak to manager,they were on break,was told they would call back,never did,now they will not even answer the phone when i call.

Desired Settlement
would like money back considering the paper i have does not explain the cancellation policy and an apology for being rude

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** gm
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****************@************
We called Mr. ****** and worked out a solution to the complaint. Please check with him. Thank you *******

11/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unfair cancellation policies within the hotel.
Our nonprofit agency attended a conference at the Millennium Maxwell House on 9/8-9/10. On 9/7/2013, we contacted the hotel due to an employee who became ill unexpectedly and had a Dr. excuse to not travel or attend the conference. They stated that because we did not cancel 48 hours in advance we would still have to pay for her accommodations. The hotel was near or at capacity so this room was not a loss. I offered the Dr.'s excuse to the hotel and was told, I could show it but it wouldn't make a difference, it was their policy so I had no recourse.

Desired Settlement
I feel this is poor business practice to say the least. I contacted the corporate office looking to resolve the issue and received no response. The hotel staff were rude about this issue among other items (bugs in my bed). Maybe your office can receive a response.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** GM
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****************@mill-usa.com
Unfair cancellation policies within the hotel.
All she has to do is send us a Dr. Excuse and we will adjust off. Thanks *******
please fax XXX-XXX-XXXX attn: Reservations

10/16/2012Problems with Product / Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.