BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/17/2012

Williamson Medical Center

(615) 435-5000View Additional Phone Numbers4321 Carothers Pkwy, FranklinTN 37067-5909 Send email to Williamson Medical Center

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a 185-bed hospital providing comprehensive inpatient and outpatient care including emergency services, with more than 500 physicians in 53 specialties and sub-specialties. The hospital offers a wide range of wellness services, screenings and classes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/17/2012

BBB has determined that Williamson Medical Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Williamson Medical Center's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Williamson Medical Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
05/07/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bad Billing Practices
Had surgery Oct XX XXXX,I ask to have a payment plan,they make it so I can make a payment each month for 100.00 and then they turn right around and turn you in to a collections a month later.My bills are paid up to this day. Thats bull ****!! And plus they dont send you a receipt when you make a payment.And I am one of those people that pays my bills on time and have good credit. Thanks for putting a dirty mark on my credit thats really great! Dont trust their payment plan,,It will be my last time dealing with them and will let a lot of people know. And I am one of those that know many, even in the ******** Area.If they wanna call me and do what they say theyre gonna do thats fine.

Desired Settlement
To pay what they agreed to each month and clean up my bad credit mark in which they have allready done.

Business Response
The patient did make payments, but never formally set up a payment plan at the agency. We will pull back from collection agency and place with billing agency and remove "marks" from credit. We are not admitting fault since it is the patient's responsibility to set up a payment plan, but we will work with the patient to fix the issue. We will call the patient to let them know this and help them set up a formal payment plan.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Please call me today so we can get this straightened out. I do pay my bills and did speak to someone there at the hospital and will make payments when i am ask to. Thank you for your response to this. Whoever my wife talked to was very rude and said nothing can be done. I think whoever they were owes my wife an apology.
Please call me sometime today. Would love to get this straightened out with you.
Thanks
*** & ****** *****

11/25/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Account wrongfully sent to a collection company.
I've had two MRIs and one surgery at WMC in 2013.

On October 22, I received a call from a collection company stating that I owe approximately $1800 to WMC. I thought it was a hoax because I haven't received a single bill but I asked them to send me documentation and they agreed to do so. They had my correct address on file, with the exception of the zip code had two digits reversed.

On October 23, I called WMC billing department to inquire. When I was asked for my current address, the representative said that it did not match their file. After giving my SS#, the representative told me the address they had on file: it was an address that I have not had in at least 5 years. When I inquired about my account balance, the representative told me she's showing a zero balance because "it's not in her office." She then gave me the number of a collection company but would not confirm whether or not I owe any money to WMC. I then politely expressed that I didn't feel like I should have to deal with a collection company because of WMC's inability to bill me accurately. The representative told me that I had not disclosed the change of address and change of phone number. I politely asked for the name of her supervisor so I might achieve my goal of not dealing with a collection agency. I was put on hold and then told to call the collection company.

I've checked-in with WMC twice for MRIs and once for a surgery in the past 6-months. Each time I've provided my correct address and phone number as well as my driver's license which also shows the correct information. This is their error, and my account should not have been sent to a collection agency. I'm willing to pay the amount I owe as soon as WMC will send me a bill. But as it stands, they won't even tell me if I actually owe anything.

Desired Settlement
1. An itemized bill.
2. Confirmation this will not affect my credit report.
3. An apology.

Business Response
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We are looking into the problem and will get your account removed from the collections agency and ensure this issue will not taint your record in any way. Currently we are examining what happened and how best to fix the issue. I expect to be able to provide Mr. ********* with an itemized bill and assurance that his account is not in collections by midweek.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I've received the bill, and the payment cleared my account on the 25th. I'm still utterly disgusted with the way I was treated when I originally reached out to WMC. I'll avoid this hospital whenever I have the option to do so. A customer that WANTS to pay a business shouldn't have to get the BBB involved to do so.

Final Business Response
****** ***** the PFS Credit Manager at XXX-XXXX has mailed Mr. ********* a letter and an itemized bill. The letter went out on 11/20/13. This should satisfy Mr. *********'s requests. Please confirm with us once he gets the letter and bill so we know that this matter has been resolved.

09/14/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Billing Issue with coding. The doctor miss coded blood work and said they will change it and have not in over 9 months.
On Nov. 26, 2014 I went in to see my doctor (***** ********* in ******** ******** for fatigue that I have been dealing with due to work stress. He recommended working up a panel of blood work to pinpoint the problems. Went next door to Williamson medical centers blood work group and had blood drawn for the panel. When I received the first bill I noticed something was wrong and I contacted **** ***** and **** ****** right way. They told me that the services were not covered due to the coding and that I would have to talk with the billing group. I called Williamson medical Center numerous times over the next few months to try and get the issue resolved. I call the doctors office many times and they told me that they would talk to the blood work billing department and get it changed. The blood work company had rebilled the claim 3x but still have not changed the coding. I have had ********************** call them and leave them messages to talk with the blood work's billing department but they have not called them back. On *** 27th ********** *********** left them a voicemail for **** in WMG billing department but could not get a call back. in August of this year I called my doctors office again to discuss the issue and they told me they have done everything they can to resolve the issue and they gave me contact information for the blood work billing agent and to call her.
Contact info given to me was (XXX)XXX-XXXX for *************
When I called this contact I got their voicemail and it was for an *********** with Williamson Medical Center. I left her a message with why I was calling, who gave me the contact information and who I was looking to reach and for them to give me a call back. I never Received a call back from anyone I left a message for. But I do receive calls from Williamson medical center who want to bill me for the service.

I just want the claim processed correctly.

Desired Settlement
Just to recode the claim and have it processed. Its easy.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****, PFS Director
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@wmed.org
Williamson Medical Center (WMC) billing has re-billed claim multiple times. We received further instruction from WMC coding department to correct the codes on 8/31/2015 at 6:27 am. Corrections were made to the account and claim has been re-billed again. WMC will cease collection efforts until the claim processes again. We will make sure that the clients credit is not impacted at this time. Apologies to the client for the issue at hand.

08/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
WM Center gave me different answers when I called about a payment at their 800 # I was told $25.00 a month was ok .
I sent payments in January 24 February 27 March and a payment for $90.00 on April 29.WM Center told me they did not receive the payment.I was told there was a new mailing address If that was true the new address should be shown on the billing statement.Wm Center lied to me.My bank sent a letter to and to WM Center confirming the check was sent through bill pay.I made payments in good faith. The last time I called the 800 # I was told Their records showed I was making monthly payment.That statement led me to believe my account was in good standing.That same day I was told to call the local number for local billing.That's when I was told my account was sent to collection.By sending my account to collection my credit is effected in a VERY negative way.The last payment I sent was deposited in a ***** ***** **** account this was not what was done with the other three payments.

The account number is VXXXXXXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement
I would request that WM Center remove my account from collection and do whatever steps needed to restore my good credit rating!!!

Business Response

Unfortunately, the patient did not formally set up an acceptable payment plan according to hospital guidelines. An outline of the transaction history is below.

On 12/04/13 patient called *** and wanted to set up on $20 a month and was told that it would have to be set up on $90.33. She was mailed a financial assistance application.
2/4/14 We received $25
3/11/14 We received $25
3/24 Patient called *** and told then she thought she set payment plan up for $25 a month. They advised her that she was told that it could not be set up for that amount. They then offered to set up for $84.77 and patient declined.
4/1/14 We received $25
4/10/14 Account was sent to collections because it was not on a formal payment plan. Patient never returned financial assistance paper work.
5/12/14 Patient called and said she had set up on auto pay through bank for $90. Which was a month after it had already been sent to ****
5/14 /14 Patient called back and said check still had not cleared the bank. She told ***** she had mailed it to ****
5/27/14 We received the check for $90 from *** and posted.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This does not show what really was said when I first had contact with Williamson Medical Center at this number XXX-XXX-XXXX.I missed their call when.I called back I was told they were calling to
set up a payment plan.I said I had been paying $25.00.I was told that was fine.
When the next bill came there was a notion saying
I had not set up a payment plan that's when I was
told about paying $95.00.They never asked about my
income or what I could afford.
I got a discount on my bill because I did not have
insurance at the time.I am thankful for the discount.I am willing to pay my bill until it is payed off if WMC would allow me.I did not want to
agree to paying an amount and meet that goal I need to have money to pay my other bills.Each time
I called I never got the same reply.
All of my payments were made through Bill Pay I never sent payments by mail.The $90.00 payment was
made on April 29th and was a one time payment I made that payment after being told about needing to pay $84.00.By sending the $90.00 I was trying to get the balance down to an affordable amount.








Final Business Response
WMC will have the account returned from the collection agency. No information was reported to the credit reporting agencies relative to this account and the patient's credit report and score will not be effected.

The patient must commit to paying at least $85 each month. Failure to make at least an $85 payment each month could lead to further collection activity. We are sorry for difficulties we might have caused and are committed to helping our patients. Warm regards.

05/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Would not return phone calls in reference to billing. Turned us over to collections.
My wife had a short stay at this hospital at the end of 2013. We received a bill in which I needed to discuss insurance coverage etc. I called multiple times and left several messages. Finally I drove to the hospital to speak to a real person. The computer systems were down that day. Shortly after I got a bill in the mail from collections. Now, it is too late to discuss anything. Additionally, I just received a separate bill in the mail TODAY (4/30/14) from the same hospital for the same visit. I called immediately to pay and was told it was also turned over to collections. Again, this is the first time even receiving this bill. The numbers that are on the bill to call put you on hold for well over 5 minutes just to leave a message. This has been some of the worst customer service I have ever experienced and additionally embarrassing for our family as we have never received anything for collections.

Desired Settlement
For the embarrassment, time, gas, and effort that I've taken to get no where, I'd consider a full refund to make us "happy"

Business Response
I have reviewed the two accounts for Mrs. ************ and here are the findings:

Acct# VXXXXXXXX - BCBS Non Covered on 10/2/13
10/10/13 - OSI (Early out Billing company) sent first statement
10/30/13 & 11/7/13 OSI called patient and had to leave message
11/11/13 - OSI sent second statement
11/21/13 - Spouse called requesting reduction and was offered 10% for payment in full
12/12/13 - final statement was sent to patient from OSI
NO PYMTS
2/12/14 - Was sent from OSI to HRG (Collection company)
3/10/14 - pymt made
4/10/14 - pymt made

Acct# VXXXXXXXX - BCBS Denied to patient 12/19/13
12/27/13 - OSI sent first statement
1/9/14 - Spouse came in and requested that we code and bill different. We advised cannot do that and that he needed to discuss with MD and Medical records.
1/27/14 - OSI sent second statement
2/14/14 - OSI called patient and left message
2/21/14 - Patient called and agreed to pay $100/month
2/25/14 - $100 payment made
3/25/14 - $100 payment made
No payment in April
Account is still with OSI and has not been sent to collections as of today.

Based off of the notes in the system, we have followed appropriate protocol in the collections process.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Regardless of the response above, I have not been able to reach anyone. This includes making a payment by phone. The "April" payment mentioned above was finally sent through the mail because (again) I cannot reach anyone in this department. Had I been able to reach someone from the start to get this situated then we wouldn't be in this mess. The second bill mentioned had just arrived at my home the week of Aril 28th. There was no time to even call about the bill before it had been turned over to collections. No one called me about it either.

Final Business Response
This account has not been turned over to a collection agency, so I am not sure why he is saying it is. I also do not show a statement dated 4/28/14. We did send out a statement on 4/4/14 & 5/5/14. The April payment has not been made on this.
Mr. ************ can go on line and pay at www.williamsonmedicalcenter.org. Or he can call the financial counselor directly that handles his account. ***** ****** at XXX-XXX-XXXX.
We will be glad to give Mr. ************ a 10% discount for Payment in Full.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have 3 bills total from Williamson Medical. One of them (the one they are referring to) has not been turned over. The April payment HAS been made. The reason for the delay is that I've called the number on the bill MULTIPLE times and cannot get anyone. I finally wrote a check and sent it via snail mail. The 10% discount is standard to anyone paying in full. That has nothing to do with this complaint and will not suffice. I am more than happy to send over the other 2 statements that were turned over to collections. One of them was turned over before I even received it in the mail. You are stating that "this account" has not been turned over? Maybe not this one but there are two others. One of them you mentioned in the last response.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/27/1986Business started: 01/01/1957
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2002, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Webb (CEO)Customer Contact: Ms Julie Miller (COO)Ms. Mary Scott-Klecka (Administrative Coordinator)
Business Category

Hospitals, Sleep Treatment Disorder, Medical Imaging Services, Medical Diagnostic Testing Facilities, Surgical Centers, Rehabilitation Services, Physicians & Surgeons - Orthopedic Surgery, Physicians & Surgeons - OB/GYN, Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Williamson Medical Center

4321 Carothers Pkwy

Franklin, TN 37067-5909

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4321 Carothers Pkwy 

    Franklin, TN 37067-5909(615) 435-5000
    Fax: (615) 435-7306

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Williamson Medical Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 791-2015
  • (615) 791-2117
  • (615) 791-2299
  • (615) 791-2171
  • (615) 381-5751
  • (615) 791-2197
  • (615) 791-2296
  • (615) 791-2000
  • (615) 322-6435
  • (615) 435-5151
  • (615) 791-2077
  • (615) 794-2800
  • (615) 791-2229
  • (615) 791-2100
  • (615) 791-2471
  • (615) 791-2493
  • (615) 791-2125
  • (615) 791-2600
  • (615) 791-2069
  • (615) 791-2086
  • (615) 791-2280
  • (615) 791-2114
  • (615) 791-2371
  • (615) 791-2292
  • (615) 435-6000
  • (615) 435-5350

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (615) 595-5522
  • (615) 595-4422
  • (615) 435-7306
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Hospitals

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.