BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Saint Thomas West Hospital

Find a Location

(615) 222-2111View Additional Phone Numbers4220 Harding Pike, NashvilleTN 37205-2005http://www.stthomas.org

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers health care services.

BBB Accreditation

Saint Thomas West Hospital is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Saint Thomas West Hospital's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Saint Thomas West Hospital

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
03/21/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
St.Thomas initially upcoded emergency room level care. They continue to bill even after accepting payment in full.
On 3/2/13 I went to St. Thomas West Emergency hospital located at 4220 Harding Rd. in Nashville TN. My symptoms were not an emergency, but it was Saturday evening and nothing else was open.

I was seen immediately because there was nobody else in the waiting room when I arrived. A nurse took my routine vital signs. I was not sick, but experiencing symptoms of Bells Palsy.

I spent about 5 minutes with a nurse for vitals, and then I was taken to a room where I sat on the end of the examination table for approximately 5 minutes. The emergency room doctor came in, asked me to remove my baseball hat and raise my eyebrow. He said you have Bells Palsy. I was told it was common and would go away on its own. To speed recovery, I was given a perscription, some tape and an eye patch to put on my eye that night. I was in and out of emergency at St. Thomas West hospital in 10 minutes.

3/21/13 I was billed $1208.75 for level 4 emergency room treatment. Clearly the level of care I recieved was a level 1, for a minor problem. The Doctor himself told me it was common and would go away on its own.

On or about 3/30/13 I requested an audit, and St. Thomas admitted they had upcharged me and reduced my bill to $930.45, a level 3. Still by their own definition of care, I was being over charged.

10/1/13 After many attempts to resolve this dispute, In good faith, I sent payment and included a letter offering resolution and settlement in full. The payment amount was $360, that which is customary and usual amount for a level 1 emergency care. This is also the amount which is stated on St. Thomas West web site for a level 1 emergency care.

10/13/13 St. Thomas West Hospital accepted my payment as full payment in accord and satisfaction for the disputed account.

St. Thomas West later changed their minds, and applied the $360.00 as a partial payment instead of a payment in full.

St. Thomas has now sent this to collections and continues to fraudulently bill.



Desired Settlement
I am seeking confirmation in writing from St. Thomas West Hospital that this account is paid in full. I am asking that they stop the fraudulent billing and harassment.

Business Response
BBB received notification the matter has been resolved directly with the consumer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the response from St. Thomas West Hospital. After recieving the complaint from the BBB, they adjusted my bill and zeroed out the balance.

Thank you St. Thomas West Hospital for your cooperation. Also, a big thank you to the BBB for assisting in this matter.

06/07/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid by both insurance and patient, has not refunded patient
On 7/12/2012, I went in for a test procedure. I paid about $488.53 in advance to get the discount they offer. This payment was made on the basis of my having not yet met my deductible. However, the physician sent his bill first, and this took care of the deductible. I got an explanation of benefits from ***** that they paid this claim at 100%. I called them on 1/28 and spoke to ******** and then, after not receiving the refund, called on 2/25 and spoke to *******. Both stated that I would get a response in 2 - 4 weeks, but I have not received a response, nor have I received the refund of what the insurance paid.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund of my overpayment of $488.53.

Business' Initial Response
The appropriate adjustment has been made to the account. The patient should receive a refund in the amount of $488.53 within 2 weeks. We will contact the patient with this information.

Consumer's Final Response
The check in the correct amount arrived this afternoon. Thank you for your help. This complaint may now be closed as resolved.

Business' Final Response
A refund check, #XXXXXX, was issued on 5/24/13 for $488.53. It will be mailed this week, and it should be received by the patient early next week.

01/13/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have Medicare and **** ***** **** ****** Supplement and my policy covers everything. I owe nothing
I received an invoice from a collection agency that I have not paid a $15.65 balance. The original date of service was 9/14/2014. My account number is XXXXXXXXXX. I have medicare policy number XXX-XX-XXXXA and a supplemental insurance, **** ********** ****** policy number TRRXXXXXXXXX which pays every penny medicare does not pay. Since I received this letter from a collection agency and if I go to the credit bureaus and this is against me, I will have legal action with Saint Thomas and this collection agency. I am reporting this to the Better Business Bureau for several reasons: 1. I do not owe this bill 2. There has been no contact from Saint Thomas regarding this invoice 3. In my opinion it is a ploy to bilk senior citizens of additional money. 4. To turn this amount of $15.65 to a collection agency without even attempting to resolve the issue is fraud. Remember, Saint Thomas is the Hospital that allegedly murdered numerous patients by buying a cheap drug from an authorized source. Also, just recently, the ******** ***** Group left Saint Thomas and moved to ********** ********* I am now curious of how many more patients are being overbilled and this group is attempting to collect additional monies from senior citizens and other minority groups in a fraudulent manner. Unless, these examples of fraud are exposed to the media, this type of action will continue with this hospital group. Once the public realize the fraudulent strategy, in my opinion, they will begin seeking other hospitals in the area.

Desired Settlement
I would like upper management at this company to explain why their accounting system would send a $15 invoice to a collection agency without contacting the patient that has the insurance to cover. In my opinion once again, for this type of procedure/process of billing is only an attempt to collect additional money in a fraudulent manner. Last comment, you know this multi million dollar company would not have incompetent people to run their accounting group. The only way the public will know of this is to expose this information to the media. My credit score has always been over 800 and for this company to bilk the senior citizen and intimidate them in paying a debt that is not owed, I believe the District Attorney in Nashville needs to be involved in this scam, again, my opinion. Shame, Shame on these people.

Business Response
Thank you for notifying us of this client concern. We expeditiously addressed this concern with the client via telephone. Pt expressed understanding, satisfaction and appreciation for the call and explanation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I asked specifically to explain in their response that this was an accounting error and the bill should not have been sent in the first place. I totally disagree with their response. If you make an accounting error, you should be responsible to admit to such an error. With this type of response, it sends up red flags as to the other types of incorrect billings thinking senior citizens and others owe these erroneous invoices. I would like for St. ****** to just say what the lady told me over the phone that this "should have been caught" and never sent out. "Let the Patient be Aware"

Final Business Response
I spoke with Mr. ***** and advised him that the account aged to Medical Financial Solutions, not a collection agency, in error. The remaining balance in the amount of $15.65 were for non-covered Self Administrative Drugs and is not the patient's liability. Two system driven statements were sent to Mr. ***** prior to the account aging to Medical Financial Solutions but he did not respond because of his confusion with the patient's column on the statements he received reflecting zero. I explained to him that the patient's column reflects what he has paid so far on the account as of that date.

I assured Mr. ***** that this is not a ploy to bill senior citizens for what they do not owe and we are not in the business of fraudulent billing. I advised Mr. ***** that the appropriate adjustment will be applied to his account right away and that I will send him a zero balance letter for his own records. I apologized for any inconvenience we may have caused him and gave him my direct contact information in case he has any questions.

Thanks,
Latrice Brooks


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would like to make one correction to their response. The reason why I did not reply back is that I have BlueCross and Blue Shield Supplemental Insurance and it pays for everything that Medicare does not pay for. There was no confusion about reading the invoice on my part and I will be glad to show anyone the letter I received from this "collection agency" that was highlighted in red to intimidate the elderly. I assure you if there were an investigation or audit of this company, this is not the only billing error you would find. Now the question is, was this intentional in overbilling so either Medicare would pay more or the patient will pay more. I will let the readers of this complaint make their own judgment. To send out a Collection Letter highlighted in red for $15.00 without even contacting the patient is totally unsatisfactory and I assure you I will not go back to ST. ****** Hospital because of this. This could have easily been resolved, but this company rather intimidate the patient. Look at their first response. It was worded to think it was my fault. Shame, Shame on these people. Let the patient beware.......

09/11/2015Billing / Collection Issues

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/06/1980Business started: 01/01/1902
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1905, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don King (President / CEO)Ms. Amy Baggett Mr. Dale Batchelor (Interim President/CEO)Mr. James Bearden (Chairman, Board of Directors)Ms. Krista Bierly (Patient Experience Coordinator)Ms. Lisa Dillehay (Mgr. Patient Relations)Ms. Connie Esper-Kanzee Mr. Jim Houser (CEO)Mr. Wes Littrell (President & CEO, St Thomas Affiliates and CSO)Mr. Greg Pope (St. Thomas Foundation)Ms. Dawn Rudolph (CEO)Dr. Mike Schatzlein Former (CEO, Saint Thomas Health)Ms Karen Springer (Senior Vice President, Operations)Mrs. Rene Ward (Assistant To President)Mrs. Nola Wyatt (Exec. Dir. of Patient Bus. Ser)
Business Category

Hospitals, Surgical Centers, Rehabilitation Services

Alternate Business Names
Saint Thomas Health Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Saint Thomas West Hospital

4220 Harding Pike

Nashville, TN 37205-2005

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 4220 Harding Pike 

    Nashville, TN 37205-2005

  • PO Box 380 

    Nashville, TN 37202-0380

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Saint Thomas West Hospital is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 222-6617
  • (615) 222-6733
  • (800) 298-3200
  • (615) 222-6200
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Hospitals

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.