BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/19/2013

Synergy Real Estate Group, Inc.

Phone: (615) 425-2168

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The worst company I've ever dealt with. No one there has a clue what's going on.
The worst company I've ever dealt with. After they received payment they fell off the map. 30 days later no repairs have been made, roof is leaking, mold in the bathroom, etc. They have tried to pawn their sub contractor / handyman who speaks very little English. I've made 3 appts with him and he no showed 3 times. No one in their office has a clue what is going on. Terrible business with terrible service.

Desired Settlement
Reimbursement for work I've had to perform on my own time.. labor & material. Wages that I missed from 3 days of taking off work to meet their sub who didn't show. All repairs made that were promised to us on Day 1 of walk through.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** President, C,
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@sregtn.com

In response to the complaint that was filed on September 1st, 2014 I would like to state that the work in question, two walls that needed to be painted and one light bulb that needed to be replaced was completed Wednesday September 3, 2014. The work started at 10:00 AM and was completed at 12:55 PM. With regard to the communication issues sited by the tenant of the property and his statement that his money was taken and we never came back is simply an incorrect statement. The tenant paid rent for the property, the tenant moved into the property on time with no delays. By moving into the property, the tenant accepted that is was 100% habitable at the time of move in. The money in question again is for the rent for a 100% habitable property. I do agree that the wall that the painter had to come back to paint again was painted incorrectly the first time and was painted appropriately on September 3, 2014. However, this wall not being properly painted did not interfere with the tenant's ability to comfortably live in the property.
With regard to no one knowing what is going on, the tenant is correct in that, I was unaware that the wall had not been painted properly and that the light bulb had not been replaced. I was made aware of that the problem had not been resolved on August 7th, 2014 at approximately 1:00 PM by the property manager who was requesting that I contact the tenant about the wall and light bulb. I called the tenant and did not get a call back. On August 28th, the tenant and I spoke via phone during the call with the tenant the issues were brought to my attention. During the call with tenant I attempted to apologize and to discuss the problem and was met with idle threats and was told how horrible his experience had been. I apologized to the tenant for all of the confusion surrounding the wall and the light bulb and stated that I would promptly get the problem resolved. I again contacted the tenant to clarify the problem; I did not get an answer on the initial call, and called again, at that time I was met with a text messaging again stating how poorly he was being treated. Please see Exhibit A as a part of the response to this complaint. Once I was met with the text message, I obtained permission to gain entry to the property to find out what was wrong. I went to the property on Friday August 29, 2014 at approximately 1:00 PM and located the wall in question. While I was in the unit I observed a second wall that was touched up prior to move in but the paint was not a good match and the light bulb. At that time I contacted the tenant to let him know that we would be there on Tuesday September 3, 2014 to paint the two walls located in the lower area of the unit. We returned on September 3, 2014 and painted the wall and replaced the missing light bulb, while in the property we replaced a second light bulb that was out as well.
With regard to how this problem came about, I have done a significant amount of research to time line the events leading up to the tenant's dissatisfaction. The service to both our tenants and property owners is the number one priority for Synergy Real Estate Group Inc. After researching the events leading up this complaint, I have spoken with both the service provider and the property manager and the licensed assistant to gain a clear understanding of the events leading up to the complaint. The tenant moved into the property on August , 1, 2014, at that time of the move in walk through on July 31, 2014 the previous tenant had just moved out of the property and in an effort to accommodate the new tenant, the move in walk through was conducted on August 31, 2014. On August 1, 2014 the property manager met with the service provider to talk about the walls that needed to be painted and to remove a spider from the property. At that time the property manager met with the tenant and the service provider and explained what work needed to be done. At that time, the service provider stated that he would be back on August 2, 2014 at 9:00 AM. The tenant was asked by the property manager if she needed to be present at 9:00 AM to meet the service provider to allow entry. The property manager and the service provider were both told that by the tenant that he would meet the service provider and that the door would be open and that the service provider could enter the property. On August 2, 2014 the service provider arrived at the property to find that the door was locked and that there was no one at the unit. The service provider contacted the property manager to let her know that there was no one in the property and the property manager instructed the service provider to contact the tenant. The service provider contacted the tenant with no response. The service provider left after approximately 15-20 min of waiting for the tenant. On approximately August 6, 2014 the service provider was allowed entry to the property to paint the wall, instead of painting the entire wall the service provider attempted to touch up the wall at that time. On August 7, 2014 the tenant contacted the property manger to state that the light bulb had not been changed and that she was waiting on the service provider and that he had not shown up and she provided a photo of the paint work that was poorly done on the wall. This was the first time the property manager was notified about the paint not being done to the tenant's satisfaction. At this point the property manager was unaware that there had been any issues with the service provider. The property manager in addition requested that the tenant contact me as the property manager was out of town on vacation. In addition to the property manager making the request to the tenant to contact me and providing my contact information, the property manager also contacted me and requested that I contact the tenant. I did so at that time with no return phone call from the tenant. On August 28, 2014 the tenant contacted the property manager and the issue was resolved after that date, there was no contact from the tenant from August 7, 2014 to August 28, 2014. There had been no additional contact from the tenant from August 7th to August 28th and the property manager made an incorrect assumption that the service provider had fulfilled the request and that the tenant was satisfied.
With regard to the mold, there is no mold in the property. The complaint involved dust on the air output grate, this dust was removed and the tenant was notified that it was only dust August 28, 2014. This was the first time the property manager was notified of this possible problem.
With regard to the roof leak, the unit is located in a community building for which the HOA is responsible for the roof leak itself. The leak was reported to the HOA on the date it was reported to the property manager, a representative from the HOA was on site on September 3, 2014 to look at the leak from the inside of the property and stated that he would repair the leak. No further leaks have been reported to the property manager as of this response.
In addition I did on August 28, 2014 ask the tenant to please provide receipts for any light bulbs that he had to changes and stated that I would be glad to send him a check for the bulbs, the tenant stated that he did not want to be repaid for the bulbs, only that he wanted to get this complete.
As best I can tell, all calls and text messages were returned in a timely fashion and there is no evidence that the property manager was avoiding making the repairs. It should also be noted that I placed a phone call and text message to the tenant stating that the repair had been made and that he should contact me if he is not satisfied. No follow up communication has been made by the tenant. This leads me to assume that the tenant is satisfied with the work. I have personally inspected the work of the service provider and personally observed the work being performed. As the property manager I am 100% satisfied with the work that was done. I have attached photos of before and after of the work performed.

I have a clear understanding of the frustration that the tenant had looking at the improperly painted wall and fully recognize that the work should have been done correctly the first time. However, I do not understand why the tenant waited from August 7th until August 28th to let us know the work had still not been completed.
I would also like to thank the BBB for assisting in bringing this problem to light however it should be noted that resolution was well under way prior to the complaint being filed as evidenced by the time line I have provided.

***** *****
President, CEO, Managing Broker
Synergy Real Estate Group Inc


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A) His response is about 37% Accurate and about 63% total BS.
B.) It took me 37 days to get the work done that ws promised on Aug 1rst.
C.) I was stood up 3x by their sub contractor after I took off work to meet him.
D.) Idel Threat?? I simply stated that I was a contractor and I was going to have the work completed by my crews and invoice them after being stood up 3x.
E.) It took me filing a complaint with the BBB to get anyone back out to my residence.
F.) It was 1 light bulb bc I personally changed the other 13 myself when they were suppose to be installed on August 1rst. I replaced on August 22nd after being stood up 3x.
G.) The owner has no clue what is going on within his business or with his employees and their subcontractors.
H.) 110% The worst experience Ive ever had with any business. And as a business owner myself I deal with ALOT of people.
I.) SHOULD I KEEP GOING?????


Final Business Response
BBB,
Synergy Real estate Group Inc stands by its original response and has no additional information to add to this case.

Thank you,
***** *****

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.