BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/20/2003

Merrell Home Improvements

Phone: (931) 647-7316Fax: (931) 647-4702View Additional Phone Numbers445 Alfred Thun Rd, ClarksvilleTN 37040-5335 Send email to Merrell Home Improvements

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company home improvement services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/20/2003

BBB has determined that Merrell Home Improvements meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Merrell Home Improvements' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Merrell Home Improvements

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
09/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Will not return phone calls. I talk to a receptionist then she saids someone will call me back. Failure to deliver product.
Failure to return ph. calls. Supposely a replacement unit for a joyce sunroom has been ordered. I paid a deposit of 183.00. 4-5 week delivery. Check was 6/13 They are the only ***** sunroom affiliate in TN so I had to use them. Terrible customer service from the start till now, the process started in May. The receptionist has always been nice and I can tell frustrated, she saids someone will call me back and they never do. The person I eventually got in touch with and came out to do the measurements was **** and he came out 6/13. We are in the process of selling our house and failure to get the window unit fixed has been frustrating and a hindrance in showing our house.

Desired Settlement
get the job done and possible a discount on the cost of replacing the unit.

Business Response
We apologize for the frustration of our homeowners. We have ordered a unit for replacement, however the manufacture sent us a incompatible window. We have ordered a new window and will install the correct unit when it is delivered. I have provided the homeowner with a letter ensuring that we will complete the work for the sale of their home.

08/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
There were missing and broken parts for the new windows they installed in my home. Three months of me calling them has not resolved the issue.
I purchased new windows for my home, to include installation, through Merrell Home Improvement, Clarksville, TN. When they installed the windows in May 2014, there were some broken and missing window parts. Merrill stated they would order the parts And have them installed within two weeks. Three months later the windows have still not been fixed. Every time I call them their answers include: the part order was over looked; the parts are here but we need a special tool to install them; we are waiting for the special tool; or simply "we'll call you right back" and then not retuning my calls. Sales rep name is **** who works from the Merrell Clarksville, TN office.

Desired Settlement
I want the missing and broken parts replaced and installed.

Business Response
We have contacted the manufacture several times for the correct replacement parts for the homeowners windows. The manufacture could not provide the tools needed to fix the windows. We have contacted the manufacture and re-ordered the complete units for the homeowners. As soon as the units come in, we will replace the entire window unit, instead of repairing the windows.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


07/09/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company failed to fix bathroom ceiling due to faulty workmanship on metal roof.Ceiling suffered water damage due to leaky roof.Wrong color part used.
Bought a new metal roof last year from the company. They added a 2 year warranty. Roof started to leak above bathroom earlier this year. They were informed numerous times about issue, but failed to fix in a timely manner. Bathroom ceiling suffered extensive water damage, among unknown water damage to floor. They replaced the part two times, and used wrong color both times.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund and the metal roof removed and my old roof re-installed. I also want 10% interest on the money I paid them.

OR

I want them to put the right color part on my roof and fix my ceiling.

AND

I would also like a letter detailing and explaining why the company has not responded to my numerous telephone calls and took my issue serious.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********@bellsouth.net
The ******** are a repeat customer of our company. They refer themselves back to the company for their home improvements.
We installed a new metal roof on the ******** home, there was a small leak around a roof boot, the water has damaged the interior drywall, the roof boot was fixed.
We have assured the ******** that we will fix the drywall damage as we are liable.
Right now we are in the busiest season of the year. Along with the 6-8 week schedule we have for new jobs & warranty work, we also lost our general manager, *** Mills, to cancer. Mr. ***** was responsible for scheduling warranty work, and new contracts. We have been training a new office manager and working our current jobs and warranty work through the schedule. Mr. ******** project is still in accordance to our job scheduling. We have moved up his warranty work to provide him with resolve since he has been a repeat customer, and to close this complaint. Mr. ******** is scheduled for Monday the 1rst of July, we will have to laborers to his home to repair the ceiling drywall damage as promised.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They fixed my ceiling per original complaint. Still waiting for right color exterior roof part to be installed to attain uniformity.

Business' Final Response
WE HAVE MADE REPAIRS TO THE INTERIOR CEILING DAMAGE, THE CUSTOMER WAS HAPPY!
WE HAVE ORDERED A NEW PART AND IT WILL BE IN NEXT WEEK AND WE WILL INSTALL THAT AS WELL.

05/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Window installed by Merrell leaks and Merrell claims it is not their problem.
On the 14th day of September 2012, Merrell Home Improvement replaced a broken, double mulled, window with a new one. Six months later, I now have an issue with water entering the house (dining room) whenever there is a blowing rain from the west. I called Merrell to report the issue, and the repairman claimed it was not their problem. I called another repairman, independent from Merrell, to access the problem. He stated that the J-channel above the window was broken, missing and not replaced. There were also cracks in the vinyl siding that had not been replaced or repaired.

Desired Settlement
I am a blind, senior citizen female, who had a broken window that needed repair. I called Merrell Home Improvement to do the job. Merrell informed me that the window could not be repaired so the entire window would have to be replaced. I had to pay $600 up front and another remaining $600 when the work was complete. Now six months later, the window has leaked water onto the dining room floor of my house. I called Merrell back out to my house and the repairman said it was not their problem. So I called another repairman, independent of Merrell, who noted cracks in the siding beside the window and broken, missing J-Channel. None of which had been replaced or repaired. The independent repairman said Merrell had used silicone instead of replacing the J-Channel, and that the silicone only lasts about six months, which is the reason the window didn't leak for the first six months. The second repairman said he could seal the window so it would not leak anymore. I have agreed since we are experiencing a rainy season. I feel Merrell should pay for the repairs since they refuse to do the repairs themselves. They promise to return calls, but so far, I haven't received a call.

Business' Initial Response
The company sent the owner to resolve this matter, We reinstalled appropriate materials and hope that the customer is happy with the results.
Thank you!

Consumer's Final Response
The owner of Merrell Home Improvement visited my home today, *** 13, 2013, to see for himself the job that was done incorrectly. He called for one of his workers to come out and complete the job correctly. By 5:30 p.m., on the same day, the problem was corrected. We were very pleased by the prompt action taken by Merrell Home Improvement. A friend of ours witnessed that the work was completed correctly.

08/07/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
04/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This complaint spans a number of areas, from failing to follow their code of ethics, failing to complete the project on time and smoking in my home.
I signed the contract for a 10'x12' sunroom addition on September 27th 2013. The project was to be completed in 6-8 weeks and we are now about to hit the 6 month mark and the project is not complete. I contacted the owener in reference to completing the work or canceling on March 4th and was guaranteed the project would be finished within the next 7 days. It is now March 19th and the project is not complete. The Merrell Home Improvement Code of Ethics has not been followed at all. It talks about customer satisfaction above all, but I have had to continuously ask for project oversight and ask jsut to get people to show up and work. They claim to clean the job site daily, but I had to have the owner come out at one point to address the amount of garbage on the site which was removed, but there has not been consistent monitoring and there is now more garbage everywhere. We have gone from ****** to ****** and now to ** and I could not speculate as to who our foreman supposedly is. The code talks about yard sign promotions and yet someone just stuck a sign in our yard, assuming we wouldn't mind. I see commercials offering military discounts and HVAC upgrades for additions, yet everyone in that office knows I am in the military and that was never offered. It is also
something that I would never have asked for as it is something that is done more out of courtesy and respect(also in the code of ethics). Our yard is unusable and has been an eyesore since the fence and deck were removed in November. The last straw was coming home to a house that reeked of cigarette smoke and ultimately catching the contractors smoking inside of our new room. Particularly in a home where we are both non-smokers and my wife is pregnant, this is disgusting and unacceptable.

Desired Settlement
Refund and end the contract and I will find a reliable contractor to finish the job properly.

Business Response
In regards to the complaints filed by the ****** Family,

We apologize for the time constraints on the homeowners Addition projects. Our team is very disappointed with the homeowners' complaint. The contract was written in expectations of having a 4-8 week period, which is often prolonged in our industry depending on the scope of the project and circumstances outside of our control, however there is no term for completion on the contract Mr. ****** signed. Our contract states additional terms and conditions, which reads "that time is not of the essence in this contract" ,"Acts of God, inability to obtain materials or tools, inclement weather- shall not breach or forfeiture the contract."
When securing the proper permits for the project Merrell Home Improvements was notified that we would not be able to build the addition for the property due to the septic tank placement, our representative then pursued the State's health department for soil samples and amendments- this was a time constraint.
After approving the site, the middle TN area experienced several rain systems, followed by freezing weather. Following are quotes form our labor bills- 1-09-2014: " ice is too thick to bust, sent concrete truck back to plant" " Pumped water from foundation" "Hand scooped water from foundation" No true progress was able to be completed on the project until February when the weather was somewhat cooperative.
We have on file labor bills that show progress on the job weekly/daily. We have been communicating with Mr. ****** through email on the progress of the project for updates and scheduling as he stated he didn't receive many messages left for him on his cell. The Cheatam county inspector only inspects on Tuesday and Thursday, and we had an inspection scheduled, then canceled by the inspector. The ******* were also not available for dates that we had Electricians scheduled and we were not notified until the evening prior at 10 pm.
Our company highly respects our homeowner and his services and commitment to our country, and though we did not offer him a military discount we have provided many upgrades and showed lenience with the homeowner on payment. On 3/5/14 an email was sent to Mr. ****** stating "weather permitting we would complete his project 5-10 business days", "if the ground is dry we would do the dirt work", and also offered a" free no cost 10x12 deck" for the delay of completion on his project whereas he would have only received steps from the room. The ****** family was also upgraded from standard electrical covers, and switches, that was their choice, and we found that was agreeable for again the timeliness of the project. Our agreement for payment has not been followed by the ******* which as the contract was agreed to states: 1/3 payment on contract signing, 1/3 payment at project "dry in", and final 1/3 payment on completion. We have not received our second payment on the project and have not pursued payment again due to time constraints. When Mr. ****** was given a time period for a 5-10 business day completion, he selected special order flooring and agreed to waiting period of 10 days for arrival. We also special ordered the siding to match the home which was also a time constraint.
Our company was deeply disappointed in the misconduct of the sub contractor who was found smoking in the home, we immediately took disciplinary action on the employee, as well as repainted the homeowners addition.
In closing I would like to apologize for the time constraint on the homeowners' project, we have provided many courtesies and upgrades for the length of time it has taken to complete the project, and we will pursue payment in full when the project is complete. However, we hope the homeowners are truly happy with end result of their project, we will still honor all warranties and our overall goal is a quality product.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am actually quite surprised and could not be more disappointed with the response from Merrell Home Improvement. After a number or e-mails(which I have records of), phone and personal conversations where they expressed their apologies and assurance that our experience was not normal, their first point is to try and marginalize the situation and state that what happened is typical. If this was a typical experience, the organization would be out of business. The time to complete the project is embarrassing, but that is just a part of the problem. Since there was an emphasis on this I will start with the fact that in the response they agreed that there was a 4-8 week period to start the project that was not followed. Not having much experience with construction contracts I can admit that it was a mistake on our end to sign a contract without a completion date on it and a statement that says, "Time is not of the essence." Unfortunately Merrell Home improvement truly takes that to heart and took 6 months to build a sunroom to the point of being somewhat usable. The 4-8 week period was more than acceptable and would have put us into November with a completion date in December, possibly January at the latest. Using the weather and everything else as an excuse is ridiculous as I have friends in Clarksville that have had entire homes built in the time it has taken to work on this sunroom. I can trace communication problems with Merrell back to e-mails in October when I was asking why I had not been getting any updates. We finally got the deck and fence removed in November, but then no work was started until January, making our yard unusable for months. We were told that the issue involved the sales representative not passing along the proper information to the scheduling representative and nothing was started until I personally walked into the office to express my disgust. Ironically, the office assistant stated that she had assumed the project was almost complete at that point and did not realize it had not been started. How does that happen? I can agree that there were some weather setbacks and the septic concern that limited the project completion by a few days, not months. Also, some of these are self inflicted, as the weather was great when the project was supposed to be completed and oddly enough, it gets cold it January and February. So, I can certainly understand a few days due to weather, but when no one is working for a week or more at a time and there is no communication as to why, then there is a problem. None of the issues identified in Merrell's response delayed the project for more than a few days and I am sure the labor bills and gaps within those labor bills will accurately reflect that. I also have all e-mail traffic which reflects our begging for information and complaints about lack of communication. I was even promised, "I will contact you every morning with the schedule and let you, or your wife know what time we will be there, or if we will not be there." That did not happen. Their next point is that the Cheatham County inspector delayed them, which is true that the inspection was delayed, but that was one aspect of a complex project. Instead of working on the deck, the fence, the siding, the dirt work, etc... they just didn't show up for 10 days while waiting on this inspection. The next point they claim is that we were not available for the electrician, when we told them the night prior not to send the electrician as we were fed up with this contract and that I was filing the original complaint. They sent the electrician anyway. Then they agree that we were told on March 5th that the project would be complete in 5-10 days, "weather permitting," by email and over the phone, ****** ******* guaranteed it in 7. So, they are agreeing that they did not keep that promise and there was no delay due to weather during that time. The next statement involves the ground being dry for the dirt work, which is pretty irrelevant and should have been done well before then anyway. Then they try to make it seem like they did a huge favor with the deck. I can go back to e-mails in October when I was begging to get someone out to discuss the deck and I was ignored. The contract also states we would have had a 4'x3' landing with stairs and they basically upgraded that to 10'x12'. Their response is inaccurate saying we would have only had steps, and obviously they knew there were a number of mistakes on their end or this would not have been done. We were not upgraded the electrical covers and outlets, as I simply asked for the outlets that matched the rest of the house and would have done them myself if I needed to. Additionally, we were significantly under the allotted costs for the lighting and flooring, which more than covers the cost of the covers and outlets and make that argument insignificant. The flooring and siding are terrible excuses to try and justify their delay. Yes the siding was ordered, but they knew about the siding when the contract was signed. It is in the contract to match the siding and it didn't change between when we signed the contract and when they finally decided to order it. The flooring was also ordered. It came in within 3 days and sat in the room for a week before they began installation. They stated the room was going to be completed in 5-10 days and it was not, regardless of the number of excuses. Part of that timeline failure was that there was 1 person working by himself for a majority of those 10 days. I can appreciate the disciplinary action for the employee smoking in our home, but that doesn't make it any better. I also don't think he was the one doing most of the smoking in there, he just happened to be who got caught. We also asked ** about the repainting and were told it was painted again because he saw streaks, not because of the smoking complaint. Needless to say, I can't stand being lied to. The last issue they address is the 1/3 payment timeline. I know of no one that would pay this company another dime at the rate and manner they do business. How would I even know when they are at "dry-in" when there is no foreman overseeing the project and no one keeping us informed? I also would never know when they are truly complete as they consistently go days and weeks with no communication or work being performed. We have gone from ****** to ******, back to ******, then to ****** saying he was overseeing everything, then to ** overseeing the project, but no true foreman or communication. This violates the Merrell Home Improvement Code of Ethics, which clearly isn't worth more than the paper it is printed on. I have pictures and e-mails supporting that they have failed to follow any tenet of their Code of Ethics (outside of the warranty), which essentially makes them an unethical business. You can walk through the backyard and still come across the garbage that they left everywhere, which is another tenet in their code of ethics and has been addressed numerous times. I don't need to go in depth on the Military discount and yard sign promotions that they tried to take advantage of, which are a part of their code. It has been disgusting to work with a company that talks about customer service above all, but yet has none. They have not followed through on any of their timeline or communication promises. They have smoked in a home where a homeowner is pregnant, which is a serious health concern. They are unethical in following their own Code of Ethics, which will require legal interpretation as to whether or not their code is binding. There have been zero courtesies and 1 upgrade, which are not worth what we dealt with. And saying, "We hope the homeowners are truly happy with end result of their project, we will still honor all warranties and our overall goal is a quality product." is embarrassing. As a consumer, I would not wish this experience on anyone and would never recommend this company to anyone.

Final Business Response
As of 4/8/2014 the ******'s room addition has been completed. The final inspections for electrical and framing have been completed and approved, as well as the final inspection.
We understand the ******'s frustration. This project was not completed in the expected time frame and there were several unfortunate incidents that occurred that we are truly sorry for. The family now has a fully useable, beautiful addition to their home that they will enjoy for many years to come. The balance due on the addition is $14,000.00

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/20/1991Business started: 01/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marvin "Curtis" Merrell (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Tamara Borden Mr. Robert Morrison (Project Manager)
Business Category

Home Improvements, Garage Doors & Openers, Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication, Steam Bath Equipment & Supplies, Windows - Repairing, Storm Windows & Doors - Repair, Baths, Windows, Whirlpool Bath Equipment & Supplies, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Shutters, Shower Doors & Enclosures, Screens - Door & Window, Mirrors, Cabinet Hardware, Doors - Patio, Doors, Countertops, Cabinets, Cabinet Doors, Baths - Equipment & Supplies, Awnings & Canopies, Granite, Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Handyman Services, Windows - Installation & Service, Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs, Bathroom Remodeling, Skylights, Siding Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Patio & Deck Builders, Home Improvements - Additions, Gutters & Downspouts, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Outdoor Kitchens, Kitchen & Bath Design, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Merrell Home Improvements

445 Alfred Thun Rd

Clarksville, TN 37040-5335

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 445 Alfred Thun Rd 

    Clarksville, TN 37040-5335(931) 561-6844

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Merrell Home Improvements is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (931) 561-6844
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Improvements

Home Improvements
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.