BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/12/2002

The Craig Company

Phone: (615) 771-9949Fax: (615) 771-9883View Additional Phone Numbers7123 Crossroads Blvd, BrentwoodTN 37027 Send email to The Craig Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/12/2002

BBB has determined that The Craig Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised The Craig Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on The Craig Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
07/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Full down payment I made for $7,000.00 to *********** ********* was not refunded upon cancellation of contract.
On 3/7/2013 I signed a purchase agreement with *********** ********* for lot *** *** ******** to have a home built.There was not a required down payment amount.I chose to put down $7,000.00 dollars so I would know my closing cost was taken care ************** ***** has a document that they call "Celebration Homes **** ***** pre-construction process that they give you to help you through the process of building a home. There are 10 steps listed.
The 1st being complete purchase agreement which I did on 3/7/2013.
The 2nd loan application. I did this.
The 3rd review available selections. There was a slight delay in this process because this had to be done Monday thru Friday during the hours of 8am
-5pm.It was difficult for myself and my fiancée to find a time in which we could both take off a few hours from work.
We never made it to step 4,which was to finalize our selections or choices and to meet with the sales representative **** ********* 4/2/2013 I received an email from **** with a copy of our contract and to call him if we had any questions about any selections. He stated that my check should be deposited sometime that week.
Unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances I had to tell **** that we could no longer continue with the building process.
The construction phase has 12 phases.
Phase 1 is to scrape the lot and spot the house.I informed **** that we could not continue with the purchase before this phase was ever done.
According to **** they would probably have to keep some of my down payment but he did not know what the amount would be this was due to the selection process.
We never went over our selections with him.
*** ***** ***** who is the Vice President of this company stated that it was because they had to purchase the lot.
The lot already had their sign in the yard when we chose that lot.
I was not aware of the amount of money they would retain until I received a check in the mail for $5600.00.

Desired Settlement
I deeply regret that I could not proceed with my business with *********** ***** and purchase a home for my family as it is just not feasible at this time.
My settlement request would be the return of my $1400.00 dollars as this has placed an undue financial hardship on me and my family.
*********** ***** had not even broken ground on that lot or gone over any of our selections nor given me a receipt for any cost incurred. Therefore I do not understand where the amount of $1400.00 dollars was derived from.
*********** ***** is now in the process of building one of their homes on this lot. I do not believe that they suffered any type of financial hardship.
Contact phone numbers are below.
***** ***** Vice President XXX-XXX-XXXX
**** ****** Sales and Marketing XXX-XXX-XXXX

The document *********** ***** Road Map pre-construction process and construction phases will be faxed to you.

Business' Initial Response
We too regret that *** ****** was unable to proceed with the purchase of a *********** ***** We do, however, feel the withheld deposit of $1400 is more than fair based on the following:
*** ****** Executed a Non-contingent Contract to purchase a home on lot *** ********* Non-contingent meaning the contract was fully binding by all parties and NOT subject to any additional conditions. We could have, by contract withheld the entire $7,000 deposit.

After Contract Execution and prior to *** ****** cancelling, we completed:
1) Creation of a Custom Set of plans. This is an internal cost of approx. $850.00. These can not be reused as they are specific to *** ******'s Contract.

2) *********** Staff met with *** ****** to review and start the selection Process. This has an internal cost of $350.00 as we pay an outside consultant for her time in meeting with customers.

3) ***************** closed on a construction loan and purchased the lot that we otherwise would have NOT purchased had *** ****** not wanted to buy it. The Closing Costs (attorney fees, loan origination fee, etc) alone were in excess of $1000.

4) We now own the lot *** ****** placed under contract and paying approx. $250.00 per month in interest carry. This is a reoccurring cost that will continue.

Based on the Non-contingent Contract executed by both ***************** and *** ******, *********** incurred costs that will exceed over $3,000. *********** withheld $1400 of *** ******'s deposit in an attempt to offset a portion of the actual loss.
Additionally, we explained to *** ****** that if/when he chooses to build a home with us we would be happy to apply the $1400 toward that purchase.

In summary, based on our expenses incurred we feel the withheld deposit is both granted by right by the non-contingent contract and more than fair to *** ******.
Feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX with any additional questions.

***** *****

Consumer's Final Response
it was never disclosed that that the lot had to be purchased. Mr *****'s sign was on the lot as available. There are several builders in the development and each advertise on their lots. As far as non contingent contract, that has been reviewed by a local attorney and we are ready to move forward if this issue cannot be resolved..

05/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
While the newly built house was being built, they used our outside faucet, forgot to turn it off, and made our water bill very expensive.
The house next door was in the middle of being built, then I noticed a very high water bill. The water dept said I have a leak somewhere, like a toilet running constantly. I checked, and found nothing in my home. By that time, we got another water bill that was high, and then I thought to look under my home. So, when I was about to check, I passed my outside water faucet, and saw that it was running. I have been home and seen them use it, I didn't complain because I didn't mind if they needed to wash their hands. But when they leave the water on and it costs me a significant amount of money, then we have a problem.

My wife called Celebration homes, and we got a contact for **** ******. I called him and we talked for a bit. He mentioned that unfortunately that does happen and he is sorry about it and he asked me to send him a copy of the two water bills and a typical water bill. We talked again when I sent him the bills, and he said he received them and they will send a check. Two weeks passed and we received nothing. I called **** and he said it is being processed. This was a few weeks ago, and I have called him repeatedly and left him voicemails, and he has not responded or answered. He seems like a nice fellow, but enough time has passed.

Desired Settlement
Really, all I need from Celebration homes is to look over the bills that I sent them, and write me a check for a fair amount. Nothing more, nothing less. It's been months since I talked to ****** and nothing has been done about it.

Business' Initial Response
This has been addressed with ****** ******. We had authorized his reimbursement check but somehow was not processed through our Accounts Payable department. That has now been corrected.

We have spoken with ****** ****** and his check has been mailed.

Consumer's Final Response
Finally. Everything has been resolved. Thank you...

08/06/2012Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/22/2002Business started: 10/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1998, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randall Smith (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Corey W. Craig (Partner)Mr. Lloyd Craig (Secretary)
Business Category

Home Builders, Home Improvements

Products & Services

The company offers new home construction.

Alternate Business Names
The Craig Company Builder, Celebration Homes
Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Craig Company

7123 Crossroads Blvd

Brentwood, TN 37027

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7123 Crossroads Blvd 

    Brentwood, TN 37027

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Craig Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 485-2939
  • (615) 370-1686
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

Home Improvements
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.