BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/19/2008

Michael's Homes, LLC

(615) 216-4589View Additional Phone Numbers1980 Old Fort Parkway, MurfreesboroTN 37129

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/19/2008

BBB has determined that Michael's Homes, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Michael's Homes, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Michael's Homes, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
02/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repair issues agreed upon by builder but are getting unresolved.
HOUSING ISSUES:
House bought from *******'s Homes on September 18, 2014.
Gave original repair list to ******* ***** of *******'s Homes in January 2015.
19 emails have been sent and responded from the builder having to do with the repairs. A few had been done but most of them have been ignored even though they agree to the repairs.
Made numerous phone calls and visits to their office to work out solutions but keep getting responses that they will get back to us, but never do.
Had the house inspected by a building inspector in August 2015 which a lot of major issues were found.
Gave the inspection report to the builder in August and they agreed to fix all problems listed on the report.
Crawl space has not even been touched for repairs: Mold type growth is visible on most floor joists and on the insulation and subfloor in the crawl space. This has been verified by 3 crawl space contractor and restoration specialists. Recommend a professional that uses EPA guidelines. Ducts are not supported correctly, dangling electrical wiring, damaged insulation on some duct work, and missing junction box cover plates. Insulation between the floor joists in crawl space is dangling from insulation. Plastic barrier has been improperly installed with many loose pieces. Recommended enscapulation of crawl space afterwards.
Attic area has not even been touched for repairs: The structure in the attic such Purlins and Braces are not properly installed and wrong size. These are to support the attic structure. Roof rafters were found to be improperly notched, where roof decking material was cut to install roof vents. This is structural problems
Back patio and back garage door have been repaired to specifications, and accepted (only jobs that are done right, so far).
Back patio door still doesn't close properly in cold weather. Windows in the office are now warped from side to side. Before the contractor's repair it was from top to bottom since you couldn't latch it shut. Other windows in the house are bowed at the top, which allow heat escape and cold drafts. Contractor's advice was to use Crisco cooking oil to lubricate the sides. He made no attempts to adjust windows.
Grading of back yard was started by the repair team and part of it destroyed by them bringing an oversized bobcat and tearing up the yard and dumping old grass and scrap dirt in a pile in the back of the property, agreed to repaired their mess but has not been completed. Builder agreed to put in French drains to alleviate the water flow but still has not done it.
Grading around the whole house should slope away from the house 6 inches within the first 10 feet but doesn't except on the garage side. In front of the house the guttering is too small causing water to overflow in front of the porch. Guttering experts recommended 5 inch gutters compared to the 4 inch gutters that are used here.
Caulking was never placed around showers, tubs, and commodes along the floors.
Brick and stone near roofing and windows were not allowed proper clearance for expansion and contraction due to weather changes, one major reason the windows do not operate sufficiently.
Electrical contractor has not been contacted by the builder as of yet. We have electrical code issues, such as improper circuit ARC breaker for bedroom, missing electrical junction box for master tub. No outlet in kitchen Island.
Estimates have been made on the crawl space but builder is not responding to how they will repair. We were told by ****** the builders superintendent said it will be repaired. And we have in writing via email. it even though builder has agreed that there is a major crawl space problem that need to be addressed.
Some of the inside repairs were referred to the builder's contractors but each and everyone except one have made every excuse on doing the repairs, such as grout guy, cabinet and countertop guy, etc. Only one contractor responded but did a sloppy job.

Desired Settlement
Complete the repair work properly ASAP.

Business Response
Mr. ********* has been in touch with our office and has sent emails and met with Mr. ******. We have currently taken care of his electrical concerns, hvac concerns and the window and door. We are awaiting the repair of the yard until weather is better and manpower available. We have been in touch throughout and have made him aware of the items we will repair.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
HVAC folks are supposed to come on Monday, 11 January.

Patio door is still warped and doesn't close below 35 degrees.

Attic area has not been touched yet.

Crawl space still not finished, supposedly the HVAC folks are supposed to repair the ducts. Whether the plastic in the crawl space is properly repaired will be be verified by the inspector to its effectiveness along with the other problems in there.

Grading of back yard near fence is agreed to hold off until weather cooperates, but not too late. Sod has also been agreed upon by **** ******.

Gutters were to be looked at by **** ****** but hasn't done so as of yet.

Final Business Response
We understand that the HVAC company has been out and repaired the issues previously.

Patio back door: We understand that there is a seasonal temperature issue with the back door and the manufacturer's rep has been contacted to take a look at the issue and see how it can be resolved.

**** ****** still needs to have someone look at the bracing issue that is of concern in the attic.

Crawl space is done within code. The homeowner can upgrade to conditioned space if they would like at their own expense.

**** ****** has agreed to add sod where the yard was affected by our workers when weather is favorable and sod is available for cutting.

Gutters still to be reviewed by **** ******.



08/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We built a home with them in Feb 2012 and they have not completed repairs request per our contractual one year inspection.
We built and puchased a home from the *******'s Homes/******** ****** team in Feb. 2012. Per our contract, they would perform repairs at our one-year inspection. On Feb. 6th, I submitted all my repair request pertaining to our home. Stephen came out a few times in March 2013 and addressed some of the problems, but there were still some repairs that were not addressed. On April 14th, I followed up with ******* ***** via email requesting status updates on the repairs that remained unaddressed. I received no response back. On May 13th, I followed up again via email to Ms. ***** and still no response. I called Mr. ******** ****** on May 28th and actually spoke with him on the phone about the unanswered emails and unaddressed repairs. He reassured me that he would follow-up personally with me. It is now July 10th and I still have not heard from anyone and my repairs remain unfixed.

Desired Settlement
For *******'s Homes/******** ****** team to fix our needed repair per our one-year inspection contractual agreement.

Business' Initial Response
We have the original list along with the second email sent by Ms. *******. All issues have been addressed but we can send the painters back out to address the paint situation. I have original lists with notes and a statement from *********** from ********** addressing the pump downstairs. This will be sent under separate email to BBB. The landing mentioned is hardwood so it not possible to be "weak".

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is painter's tape still around our home from the visit back in March where cracks are. The guys that came out in March said they could not address the cracks because they did not have the brown caulk with them. They only fixed the white caulk back in March.

The question is why have they not responded to the several email request to address the items (sent originally)?

No, all issues have not been addressed.

Business' Final Response
On 7/25/13, our warranty contractor, *************** contacted Ms. ******* with regard to the "brown caulk" issue and determined that it has to do with the granite, not painters or walls. The granite has a gap between the backsplash and the granite countertop that needs a caulk added. Since this was determined, we are contacting our granite contractor to make an appointment with Ms. ******* to come back and seal the area. She did not indicate to *************** there were any other issues.

01/26/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/19/2008Business started: 01/01/1998Business started locally: 01/01/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mitchell Bowman (Partner)Customer Contact: Ms. Michele Luter (Office Manager)Mr. Michael McCann (Registered Agent)
Business Category

Home Builders, Construction & Remodeling Services, Home Design & Planning, Contractors - General

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers general contractors services including home building and remodeling services.

Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Michael's Homes, LLC

1980 Old Fort Parkway

Murfreesboro, TN 37129

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1980 Old Fort Parkway 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37129(615) 300-7600
    (615) 890-7053
    (615) 216-4589

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Michael's Homes, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 300-7600
  • (615) 890-7053
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

Home Improvements
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.