BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Lake Forest Homes, Inc.

Find a Location

(615) 941-8678View Additional Phone Numbers109 Sundown Dr, Cane RidgeTN 37013-4678http://www.lakeforesthomesinc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Lake Forest Homes, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lake Forest Homes, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lake Forest Homes, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/04/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Disputed Warranty request repairs. Builder refuses to repair warranty items
Builder Warranty First year, which 2-10 requires builder to repair.
Reading 2-10 warranty booklet.

As relates to current water issue:

I have followed page 5, section E. By first taking necessary steps to remove water from home and contacting builder and representative of builder within 2 hours of noticing defect. I will contact 2-10 tomorrow which is next business day.

page 13 sections 1.1 and 1.2, there is noticeable improper grading and drainage in front yard and affected area.

Page 17 section 5.1 "leaks resulting in actual trickling of water through walls or seeping through floors are deficiencies"

As relates to patio ceiling.

Page 19 section 5.5 in regards to patio ceiling.
"Delamination, splitting or deterioration of siding- exterior siding that delaminates splits or deteriorates is a deficiency"
Loose or fallen siding- "all siding that is not installed properly, which causes some to come loose or fall off is a deficiency"
Siding is bowed- bows exceeding 1/2" in 32 inches are deficits

I have a few more requests now that I am reading this. See the following requests

Upstairs south bedroom closet door does not latch
Page 22 section 6.4

Cracks between finished interior trim/ crown and stair risers throughout house
Page 17 section 4.2

Crack in concrete garage floor
Page 14 section 2.1

See page 6 section IV -2. Original home owner with original fha financing in place we do not have to pay the 250$ claim fee investigation

It also states on page 7 as the original
Owner and have original FHA financing in place arbitration will be at no cost to the owner.

Those are my requests so far, I will continue to look throughout this booklet and other deficiencies within the home to be included.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking builder to honor warranty repairs as indicated. I will provide estimates and reports from contractors. At this point, I do not trust the builder to correct the defects in an honorable fashion. I would like to have a contractor of my choice repair the above listed items and the builder reimburse for those repairs.

Business Response
To whom it may concern-

All this complaint is based on 2-10HBW which is a national company and the leading and nation home warranties. They are the ones who have instructed our company, that "Ice Damming," which is caused by an ICE STORM is excluded from warranties, just the same as a tornado, hurricane, or any other act of God would be. Please see SECTION VIII. "EXCLUSIONS," from your 2-10HBW booklet, specifically 7(d) which excludes ice storms.

I'm attaching 4 documents for your review (including the above mentioned). I have also contacted 2-10HBW, on 2/21/15, to discuss your case. An LFH representative was at your home on that date and twice on 2/23/15 (which included myself). As you know, we met with you and concluded with you that the water was draining in the right direction. We concluded this in 2 ways: 1. using a 4' level 2. you brought a bucket of hot water, which drained exactly where it is suppose to.

A few days ago there was an HOA meeting for ******** Downs, the subdivision in which Mr. ******* lives in, in the meeting the "ice damming" was discussed as it effected many homes in ******** Downs and all over Middle TN (including my own home, as you know). It was concluded that this was a "state wide issue" that homeowners insurance and homeowners are responsible for. Never the less Mr. ******* thinks his case is unique, in the entire state of TN.

Mr. *******, please review attached docs: If you think this is not your signature, please let us know, immediately. If it is your signature: as the doc's, which you are signed on say, "there will be no further discussion."

1. "Lake Forest Homes, Inc One Year Limited Warranty", which both you and your significant other are signed initialed on. This was done May 9th, 2014. Please look at 6:"EXCLUSIONS" (A)(C)(E)(F)(G)(J)(O), also 8: "EXCLUSIVE WARRANTY."

2. "Addendum to purchase contract"

3. Regarding the patio ceiling, which you want one like your neighbors home, see "Lake Forest Homes, Inc Buyer's Acceptance Affidavit"

4. SECTION VIII. "EXCLUSIONS," from your 2-10HBW booklet, specifically 7(d) which excludes ice storms.

These are ALL docs that you and your significant other have signed and dates.

I'm also adding a link to 3 local news outlets which covered the issue of "Ice Damming," in the Nashville area:

*************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Mr. *******, all you had to do is clear the snow and ice from your roof and sidewalk, as any responsible homeowner should do, but you didn't. The damages to your home were cause, directly, by your negligent behavior, which continue by you not having a professional remove the water from your home, letting it continue to damage your own property. Ice Storms and Ice damming are covered by most home owner insurance policies, but yet you continue to try to put the fault on us for an act of god, which you know is not covered by your limited home warranty.

- We wish you all the best and hope you will not force us to take you to court and seek damages for your continued reckless actions and behaviors.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, I do not accept this response. There are issues that are not in correlation to the ice damming which is a separate issues. This is more of the same excuses, builder refuses to stand behind his craftsmanship.

Final Business Response
Good morning,

The costumer didn't supply any further information to support his case. We are very sorry the Ice Storm has caused damaged to his home, but this is a homeowners insurance case. Costumer mentions, several times, the 2-10HBW warranty company (which is a National Company) but they are the ones who instructed us that "Ice Storm damages are NOT covered." The document which they supplied us was supplied in previous correspondence, document shows that Ice Storms are excluded. -Costumer has been told this, several times.

Thousands on people in Middle TN were effected by the storm, this storm was the worst to hit Middle TN in decades - please see link to Tennessean story. Costumer, very well knows, that our company has honored the 1 year limited warranty several times in the past.
**********************************************************************************************************

-This is a CLEAR homeowners insurance case.

We wish Mr. ******* nothing but the best and hope he continues to enjoy his home.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/05/2006Business started: 01/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2000, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tomer Minuskin (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Debra Beasley (Sales / Marketing)
Business Category

Home Builders, Home Design & Planning, Real Estate Developers

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers residential new home construction and building services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lake Forest Homes, Inc.

109 Sundown Dr

Cane Ridge, TN 37013-4678

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 109 Sundown Dr 

    Cane Ridge, TN 37013-4678

  • PO Box 126 

    La Vergne, TN 37086-0126(615) 941-8678
    (615) 456-2300

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lake Forest Homes, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 213-8444
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.