BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1994

Honest Abe Log Homes, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (931) 258-3648Fax: (931) 258-3397View Additional Phone Numbers9995 Clay County Hwy, MossTN 38575 Send email to Honest Abe Log Homes, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1994

BBB has determined that Honest Abe Log Homes, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Honest Abe Log Homes, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Honest Abe Log Homes, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Log Home Package not built to standard that was originally discussed.
I purchased a Log Home package from Honest Abe which included the dry in construction by one of the multiple Honest Abe crews that they use to build their homes in the middle TN area. The individual that was originally provided to do the work by Honest Abe fell very short of his responsibilities and was removed by law enforcement due to a domestic issue which was the end of this individuals work. Honest Abe sent out *********** to assess situation and it was found that work done by this contractor was not up to the standards that Honest Abe expects for its customers. **** had another individual finish the work and redo a good deal of what had been previously done which went smoothly for the most part. The original crew walked on the logs and muddy boot prints are all over interior and exterior surface of logs which has been a large struggle to remove. Honest Abe provided cleaner to remove these boot prints and it was not a fix all solution. A outside company was sent out to assess the situation by Honest Abe and found other issues while they were there. One of the corners of the home has daylight showing through where the logs were not pulled tight during the erection of the home which is a route for air leakage, water damage, and insect trouble. The outside company offered to caulk around the corners of the home at no cost for me which was much appreciated and done in a timely and professional manner. There is a interior wall in great room that has 2 perfect 2x4 markings where during original erection of home they were placed against log to provide a walking structure to erect the roof system, due to length of this the sun has left a picture frame effect on this location and logs are much lighter in this area than rest of wall. **** was asked how to fix this issue and he once again directed to me a outside company. I was told to use a solution of water and oxi clean to bleach out the logs to make them all the same color again, this actually stained the log a bluish/greenish tint where I tested this theory. I am much overdue on the finishing of my home costing me many fees in month to month rent etc. I have to have my home finished at the end of April and my main living area has logs that are discolored with no foreseeable fix by Honest Abe in the near future. I have run out of time and patience to track down Mr. ****** to get directed to someone else that is not even employed by his company to find a solution to my issue. When I purchased my package it was for a professional construction of a log home that was weather tight and ready to be finished out by myself and a contractor of my choice without months of prep work to be completed before finishing could begin. I instead inherited a home that was built with sub par standards as stated by Mr.******* that is not weather tight and is in no shape for finish work to be done due to discoloration that will always show through stain. I would not recommend Honest Abe for any construction aspect of a home. The logs were cut very well and were beautifully packaged. The issue is in the construction phase and not being able to receive expedient answers that actually produce a result instead of just dragging me along for a long painful and expensive ride like I have received. I started this process in the end od Sep. beginning of Oct of 2013.

Desired Settlement
A actual solution to fixing the log discoloration issues that does not cost me any more money or labor provided by myself to obtain this result. I have a contract with them which included dry in construction which I feel is still not being honored. I agree they can not control individuals but they do have the ability to provide a professional solution in a timely manner which has not been provided. The only time a Representative has seen my house is the day the contractor they provided was arrested, I ask how can you honestly provide answers to things you have never taken the time to come look at.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****
Honest Abe Log Home's has had an active role in assisting Mr. ***** with many of the issues brought forward in this complaint, and we remain willing to give our professional council and advice.

In an unfortunate event for everyone, the original crew leader was removed from the job site by law enforcement due to a family domestic dispute that arose on-site. Honest Abe's contract with said crew was immediately terminated. In preparation for assigning another crew, ****** ******* Construction Manager for Honest Abe, along with another crew leader, did an inspection of the work performed to that date. It was found by Honest Abe that not all work was up to our own standard of quality. A second crew was contracted to finish the construction and address the other issues identified by Honest Abe. As already communicated to Mr. *****, the actions of the first crew do not reflect the ethics or values of Honest Abe, and in addition to our sincere apology, Honest Abe made swift steps to address the issues that arose from the incident. The job was kept on schedule and was completed in a timely manner for winter construction.

Addressing dirt on the logs, shadowing left by 2x4s, and the need to caulk certain exterior surfaces, these are areas not covered in our agreement with Mr. *****. The nature of our product exposes the finished interior surfaces to weather and elements throughout the dry-in construction process, from beginning to end. This exposure leads to the likelihood of dirt, weathering and possibly the discoloration of logs. Conditions found at Mr. *****'s home upon inspection by ****** ****** and **** ******* of Perma-Chink Systems, do not appear to exceed a typical construction project. It is a normal and natural procedure for the exterior and interior surfaces to be cleaned and/or sanded after construction. Honest Abe does not provide this service and has no agreement with Mr. ***** written or otherwise. This information is covered at length in Honest Abe's Construction Manual, of which a hard-copy was mailed to Mr. ***** along with his floor plans.

****** ****** asked that **** ******** a representative of Perma-***** Systems, visit the site to assist Mr. *****. Perma-***** is the stain and maintenance supplier chosen by Mr. ***** as part of the materials package of our agreement. **** is a 25 year veteran of our industry and his experience includes construction and maintenance of log homes. He has taught seminars, both on-line and in person concerning log home maintenance and is held in high regard throughout the log home industry. In speaking with ****, he stated that he advised Mr. ***** on preparing the logs for staining. **** also performed work on-site by caulking a majority of the exterior corners, and other areas as needed. While giving Mr. ***** a number of possible options, **** did advise him that his best option was to lightly sand the logs on the interior. **** has also offered to assist Mr. ***** further.

Honest Abe Log Homes does not provide weather tight construction as an option in our contracts. As a service, Honest Abe's dry-in construction takes many of the building components sold in our materials package and erects the home. For example, finished roofing product such as shingles is not a part of Honest Abe's materials package, and thus not a part of the dry-in labor service. For the home to become "weather tight", steps need to be taken, as covered in our Construction Manual, to complete construction and seal the home. Honest Abe has no contract with Mr. *****, written or otherwise, to exceed our typical construction service.

Honest Abe has also had representation on the site more than Mr. ***** is aware of. ****** ****** has visited the site on at least five occasions. Honest Abe also facilitated the assistance of another crew leader to help inspect the construction practices of the first crew. In addition, on Honest Abe's behalf, Paul Peebles has visited the job site on two occasions. To Mr. ********* knowledge, he has not failed to return a phone call to Mr. ***** or communicate with him in a timely manner.

In closing, the work Mr. ***** is wanting completed is not part of our labor contract, is a responsibility of the customer, and not a service we even offer. In an effort to assist, we have provided costly materials and time to Mr. *****, free of charge, to help prepare the logs for staining and finishing. This was not done out of a contractual obligation, but was done in good-faith to assist with the project. Again, we apologize for the incident that arose with the first crew, as it was not in-line with our values and how we do business. We do feel we have fulfilled our contractual obligation, and furthermore exceeded our agreement as part of a fair compensation for the inconveniences involved with replacing the first crew.

We remain open to communicating with Mr. ***** and visiting his home again to provide guidance in preparing his home to be finished.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not find this response to be a adequate solution to the issues I have experienced. I feel the company is trying to make it out that I did not go over the contract that I signed for. I understand that typically performing extra caulking to a home is not a part of the agreement I entered into with Honest Abe, however when the reason for extra caulking is the result of poor craftmanship during construction that makes me have to take extra steps I feel it is not my responsibility to take on the full cost of material and labor. The work I agreed to was not performed like they have admitted to. In my guest bedroom you can look at the log corner and see the outside front lawn. I ask how this is meant to come back on the customer's shoulders when Honest abe was meant to build the home correctly. I can agree during construction there is a lot of garbage and dirt that comes with the process, however it is known that the logs of a log home are a finshed product and walking on them is not acceptable. Due to negligence by Honest Abe and their crews I do not feel it is my responsibility to have to come behind them and pay extra labor for these marks to be removed from my home when typically these kind of marks are not present during construction. I am not asking them to clean dirt off my home that is a result of weather such as rain hitting the ground and having dirt/mud splash onto the logs. I understand that this will happen until gutters are installed by myself and my contractor. The 2x4 shadowing is a result of the crew building a walking platform to install the roof trusses and etc. Due to the crew being removed from the job site by law enforcement and the delay until the next crew could resume work my home was left with these 2x4's in place much longer than they should have been causing the shadowing. The work was not on schedule initially with the first crew. They had insurance issues that delayed work for 1 week. I was guaranteed prior to signing a contract that all crews provided by Honest Abe were already insured and no problems would arise for me regarding this matter. This can also be cause for the 2x4's remaining in place causing shadowing. The crew did not show up multiple days when the weather was sunny and clear during normal business hours and my question to you is this: how is this staying on schedule? I was told prior to signing my contract that the crew assigned to do the work on my home would only have my home to work on and that multiple jobs were not done so that delays like this were not meant to happen. In regards to the comment about receiving extra materials, I am unsure of what they are speaking about besides 2 cases of caulk that were reccomended by ********** with Permachink due to poor construction of the logs in the corners. I feel this is not a sign of going above and beyond. Honest Abe had to replace a good amount of materials on my home due to poor craftmanship by the first crew but this again is not above and beyond, they only replaced required materials that were needed to adequately finish my home. **** ****** has not been to my home 5 times as they have claimed. I arranged meetings with **** at my home on my days off so we can discuss things at the job site. I have only talked to **** at my home the day of the first crew getting arressted and the following week when he meet the second contractor and myself to go over what he expected to be done to my home. Mr. Peebles did come to my home on 2 occasions per my request and not because Honest Abe was trying to go above and beyond but because I had requested **** ****** be present and this never happend. Mr. ****** is not taking into consideration the delays and how much this has cost me financially to have a place to live during construction of my home. I have had to keep my current living situation due to the poor performance of his crew. Delays were also present when the second crew came into the picture because the had to remove and redo multiple things to the home which took extra time that should have never been needed to construct my home. I am the proud owner of a home with gaps so large in the corners you can see outside which also allow bugs to penetrate my home. This will also cost me more heating and cooling costs forever because caulking the corners does not subsitute for good construction. The larger area of caulk in some places is unsightly because it is not uniform to the rest of the home. My back door has a scratch in the fiberglass material that Honest Abe says is able to be fixed by staining the door. Stain will not fill the missing fiberglass and it is always going to have a scrtach. I paid for a perfect door not a damaged one. My window screens have a couple spots where the aluminum surrond is damaged or missing and these have never been replaced. I ask why are these costs going to fall back on me when I paid for quality materials and recieved damaged ones. Honest abe has not gone above and beyond as they have stated. If they had truly made a valid attempt at rectifying the situation then I wouldn't be fixing issues still. The response from Honest Abe seems like they are okay with me having a home with multiple issues of poor construction that are present. If I knew I would have recieved a home in this condition then I would have pursued a different route. Overall, Honest Abe has fallen short of what was agreed to regardless of what Mr. ****** thinks, he has never once visited my home and his construction manager left all his notes about my home in his notebook which still sits on my front porch. So how can they be 100% sure what was actually wrong with the home? I am a very patient and understanding individual but we have far surpassed ** limit at this point. I am not happy with the response provided. I hope the BBB can assist me further. Thanks, ** *****

Final Business Response
On Thursday morning, May 1st, **** ****** left a voice message for Mr. *****, to which Mr. ***** returned his call later in the day. The two had a discussion about the ongoing issues. It was asked of Mr. ***** what he would like to see occur to reach an agreeable solution. The conversation was ended with the expectation that Mr. ***** would be back in touch with **** ****** soon to discuss further. While Honest Abe does not agree with all of Mr. *****'s statements, we do remain open to working with Mr. ***** to seek a resolution.

****** *******, President
Honest Abe Log Homes

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 11/17/1993Business started: 01/01/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: April 1980, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shane Smith (CEO)Customer Contact: Mr. Joshua Beasley (President)
Business Category

Home Builders, Log Cabins, Homes & Buildings

Products & Services

The company is engaged in the manufacture and sale of pre-cut
logs for the construction of homes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Honest Abe Log Homes, Inc.

9995 Clay County Hwy

Moss, TN 38575

To | From


5 Locations

  • 3205 Highway 111 North 

    Cookeville, TN 38506

  • 448 Crabtree Road 

    Crossville, TN 38558

  • 9995 Clay County Highway 

    Moss, TN 38575

  • 9995 Clay County Hwy 

    Moss, TN 38575

  • 233 River Rock Blvd 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37129

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Honest Abe Log Homes, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 231-3695

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Home Builders


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.