BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/18/1998

Goodall Homes & Communities

Find a Location

Phone: (615) 451-5029Fax: (615) 451-4029View Additional Phone Numbers393 Maple Street Suite 100, GallatinTN 37066 Send email to Goodall Homes & CommunitiesView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/18/1998

BBB has determined that Goodall Homes & Communities meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Goodall Homes & Communities' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Goodall Homes & Communities

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
04/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Arlington Model home & virtual tour is a brick-walled covered porch and back. Vinyl is delivered on 2 walls & back. Brick is not an offered option.
A key design feature was the covered brick-walled (3 walls) porch which the bedroom and great room overlook. It was not until we drove down an adjacent street of villas and looked at the villa backs to see what buyers had done with their porches after market (screened, glassed, etc.) that we discovered that the backs were NOT like the model and virtual tour but were vinyl !!! This had never been discussed even when we stated to the agent it would be difficult to chisel brick to add an additional electrical outlet on the porch! We then asked 2 owners about the difference between the brick vs. the model and they stated that they were STUNNED to find out AT THE FINAL WALKTHROUGH that the brick was turned into vinyl on the back and 2 walls of the porch! They didn't know either. We then proceeded to the sales office where ALL THREE SALES ASSOCIATES were present and witnessed our shock at this discovery. Two of them did not emerge from their office (they usually do) when they heard what the issue was even though there were no clients. It was stated brick is NOT an option or an upgrade. A brick porch was represented to us and if we had known it was vinyl we would not have purchased a home with upgrades only to look through multiple windows and door onto a cheap looking vinyl porch.
Our current home is for sale and likely to sell anytime. The clock is ticking to resolve this dispute so we know how to move forward. Ground has not yet broken and we are needing to resolve this. Vinyl is not acceptable here especially after we upgraded with wood flooring, granite, fireplace, and a treyed ceiling to name a few. At Stonebridge we dealt with the same sales agent from the first day she gave us a packet and the model key.

Desired Settlement
The sales agent stated that brick is not included and if permission is given for a "custom upgrade request" it will be very pricy. From that we take that there is no other choice but a refund.

Also, Goodall should tell everyone who views the Arlington model that the porch and back are not as they are represented in the model and virtual tour online and brick is not offered as an upgrade. If it had been on the option list we would have realized it was not included.

Business Response
We were not aware of the issue until now. We are happy to refund the customer's money and cancel the contract, or we are happy to add the brick and charge the appropriate amount for the feature; whichever makes the customer happy, we are glad to accomodate.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After much deliberation we have decided to accept Goodall Home's offer to refund our money and cancel the contract. To date we have paid Goodall Homes a total of *********

Respectfully,

***** and ***** ********

10/29/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
10/02/2012Delivery Issues
08/20/2012Delivery Issues

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/30/1996Business started: 06/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1990, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Goodall (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Keith Porterfield (COO)Mr. Bob Goodall, Jr. (President and Owner)
Business Category

Home Builders, Real Estate Developers, Contractors - General

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers the development and sale of homes.

Alternate Business Names
Goodall Homes - Lockwood Glen, Goodall Builders/Realtors, Goodall Inc. Builders, Goodall Inc. Realtors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Goodall Homes & Communities

393 Maple Street Suite 100

Gallatin, TN 37066

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1011 Swanson Lane 

    Franklin, TN 37064

  • 393 Maple Street Suite 100 

    Gallatin, TN 37066

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Goodall Homes & Communities is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 448-8929
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.