BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/2011

America's Home Place, Inc.

(615) 784-0030View Additional Phone Numbers1129 Franklin Rd., LebanonTN 37090 Send email to America's Home Place, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/2011

BBB has determined that America's Home Place, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised America's Home Place, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on America's Home Place, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
04/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
None complication of my home by continually
delaying on production of home for no apparent reason such as weather etc.
Closed construction loan on X-XX-XX with all building permits paid in full. For 5 weeks nothing started on due to vacations.I am being charged interest on the construction loan will they are vacationing. I was told house could close in November or December of 2014 at the latest and should be in by Christmas. Contacted corporate **** ******* in January to make complaint. He gave me a close date of Feburary 13 and the 20th at the very latest. Which was 3 weeks to complete it. Still home is not done and very little was done in those 3 weeks. Weather was nice for the first 2 weeks. I am paying 5.5% interest on this loan and no one seems to care if the home is completed as they have been 80% paid to date. Something needs to be done as I am constantly told the septic system will be installed on Monday. I have heard this since November 2013. I honestly feel I am being discriminated against due to my sex and Spanish decent. They built my white neighbors home in 4 months. Mine is ending 9 months and I constantly reminded them to get the septic in before winter of 2013 it's now winter of 2014 and I am still in my RV. When I contact **** action takes place but once he leaves no one shows up to work again. The water they installed to the house this week froze over the weekend. I have issues with black mold on my lumber package they used and most of it is in the flooring above the crawl space. This is of great concern to me and I want it inspected and certified to be dead and safe to live in.

Desired Settlement
House sold to me at the cost of $232,000 and to close in 1 week. I will provide them with a Septic Installer referral of ***** ******* ******* *** *********** ***** ******* ** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX Cell XXX-XXX-XXXX My estimate was for $8000.00 on 1/19/14.

Business Response
We here at Americas Home Place are, in fact, building a new home for Ms. ***** ******. We poured the footers on August 1, 2014 which is when we consider the project to have started. Ms. ******'s home is being build upon a man-made building site where as her home covers a majority of the available real estate leaving very little room to install the necessary septic tank. Because of this, we chose to install the septic tank after the majority of the exterior work was completed in order to minimize the threat of damaging the tank. Unfortunately, once we reached that phase of construction, the area designated for the septic field lines was unsuitable for digging due to being in a state of perpetual wetland. We did recognize an opportunity to mobilize and execute the installation of the septic system during the second week of February, thus allowing the completion of the house by February 20th. On February 15th, Nashville was hit by a severe ice storm that paralyzed the construction workforce for several weeks only to have the event repeated on March 5th.

We have been working as diligently as possible to complete Ms. ******'s new home but this winter's storms have significantly hampered our ability to perform any and all types of excavation, i.e. grading and septic system installations.

The aforementioned mold that was present on the framing lumber was most likely a harmless strain known as Cladosporium or more commonly, "Sapstain" fungi. Both of these fungi are completely harmless to humans and present all around us. Nevertheless, we treated the affected framing members twice and have ordered sampling and testing to be performed prior to Ms. ****** moving in to her new home. We will provide her a copy of the test results.

At the time of this response, we have been able to install the septic system and we anticipate Ms. ****** will be able to move into her new home in the near future.

Americas Home Place


09/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Horrible quality of work and on our new home.
We elected to hire Americas Home Place to build our dream home on our land. BIG Mistake! Not only did it take 3 months longer than planned, during the construction the house was 1) laid out backwards, 2)footers poured in wrong locations, 3) materials were delivered 45 days early and sat in the weather the entire time until I complained enough to get them covered, 4) Bar joists were DRAGGED up our drive breaking 5 of them, 5)contractors routinely dumped trash on our land and we were told they would "clean" it up when the house was complete by pushing the trash in with the foundation backfill , 6) water cutoff valve was covered up during construction.

Post construction, 1) We have found our roof has large gaps on the eves allowing water and bugs in the home. 2) The septic line was buried over large stones instead of a bed of stone which caused the line to break when driven over. 3) Cabinet trim has broken/fallen off multiple times and have NEVER been fixed correctly. 4) Sink not correctly sealed, 5) Showerhead had no pressure and found out the line was full of trash., 6) Pipe popped apart in wall flooding basement. 7) ALL HVAC units leaked out refrigerant within 18 months of installation!

There has been 3 warranty reps all have left or quit therefore getting help is near impossible.

As a whole the worst mistake I have ever made was contracting them to build our home

Desired Settlement
I would like a full home inspection by an independent firm outlining my concerns and all issues that are part of the home construction corrected. Also, reimbursement or replacement of floor coverings lost in basement flood, cabinets repaired, new Fridge that was part of home package purchase is leaking damaging floor to be repaired, roof repaired, costs associated with repairs of HVAC system reimbursed, and water cut off located and placed in an accessible location as requested.

Business Response
May 23, 2014

RE: BBB complaint filed by Mr. **** ******


America's Home Place received the initial notification on May 16, 2014 after the BBB's representative resent the correspondence to the correct email address. All correspondence sent prior to this date was returned "undeliverable" due to an incorrect email address for America's Home Place.

We contacted Mr. **** ****** on May 20, 2014 to gain clarity of the situation. We promised Mr. ****** that our Warranty Manager would be in contact with him in order to schedule an appointment for a site visit to further discuss the issues that he had concerning his home.

Our Warranty Manger contacted Mr. ****** on May 23, 2014 to schedule said appointment. The appointment is scheduled for May 28, 2014 at 5:30 P.M. We will work diligently to resolve any and all of Mr. ******'s concerns.


America's Home Place


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have been contacted and have a meeting today with a warranty rep from AHP. Considering the lack of customer service in the past I am hesitant to say all is good. Once all documented issues are addressed I will be happy to close out the complaint.

Final Business Response
We have addressed and completed all but just a small few items that will complete later this week and Yes everything with the client seems to be very happy with all that has been done from the original complaint. I will follow up with you when we have a "Signed & Accepted Warranty List Sheet" that must be approved and signed off on by the homeowner that they are in fact "Accepting All Work Completed".

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of today AHP is working with me to resolve the issues. I am still having some issues with the subcontractors. We have been waiting on a 11x12 piece of carpet for over a month now. We even told the AHP sub that we will accept ANY similar carpet and it does not have to be the same.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/15/1994Business started: 01/01/1972Business started locally: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1994, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Barry Conner (President)Customer Contact: Jeremy Payton (General Manager)Mr. Scott Blake (Sales Manager)Mr. Phil Lelievre (divisional President)
Business Category

Home Builders, Home Design & Planning, Contractors - General, Building Construction Consultants

Products & Services

This company offers residential construction services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for America's Home Place, Inc.

1129 Franklin Rd.

Lebanon, TN 37090

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1129 Franklin Rd. 

    Lebanon, TN 37090(615) 784-0030

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*America's Home Place, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 848-9363
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.