BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Yes Air, Inc.

(615) 653-3435 (Disconnected)3325 Memorial Blvd Ste E, MurfreesboroTN 37129-0221http://www.yesairhvac.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers HVAC and air quality services.

BBB Accreditation

Yes Air, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Yes Air, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
10/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They came to my house and charged me for several different items which were not needed then they proceeded to have me replace the whole system.
On the 12th of Sept. I contacted Yes Air in regards to my AC not working. I informed them that I had my AC unit worked on twice once last summer and then again at the begining of the summer each time they had to refill with freon. They came to my house and checked my unit and informed me that I need a new battery for my unit. We replaced the battery and then he informed me that my motor needed to be replaced. We replaced it and that evening my AC unit froze up I called them and they told me to turn the unit off and let it defrost that they would be by first thing in the morning. When they came by in the morning he informed me that my coils were busted and no good and I would need to replace them he stated it would be around $1600. I asked him whould it be better to replace the whole system and he said yes that it would cost me 5600 after he takes off half of the charges from earlier. I then decided to have another company look at my system. They informed me they could replace my whole system for $1616. I agreed when we went up to replace it they open the unit and the first thing you notice is the coil, he then asked me why would I have the motor and battery changed when the coil is so rusted out and destroyed. I informed him that was the information that I was given, he then said it was not neccessary to replace them and the person should have told me that from the begining seeing how you have to go past the coils to get to the motor and the battery. Once it was all finished I called Yes Air and asked why this was done and they informed me that it was mold that they saw on the coil an felt the other items where the problem. Me not being a professional in the AC business looked at the coil with a professional an realized that the coil was rusted and falling a part needed to be replace and there is no way it could have went from mold to rust an falling apart in less then a week. Mr ******* was the tech that came to my house for yes air an I spoke to about these issue. It is quite dissapointin that a company would practice such things. Yes Air charged me $514 for services that were not needed. I would like them to return my money and pick up their motor an battery that are not needed.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to give back the money that I have paid them for a product that was not needed or being used. The motor and battery were not neccessary an if they would have replaced the system I still would not need them.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****, General Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@yahoo.com
On 09-12-13, Mr. ****** called our company to state that his 2nd floor A/C system was not working & would like to schedule a service call for that day.
We arrived that afternoon and upon initial observation noticed that his system, starting from the indoor coil to the outdoor condensing unit was frozen.
We proceeded to shut his system off at the thermostat & turn the fan setting on the thermostat to "on", in order to assist in de-icing the system.
We informed Mr. ****** that there was nothing more that we can do at that point & we would return the next morning, 09-13-13.
We arrived at our scheduled time of 7:30 am to continue the diagnosis.
We found that the indoor blower motor had indeed failed. Windings inside the motor were "open". No continuity. The frame of the motor was cool, indicating that it has not been running.
During conversation with Mr. ******, he did inform us that he has had to re-fill the system last year, but has had no other cooling issues since then.
At this point, we informed the customer of the problem, failed motor, & that in order for the system to work, that the motor & capacitor would need to be replaced.
The original quote of the repair, including the service call from the previous day would be $625.00 before the 20% off discount coupon that was made available through our "Clipper" ad.
At that time Mr. ****** approved the repair, and we proceeded to aquire the factory specified parts from the manufacturer & install them.
Upon completion of the repair, the new motor & capacitor worked normally.
Later that same evening, Mr. ****** called to say that he didn't think that the system was cooling well. We informed him that we would come out the next morning to ensure if the system was working properly.
Upon arrival on 09-14-13, we checked for motor operation, which was fine. Checked for water accumulation in the auxiliary drain pan. We noticed approximately 1/2" of water in the pan.
At this point, we flushed & cleared the primary condensate drain line to ensure positive condensate removal, since excessive water in the pan will cause the safety float switch to de-activate the A/C system in order to stop the production of any further condensate water.
We then proceeded to check the refrigerant pressures at the condensing unit, & noticed that the system was just a few ounces low of proper factory charge.
We added 8 ounces of R-22 refrigerant, to which the system was cooling normally at that time.
We informed the customer to watch the system for any further problems.
We did not charge Mr. ****** for any of the work done on 09-14-13.
On 09-15-13, Mr. Wheeler, technician, called Mr. ****** to follow up & see how the system was performing. Mr. ****** said it was cooling fine & that he appreciated the follow up call.
On 09-27-13, Mr. ****** called Yes Air to inform us that his 2nd floor system was once again not cooling.
We arrived later that morning to find that his system was low of refrigerant again.
At this point, we informed Mr. ****** of this & that an electronic leak search will need to be performed to locate the source of the leak.
The leak was found in the evaporator coil, indoor unit.
We informed the customer of this & told him of the approximate cost of a new evaporator coil. About $1600.00 before a 20% discount.
We then discussed the option of the entire system being replaced. It was recommended due to the cost of the repair, plus what Mr. ****** had already invested in previous repairs, that the system should be replaced.
We quoted Mr. ****** a price for a Goodman, 13 seer, 2.5 ton split heat pump at $4650.00.
We then took off a total of $500.00 from that to bring his replacement cost down to $4150.00. Since he had already invested $514.00 into a system that he was going to replace.
To re-but Mr. ******'s concerns about Yes Air's business practices, we state the following:
Upon arrival at a customers home, we diagnose the cause of the problem at that present time.
We ask questions about prior repairs & performance issues in order to assist in our diagnosis.
We address the immediate concerns promptly & accurately.
We then make recommendations for repair or replacement, depending on the cost of said repairs.
Our business practice is not to enter a customers home & use scare tactics in order to sell unnecessary repairs or equipment replacement.
To address Mr. Headens concern about the coil being rusted:
Corrosion on the end supports of an evaporator coil is a natural process due the materials used in the construction of the coil. Steel end supports holding multiple copper tubing.
The condensation produced naturally by the operation of the A/C system causes the corrosion.
We do not alarm a home owner of this since it is common place in the industry.
Stating that the other company said that we had to go past the coil in order to replace the motor is false.
Mr. ****** had a Goodman air handler, model # ARUF-XXX-XXA1A.
This air handler has a 3 panel access front. One for the blower motor & two for the evaporator coil.
The blower motor access panel is above the coil access panels. The lower coil access panels do not need to be removed in order to access or replace the blower motor, which is installed above.
The quote Mr. ****** received from this 2nd company of $1616.00 sends up red flags since that price would just cover the cost of the equipment.
Mr. ****** stated to us in our last phone conversation on 10-02-13, when we listened to his concerns & asked what we could do to resolve this issue, he said nothing & that this other company was a friend of a friend.
The cost of doing a proper, legal business in the State of Tennessee, Rutherford County, The City of Murfreesboro is pricey, to say the least.
Yes Air is legally licensed, bonded & insured.
The final price quoted to Mr. ****** by us to replace his 2nd floor system is for 1, fair & 2, compared to another company who has met all the State & Local requirements for conducting a "like" heating & air business, is quite competitive.
We pride ourselves in providing a service that is exceptional & 2nd to no one.
Mr. ****** has stated that in order to resolve this issue he would like to receive a refund in full.
We feel that the steps we took in diagnosis & repair, & in addressing the post concerns of his system were done in all honesty & in good faith. Mr. ****** knew the cost of the repair prior to it's completion.
Mr. ****** authorized the repair & was in agreement of the cost of the repair.
He was not charged for the refrigerant or additional work done on the 14th, as a sign of good faith & our commitment customer satisfaction.
We offered to take $500.00 off the price of the new system that we would have installed for him.
With that said, we feel that we are not obligated, nor is Mr. ****** due a refund, since he chose to use another entity to replace his system.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes never asked me how they could resolve this issue second of all as they stated they checked the coil first an they would have noticed the cracks an the completely rusted thru coils. Plus they never offered to take the price of the motor off it was stated that half would be taken off. The other company was refered to me by a friend an they are licensed an bonded an gave me the same warranty that yes air offered. Mr Wheeler did refil my ac with coolant an informed me that it was really low an yes he did not charge me do to the knowledge of me needing to replace my coil or the whole unit plus the replacement of my stairs case that we discussed him doing the following weekend. I am truly offended by the blatant disregard to the actual circumstance of the event. I have the coil an me being a novice with my wife looked at the item an new immediately it was cracked an rusted thru I touched the edges of the coil an they were

Final Business Response
When Mr. ****** called us on XX-XX-XX to inform us of his dis-satisfaction, Mr. Wheeler asked him what could be done to resolve this issue. Mr. ****** said that there was nothing that could be done, that he has already decided to use this other person to replace his system.
He then stated even with the money he has already spent on the motor & what he will spend on replacing the system, $1616.00, that he will come out ahead over the replacement quote we gave him.

When Mr. ****** was given the price from our company to replace his system, we offered to give some additional discounts since he has invested money in repairing a system that he was going to replace. As stated before, his repair costs were $517.00, his discounts were going to be $500.00.
This was a good faith offer on our part since the money he has already spent.

Once a new part is installed on a system, it is considered used & cannot be taken back to the manufacturer due to warranty issues.
Yes Air does not sell and install used parts, regardless of the age. In the case of Mr. ******'s motor, we would have recycled it.

As stated before, the rust on the coil is a non issue.
Corrosion is a natural process in most a/c systems because of their construction. A metal end supports the copper tubes as they criss cross back & forth. These metal ends will corrode, especially at the bottom where they come in contact with the condensate drain pan & sit in water. Rusting out of this particular part of the coil is normal. We do not alarm our customers about this as a means to make an additional sale.
In Mr. ******'s case, the coil is at the bottom of the unit, behind 2 separate access panels. The motor was on the top, with it's own access panel.

The price Mr. ****** was quoted by this other person brings up red flags, just based on the pure cost of doing business.
When you take the cost of product, plus taxes, labor, labor burden, insurance & permitting by the City of Murfreesboro, Yes Air would have lost money if we quoted Mr. Headens replacement that cheaply. We stand by our price as fair. We quoted a complete system, to mean, the indoor air handler, duct modifications, the outdoor condenser & procuring an electrical permit from the city of Murfreesboro & a post installation inspection.
It was Mr. ******'s decision to choose to use another individual to replace his system. That is his rightful option.
It was also Mr. ******'s decision to replace his motor.

07/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Spring Service for A/C not done
Had yes air to come out fall of 2013, They had a coupon for $79 that covered heating in fall and a/c in spring. Thay came out last fall and I paid $79 for both or you could have paid $45 for one service, So its spring and wanted to get a/c serviced so call and went to voice mail, now you call it says phone number changed or no longer in service XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like half of pament refunded $39.50 for service not done.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/07/2012Business started: 05/01/2012
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2012, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Teresa Douthit-Woods (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Eric Woods (General Manager)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Repair, Water Heater - Tankless, Water Heaters - Dealers, Air Quality Service, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Water Heaters - Repairing, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Air Conditioning Companies

Industry Tips
Company Out of Business
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3325 Memorial Blvd Ste E 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37129-0221(615) 653-3435

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Yes Air, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

Company Out of Business
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.