BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Subcool, LLC

(615) 962-8693 (Disconnected)800 Park Avenue, Suite C, MurfreesboroTN 37129http://www.subcoolservice.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial HVAC services, and commercial refrigeration installation, service and repairs.

BBB Accreditation

Subcool, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Subcool, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**** at Subcool did fraudulent or inferior repairs to my Hvac unit.
Called warranty company bc heater was not working properly, it ran in Emergency heat mode. Warranty company sent **** from Subcool out. **** said the compressor was bad and needed to order one, he collected the $100 trade fee and left. Upon returning for the repair a week later he changed the compressor and then tried to collect another $97 dollars from me. when i refused to pay stating i am only required to pay the $100 trade fee which i already paid he began to argue with me. I still refused to pay and he walked out the door mumbling under his breathe. he was outside for about 10 minutes b4 he left. later i got a call from the Warranty company apologising for **** stating he was wrong and there was no charge, I have this message saved if needed. The heater did not seem to be keeping up properly still so i called and was told by **** that heat pumps are not really made for the type of extremely cold winter we are having and will struggle on temps under the 30's. Since i trusted the Tech the warranty company sent out i accepted that answer. With an extremely high electric bill and still not keeping up i again called **** at subcool and was downplayed and said he could come check it but if nothing was found it would be another $100 trade fee. As winter is coming to an end it got warm enough to use my A/C which worked fine at the end of the summer and now did not work. The fan would not kick on and blow cold air. I again contacted Subcool and was told **** is out of town and i am out of the 30 day warranty and would need to call another company or my warranty company. After calling my new warranty company and tech was sent out and found **** had either left or knocked a wire off the contact that controls the fan, so in turn not only was my a/c not working but my heater was not working properly either. By this fan not working made my heater run in emergency mode and not heat to its full compacity, the origianl problem to begin with. So either **** replaced an expensive part of my Hvac(the compressor)for no reason or he left or knocked the wire off after repair. I was also told by Subcool that it is documented that my equipment was performing properly after repair. I Have no documentation of this and could not be true because it couldnt work properly with the wire off. Either way I feel he is responsible and should make it good as an honorable businessman would. I have emails from Subcool and Invoice from ***** mistake being corrected if needed.

Desired Settlement
either refund me my trade fee i paid to him or pay the new trade fee it cost me to fix his mistake.

Business Response
It is amazing how there are always two sides to every story. The reason the customer does not have a copy of the documented equipment performance is because he refused to sign the paperwork. I did ask for $90.00 at the end of service. It was a miscommunication between Subcool and the warranty company. I was under the impression I was to collect the recovery fee as an uncovered cost. I contacted the warranty company and they verified that I was not suppose to collect the fee. I requested that the warranty company contact the customer and explain the confusion.
The customer did put in a claim with the warranty company for a return service after approx. 2 weeks. I spoke to him on the phone and he stated that he had spoken with his neighbors and their systems were all running a lot also. He was concerned that he would have to pay another trade fee and he requested I not come out. I closed that work order with no payment.
The customer then contacted Subcool directly on 2/19/14 and wanted us to come out, this is the exact message he sent: "Had compreesor replaced by Subcool in January bc heater wasnt working, turned on AC tonight and it does not work. The fan doesnt spin and compressor doesnt kick on, please contact me asap, thanks!."
I had him notified that the work was no longer under warranty and that he would be charged. I also recommended that he contact another contractor. The reason for this was because he had proven to be an unreasonable customer in the past. I actually prefer not to service this customer because he is a difficult customer. His complaint was also A/C related, his previous complaint was heat related.
The original service was on 1/18/14 and the compressor was replaced. Upon completion of the service the system had a heat rise of 38 Deg., and the system pressures were at 60/205 on an R-22 system. customer also stated that the airflow was much better than it had been. That was because I went above and beyond during the service and cleaned all the dog hair off his evaporator coil. In order to get system pressures and a heat rise as good as he had at the completion of the service, all fans and associated components need to be working properly. Subcool also has a 30 day labor warranty on all repairs. The warranty company also has the same warranty on repairs. This is why he contacted me directly instead of going through the warranty company. His complaint is outside of the 30 day warranty, they told him he would have to pay the trade fee. Subcool will not be refunding the customer any money and Subcool wishes the customer good luck in the future and we are sorry that our working relationship did not work out.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the refund as Subcool stated in their last response and will be expecting a check in the mail shortly, thanks!

Final Business Response
This will be response on this case. There will be refund.

Business Response
Per your request. The last comment should have read. "There will be no refund" There was a typo in the message due to my keyboard.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/21/2012Business started: 08/01/2011
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Bradshaw (Managing Member)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service, Ice Machine Repair, Heating Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Repair, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Air Conditioning Companies

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 800 Park Avenue, Suite C 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37129

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Subcool, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.