BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/13/2003

Quality Heating & Air, LLC

Phone: (615) 713-1403Fax: (615) 895-8876View Additional Phone Numbers105 Twin Oak Dr, MurfreesboroTN 37130-4126 Send email to Quality Heating & Air, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/13/2003

BBB has determined that Quality Heating & Air, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Quality Heating & Air, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Quality Heating & Air, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company should be avoided due to practices involving labor and repair costs.
Quality Heating and Air attempts to overcharge customers. If they identify a repair, they will order the part and either intentionally or unintentionally delay delivery to attempt to install a loaner part. This will cost from $130 to $160 and then they will charge for installation of actual replacement part of anywhere from $165 up. I spent over a week with no air conditioning in my office with temperatures approaching 90 degrees because I was unwilling to pay double-labor because they were "unable" to get the part.

Desired Settlement
Refund labor charges for installation of part $165 to partially compensate for lost wages due to high temperature in my office.

Business' Initial Response
To whom it may concern
Mr. ****** called our company because his A/C system had stopped working. Our company responded to his call promptly as usual. We found a part that had gone bad and immediately ordered through the manufacturer. The manufacturer is ***** supply on Salem Hwy here in Murfreesboro TN. If anyone reading this would care to call them, the person you need to talk to is***** (XXX-XXXX). He will vouch for the fact that it was not our fault the part was delayed. It was never the fact that we were "unable" to get the part. IT was delayed on their end. How are we supposed to prevent that? Secondly, Mr. ****** was asked if he wanted a loaner motor to get him going while we waited for the part. First let me clarify what a "loaner" motor is. This is a brand new motor that we would buy just to temporarily get this customer going. Mr. ****** claims that we "double dipped" as far as labor is concerned? How can you double dip when you are doing the job twice? It seems to me that the only one who wanted to "double dip" was Mr. ******. He wanted us to put the loaner motor in for free. We cant tell our employees that they have to work for free? Bottom line is, we have taken very good care of Mr. ****** (I will provide the service records to back what I am saying). As far as refunding the money, which might I add, it way less than most companies would have charged, I feel like that would be extremely unfair of a customer who got what they paid for. This customer was given the option to do something different and chose not to. We as a company are dedicated to doing the right thing, but on the same token cannot allow a customer who has "always" had a complaint when he called in, (even when the problem was inflicted on his A/C system by himself) to mistreat us.

Mr. ****** sent me a letter stating that he wanted his warranty info and service record sent to him, because he would no longer be using us. This was sent to him on the next business day per his request. Never once, even when I personally called him, did he say anything about refund of his money.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The proposed resolution is not acceptable.

Each response from QHA brings up more questions and these remain irrelevant to the original issue.

QHA states that "as far as the warranty is concerned, had we put any old motor in this system, we could not have claimed warranty on the part" and then goes on to explain the loaner part is "close to what he has (keep in mind there is 'no one size fits all.'"

I am certainly no expert in the HVAC world, but in any other industry, just doing this would have voided the warranty.

The facts are that QHA would have charged labor for the installation of the loaner part and then labor again for the installation of the replacement part. Since this repair took an unacceptably long time to resolve (either due to issues with delivery or purposely to collect additional labor), I ask that QHA refund the labor charges. This is the only acceptable resolution at this time.

Business' Final Response
Seems to me, Mr. ****** is not understanding what has taken place with the motor that he needed and the "loaner motor" that we offered at the time of service. I will start with the motor that Mr. ****** needed. For starters, this motor was still under factory warranty. Secondly it is specific to his a/c system. You cannot just pull the type of motor that he has out and replace it with just any over the counter motor. As far as the warranty is concerned, had we have put any old motor in this system, we could not have claimed warranty on the part. We would have also had to charge Mr. ****** the normal price for a motor and labor. The price he paid for was just labor, since the part was covered under warranty. Let me explain warranty so that there is no confusion on how this works as well. When a warranty part is found bad, we have to call the manufacturer who makes or sales this unit and order through them. We (Quality) pays for the part up front. Once the part comes in, we go to customers home and install the part. We then have to file paper work for the part and then return it to the vendor. They, at that point, issue us a credit. Now lets talk about this loaner that has apparently caused the problems. To start, I will say this, the ONLY reason we offered this customer, or any customer for that matter, a "loaner" part, is solely so that they do not have to go without. Now here is how we obtain and install something like this. We have to first purchase a motor (this is what we are calling the loaner). Meaning, we have to drive to a vendor, locate a motor that is close to what he has(keep in mind there is no "one size fits all), PURCHASE the motor (roughly $55-$70), drive back to customers home and install the motor (this will take about 1.5 hours total, for drive time and installation). Then when the motor that the customer needed in the beginning comes in, we have to do the same process all over again. Keep in mind that when we take the "loaner motor" out, it is now a USED motor, and we cannot sale this motor to another customer. Oh I know that there are some companies out here that would, but we are not one of those. The money that this customer would have spent on the loaner motor, would have in no way be profitable to us. We simply were trying to do what was best for this customer. Looking back, I regret that we offered it in this case. Normally our customers are grateful of the fact that we would go out of our way, not for a profit, but to ensure their comfort. I will also leave the info for the vendor once again, who will back us up on the fact that the motor he needed was NOT in stock and we could NOT get that part any sooner (***** supply *************). I am shocked and disheartened that Mr. ****** came up with the conclusion that we tried to force his hand into buying a motor twice. That is not our practice and never will be. We will be glad to refund this customers money, if he brings the motor that we installed back.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/19/2003Business started: 02/01/2003
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chad Williams (Owner)Mrs. Juliet Williams (Office Manager)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Contractor - Insulation

Products & Services

This company offers HVAC services, attic insulation and air duct cleaning.

Alternate Business Names
Quality Heating and Air, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Quality Heating & Air, LLC

105 Twin Oak Dr

Murfreesboro, TN 37130-4126

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 105 Twin Oak Dr 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37130-4126

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Quality Heating & Air, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 895-8667
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.