BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/12/2002

Middle Tennessee Comfort, Inc.

Phone: (615) 791-1550Fax: (615) 791-6632

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
09/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
It took more than three weeks to resolve an HVAC complaint due to trucks not stock, technician not prepared, and lack of communication.
On 02/10/2014 I signed contract for Middle Tennessee Comfort to sell and install "ONE 2.5 TON ***** HIGH EFFICIENCY GAS PACKAGE SYSTEM ** ** ********

This unit was to replace a ~20 year old HVAC system in which the heating portion had failed.

The unit was installed as outlined in the contract, **** stated that he thought we could apply the value of the thermostat that was included with the unit towards an upgraded wifi model, and he guessed that it would be less that $50 difference.

After the installation and not hearing back about the thermostat, I emailed **** at the same address that he had previously used. After not hearing back from him, I emailed the office manager, ****** *********, at an address that she too had used to communicate with me previously. I received no responses.

Then, around June 10th, my air conditioning stopped working. I called Middle Tennessee Comfort because I had a 1 year labor warranty specific to them, as the installer. I was told that although they didn't know when they could come out, they would send someone "within 1 week." I promptly called them back, explaining to them that my house was already in excess of 80 degrees, and that it was unhealthy for my children, I was told that they had a "new guy" starting the next day, and that they would send him over first thing in the morning.

*** showed up and found a faulty valve stem in the compressor that was causing a loss of pressure and refrigerant leak. His service truck was not stocked with the required equipment to fix this problem, however, so he had to leave and come back after purchasing a valve stem puller and valve stems. Once he came back, he replaced the valve stem and attempted to add refrigerant, but his tank of refrigerant was empty, so he said he would have to come back the next day. (It was explained to me that it was not ***'s fault his truck was not properly stocked, and that he was just given the truck to use that morning and no one had checked to make sure that it was properly stocked.)

*** came back to finish the repair with the refrigerant, but the problem persisted and over the next weeks, we had to call multiple times a week and the problem would only come back a day or so after the service tech left. Multiple times, the service truck was found to not have the parts needed, including teflon tape and fuses.

At this point, after so many visits and never fixing the problem, *** stated that he would talk to **** **** and ***** ******* (the owner) about what was going on, and they would come back to fix the problem. After not hearing back from them after 24 hours, I called the office and was told that they were planning to call ***** to come up with a solution and that they would be out on Monday or Tuesday to fix the problem. I did not receive a call or a visit until I called back again, and **** **** came out to access the problem. He found a faulty part previously not noticed and special ordered a replacement part (that they did not have in stock.)

At this point, we had been forced to spend most days and evenings out of the house, traveling back and forth daily to transport my family and dogs to my in-laws house until we eventually temporarily moved in with them as the weather got hotter and the house stayed hotter than 80 degrees overnight.

Finally, once the part was installed, the unit seems to be consistently cooling again, after a month of hassle.

I would estimate that I drove an extra 400-500 miles due to this inconvenience during the month of June and early July. My electric bill was also higher due to the days that we ran the system non stop, tying to keep the house below 80 F. During this time, I asked to speak to ***** at least five times, each time being told that he was busy, but that he would give me a call back, I have yet to receive a phone call from him or speak to him in any way. I have e-mailed him, at *****@middletncomfort.com and I have emailed **** again as well, both on 7/3/14 w/ no responses.

Desired Settlement
Based on my situation, and the extra money and inconvenience I incurred for an issue that could have easily been resolved after one visit (two max) if the service trucks had been stocked appropriately:

I would accept an internet enabled ***** thermostat to resolve the majority of my complaint, including never receiving the included thermostat with the install and the subsequent lack of follow up, as well as the extra costs associated with vacating my home during the extended repair period.

I also ask that my 1 year labor warranty be transferred to a ***** comfort specialist that may be better prepared to meet immediate service needs, as Middle Tennessee Comfort does not have the staff or stock to adequately respond to service requests.

If this issue can not be resolved by the above, I am open to communication about alternate options.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Middle Tennessee Comfort
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@middletncomfort.com
This customers a/c issues was taking care an fixed. Although it took several times of going to the customers house Middle Tennessee Comfort service guy got the problem taken care of.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Was my complaint even read? You did not address any of my issues.

Final Business Response
Middle Tennessee Comfort has made several attempts to contact Mr. ***** but have not been able to get any answer. We are planning or would like to go on Monday September 8, 2014 an replace the thermostat in the home of Mr. *****.

08/04/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
***** unit purchased and installed in Nov 2013. AC stopped working in May then again in June. No AC going on 3 weeks.
Purchased ***** unit in Nov 2013. When AC unit was used in May 2014 it functioned for about 1 week. Unit was repaired after about 1 1/2 weeks. Then the unit stopped working at the beginning of June. The unit has been completely non function now going on 3 weeks. Eight plus calls to Mid TN Comfort have been made with no resolution to the replacement of the defective unit. It is June in TN with no AC at our house. I need the unit replace with a new working unit ASAP.

Desired Settlement
Replace the defective unit with a new unit.

Business Response
We have order the parts for their A/C and will have them but on their unit on June 24 2014.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Unit was not replaced. They did replace parts on the unit on June 24, 2014 however the unit is not cooling as of 7-1-14. Unit was set at 76deg and the inside house temp on the thermostat is 82deg. Again this is a new unit. With prior failures and continued failure of the unit it needs to be replaced with a new unit.

Final Business Response
Middle Tennessee Comfort replace their a/c unit

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Middle TN came out again on July 2, 2014 and repaired the unit again due to a faulty valve and no coolant. The unit worked for 36 hours and has completely failed again. Unit will not turn on at all. The unit has not functioned the entire month of June and is continuing not to function. Again the unit needs to be completely replaced due to the ongoing failure of the unit since the middle of May 2014.

07/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Entered in an agreement 06/14/2013 Paid ******** The total was for service for 2 Preventative Maintenance visits. One visit happened. Will not respond
i PURCHASED A Preventative Maintenance contract on 06/14/2013. IT was for 2 visits, spring and fall. I had one visit on that date. I have not been able to get someone to my home since. I called because my air stopped working, I was promised by the owner that someone would come out and also the next 2 season would be free. I scheduled the appointment for June 17, 2014 at 930am. No one showed. I called in at 10:45am and was told that someone quit and that they did not know when they could have someone out. I asked if the owner could provide me a call and after 2 days of calling I still have not received a phone call nor service visit.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for all of my money. I have been met with the rudest and most unprofessional companies I hve dealt with.

Business Response
First of all we apologized to the customer for over looking his work form and schedule date on we would be at hid home. I offer to give him another appointment or to refund his money. I also explained to him at the time of his appointment we were short handed an would have had to given another appointment.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was never offered a refund. I was told that I needed to talk to the owner. I requested to speak to him and I was told a message was left. No call.

Final Business Response
The customer received one part of his maintenances but didn't receive his second so we our going to refund him for half ******* On the appointment that was scheduled for him we tried to work with him on rescheduling another one due to an employee having to quit with no notice due to his mother being hospitalized and passing away.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
While I understand an employee mother's passing away and I would hate to be in the situation, but I took off work to be home for the technician, and no one called me to let me know someone was not coming. I called to inquire, and was told they would check to see if a technician would be able to come out and they would call me back. 2 days went past and I had to call in again, and was told someone would not be able to come out until 2 days later. This complaint is not without merit. I was told someone would come to my house this summer/winter/ and next summer because of the very issue I am complaing about. I gave them ample chances to correct their actions and all I have received is excuses and promises and no actions. What else am I to do.

07/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to honor service contract.
Failure to respond to repair queries.
Total lack of professionalism with regard to request for repair service.

No return call.
After one week of requests no response whatsoever.
Failure to honor service contract.
The receptionist did not even have our request on file after seven days of phone calls.
Total lack of communication between service provider and customer.

Desired Settlement
We paid ******* for yearly service on 4/11/14 would like refund prorated.

Business Response
We refunded them for their other half of the pmc.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The check was returned for insufficient funds.
I was penalized an extra ******
Totally unacceptable.
06/17/2014 Credit with image View Image DEPOSIT 0 *******
06/19/2014 Debit DEPOSITED ITEM RETURNED FEE 0 ******
06/19/2014 Debit DEPOSITED ITEM RETURNED 0 *******

Final Business Response
I have a cashiers check in the amount of ****** being mailed out to the customer today!

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
cashiers check has been received.
Should be resolved.
Thank you for your help.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.