BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
45 counties of Middle Tennessee and Southern Kentucky

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/04/1998

Comfort Engineered Systems, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (615) 776-3135Fax: (615) 776-3835View Additional Phone Numbers7205 Nolensville Road, NolensvilleTN 37135 Send email to Comfort Engineered Systems, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/04/1998

BBB has determined that Comfort Engineered Systems, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Comfort Engineered Systems, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Comfort Engineered Systems, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
11/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: The Company failed to accept their responsibility for poor word when they installed my HVAC.
The company agreed to install and start-up a customer furnished (new in the box) HVAC in my new home. This was in September, 2007. since that time, the unit has leaked R-22 Freon at the rate of more than 2# per year, meaning that I paid for Freon and service calls each time. The last service call was on June 10,2013 and they claimed to have put in 4# of Freon and charged me $418.00 dollars. I requested that they come find the leak and fix at no charge as they should have done initially but they refused.
I then borrowed a leak detector from a friend and quickly found the leak (which was obvious that it was there since installation). The leak was from a compression fitting that had never been tightened when the unit was installed. I tightened the fitting to spec. and the leak was gone!
I believe CES owes me for all those service calls since then which amount to $900.00, as listed below;
5-20-2010, $162.00 ;7-26-2011, 158.00; 7-3-2012 $162.00; 6-10-2013, 418.00

Initial Business Response
I have further reviewed Mr. *******'s customer history with Comfort Engineered Systems (CES). CES installed the HVAC systems when Mr. ******* built his home in 2007. We did have a few service visits to the home in the time shortly following the completion of construction. One for a heating issue caused by a dead bird. One for dust in the home. One for a duct issue. And Two for refrigerant leaks. In January 2008 a small leak was detected at the access port and repaired. Later in May 2008 a valve leak and a pipe leak were detected and both repaired. Mr. ******* was not billed anything for any of the above mentioned calls.

Mr. ******* called a different HVAC contractor ********* **** in May 2010, July 2011, and July 2012. Each of those calls were indeed a result of leaking refrigerant. Mr ******* was billed and paid ******** *** for each of those visits. Comfort Engineered Systems acquired ******** *** in July 2012.

Mr. ******* called CES for a service visit in June 2013. We responded to the call and indeed found that the system needed refrigerant. On that day our technician added refrigerant but did not note finding or repairing a leak. He did note that both systems were very much in need of maintenance, the coils were dirty and the pressures were rather high causing extended wear and possible leaks. The technician also noted that we should return to perform a leak search to determine the cause for the needed refrigerant. The technicians recommendations were listed on the service invoice that Mr. ******* received. It must be noted that this was the very first time that CES was contacted by Mr. ******* for any repairs since 2008, a period of five years. We most definitely treated this service visit as routine with no knowledge of the previous visits by ******** *** for the same issue.

CES did invoice Mr. ******* $418.00 for the repair, which Mr. ******* paid, along with a letter that he sent voicing his displeasure. This was the first and only invoice that Mr. ******* received from CES since the completion of his house in 2007. Our service manager responded to Mr. *******'s letter. While I do not know the exact account of their conversation, I believe that our service manager explained almost exactly what this transcription is explaining, that it was the first repair, and first invoice, that we were aware of since the initial installation in 2007. I can assume that our service manager informed Mr. ******* that CES would not return to his home to do additional work at no cost to him, as his letter demanded. It should also be noted that, upon review, some of the refrigerant leaks that are documented could be attributed to equipment issues, or issues developing over time. Not a result of poor or negligent workmanship.

CES can not be responsible for the work performed by ******** *** and the amounts paid to ******** *** prior to the July 2012 acquisition. I can also not see any poor treatment towards Mr. ******* in regards to the handling of the recent service visit or the resulting invoice for that visit. In efforts of cooperation I can offer to refund half of the $418 paid to CES, and schedule a technician to verify that Mr. ******* did in fact repair the refrigerant leak in his system. CES can not, nor should be expected to, refund $900, Of which a portion was paid to ******** ****

Again, I do agree that the visits, by CES and ******** *** combined, for the refrigerant issues are abnormal. However, the expectation that the unmaintained HVAC systems will not have any issues or associated upkeep costs for a period of over five years is unrealistic.

I will wait for a response to my offer.

Sincerely,
**** **********

Final Consumer Response
BBB spoke with Consumer today 10-11-13 and has advised that he is satisfied with the progress of the complaint and that the business has resolved the complaint to his satisfaction.

The consumer stated the file could be closed at this time.

Final Business Response
I respectfully feel that I adequately detailed the circumstances of this complaint in my first response. My company was not notified that the situation was not resolved after the first initial visits, and Mr. ******* was very quick to hire another contractor for his needs without notifying us that there was an ongoing issue. I find it questionable that Mr. ******* did not have a problem paying another contractor three years in a row for the same issue and found it acceptable that "they did not have time" to finish the repair. Now that the other contractor is no longer available, my company is being blamed for their work and our initial issue that we were unaware still existed.

My initial offer to refund half of the $418 paid to CES, and send a technician to verify the refrigerant leak has been repaired still stands. Again, I make this offer in efforts to reach a mutual compromise to rectify this situation. I still maintain that CES has handled this situation in an appropriate manner and would have repaired the leak four years ago had we known that one existed.

Consumer Response
10-25-13
Consumer called and has not heard from the business regarding their resolution as of today. He has been out of town although is home as of today. BBB respectfully requests business contact consumer.


Business Response
We contacted Mr. ******* and scheduled a technician to verify that the system did not still have any refrigerant leaks. We also issued a refund check to Mr. ******* for the agreed upon amount. It is my understand that the case should be fully resolved following the technicians verification that a leak is not still present.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/03/2012Problems with Product / Service
02/03/2012Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/27/1997Business started: 07/20/1994
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1994, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce Wollaber (President)Mr. James Napolitano (Sec./Treasurer)Mr. Nick Napolitano Mr. John C. Wishard (President/Owner)Ms. Sandra K. Wishard (Corp. Secretary)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Grilles, Registers & Diffusers, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Air Conditioning Repair, Filters Air & Gas Cleaning, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Air Conditioning Companies

Products & Services

This company offers heating and air conditioning repair services and installation.

This company is engaged in the sale, service, and installation
of air conditioning and heating systems.

Alternate Business Names
Imperial Air, Inc.
Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Comfort Engineered Systems, Inc.

7205 Nolensville Road

Nolensville, TN 37135

To | From

LocationsX

4 Locations

  • P. O. Box 110883 

    Nashville, TN 37211

  • 2211 Rolling Hills Drive 

    Nolensville, TN 37135

  • 7205 Nolensville Road 

    Nolensville, TN 37135

  • PO Box 907 

    Nolensville, TN 37135

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Comfort Engineered Systems, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 833-1517
  • (615) 776-5859

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (615) 776-5859
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

Home Improvements
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.