BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/05/2003

ARS Rescue Rooter

Phone: (615) 255-2111Fax: (615) 259-3557

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Additional Complaint Information

This company has provided BBB with the name and direct phone number that consumers should call prior to filing a complaint with BBB. BBB suggests consumers contact Scott Brinkley at 615 491-7292 to discuss any concerns, and allow him 72 hours (excluding weekends and holidays) to resolve the matter before filing a complaint with BBB.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
07/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought my unit from ARS 2 years ago. Every single appointment I've set, the technician hasn't shown up and the company is surprised.
I bought my unit from ARS 2 years ago. Every single appointment I've set, the technician hasn't shown up and the company always says "we only have two techs". When you set an appointment a month ahead of time and take off work-I find that very disrespectful. They say that they have 24/7 emergency service, this is a lie. I've needed support twice for outages, and they have always said "we only have two techs and can't be there." THIS IS NASHVILLE-you offer 24/7 service with two techs in this large of an area?
Never have I given so much money to a company for a unit and services to only get screwed on every instance afterwards.

Desired Settlement
I spoke with the manager and he said "well I guess we need to just do better on the next customer."

I would like an offer on free services, discount off my unit payments or something more to compensate. I am already shopping for new service providers-this is make or break.

Business Response
We are in receipt of your email dated July 21, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

On July 23, 2014 American Residential Services, LLC D/ B/A ARS/ Rescue Rooter ("ARS") contacted Mr. ****** to gain a better understanding of the Complaint regarding the property located at **** ******** **** ******** ** XXXXX.
Recognizing that customer satisfaction is our top priority, we reached an agreement to resolve this matter as Mr. ****** had some questions after having another provider perform work on his system.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service , and appreciates your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this Complaint, please feel free to contact me directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.
Respectfully ,

***** ****
Corporate Customer Relations Analyst

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
***** the GM reached out to me and made an offer to make up for my poor experience. In my eyes, it was a kind gesture and I accepted. Complaint resolved.

07/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased living social deal for AC tune up. Was told / pressured into buying a new unit because mine wasn't working after tech left wire disconnected
Purchased a tune up for $39 thru living social. Tech ******* -didn't show for 5pm appt, but after my call to ARS, showed at 8.30pm in complete dark wanting to do service. Asked him to come back 4/3/14 at 5pm. He did. After almost 2 hours of "testing" I was told my compressor was out. I was given a quote of $3300 for repair and then high pressured to let a salesman come by for a new unit that night. I declined either.
I called a different company for a service call/inspection to find out the reason it wasn't working was a wire was left DISCONNECTED. The other tech showed me. That was a $69 service call that was not needed.
At the second techs suggestion, I called ARS the following Monday and spoke with service manager - **** -. Explained the situation, **** advised he would speak with tech ******* he was a good tech and it was just an over sight. Asked if he refunded my money would that make me happy. I agreed as maybe it was an over sight, but I didn't think it was. He said he'd have to mail a check since I'd purchased it through the living social deal and allow 7-10 days.
After that conversation, I got a bill in the mail from ARS dated 4/10/14 for $39. Called and spoke with - *** - in billing/accounting who told me to disregard it. Asked about refund and she said she'd follow up with ****.
A few weeks later, I called to follow up and spoke with *** again. Was told she had the paperwork for the refund, but it needed to be signed by a manager and it had to go through corporate. All of the managers were out of the office that week for some reason.
Called and spoke with *** on 2 more occasions after that and never received the refund.
About 3 weeks ago, I called back and spoke with ****. 2 months after our original conversation. He was in the field and would check on the refund when he got back to the office and call me. That was
Wednesday. No return call. I called him on Friday and was told the check was in the mail. Over 2 weeks ago. I've not received a refund.
I tried to give them the benefit of the doubt that this was an honest mistake. $39 is not a huge amount, but it did end up costing $69 more. The tech from the second company asked to look at the repair quote. He said they would never charge $3300 for the repair listed. *** would be $1500-$2000.

Desired Settlement
Honestly, they only charged me $39, but it ended up costing $110.

Business Response
We are in receipt of your email dated June 24, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

On April 3, 2014 American Residential Services, LLC D/ B/A ARS/ Rescue Rooter ("ARS") responded to a tune-up request at the property located at **** ******** ***** ** ******* ********* XXXXX. Our records indicate that upon arrival, our service professional performed the tune-up and found that the compressor was not operating
at optimum efficiency. Accordingly , a written estimate was provided to Ms. ****** with options to either repair or replace the system. Ms. ****** declined to proceed with the work at that time.

We contacted Ms. ****** on June 25, 2014 to gain a better understanding of the Complaint, and reached an agreement to resolve this matter. ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service, and appreciates your assistance in resolving this dispute . If you require additional information regarding this Complaint , please feel free to contact me directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Corporate called the next day and offered refund for service plus charge for the second company. Check was in my hand in 2 days. I am satisfied with the response.

05/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Westinghouse HVAC unit hasn't properly performed since installation.
At the end of April I went to **** ********* to ask about HVAC unit for my 82 year old mother's home. They gave me a number to call of their subcontractor. Upon calling them on 5/12/14 a sales rep, by the name of ***** came to my home. A contract was drawn that day. He was told by his boss not to write down a brand name of the HVAC unit so they could check to see what was in their warehouse. On 5/16/14 two techs came to install the unit. During installation, one tech fell asleep on the floor. Since 5/16/14 they have returned 5 times. During each return visit they haven't arrived at their scheduled time. On 12/3/14 they were called because the unit wasn't running. They adjusted refrigerant levels. At the end of December they were called because the compressor was forming ice. 1/7/15, we called to tell them the unit was once again freezing over and not heating. The techs work invoice for 1/7/15 states that he replaced reversing valve, weighed-in factor charge and ran ops. On 1/8/15 they returned to add 20 pounds of refrigerant. The techs invoice states that no one was home and he added 19 pounds of Freon refrigerant. However, my mother doesn't drive and I am her only means of transportation therefore she was at home. I was told by ARS that the tech wouldn't have been able to properly perform his duties without access to the inside of my mother's home. On 4/14/15 I once again called to tell them the unit wasn't cooling. The tech reports that he jumped the low pressure switch that has a broken wire going into it. It will stay like this until issue is resolved. This can cause damage to the compressor if low on Freon. He also added 11.2 pounds of R410A. I was notified on 4/15/15 by Mike with ARS that they were sending their best tech out. I informed him that I wouldn't be off work until 3pm. Said he needed his boss' approval for a tech to come that late. He called back to inform me that his boss approved and that the tech should be there by 3 pm on 4/16/14. We agreed on this time. On 4/17/15 I went to my local HD store to inform them of the hassle of dealing with this company. Home Depot called and spoke to Mike, who insured them the tech would be there by 3pm. At 4pm on 4/18/15, the tech shows up, complaining because he gets off at 4pm and doesn't know why his company sent him so late, there wasn't enough daylight hours and wants to spend time with his family. He then checks around for Freon leak. Says he can't find a Freon leak and will have to return the next day around 11am-12pm. Once again I leave work so that I'll be home with my mother when the tech arrives. Home Depot calls me and says that tech knows what the problem is and ARS is sending tech. I informed HD of the previous days events and told them that Mike was lying to them because the tech didn't find out what was wrong with the unit. AT 3:30 pm. I receive a call stating that the tech was on his way. I told them that when he arrived at 4pm the previous day he was complaining about lack of daylight hours so they need not send him because it was so late. I also informed him that the tech was supposed to be there between 11am-12pm. I asked to speak to the person in charge. I once again got the run around, from him. I told them not to send anyone at this hour. At 5:30 pm I received a call from the tech stating that he was at my mother's home. I told him that he needed to leave. He didn't know that I live across the street from my mother and when I hung up he proceeded to the back of the house to work on unit. I went outside and asked them twice to leave. I then received 4 phone calls from different ARS employees, stating that if I didn't call them back they would call HD. During this time the techs sat at the end of my road for 1.5hrs and sent a text message to me. Went to HD that evening; talked to Mgr. Was told by previous Mgr. that I would be contacted. 4/20/15 was told by HD mgr that ARS accused me of waving a gun at tech. I don't own a gun! More lies from this company!

Desired Settlement
I wish to be refunded all payments and released from this debt. I need to be compensated for the time lost from work and the frustration caused due to their lack of punctuality, professionalism, and inability to satisfy me with another unit. ARS can have their unit back.

Business Response
April 29, 2015

BBB of Middle Tennessee and Southern Kentucky

RE: Better Business Bureau ID# XXXXXXXX
***** *********

American Residential Services, LLC D/B/A ARS/Rescue Rooter ("ARS") has received your email dated April 22, 2015, regarding the above-referenced complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

We have been in communication with Ms. ********* and have reached an amicable resolution to her satisfaction.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service and appreciates your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this complaint, please free to contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Respectfully,
****** ********
Corporate Customer Relations Manager


05/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
the plumbing that this company completed leaked and ruined my kitchen floor. they are refusing to pay for it. the bathroom pipes burst that they place
I called ARS in 2013 to do some plumbing work for me. they informed me that the pipes underneath the kitchen sink would need to be replaced due to a leak. they replaced the pipe and about 7 months later we noticed that we had a lot of water undernealth our tile floor in the kitchen. we started pulling up the tile and thats when we realized it was from a water leak under the sink. the ARS guy came out and I showed him all of the water underneath the tile. I have a picture of this and he pulled out the dishwasher. I have a picture of that and that is where all of the water was coming from. he tighted everything up but I told him at that time he would have to replace the tile. during this entire time I am communicating with Ms. *** at ARS she informed me that they let go alot of their techs due to inferior work. then this winter the pipes that ARS had placed in our back restroom burst. and we called another plumber in and they placed these red and blue pipes. when ARS representative ***** came to my home 4/16/2015 to look at everything he tried to get me to accept 150.00 which is not acceptable. we are only asking for 750.00 for the contractor to replace both floors but we have paid almost 2500.00 for the wires to be replaced under the floor where the water burned out the wires because it leaked so long. NES had to come to the house and shut off the electricity to the box because it ended up burning that out. that was the second time the electrician came out. we also had to pay another plumber to fix there mess. by ****** own admission they came to our house over 6 times. why would we continue to use this company the are subpar.

Desired Settlement
we need the 750.00 that I discussed with ***** ********* I also informed him that they could send their own person to fix the floor if he wanted to and he refused.

Business Response
April 27, 2015

BBB of Middle Tennessee and Southern Kentucky

RE: Better Business Bureau ID# XXXXXXXX
****** *******

American Residential Services, LLC D/B/A ARS/Rescue Rooter ("ARS") has received your email dated April 20, 2015, regarding the above-referenced complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

We are currently in communication with Ms. ******* to gain a better understanding of the complaint and hope to achieve an amicable resolution very soon.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service and appreciates your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this complaint, please free to contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Respectfully,

****** ********
Corporate Customer Relations Manager


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept any response from this company I have spoken with them on several occasions. They were first trying to say they never went to the back bathroom of my house. Until I sent the paperwork. Then they tried to act as if they knew nothing about the leak yo the dishwasher in the kitchen until I sent the paperwork. Lastly they tried to say I owed them until I brought up the fact they tried to pay me. Then they said they tried to pay before coming to my home

06/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
the air conditioning unit does not function properly.
I had an heating and cooling system put in my home in Nov.2013 and now the cooling system is not functioning properly and by not functioning properly I mean by not cooling. I have spoken with both the service manager **** ****** and the sales manager ***** ******* trying to get my problem resolved to no avail. I have been promised that the problem would be taken care of numerous of times starting 5/9/2014. I have had numerous technicians in my home to try and fix the problem, to no avail. I have been lied to about the times that they would be here to repair the unit, never was on time nor did they fix the problem. I have all their guarantees in writing and they have not honored any of them to this date 5/23/2014.

Desired Settlement
I would just like them to replace my unit at this point or pay another company to repair my unit because it seems that they don't have anyone that can repair my unit or refund all monies so that I can get another company to put in a serviceable unit.

Business Response
We are in receipt of your email dated May 27, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

On October 31, 2013 American Residential Services, LLC D/ B/A ARS/ Rescue Rooter ("ARS") installed a new system at the property located at **** *********** ***** ********** ** XXXXX. We contacted Mr. **** to gain a better understanding of the Complaint , and reached an agreement to resolve the Complaint on May 30 , 2014.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service, and we appreciate yo ur assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this Complaint, please feel free to contact me directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company has yet to satisfy the full agreement of the warranty that they gave me upon buying the unit.

Final Business Response
After a follow-up conversation with Mr. ****, we have fully satisfied his request and resolved the matter.

06/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
1. Poor customer service
2. Inefficient communication
3. Poor workmanship
4. Service guarantee
Our HVAC system broke in July 2011. We promptly called ARS that afternoon and within a few days they had a service technician and a sales rep come to the house. We bought a new HVAC system that day and paid them in full by check. They provided us a temporary cooling unit on the first day. It was supposed to cool the house for up to 14 hours. Within 6 hours, the floors had been flooded. I called ARS and they called a drying company to help salvage the wood floors, but the floors remain damaged to this day.

We went through an extended process of back and forth phone calls regarding the HVAC system and when it would arrive. They would tell me a date, we would schedule a service time, and then the date would be changed. Parts would not be in or only partial parts had come in. During this process our water heater was also out (I have an apollo system) and we were without an AC or water heater for months. Never once did they offer to pay for a hotel or provide any other options. I demanded that they provide one night in a hotel when my apartment was reading >85 degree and I couldn't work full time and handle the conditions in my place. They paid for one night only.

The HVAC system was installed in late October after having >15 service technicians at our house. Two days after the installation, a pipe burst. They forgot to seal it (we have pictures of it). A restoration company was called in. My ceiling, dining room walls, and hallway walls had to be removed due to the extensive water damage. We were once again without AC or heat. We had to take off of work multiple days to accommodate all the workers. The workers did a poor job and we were frequently having to call them back to fix things. There is still dirt/dust on our wood floors from the damage/repair, and our hardwood floods have water damage in our kitchen/dining area as well.

Unfortunately, since the system has been installed, the AC has not worked well.

Over the next year various technicians came to our house ~3-4 times for a "broken AC." They would tell us the refrigerant/freon was low, refill it, and then leave. No one diagnosed the problem or really spent any effort in finding what the underlying cause was. On March 12, 2014 our AC went out again and I called ****** ******** this time. The technician told me I had a very large leak in the evaporator coil and that it would cost $1080 in labor fees to repair. My warranty for the parts was still applicable. I called ARS to explain that their technicians did not diagnose the problem on prior visits while I was still under labor warranty and that I wanted them to cover this now. It took 2 weeks for *** ********* to return my phone call but he agreed to fix the evaporator coil. ****** was sent to confirm the issue on 04/01/2014.

They sent a technician again on April 3 to replace the freon. We were instructed that it would be ok to use our AC until the evaporator coil came in. We did not hear from anyone for 2 weeks. I started calling daily to get updates and was given the run around (I have spoken to *******, ******* and ****** from the call center countless times). Finally **** ****** called me on 04/20 and told me that the part would be in on 04/23. On 05/01, we still did not have the part. *** ********* called me back (after multiple attempts at reaching him) and told me he ordered a new part.

Per ****, the service manager, the order for the evap coil had been cancelled on 04/16 for unknown reasons. I called ***** *** and they informed me that they do not make this particular part. An order to ******* was placed 05/01 and we are still waiting.

On 04/28 our entire system shut down (not even the fan would work). Another technician was sent to investigate. He found that the unit had turned off due to the float switch. The pan underneath the evap coil was cracked and leaking down to a secondary pan. We are now having to vacuum water from the pan daily in order to receive air. It is 90+ degrees outside.

Desired Settlement
1. 3 year labor warranty on the HVAC system
2. $2500 compensation/refund for the time taken off of work and for the hassle of all these troubles
3. I want ARS to pay a technician of our choosing from a tertiary company to ensure that the work has been done properly.
4. Some documentation in terms of how they are going to improve communication and ensure this does not happen to other customers. This company is VERY POORLY run. I want this documentation approved by the owners of this company.

Business Response
We are in receipt of your email dated May 13, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

On August 30, 2011 American Residential Services , LLC D/ B/A ARS/ Rescue Rooter ("ARS") contracted with Ms. **** to install a new system at the property located at **** ****** ***** ********** ** XXXXX . W e contacted Ms. **** on May 14, 2014 in an attempt to gain a better understanding of the Complaint.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service, and we appreciate your assistance in resolving this dispute. Therefore , we reached an agreement to resolve the Complaint on May 19, 2014 . If you require additional information regarding this Complaint, please feel free to contact me directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

06/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ARS installed a new A/C unit in last August. It never worked. ARS technicians never fixed it.
We purchased A/C unit from ARS in August, 2012. It never worked. Firstly, the technician said it is a drain problem. But they just did not fix the drain problem although we called ARS company several times. They just did not come. Later in fall, a technician named **** came to tune up the heat unit. He noticed the drain problem. He kindly called ARS and scheduled for a fix. But ARS just did not come to fix the problem on the schedule date. I called ARS to complain. They did not come either. I think the lady who answered the phone just did not enter any information into the system. She just ignored everything. Days ago, we called ARS agin. They sent technician **** to inspect A/C. **** did good job, he found R410 is low, he added 4 pounds R410. However, the A/C worked very weak. He re-scheduled another technician to inspect where to leak in the unit. The schedule date is today. We called ARS this morningthe lady who answer the phone seems still not get it scheduled. We are wasting our time with this company.

Desired Settlement
Before they install the unit, they gave us a warranty saying that "100% money back". We just want our money back since their product and service never worked. We don't want to waste our time with this company anymore.

Business Response
we went out and he had a leak in the capillary tube on the TXV. Repaired and everything is fine. Set up an appointment to go back out on 6/4 to do a quality visit just to ensure that it is running fine.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.