BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/20/2007

Air Experts, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (931) 528-1247Fax: (931) 520-1253View Additional Phone Numbers1631 East Spring Street, CookevilleTN 38506 Send email to Air Experts, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/20/2007

BBB has determined that Air Experts, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Air Experts, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Air Experts, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/07/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Excessive/Overcharged Service Fees; and Failure to Complete Service that was approved; and Charging for unapproved services

First, I did not call them for service, my brother did without my knowledge, I am the owner of such property. My brother called for an service inspection of the outside air conditioner only and told it would be around $90 for such service and he use his credit card for such charges.

The tech arrived at property on or about 8:30 am and knock on the door. He stated he was from *** ******* of Cookeville, and was here to check out the HVAC system. I told him that the air conditioner unit was located at the back of the home and asked me to turn on the unit and went to the back. I turned on the unit and came out the back door on the deck and watch him. The unit was running (meaning the fan not the compressor), and he stated that the compressor did not engage. He then remove the unit panel (4 screws) and tested the capacitor and stated that it did not read properly, he turn unit off by outside shut off box, and with out saying anything he went to his van and got a capacitor and replaced the old one (3 wire spade connector) and turn unit on form outside box. The unit came on and the compressor kicked in, then he put the panel on. He felt the coolant lines and stated they were cool and hook up a pressure gage and said the unit was full of coolant and that I should be good to go. He started to leave and I ask him to check the crossover duct and he act like de did not want to do it but he did. He climb under the home was out in a minute and stated that the crossover was full of water and that he does not do duct and would talk with his boss about that and left. He was at my home for a total of 15 minutes or less, and he did not go into the home and check anything. As he drove off I wave at him to stop but he just keep going. I did not receive any paperwork or sign anything for approval or etc. I went into the house and my brother called me in a few minutes and said the tech called him and told him the service he did today was $386.00. My brother asked me what did he do and I told him. He want me to call the office and I told him to call the office since it was him who called them in first place and it was his credit card, but that I would call them too. A few minutes later I call the office and talked with a lady and she said that the bill was not ready and she could discuss anything till it was ready and to call back. She also stated that she would send me a copy of the bill and my brother a copy of the bill as soon as possible and hung up. I waited 2 days for the bill and did not receive it, so I call the office back and ask to speak with the owner/manager. I was put on hold and in a few minutes a person called ***** answered and wanted to know what this was about. I told him the story and stated that I did not approve anything and not even asked and did not receive any paperwork or etc. and or the bill. He stated that he had talked with the tech and that amount charged was correct (my brother call me earlier and told me his credit card was charged $346.00 instead of $386.00 as he was told by the tech). He state that he could replace/fix my crossover duct for $495.00 plus labor and etc. and did I want him to do it. I stated that I have already checked with a dealer and could the crossover duct cheaper and that I did not require his service for that. I asked why the charges was so high and a itemized breakdown of the charges. He started talking about his insurance cost and employee salaries, and that he charges the same to everyone. I ask again please just give me a breakdown of the charges (labor cost, part and cost, and any other fees he applied to this bill). He then stated that he has already been paid (thru my brother credit card), and if I did like the amount charged to take it up with my brother, then he hung up the phone. This is the story.

Desired Settlement
1.) Since the tech did not do a full inspection of the HVAC system, a reduce charge for such lack of service provided.

2.)An adjustment of cost of such capacitor charge since I can get the part online with free S&H for $10.00 or less

3.) An adjustment of labor cost, since the tech was only here for 15 minutes or less.

4.) A written full apology for their unprofessional and rude behavior.

Business Response
The service call in question was called in by the occupant's brother, which we have done service for in the past. The charges being disputed were authorized by the person that called in for the service. Like I told the occupant of the home when I spoke with him on the phone, the price of the part only has a certain amount to do with it. First off, I had to pay the service technician 1.25 hrs for this particular job. I have to pay him for ridetime, etc. I can't just pay him for the time he's on the job. My flat rate price that we charged for the service and repair includes all of my fixed overhead in with the price, including, but not limited to, fuel, vehicle insurance, work comp, payroll and unemployment taxes, and so on. I also stock my vans with many parts, so that my customers don't have to wait for hours or days to come back out to fix the problem. I can't even get the said part for $10. Part of the price that you're paying is for service. As far as the price on replacing the crossover, the price I gave of $495 DID include materials and labor. NO HIDDEN COSTS. We pride ourselves in giving the best possible service that we can, and I'm sorry that you don't feel like we gave you good service. We also give you a 3 year parts and labor warranty with our repair. you'll be lucky to find anyone that will give you longer than a 90 day warranty. I apologize if you were not happy with our service. If you want, we can come back out and remove the part and refund your brothers money, and you can have someone else come and repair it. I just want you to be happy.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not just the occupant of the home, I am the owner of the home and property, as I told you, also I told you my brother has no authority and has never had any authority to authorize anything for me. Tho it is nice of my brother to do this, when I find out about it I told him he should not have done this without my approval, and he told me it was for an inspection for the HVAC system only and this I agreed to accept the inspection and pay him back for the inspection ($90.00), since he would have been charged for that service anyways if I turn your tech away. As to the crossover duct, that does not matter, I already told you that I did not need and or require your services for it. Now, I don't know what you paid for your parts, but if I, as a lay person can go online and find the part and get it send to me, I assume that you can get it cheaper as a contractor sir. Plus, I asked you for an itemized breakdown of the bill and you ignore me sir and started talking about cost that is associated with normal cost of having a business, and told be to take it up with my brother and then hang up the phone on me, it that professional, do you always treat the owner of any property in that matter ? It is totally unacceptable to me to be treated in that matter. Sir, I have owned a business before and never treated a client in such a disrespectful matter. I don't care who paid the bill, I will not be ignore and treat as I am being overlooked and or not considered worthy of normal consideration. Now sir, I ask you what is included in an inspection of the HVAC system ? First sir, you will have to travel to the site and consider the time to and from the site as part of the inspection, not additional too. Plus, a complete inspection includes the inside air handler, coils, coolant lines, condensation lines, thermostat, duct work, and the outside unit too, which was not completed and or done. The time spend inspecting the HVAC system should be included in the cost of the inspection, not additional too. Now, as to the repair work done, I am not displeased with the result, the AC is running now, but with the charges. First, I was not even asked to approve and or not to approve such work, completely ignore; is this your normal practices ? Sir, your tech was here at my home for a total of 15 minutes or less, and this includes inspection time (what little inspection he did), talking to me, and the repair time, so I ask you what labor charges should be applied to this bill ? How did an $90.00 inspection fee go to $346.00, that is $256.00 in addition too. What is this based on ?
I asked you for a copy of the bill and an itemized breakdown of the charges, and as of this date you have not furnish this to me, WHY ? Instead, I am treated disrespectfully and ignore, WHY ? I do not want to hear about the normal cost of running a business, that is just the cost of having a business period. I am a reasonable person sir, if the charges was told and approved by me, this action would not have been necessary. I have discussed this matter with 2 different HVAC specialist (from outer state) and they have determined that base on the work done and time spend by your tech, that the max amount of the bill should be $120.00 or less (this includes the inspection, the part cost, and the labor cost); and they both agreed if they had done the service provided that they would have only charged for the inspection fee only. Well, I am a reasonable person and I do not expect you not to charge for the part and labor associated for the repair, but I do expect you to be reasonable in such cost. Sir, I ask you to be reasonable and do as I have asked in my desired resolution. By the way, I did not see a mention of apology from you for your actions. I decline your response and ask you to abide by my desired resolution stated in the complaint ( ALL 4 stated)
If you are reasonable and do as I asked, I will drop this matter, if not I will use any and all offered me by law to resolve this matter.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/16/1998Business started: 09/01/1986
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Ray (President)Mr. Donny Qualls (Owner)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Humidifying Apparatus, Heating Equipment, Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems, Air Pollution Measuring Equipment & Service, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Air Duct Cleaning, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Water Heaters - Dealers, Dust Control Materials, Dehumidifying Equipment, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Water Heaters - Repairing, Ventilating Contractors, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Carbon Monoxide Detecting, Dust Collecting Systems, Contractor - Gas

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers heating and air conditioning service and repair, air duct cleaning, and air cleaning purifying equipment.

According to information supplied by the company, it offers the installation and service of heating and cooling systems, in addition to plumbing and electrical.

Alternate Business Names
Comfort Heating & Cooling, Qualls Heating and Cooling, Air Experts, Upper Cumberland Air Experts, LLC., Upper Cumberland Heating and Cooling

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Air Experts, LLC has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Air Experts, LLC

1631 East Spring Street

Cookeville, TN 38506

To | From

LocationsX

4 Locations

  • 1631 East Spring Street 

    Cookeville, TN 38506

  • 1539 W Main St 

    Livingston, TN 38570-2231

  • 310 Rickman Road 

    Livingston, TN 38570

  • PO Box 336 

    Livingston, TN 38570-0336

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Air Experts, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (931) 823-2436
  • (931) 823-9061
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.