BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/20/2004

Sumner Roofing Co, Inc.

Phone: (615) 264-3233Fax: (615) 264-2220

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
03/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
10-13-14 had leaking roof w/ water leaking into bedroom.Hadrepairs made for 678.21. 01-5-2015 had leak at same place with larger water stains larger
On 1-5-2015 **** from Sumner roofing came out & said I needed 4 vents cut in my soffit to vent my attic because of condensation build up. Estimate &400-500 to repair. Called another roofing co who replaced my roof, now no leaks. Called **** at Sumner roofing & asked for a refund of $678.21,he declined saying The condensation cased the water stai in my bedroom. Had called for this leaking damage to be repaired, They did not make repair my problem the first time. Invoice # XXXXX. The company replaced static vent(2) roofing wood & shingles in October 2014, was still doing the same thing in January but worse with the water stains getting larger at the same place. I am asking for the refund for first work done. Paid by check ***** on11-4-2014 for $678.21. The work did not last three months, the material they said was put had to be removed & thrown away. I should not have to pay for tis shabby work. I am 71 years old, and live on fixed income, this has made a hardship for me. Also I was given a year warrant on their labor & materials. Your help on this matter will be greatly appreciated. Thank you,

Desired Settlement
Refund of the $678.21, for infuriour repairs,which did not fix the problem the first time I called

Business Response
Sumner Roofing was contracted by Mrs. **** to replace 2 static vents and repair rotten wood in the same area. We did repairs on 10-25-14. On 1-6-15 Mrs. **** reported a leak to use. **** returned to investigate the cause of the moister coming in. **** found that there was moister dripping from the attic side of the roof decking. It had not been raining. **** advised Mrs. **** that her decking had condensation on it. **** gave Mrs. **** an estimate to add additional ventilation and insulation to her house to stop the condensation. We also gave her a full roof estimate sense her roof was aged badly. The repair contract stated that the ROOF IS IN POOR SHAPE AND MAY NEED ADDITIONAL REPAIRS OR REPLACED IN THE NEAR FUTURE! Mrs. **** declined to have any other work done at the time. Mrs. **** called our office to ask for a refund. She said that she had another roofing company come out and filed an insurance claim on the roof do to wind damage. She was upset that **** told her she didn't have wind or hail damage on his inspection. I advised her that I have picture of her roof and the work that we did. There is no signs of wind damage! I asked for her insurance companies name and number so I could speak to them about what was going on. She declined to give me the information. She asked that I refund her money because the other roofing company was installing ridge vents and replacing her roof. Now that she has more attic ventilation her roof is not leaking. Sounds like they did what we told her needed to be done in the first place but she didn't want to replace the roof and add ventilation! If needed I can send pictures of our work. I would be willing to refund 1/2 of her money just for a good faith effort! Sincerely **** ** *****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Didn't,have ridge vent installed had same vents installed.I also have pictures of the leak , it is in same place where they sumner installed. The wood that was frozen was from saturation , because it had rained most all December, there was 89 percent rain for the month. The water leak was the same place where they had repaired by sumner. The water had leaked into my bedroom cealing, for this is why called. I called back on January X XXXX because water leaking at same place because the stain on my bedroom cealing had gotten larger. The first leak and the second complaint were for the same place in my bedroom. There was no leak in any other part of my attic. Again the call back was for the same job in October 2014. I still want a refund from sumner roofing co. **** from the sumner roofing co., said that the other goofing companies (2) had bent the roof shingles so as to get the roofing job. My insurance company adjuster came out and also said the roof had other wind damage. When **** from sumner roofing co., came out on January 5,2015 the weather was freezing cold so I know he did not spend enough time looking around. Your help on this again appreciated. Again the leak was at the place for the water to continue to leak into my bedroom cealing making the stain larger.

Final Business Response

10/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company refuses to take any responsibility they should have notified us if they saw roof sag during inspection before or while installing new roof.
7/19/13, Sumner Roofing installed a lifetime roof on our home. Company Sales Rep. **** ***** examined our roof twice(6/17 & again 6/27) when he drew up a contract for $7,995. No one told us the roof was sagging. Their advertisement says they are committed to quality by doing the right thing & the job is always done right; technicians have 20 years' experience & will make recommendations on what's best for their customers, & wouldn't sell a roof if it needed repair. They are members of BBB & *****'s **** and say they inspect jobs after completion. They even list roof structure in their advertisements as one of their "expert" categories. On 7/19/13 several installers were on the roof together & finished the roof in one day, leaving equipment in the drieway for the weekend. They never mentioned sagging or any repairs were needed prior, or during, installation of several new plywood boards & a new, expensive roof. We immediately saw the sag & hump on the roof after they left, & told them on Monday when they returned to pick up equipment. A supervisor came by the following week & said he would have the owner call us. Owner **** ***** & Sales Rep **** **** came out on 7/29. Even though they are specialists, & Mr. **** was on the roof twice prior to our contract, they refused to take any responsibility for not informing us of problems they say were there before they added new shingles, new plywood & other items which brought the total owed to $8,390.91. Mr. ***** said he had googled a picture and the sag was already there and we should have noticed it.He did offer to have a contractor come by but it would be at our expense. We are not roof specialists & never noticed a sag before installation & would never agree to have a new roof applied over something that needed repair. We believe they should do the right thing and make the job right as they advertise. According to one of our roofing sources, a problem such as this would rarely ever go unnoticed in a preliminary inspection. Despite two inspections and the large # of installers on the roof, we were never told the roof was sagging.
We would appreciate any help you can give us.

Desired Settlement
Repair of the roof sag(without a post in the garage) at no cost to the owner, as it could have been repaired this way before new roof installed.

A Sumner customer on *****'s **** indicated the same sag problem occurred during their roof installation by Sumner. The homeowner's general contractor had to instruct Sumner on how to build it back. They were just going to put a sheet of plywood up there and roof over it. That would have left the roof sagging. The contractor showed Sumner how to fix it and the homeowner wasn't sure they would have known what to do if the contractor had not been there. We wish we had checked *****'s ***** We like their statement that they are committed to quality by doing the right thing & the job is always done right.

Business' Initial Response
Sumner Roofing Company was contacted by the ********** on 6-10-13 for a roof estimate. ********** (ESTIMATOR) noticed they had hail damage and recommended they contact their insurance company. The insurance company sent an adjuster out and paid for the shingle roof replacement. Our contract was to remove and replace the shingle roof. Our contract states that NO WORK OTHER THAN WHAT IS SPECIFIED ON CONTRACT WILL BE PERFORMED. The ********** never contracted with us to do any structural work. Yes there is a sag over the garage ridge pole and in the drywall ceiling. The ceiling has no fresh cracking which would indicate we could not have caused the sag. I gave the ********** a Google picture showing the ridge pole had a sag before we installed the new roof. I offered to send a contractor out so that they could get a bid to jack up and install proper bracing in the garage ceiling to support the raising of the ridge pole. We were never asked to do anything to raise the ridge pole. The sag has been there for years and was only noticed after the new shingles were installed. I also recommend that they contact the codes department for advice and so that they could understand that what I'm telling them is the truth. Mrs. ******** declined my offer to contact a contractor or codes for them. I will be sending a copy of the insurance companies scope of work, pictures, contract and our pre-install agreement which states we are not responsible for roof ridges, bowed rafters or other building or structure related items.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A quote from the Sumner Roofing website says"With over 20 years experience our repair technicians know what to look for. We will make our recommendations of what is best for you & your home."

The issue is Sumner Roofing should have seen the sag during their two pre-install inspections and/or during installation of the new roof. They didn't mention a sag.It would have been a simple,inexpensive matter to repair the sag while the old roof was off & before the new roof was put on.

We didn't contract with Sumner for structural work because we didn't know any was needed. They say the sag has been there for years. How do they know this, and why were we not told? We also didn't take their offer to send a contractor out because we wanted an impartial contractor to look at it.

In the past week, we have had 3 contractors (recommended to us by the BBB) check the roof structure under the area of the sag. All have advised the structure is sound. However, they have expressed amazement the sag was not seen & repaired before a new roof was installed.

Other observations:

1. A rafter crack that was not mentioned by Sumner before the new roof went right over it

2. That 18 boards replaced by Sumner are much cheaper than plywood & stated that since plywood was under the old roof that plywood should have been used for replacement boards

3. A rise at beginning of area where sag begins.

A comment by one contractor was their crews are trained to immediately inform them of any problem areas found during the installation process, and a major problem rarely, if ever, exists that wouldn't have been seen in a preliminary inspection.

Sumner's pre-install agreement states they are not responsible for many things, but their failure to recognize a sag, or inform their customer of a rafter crack before installation of a new roof over it is not among them.

I have paid Sumner Roofing a good faith check for $6,390.91 leaving a balance of $2,000.00 while we negotiated this. We've since received a statement asking for the balance. I don't know why our insurance company was mentioned. They didn't pay for full replacement. My part was almost $l,800.00. We've paid premiums to the same insurance company for the past 30 years.

Sumner should do what is right and assume responsibility for the cost of repair.


Business' Final Response
I have attached several documents showing our position on the ********** BBB complaint.

Attachments are as follows;

1. ******** ****** ****** show that the sag in the roof was pre-existing .

2. ******** Photo's- provided by the insurance company shows pictures taken by the adjuster from the roof and on the ground

3. ******** Pre-Installation Agreement- Fifth paragraph of the agreement (in asterisk) states, " Sumner Roofing will not be responsible for these conditions, roof ridges, bowed rafters or other building or structure related items." This was signed by Mr. ********.

4. ******** Roof Contract- This is our roof contract signed by Mr. ********, line number twenty states, " no work other than what is specified on this contract will be performed."

5. Discount Invoice For Wood- This shows that we discounted his wood bill. We were able to use osb board in place of plywood so that we could save him money on the necessary wood replacement.

6. ******** Insurance Scope Of Work- Shows that the insurance company paid for a full roof replacement, along with other items.


*************, President
Sumner Roofing & Exteriors
****************
****************** ******
office: (615)*********
fax: (615)*********
cell: (615) ********
*******************************

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.