BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Garage Pros

(615) 946-5123View Additional Phone NumbersOn File with the BBB, MurfreesboroTN 37129

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Garage Pros is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Garage Pros' rating include:

  • 4 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Garage Pros

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
02/26/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Garage Pros did not fulfill the delivery of service for that which was paid.
****, of Garage Pros, was hired to a) recondition our garage doors, b) replace garage door rollers, c) provide 3 garage door openers, d) one outside keypad garage door opener.

**** came and did part of the work on 11/10/2014, had to order parts, and came back finish the work on 12/22/2014. However, the 3 garage door openers and outside controllers that were paid for, he did not have and had get from his distributor. After several follow-up calls and Text Messages, I have not heard back from ****.

I am looking to get the Garage Door Openers that were paid for and promised over a month ago.

Desired Settlement
I am looking to get the 3 Garage Door Openers and the 1 fixed Key Pad Garage Door Opener that were paid for and promised over a month ago.

Final Consumer Response
****, of Garage Pros, came back and has resolved the issue by providing the garage door openers that were paid for and undelivered.

You can close and remove this case.

02/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

GaragePro installed a garage door and it does not work properly. He will not come back or answer the phone.
The garage door is out of balance and is hard to pull down. It touches on one side and there is a gap of 3 inches on the other side. Screws are coming out and the door is coming apart. He use to answer our call and promised to come by and fix it. He even made an appointment to come by but still has never shown up. Now he will not answer our calls.

Desired Settlement
Come and fix the garage door and make it work properly.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ***
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **************
We were hired to replace a Garage Door at New Outlook. We only replaced the panels of the door because that's where the damage occurred. We completed the job and received payment from this company. A few weeks later they were having problems with the door. We were scheduled to go out and ***** the problem. We did have to reschedule an appointment which was on us. We then made another appointment and arrived to see what the problem was. Upon arrival we were able to clearly see a broken spring which was completely separate from the work we performed at this location. The son of the owner insisted he wasn't paying for anything and also violently threatned me and my employees and had to be restrained by his father. All we were trying to do was explain to them that the broken was causing a problem and had to be replaced. The spring was 30-40 years old and had nothing to do with the work we had performed. We offered to fix the problem for free as long as they would pay for the parts. We completed this for free to make the customer happy. The door is functioning properly at this point. We did everything possible and more to complete this job

06/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Showed up to give estimate on replacing the door on time. Reviewed the problem. Need to replace old garage door. **** ***,didn't have the funds to purchase new door.I paid him in full for the door and labor. He installed half of the garage door the next day.Hasn't been back. I've called him almost everyday. Will not answer my calls,text or emails.This is a rental property and he made two appointments with the tenant that where no shows.
Product_Or_Service: Garage Door

Desired Settlement
Complete what he has started

06/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I purchased a voucher for services with this company in good faith. The company failed to produce services as documented.
I purchased a voucher to have my garage door reconditioned and the rollers replaced. I made three appointments with this company and received THREE no call/no shows. The company did not call to reschedule after any of the missed appointments. I have tried in vain to reach out to **** and he is not returning my phone calls or emails. Amount paid - $99.00; Services scheduled on the April 7, April 18 and May 11, 2015.

Desired Settlement

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/28/2010Business started: 04/01/2010
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ryan Gay (Owner)
Business Category

Garage Doors & Openers, Garage Door Repair, Access Control Systems, Gates, Doors - Commercial, Doors - Industrial, Doors - Installation, Doors - Patio, Doors, Doors - Repair

Products & Services

This company offers the installation, service and repair of residential, commercial and industrial overhead and garage doors.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Garage Pros has received 1.00 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

1 Locations

  • On File with the BBB 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37129

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Garage Pros is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 697-9505

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Garage Doors & Openers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.