BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/28/2014

GarageWorks TN

(615) 430-2055View Additional Phone Numbers15455 Old Hickory Blvd, NashvilleTN 37211-6272 Send email to GarageWorks TN

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers garage door installation, service, repairs and garage doors openers and supplies. In addition, the company offers small home improvement projects, handyman services, remodeling, windows, doors, brick and stone masonry work, driveways, mailboxes, plumbing, and HVAC repairs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/28/2014

BBB has determined that GarageWorks TN meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised GarageWorks TN's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on GarageWorks TN

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company estimated cost for complete job. Failed to deliver initially. Only became BBB certified after it was stated they were not as stated on card.
On 4/19/14, Garage Works arrived to install 2 garage doors for $1402. They did not have the appropriate lumber to frame doors. I supplied 5/4" decking lumber for 1 of 2 doors. After installing doors late into the afternoon, the owner indicated that he would bring back brown nails for the install of the weatherstripping and that it was precut for install. Since he lived just a few miles away, I agreed to install my own weatherstripping. Contractor took all unused lumber I purchased with him. Hours later, I texted asking where the nails were since I was done painting. I got no reply. Since I travel for work, the weatherstripping had to be done. I purchased my own nails, installed trim and painted them. My Mastercard was charged with a 2% additional fee. I recieved no receipt by email or otherwise.
1 door was affixed to wood trim instead of the block and was coming off the tracks due to pulling away from the wall. I emailed *****, the owner, on and told him it was inappropriate and that I also noticed his card claimed he was BBB accreditited, and in reality, was not. I threatened a partial credit card charge-back and notifying the BBB of his misuse of accreditation. This email was on 4/25/14. After returning to town, I had to call and schedule a repair. ***** sent his tech and has ignored emails/calls. His tech arrived on 5/9/14. He tightened multiple bolts, installed a missing triangulation bracket, readjusted a slide lock and anchored the support bracket to the block wall. He did not have appropriate fasteners to secure the bracket to the wall. I supplied a masonry bit and 3.5" tapcon screws to affix the bracket to the wall.
With the removal of lumber I purchased, use of my own lumber, puchase of my own nails, time to install weatherstripping and paint them, and supply of tools/materials for the follow-up repair, I do not feel I should be charged the full $1444.06 that I was charged for a job in which I supplied a portion of the labor and supplies.

I also can't help but notice that GarageWorks became BBB accredited 3 days after I threatened to report them to the BBB.

Desired Settlement
Partial refund for installation I performed, supplies I purchased and lumber I purchased that they removed from site.

Resolution requested:
1@ 2x8x10 not used and removed from site: $10.00
2@ 2x4x8 not used and removed from site: $8.00
1lb box of Bright finishing nails: $5.00
5/4" decking lumber I owned to finish initial install: $15.00
3.5" tapcon screws/masonry bit to finish follow-up install: $15.00
Labor to cut and install weather stripping and paint nails, based on current salary hourly rate: 2.5 hrs at $26.00/hr = $65.00
2% credit card fee charge that was not explained, and would have been avoided with a personal check: $42.06

Total: $160.06

Business Response
Yes, we have BBB on our website. We were members for years and let our certification lapse for roughly a year. We had yet to update our credentials online, it wasn't intentional. We did recently become members again, but only because BBB happen to call us to ask us to renew. Not because we were threatened with a complaint and trying to cover ourselves and the business. We have always had a A+ accreditation.

As far as the insufficient lumber issue, we actually brought all lumber needed to compete the job as quoted. The additional (1) piece of lumber was for an unforeseen issue. Our installer stated to the customer that he needed to take a quick trip to get a 5/4", to which the customer willing supplied a piece he had "laying around" extra.

Yes, the customer did agree on installing his own weatherstripping, to his suggestion. Since he was painting his own trim he wanted to handle that part of the install himself. We pre-cut the weatherstripping to fit so all he had to do was nail it in when ready. Unfortunately our installers had the wrong color nails with them to which we offered to come back with a box as well as install the weatherstripping the next day, the customer agreed to the box of nails, but continued to decline our install of the weatherstripping.
The installers did not take any unused wood with them. All Lumber that was purchased for the backjambing was used. We can supply receipts if necessary. No wood that was purchased by the customer was taken off site. The customer even helped the installers load the trailer after the job was complete and nothing was mentioned about any additional missing lumber. Not until this complaint have we heard anything about any missing lumber ever.

A text to an installer with no response I can not account for. The customer never called the office to notify us of the lack of communication or the issue would have been handled immediately. When installers leave a job site they usually have another place to be, whether that is to another job or home for the night. The box of nails was definitely an over site by us.

Again the customer was planning on painting himself so install of the pre-cut weatherstripping had been placed into his hands,
The card was processed several days after the job was complete, the 2% additional fee was charged by Square for Credit Card processing NOT Garageworks. We can show deposit records to support that.

The customer did send an email to Garageworks that was somewhat offensive. He stated that he was unhappy about the box of nails for the weatherstripping and that the door was also coming away from the wall. We apologized again for the lack of communication with the box of nails, and offered to address any other issues the customer had as soon as possible. The customer then stated that he was out of town, but as soon as he returned he would call and schedule a time to have us come back out. Yes, the customer "had" to call the office to reschedule, he was out of town.

The customer then contacted the office about a week later to again discuss his dissatisfaction with his door to which we once again offered to come out immediately to fix the problem. The office assistant asked the customer if there was any lack of communication as far as scheduling a second visit was concerned to cause his dismay and he stated "no, I have been out of town, and unable to schedule until now." We then scheduled a followup visit with one of the same employees that did the initial install for the next day. The owner does not go on every call, he was simply onsite the first day to help assist and save time. He wasn't ignoring the situation just because he was not the one who showed up. The installer showed up for the second appointment early and reattached the door to the block as well as a few other adjustments. The installer did not have the screws long enough to secure the wood to the block and told the customer he would be right back, to which the customer once again offered willingly to supply the 5 screws he needed to finish the job.

The customer never implied that he wanted to be reimbursed for the 1 piece of wood or 5 screws he offered the installer. Nor did he mention wanting any sort of a refund for the installing his own pre-cut weatherstripping. The installer said he left the second visit and the customer was happy and none of the issues above were mentioned.

At most I agree that we owe him for 1 box of nails, .5 in labor for the weatherstripping (it does not take 2.5 hrs), one 5/4" piece of lumber that wasn't even the correct length, and 5 screws.

5 in labor= $13.00
5/4" wood= $10.00
5 screws= $2.00
1 box of nails= $5.00
Total: $30.00

If he is unhappy about the customary CC fee he is more than welcome to write us a check and once it clears I will reimburse the card in full.

Had the customer not offered our staff alcohol while they were working as he proceeded to put several down himself this complaint might be 25% warranted. Even after our staff refused the alcohol he continued to consume himself and watched them work for hours.

Most of what is listed in the complaint was never addressed with the office directly. All matters excluding the nails that were brought to our attention were addressed and properly adjusted pending the customers schedule. Our quoted price was at least $400 less then all others received. This was not a normal install. It was actually very difficult and not something the average garage door company would take on. We gave a fair price, and did excellent work at the end of the day.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The quote was for a "complete" installation. The installers were in a rush to finish the job to kick off their Easter weekend. My offer for them to use the lumber I had "laying around" was merely to save them the time of running to **** ***** and delaying their weekend plans. How they assumed that materials they were lacking that I supplied to fulfill their contracted job were somehow free and they could charge me full price is beyond me. They are certainly the first contractor I have ever delt with that felt that way.

My agreement to install my own weatherstripping was based on the agreement that the weatherstripping was cut to size and nails were provided. I asked twice if the weatherstripping was cut to fit and was assured it was. It was not. Brown nails were also not provided as promised. I was forced to spend part of my holiday weekend running to the **** ***** to purchase an abrasive wheel for my chop saw, nails, installation time and painting of the nails...as they do not carry painted nails.

***** claims it takes .5 hrs to install weatherstripping. That must be based on having supplies on hand and having experience doing the job, which I do not. Nevermind me spending another hour sitting around the house waiting for them to show up to complete the job later. Even the tech sent was amazed at the amount of work necessary to finish things by tightening bolts and installing brackets left sitting on the window ledge.

Suggesting that I send a check for another $1400 to remove the credit card charge fee that was not explained is rediculous. Based on the owners failure to follow through on past promises, there's no way I'm going to give him more money based on promises of a refund.

Bottom line: I was quoted for a complete installation. GarageWorks did not bring the necessary supplies for a complete installation on either visit.


Final Business Response
Garageworks is willing to refund the total for materials and time as listed in the previous response. We are sorry it took the customer longer than he expected to do the install of the weatherstripping, but that was the agreement before the installers left. They both stand by the fact that the weatherstripping was cut to size. Our company was more than willing to finish that part of the job and the customer can not expect us to pay for his time after he agreed to perform this on his own. As for compensation for supplies given, an agreement for a discount should have been made on site and not expected after the fact. Otherwise our staff is to assume it was a good gesture. Our staff never asked to be cut a break to get their holiday weekend started, that is a assumption by the customer.

Total: $30

All customers are notified of Squares CC fee before payment is processed. If the customer was unaware of this, then we accept responsibility for the miscommunication and refund you the fee amount.

Total: $44

GarageWorks is willing to refund the customer a total of: $74.00 but the rest of the charges being sought is unjustified.

The customer once again never communicated any of his claims to anyone on the phone or in person when the installers were at his home. He did send an email and an agreement for him to call our office when he returned to town was made. The same installer was sent to his home a second time within 24 hours of him calling the office.
It is unfortunate he is unhappy but at the end of the day we completed the job, and completed our follow up in a timely and efficient manner based on the customers schedule.. not ours.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
An employee at Garage Works severely damaged my pull down attic steps located in my garage while installing a garage door opener motor.
I hired Garage Works upon my neighbors recommendation to install a new garage door opener motor nearly a year ago. ***** ********* the owner, came out and quoted me a price (that I paid) to replace the unit and we proceeded forward; his employee, *****, was the actual person who came out the do the work. For some unbeknownst reason to me ***** admitted he went up into my attic to try to find someplace to relocate the unit.

I have never had any trouble with my attic steps, and had used them the night before ***** came out to replace the unit and they worked perfectly. When I got home from work I tried to go back into my attic and the steps would not pull down because the steel rails were so badly bent. I called ***** immediately and he came back to my house that evening and worked for 2 hours trying to fix the bent rails back to how they originally were, with no success. That night he measured the size of the rails, ordered them, and when he came to install them he realized he had ordered the wrong size. When he left that day he was going to return the rails and reorder the correct size, but in the meantime the chain connected to the garage opener motor started sagging about 6 inches. Again, ***** comes back to fix the chain which he was unable to fix and again he wanted to work on the old attic rails to see if he could fix them. He worked on them for another 2 hours to no avail. ***** no longer works for Garage Works.

I have called ***** many, many times since ***** left the company about my attic steps needing to be fixed. He has sent several other of his employees out to my house on different occasions and they all say that ***** needs to fix attic steps, not only for basic use but because they are a hazard.

About two months, ago I tried to pulled down the steps and they fell on my head causing much pain and a huge knot on my head. I called ***** and he sent an employee out to my house and he coordinated with *****'s scheduler that they would fix the attic steps on the following Monday, but they never showed up. When I called ***** he said that my phone call was disturbing to him, he would call me back in a couple of days but he never called. I sent him a letter on November 18, 2014 asking him again to fix my attic and have never heard a word from him.

My attic door hangs down 2 feet from the ceiling with a rail that swings backwards in the wrong direction. It is just a matter of time before it falls on my car that I park in my garage, or someone else gets hurt.

I feel *****, the owner of Garage Works, should be responsible to repair my pull down attic steps that his employee damaged. He has had ample time to do so, hopefully he will do the right thing!

Desired Settlement
The only thing I want done, which I have told *****, is to have my attic steps unit (including the railing) replaced. His employees, and ***** himself, have said that it is not that expensive to replace.

Business Response
We have been in touch with the customer and are working on getting this situation resolved.

We will be able to update once a resolution has been reached.

Thank you.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have waited almost to the end of my deadline to report back to the BBB regarding Garage Works response to my complaint, hoping for a positive result. It's very disappointing to me that nothing has been done to resolve the problem of my broken attic steps by one of their employees except for the exchange of a few phone calls. This has been ongoing for almost a year if not longer, and I feel a reasonable solution at this point would be for Garage Works to pay for the attic steps unit and I will pay for someone to install them. I think that this is more than fair on my part, and surely they want to get this resolved as much as I do. I want their company to be a success, but you have to be held responsible when your employee damages your customer's property.

Final Business Response
I have been hesitant to respond to this formally in hopes we could help Ms. ******* get this resolved with the appropriate offender. Since there has yet to be a completed solution I have decided to move forward with our rebuttal.

Ms. ******* called our office January of 2014 to address some garage door issues. ***** the owner was the first installer to go to the customers house. After discussing a new opener Ms. ******* pointed out other handyman type issues she was hoping to get addressed at her home. One of those issues was having her attic door stairs repaired. ***** mentioned we had a staff member who subcontracted that type of work and may be able to help her with that and her other repairs. This repairman, ***** ***** was then sent to her house to install her new opener. The goal was for him to complete the install and then give her a quote for the remaining handyman jobs to which he would complete through his business Providential.

That said, ***** completed the install and proceeded to go through the customers house with a list of other jobs she needed done. He has said very securely that he did not damage the attic stairs and that the damage was already present when he arrived to complete the initial install. This has been confirmed by the owner ***** as well. He did go into the attic to secure the opener but he said the stairs were already damage when he pulled down the door.
Furthermore, we have email documentation where Ms. ******* confirmed she wanted the repair work done for a total price of $110.00. If GarageWorks is responsible for the damage like the customer is claiming we are then why would she agree to pay for that damaged to be fixed?

Per receiving email confirmation from the customer to move forward the part needed for the repair was ordered and shipped to ***** ***** the subcontractors place of business. ***** actually attempted the repair free of charge without the part first and after being unsuccessful he then sent Ms. ******* the quoted amount via email with the new hinge part. I forwarded this email chain to Ms. ******* last week. She claims she did not recall any of this and that she didn't remember agreeing to pay for the repair. She then said if I had it in writing then she would do what she agreed to do, which was pay for the repair. Nowhere in any of these emails did the customer mention we were responsible for any damage to her home including the attic stairs she agreed to have ***** fix.

Shortly after this all took place last year ***** ***** and Garageworks ended their working relationship. The only thing we are guilty of is assuming this job was completed by ***** after he quit working with us.

We never heard from Ms. ******* about this issue again until months later, like 6 months later. She called our office over the summer and asked if we still planned on fixing her attic stairs. To which we responded with asking her to call ***** herself. We are not in the attic door business and didn't really know how to fix them. We explained he was no longer employed by us and that if she still needed that work done to contact him directly. She agreed.
That is when the customers story changed to him breaking the stairs while doing his install. That was not the initial problem and was never brought up until months after the fact.

I have spoken to ***** ***** multiple times over the last few months about this and he is sticking with his story. He claims they were already broken and that it is his word against hers. He admits he did not complete the job, he also admits ignoring the customer even after we asked him to call her repeatedly thinking she would just ask someone else to complete the work. He has also since moved to North Carolina and basically told me last week that he isn't responsible and didn't understand why this is an issue. I explained that we strive for customer service and that no matter what he thinks about the situation he needed to make it right. He guaranteed me that he would be in touch with Ms. ******* asap to schedule someone to repair the damage she thinks he caused.

We have tried to send someone out to fix this as well in November only to find out that due to continued use while broken the stairs were now unfixable and need to be completely replaced. Which now puts the cost at $350.

Once again I have discussed this with the subcontractor *****, and he said to me that he would take care of it. But I guess as of now he still hasn't.

I guess where we stand is that we are being blamed for damage that our installer insists he didn't cause. Unfortunately this has been confirmed by ***** the owner since she asked about this very repair the first visit to her house. Not to mention we are being blamed for a sub contractor not completing his job. I called and emailed ***** ***** with Providential again this am with no response.

GarageWorks should not have to pay for damaged stairs when our employee didn't cause the damage. Especially when 2 staff members including the owner were solicited for this repair before our install was complete. Even though the customer is not owed any money and can easily hire another subcontractor, if she wants to hold anyone responsible it should Providential not GarageWorks. Since ***** is the one who agreed to complete the work he should be dealing with this not us.

I can forward the emails, and ***** ****** contact information if needed.


Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/05/2008Business started: 07/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Casey Von Heinrich (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Aja Heinrich (Customer Service Contact)
Business Category

Garage Door Repair, Garage Doors & Openers, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service, Doors, Doors - Installation, Doors - Repair, Doors - Patio, Handyman Services, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Plumbers, Heating & Air Conditioning, Mason Contractors, Stone Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company offers the following services:
Garage Door Installation, Service & Repairs
Garage Door Openers & Supplies
Small Home Improvement Projects
Handyman Services
Remodeling
Windows & Doors
Brick & Stone Masonry Work
Driveways
Mailboxes
Plumbing
HVAC repairs


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

GarageWorks TN has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for GarageWorks TN

15455 Old Hickory Blvd

Nashville, TN 37211-6272

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 15455 Old Hickory Blvd 

    Nashville, TN 37211-6272(615) 207-7718
    (615) 430-2055

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*GarageWorks TN is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 207-7718
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Garage Door Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.