BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/12/2003

Olshan Foundation Repair & Waterproofing Co. of Nashville, LP

Phone: (615) 367-2800Fax: (615) 826-0858103 Mallard Dr, HendersonvilleTN 37075-2807 Send email to Olshan Foundation Repair & Waterproofing Co. of Nashville, LPView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers full service foundation repair including patented cable lock pilings, bell bottom piers, crawl space repair, under slab plumbing, exterior drainage, basement waterproofing, dehumidifiers, sump pumps, epoxy crack injections and crawl space encapsulation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/12/2003

BBB has determined that Olshan Foundation Repair & Waterproofing Co. of Nashville, LP meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues5
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Olshan Foundation Repair & Waterproofing Co. of Nashville, LP

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
08/08/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Lifetime warranty work in crawl space for water control not complete
Olshan installed crawl space gravity drain and French drain system in 2005 to control drainage problem under the house.
I was given a lifetime warranty (Certificate # ********). Initially, David D**** managed the job. Subsequently, standing water was found in the crawlspace. I reported this to Olshan, and Jeff L******** came to inspect. He said warranty work needed to clear the silt in the French drain. Crew came to do this and found French drain was incomplete. I spoke to Logan 7/25/16 and was told he would contact me to come out and inspect further. Have heard nothing since then.

Desired Settlement
Crawlspace French drain should be completed with exit point for water as shown on original job plan (2005) in context of lifetime warranty.

Business Response
On 8-5-16 we sent a crew to re-examine the issue. The original work was done in April of 2005. According to Mr. ****** he recently had found a dead animal in his crawl space and had to get it professionally removed and had the crawl space abated for hazardous materials etc. When we conducted our inspection we found a section of the system was not present in the crawl space. We are currently investigating what could have happened to the missing section, and are in the process of contacting the company who mitigated the hazardous materials. We will be in touch with Mr. ****** to come to a mutually agreeable resolution.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I await Olshan' further contact

01/13/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The foundation problems olshan was hired to repair in 3/2015 have returned. We started noticing cracks in the same locations in 09/2015.
Hi ,
my wife and I had olshan repair our foundation in 3/2015. The issues have since returned, cracks in the ceiling and walls. The problems seems worse than before. We have made many phone calls stared 10/2015 to reach someone with olshan, but to no avail. We left messages and received no return phone calls. It wasn't untill 12/2015 , mid month, my wife finally got someone on the phone, Mary. Mary stated she was "completing a workout order and that someone would be at our home the first week in January to asess for repairs". She also informed me that olshan would honor their one year warranty I expressed concerns with service being drawn out until the warrant expires. However Mary stated " olshan would honor the warranty bc a work order was being generated". I also stressed concern about ongoing damages occurring while waiting for repairs. We have not received a call nor seen anyone since the call with Mary in December. I'm not sure if we should request our money back to seek services elsewhere. Please be a responsible company and get our home repaired properly.

Desired Settlement
That our home/foundation be repaired asap and use correct foundation repair techniques. So that the problem doesn't reoccur.

Final Consumer Response Since I filed this compliant, Olshan contacted me on 1/11/16. Today 1/12/16 the repair were made. I appreciate their effort and fast response.

11/10/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Failure to honor warranty transfer
We recently purchased a house that previously had a foundation repair performed by Olshan. We were told when we bought the house that the lifetime warranty was fully transferable and that if any issues went wrong with those repairs that they would fix them at no additional cost.

During the home buying process the previous home owner did not complete the required paperwork to transfer the warranty. However, shortly after the home closed and well within the 90 day window to transfer the warranty, we contacted Olshan to get the warranty transferred. In addition to us contacting Olshan, the seller and seller's agent contacted Olshan to get everything resolved. During the process of all those conversation Olshan told me that everything was good and the warranty had been transferred. They also said that they would send out a welcome package.

A couple of months later I called Olshan to make sure everything was okay because we never received the welcome package and I was curious. They sent me a transfer form in July which was well outside the 90 day window to transfer the warranty. Once I filled out the paperwork with as much information as I could and submitted it they said the warranty was not valid because it was not submitted within the 90 window from the sale of the home.

This is unfortunate because I need them to look at one of their repairs to make sure it is sufficient because it looks like there is another crack.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to fully transfer the warranty into my name and honor the warranty. In addition I would like them to inspect the repair and make sure it is sufficient.

Business Response
On Friday 11/06/2015 I talked to *** ***** and informed him the warranty is transferable as it is on the actual property . He will need to send us documentation of his ownership of the property and we can put his name on the file and release any information we have on the property to him. Once he sends us documentation we will send him a form to use if he sells the property to let us know if there is a transfer in ownership of the property.

Consumer Response
The company contacted me and is transferring the warranty.

09/12/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Representatives of Olshan maliciously misrepresented their product and as a result, we are out a lot of extra money.
On May 11th, 2016, the bottom level of our home at *** *** *** Drive, Hendersonville, TN, was flooded during heavy rains that occurred in our area. This was the second time we had been flooded, the first occuring back in May 2010 when a major flooding event occurred in the middle Tennessee area. Extensive damage occurred as a result of the May 11th, 2016, event, and we had to replace flooring, drywall and floorboards.

While we were getting repairs made, we investigated foundation companies that specialized in water control. We researched three companies and had employees of each company come out to look at our property, including the crawl space under the main level of our home adjacent to the bottom floor where the major flooding occurred in both cases. We clearly stated to all three companies that we were looking for a solution that would prevent water getting into our home in a flash flood situation.

Joyce A**** of Olshan Foundation Solutions proposed a solution that she assured us would accommodate any water situation that we might encounter in the future, understanding that we were seeking a solution in light of the flooding that had occurred. We signed a contract for $11,104 to have Olshan provide several components that were part of the overall solution. The work was done by Olshan the week of June 20th, 2016, and full payment made (1/2 at beginning of week, 1/2 at end of week). The supervisor who managed the work that week also made the statement that the work being done would keep us from being flooded again.

On July 7th, 2016, we experienced (for the second time in 2 months) a major flooding condition of the bottom level of our home. We contacted Olshan that morning to discuss what they could do to assist us with dealing with a condition that we were told had been addressed. Logan P*******, General Manager, arrived on the scene and instructed us that there was nothing he could do, and that the contract stated that the system installed was not guaranteed for flood situations. It should be emphasized here that the only reason we had Olshan do any work was because of the two floods that occurred previously, and both Joyce and the supervisor were aware of this and strongly and willfully misrepresented their product.

When he was onsite on July 7th, 2016, Mr. P******* stated that he would have somebody come back to fix the drainage pipes leading out into our front yard. We have sink holes where the yard was dug down several feet to accommodate the drainage pipes for the water removal system installed. Mr. P******* said Olshan would bring in additional dirt to fill these holes in. In addition, the ends of the pipes were not positioned so that water would freely flow out of them. It is five weeks later now, and despite repeated phone calls to Mr. P*******, nobody from Olshan Foundation Services has come to our home or called us since they got our money for the work the week of June 20th, with the exception of Mr. P*******'s coming on July 7th to inform us that we had been lied to, but that they would not return any of our money.

As a result of the flood on July 7th, we have incurred close to $6,000 in expenses, including $1,900 to hire an engineer to survey our property to determine what is needed to prevent water from getting into the crawl space in the first place, $200 per month for a storage unit for our furniture from downstairs for an additional 2 months beyond what we should have had to, close to $1,500 to repair and replace the floorboards that were newly installed between May and July, an estimated $900 for drainage pipes and trenches that will need to be dug, $1,400 due to loss of our washer and dryer, and estimated $400 to fix the drainage pipes and potholes in our front yard that Mr. P******* stated Olshan would take care of (and they haven't).

Desired Settlement
We are requesting Olshan Foundation Solutions to provide us $4,000 in cash (36% of our investment with Olshan and 66% of our anticipated costs due to the solution provided not working). We would like to avoid a lawsuit in this matter, and would hope, in good faith and in light of the fact that they grossly misrepresented their product, that Olshan will comply.

Business Response
In June of 2016 Joyce A**** met with Mr. ****** to look at his property at *** *** *** Dr. Hendersonville, TN. They asked her to look at the problem of moisture getting into the basement portion of their home, not for a solution to prevent flash flood water from entering his home as he has stated. At no time during *****'s' evaluation of the ******'s home did they discuss the exterior flooding and the magnitude of water ponding outside the new addition. If the ******s had mentioned that their house had been flooding, ***** would not have proceeded with her evaluation since she is very aware that our warranty specifically excludes acts of God including floods.
The conditions Joyce found in the crawl space looked like the typical moisture intrusion when no crawl space drainage system is in place, there was no evidence of flooding nor was flooding mentioned by the ******s. After evaluating the conditions of his home, ***** recommended and gave Mr. ****** a bid to install a basement water management system, and interior crawlspace water management systems in the original existing house and in the new addition. She also recommended and included in the bid a section of French drain in the small area between the original house and the new addition. Mr. ****** decided to only have the crawlspace water management system installed in the original section of his home and not in the new addition. He also selected the basement system and the French drain to be installed between the new and original structures. These systems were installed the week of June 20th ,2016.
On the morning of July 7th ,2016 we received a call from the ******s that their home had flooded. My production manager and I went to their house a few hours after we received their call. When we arrived at their home we discovered that they had had a flooding event. The day before the entire Middle Tennessee area was under flash flood warnings as we received over 5-6 inches of rain in a very short period of time. We found that the water had flooded in the rear area around the new addition at its deepest over a foot of water along the wall next to the driveway. The water had receded by the time we arrived but the high water marks were still evident on the exterior of the house. I have attached pictures of the areas that flooded. In addition, though they did not choose our full repair plan our system installed only in the original section of the house pumped the water from the crawl space. The system installed is working and does work as designed.
Their contractor who built the new addition was at their home while we were out there that day. We discussed with the ******s several factors that looked like they were contributing to their exterior flooding issue; the slope of their and their neighbors' driveways, the slope of the surrounding properties, and the fact that their neighbor beside them had filled in the drainage ditch in the rear of the adjoining properties. We also discussed the fact that the channel drain that the contractor had installed to catch the runoff water was obviously not sufficient to handle the volume of water in a heavy rain or flash flood situation. The fact that this channel drain could not handle the amount of water during this rain event is why their house flooded.
We have addressed and corrected the re-grading of the discharges and filling the low spots with soil back on Monday 8-15-2016.
As previously stated when Joyce originally went the ******'s home there was no mention of exterior flooding, only moisture in the crawl and basement areas. As our warranty states we cannot warrant any work we do against act of God such as flooding. Had flooding been discussed she would have not proceeded with her evaluation of their home. We were asked to provide an interior water management system for their home. We did that and it is working properly. This flooding event was due to a Flash flooding rain event, site conditions surrounding the property, and an exterior grate drain not designed to handle an event of this magnitude. This house had well over a foot of water standing in their driveway next to the house with water pouring the crawl space through the foundation vents and even flooded the garage. This was a natural act flash flood event.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business owner is simply not presenting the truth. My wife and I both spoke with Joyce about the flooding situation and very clearly spelled out that this was the whole reason for seeking out assistance from Olshan. The work mentioned on 8/15/16 was shoddy at best - some dirt brought in, but the discharges were not lowered at all, and grass seed spread in our flower bed which we now are going to have to kill. But that is a minor inconvenience to the amount of money we have had to invest because of a system that was promised to handle a situation which it clearly did not. We are still seeking some sort of financial restitution from the business in lieu of a lawsuit.

Final Business Response
Business would like to offer mediation to consumer.

Mediation offered, consumer declined.

08/20/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Olshan installed 6 caplocks in our home's foundation due to cracks in 2009; we have worse cracks than ever before due to their shoddy work.
We paid Olshan for the caplocks they installed in our home's foundation in 2009 and they issued us Certificate#******** entitled Cablelock Lifetime Foundation Warranty on June 30, 2009; ***** ******* was the certified technician. Due to additional foundation cracking, we contacted Olshan Feb. 20, 2015 via letter about the continued cracking issues. They sent out a rep, ***** **** on March 18 and he contended that the company was not responsible for the issues at hand. I contacted Olshan genderal manager, ***** *****, and he met with me on April 17, 2015 and asked for a reimbursement because Olshan's work was not satisfactory. Mr. ***** contends that our house has not had any additional settling. I have pictures of where Olshan installed the caplocks and the area has vitually crumbled and the company did nothing to prevent water from entering the foundation area thus causing additional foundation cracks. The warranty is worthless and we have hired ****** *********** to fix the issues at hand. Mr. ***** and Mr. **** both have met and talked with Mr. ****** about our issues but Olshan still refuses to reimburse us for the $5900.00. I have pictures of the additional foundation cracking and the shoddy work performed by Olshan along with my two recent complaint letters.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund of $5,900.00 from this company.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: David D**** General Manag
Contact Phone:****-***-****
Contact Email: ******
The initial meeting with Olshan took place on October 9 2008, at that time several areas were noted to have cracks that could be seen above the surface of the soil. The work took place on June 29 2009. Olshan was contracted to install 6 pilings under the foundation, Olshan was not contracted to repair the existing masonry or cosmetic brick cracks. I preformed an evaluation of the areas were Olshan had installed pilings on April 17 2015. My conclusion is that the pilings are preforming as intended and no adjustments need to be made at this time. In regards to pictures being taken I have only been privy to one picture of the corner, as far as water entering the basement, I specifically asked during our meeting if any water issues inside the basement had occurred, I was told no water had ever entered the basement area. Olshan stands behind it's contract and warranty fully and will continue to do so.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Olshan's work on our house foundation completed in 2009 was and is unsatisfactory because we have just paid ****** *********** $8700 to redo what Olshan attempted to do to our foundation. We requested Olshan to witness the additional cracking that was evident in our foundation and water was discovered in the footers (not actually in the basement) in March 2015 that was witnessed by me, their company rep, my spouse, and Mr. ****** when the Olshan crew dug up around the corner piling their company installed in 2009. Mr. ****** unearthed additional problems past the one corner of the house dug up by Olshan's workers during the same week that Mr. D**** inspected our foundation. The wall in question had no new repairs done (not even cosmetic repairs) and the footer had a fracture in it. With all the damage to the wall from the corner to the step up/bulk-head, any repairs done to the footer should have included repair to the wall. Also raising the footer could have caused damage to the foundation wall if the footer was close to being on elevation. Both the footer and top plate of the foundation wall should have been studied prior to any form of raising of the footer. Olshan's work was a waste of time and money because the wall of the house was still taking on water after he repair and the foundation drain should have been brought to our attention and repaired as well to assist in solving the initial foundation issue. So many issues were overlooked and the foundation had to be repaired again by ****** ***********. We did not expect Olshan to take care of any cosmetic brick repairs as stated by Mr. D****, only foundation repair was expected. Olshan's warranty is a worthless piece of paper and I hope that other consumers in the future are not duped by this company. If we are not reimbursed by Olshan for the $5900, we will be seeking legal action to recover our money. Why would anyone pay out hard earned money to one company and be issued a lifetime guarantee and then in 6 years have to pay another $8700 to fix the original foundation problem? Per Mr. D****, he commented "that Mr. ****** just does it differently"...thank goodness he does do it differently. *** ********

Final Business Response
Thank you for your letter. I preformed an inspection and evaluation on Mr. and Mrs. ********'s home on April 17,2015. My evaluation showed the area to be well supported and I did not see the need for any adjustments to our pilings under the written warranty. The written warranty from Olshan provides that the contractor will adjust the pilings in the areas previously underpinned due to settling. The issues the ********'s are now having is not due to settlement. According to the ********'s and their new contractor Mr. ******t the home now has a water issue.
In addition, I would like to point out that the work was preformed pursuant to a written contract. Olshan Foundation Repair of Knoxville,LP stands behind its work and written warranty.
I believe the underpinnings installed by Olshan six years ago in 2009 are preforming as intended and the repair plan designed at that time addressed the problems the home was experiencing during that period. The scope of work from 2009 was never intended to address a water problem and therefore water issues were not contracted for and are not covered by any Olshan warranty. Accordingly, Olshan does not believe there is any basis for Mr. and Mrs. ******** to expect a full refund. With that said, Olshan is interested in resolving this matter and as a gesture of goodwill solely would offer a 500.00 refund in exchange for a full release from any future obligation regarding this home. If that is not acceptable to Mr. and Mrs. ********, we would ask the BBB to have a BBB mediation. Please let me know which of these two options works best for you.
Again, I want to assure you that Olshan stands behind its work and warranty and is very sincere in its interest in finding a solution to Mr. and Mrs. ********'s concerns.

David D****
General Manager

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, we do not accept Mr. D****' response. I cannot call it a resolution because we as the consumer have been taken by this company. Mediation is not a solution either nor will we accept a $500 "payment". Our next step is legal action to obtain our $5900.00.

04/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The foundation is not properly installed and my home is still showing signs of being unlevel in the area that was supposed to have been repaired.
On march 8-8-2012 The Olshan co came to my home to repair the foundation on my home I was told
the will put jacks under the home that will
secure the kitchen and the middle part of my home.
I was told I would have a life time warranty' I paid 4,500when the job was done. on the next year 2013 I had to call them back because it showed the kitchen area was showing the same cracking in the walls and area my sink, they came out and put more jacks under the home and said that is as much they could do but it will not slip any more.
in sept of 2014 I had my kitchen remodel and the cracks was closed up and painted , however the crack showed back , the new cabinets are disconnecting from the walls and my hardwood floors are coming apart, I called Olshan to come out and look at the work, I had to call them 4 times , finally ***** ***** came out looked around and say "oh boy" , he said to me I would like to see how much this is moving and he will get back with me in 2 weeks, that was back in oct 2014. I had to call other companies to gave me quotes and each company said the same thing ( olshan did not properly install the work and the polls are still sinking into the ground, I feel like the people at Olshan mislead me, they were not honest and they also lied about the warranty.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have a refund because I will have to pay other company to do what they said they was suppose to.

or I would like for the them do come and do the
job correctly.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****, GM
Contact Phone: 615-********
Contact Email: ******
I have received the complaint by Ms. ****,
In order to address the issues I would ask that I be allowed to preform an evaluation of the areas of concern in person. I would ask that we schedule a meeting at the home on April 3 2015 at 11:00 am. Please let me know if this is acceptable.
We at Olshan strive to provide the best possible customer service available, we will work towards an amicable solution to the complaint.


***** *****

10/01/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Refused to provide additional labor and materials to prevent water entering basement and garage.
The waterlock system was installed in January 2013. Water was still entering shortly after the initial installation. The company came out a second time and did repairs. The problem has not been resolved. Water is still entering the basement and garage, causing mildew and warping the wall. I met with the manager of Olshan on September 15, 2014 at our house. After his inspection, he stated that since I had modified the repair plan to the section of basement that was leaking (seperate from the main basement that was dry)he would not honor the warranty. He was basing his decision on the fact that wall shield was omitted from the modified plan. First off, wall shield was not suggested or recommended to me when I told the sales person that I wanted to only install the waterlock system on the separate section that was leaking. Why would I have not added it if was necessary? It would have been covered up by the wall board and who cares if you see it in the garage. Second, why would his company sell me a system that would not work? His argument is ridiculous and is not honoring the warranty.

Desired Settlement
Install wall board to prevent water entry and to pay for the repair of the wall and all other water damage.

Business Response
On September 15,2014 at 10:00 am I meet with Mr.******* at his home. Upon arrival we went into the garage area, Mr. ******* pointed out an area on the wall in the garage close to the steps that was discolored. I told Mr. ******* that we have a product called **** ****** that covers the walls and would collect any water coming from the wall and divert it into the system, I referred to my job file and noticed that this was originally purposed to be installed but the original suggested plan was modified and initialed by Mr. *******. I told Mr. ******* that we could install the Wall Shield for a charge. At this point I was stopped and asked to leave the home. I had not completed my evaluation of the issue nor was there any mention of mildew or a warping wall as there is in the complaint. I would welcome an opportunity to complete my evaluation and be able to address all the issues at hand. We at Olshan pride ourselves on providing the highest customer service and addressing any issues when and if they arise, I would sincerely ask that I be able to have access to the garage area where the work was done in order to preform a complete evaluation and that we be able to discuss any other issues in the complaint that were not mentioned before. Sincerely ***** *****
General Manager
Olshan Foundation Repair and Waterproofing of Nashville TN.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I state again, the "modified and initialed plan" was for a separate section of my downstairs that had the water intrusion. I did not want to pay another $6,000 to waterproof the separate part of my basement that was dry. I initialed the modified plan recommended to me by the salesperson to fix the area of concern which did not include wall shield.

I had Olshan return after the initial installation because the water was still coming in. They installed wall shield in a section of the wall and did further work to their drainage system. After this second repair I invested on rebuilding that section of my basement. Shortly after this construction I again noticed water entering the garage and the warping of wallboard.

Unless Olshan is willing to pay for the complete renovation and repair due to their inability to stop the water intrusion, I am not interested in them returning for a third time.

Final Business Response
Given that new issues have come to light that were not discussed at the time of my evaluation that was cut short, I am at a loss unless I can be granted access to evaluate the issues at hand. Once again I request that a meeting be granted at the home so that a full evaluation of all the issues be addressed so we may come to a resolution.
I respectfully request a meeting at the home to address these issues.

06/30/2016Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Additional Information

On December 29, 2006 BBB received correspondence from David Davis, Regional Manager of Olshan Foundation Repair, stating Olshan Foundation Repair is not affiliated nor associated with another company using the name Old Shan's House Leveling and Repair.

BBB file opened: 10/09/2002Business started: 01/01/1933Business started locally: 03/03/2003
Type of Entity

Limited Partnership

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Logan Plunkett (General Manager)Mr. David Davis (Certified Structual Technician)
Business Category

Foundation Contractors, Contractor - Crawl Space, Air Quality Service, Water Leak Detection, Basement Waterproofing, Waterproofing Contractors, Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Foundation Inspection, Drainage Contractors, Basement - Finishing

Alternate Business Names
Olshan Foundation Solutions
Industry Tips
Foundation Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Olshan Foundation Repair & Waterproofing Co. of Nashville, LP

103 Mallard Dr

Hendersonville, TN 37075-2807

To | From


1 Locations

  • 103 Mallard Dr 

    Hendersonville, TN 37075-2807(615) 367-2800
    Fax: (615) 826-0858

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Olshan Foundation Repair & Waterproofing Co. of Nashville, LP is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Foundation Contractors

Foundation Repair

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.