BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/17/2014

Charles C. Parks Company

Find a Location

(615) 452-2406View Additional Phone Numbers500 Belvedere Dr, GallatinTN 37066-5408 Send email to Charles C. Parks Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a full line grocery distributor.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/17/2014

BBB has determined that Charles C. Parks Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Charles C. Parks Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Charles C. Parks Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vendor refuses to refund goods that were damaged because of them.
I have twice used ******* C ***** to order items for my store. They provided an ice cream machine to store their ice cream products. However, they acknowledged but ignored my orders because they request that cigarettes must also be purchased in order to do the order. They came by and said that they would take back the ice cream machine since they believed that none of the ice cream in there was theirs. However, a lot of the products were theirs. Yet, they took all the ice cream out and stuffed the ice cream into crates. The products all melted, and they said that they would not refund me for the products that they claim are not theirs. I contacted a sales rep about the ice cream and a $36 cancellation check (Dec 2012) and three separate times he said he would come by my store to pick up and refund. But three times he came to Clarksville and did not come by. They believe that I ordered from another company by that time. On Thursday, August 8, I finally got another company to provide items for the store. Now, I need ******* C ***** to refund and remove their sloppy ice cream from my store so my new company can have room for their products by August 12.

Desired Settlement
I would like my $36 check, a refund for the damaged ice cream, a and refund for all their expired products on my shelves.

Business Response
This customer is a discount tobacco and beer outlet. We started doing business on or around 2/28/12. The first invoice included cigareetes and tobacco products as we agreed on in order to do business. They also bought other items as well. Invoice amount $******.As time went on they discontiuned buying tobacco products from us. Tobacco products are 70 percent of our business and is the primary requirement for doing business.The last several invoices were equal to around $***. We cut the customer off and gave three weeks notice. We came to pick up our equipment and noted that the product in the equipment could not be identified as ours since they were purchasing goods from other sources.

Consumer Response
When I started the business, I told the sales person that I would only buy tobacco the first time. I told him that I would not promise to buy tobacco from them in the future because they were expensive.
The sales person continuously visited my store and asked me to buy tobacco from him because his boss was pressuring him. I told him that I purchase my tobacco from ***'s **** on credit. I told him I could not buy tobacco from them because their delivery fee was too expensive and they could not be purchased on credit. If I bought tobacco from them, I would be losing money.
However, I kept ordering different items from them. Including some cigarette and tobacco products even though their prices were too high.
In June, they blocked 2 of my orders, one for
$600 and one for
$1000. I called them and they told me that my order was on hold because of my credit.
I called the person in charge of credit, and they told me that I had no credit problems.
I called the sales person and told him about the hold on my order. He told me that they wanted me to order tobacco every week; there was no problem with my credit.
I again told him that I could not afford the tobacco and associated delivery fees. It would consume all of my profit.
I kept calling the salesman to give me credit for the expired products in my store. He did not show up.
Finally, on the first week of July, he came. He told me that they would be coming and taking the ice cream freezer in a week, because they believed that I already got a new distributor.
I told him that this wasn't true. I showed him his products. Everything in the freezer was their company's besides 2 products.
However, in a week, the driver came to pick up the freezer. I showed the driver all of their products. The driver called the company, and the head of the company told me that I had already got a new company and they were going to take the freezer away. I told him once again that I had not hired a new distributor and I would not give them the freezer. Then he said that I had promised to buy tobacco from them. Which I hadn't.
The drivers had decided to call the police. The police came and the driver started to remove their ice cream products from the freezer and place them in their storage bins. Then they took the ice cream machine. They did not give me a three weeks notice! The sales man mentioned it only 4 days before the drivers took my freezer.

But right now, I need my $36 and I need them to remove their storage bins filled with expired ice cream products. The bins are taking up a lot of space in my cooler. I would also like a refund for all the wasted ice cream product.
I called the sales man on the first week of August. I told him to take the expired products because I had just hired a new company. He agreed but never showed up.
******* **** company keeps telling me that I had a new company while I was doing business with them.
However, I was not. And if you would like proof, here is the name and phone number of the company that I had hired after this whole ordeal: The **** ******* ******* - (XXX)XXX-XXXX. My sales person is ******** *******
I really need ******* **** to clean up the mess that they have made in my store.


Business Response
This customer was notified we would be picking up the ice cream box 9 weeks prior. We do this so that they have time to sale thru the product and empty the box. The box (supplied by us at no charge) had competitive product in the freezer box not purchased from us. This is a violation of the agreement. She refused to empty the freezer box. This customer refused to allow us to pick up the freezer box. We had to call the Police Department to assist us in the pickup process. Our company policy is that we guarantee only items guaranteed to us. We note this in our order guide with an R meaning it is returnable. Our policy is we do not issue credit on product purchased from other wholesalers or any ***'s ***** This is because we cannot tell what is ours and what is our competitors. Customers are notified of this policy when they agree to buy from us.

Consumer Response
When I started the business, I told the sales person that I would only buy tobacco the first time. I told him that I would not promise to buy tobacco from them in the future because they were expensive.
The sales person continuously visited my store and asked me to buy tobacco from him because his boss was pressuring him. I told him that I purchase my tobacco from ***'s **** on credit. I told him I could not buy tobacco from them because their delivery fee was too expensive and they could not be purchased on credit. If I bought tobacco from them, I would be losing money.
However, I kept ordering different items from them. Including some cigarette and tobacco products even though their prices were too high.
In June, they blocked 2 of my orders, one for
$600 and one for
$1000. I called them and they told me that my order was on hold because of my credit.
I called the person in charge of credit, and they told me that I had no credit problems.
I called the sales person and told him about the hold on my order. He told me that they wanted me to order tobacco every week; there was no problem with my credit.
I again told him that I could not afford the tobacco and associated delivery fees. It would consume all of my profit.
I kept calling the salesman to give me credit for the expired products in my store. He did not show up.
Finally, on the first week of July, he came. He told me that they would be coming and taking the ice cream freezer in a week, because they believed that I already got a new distributor.
I told him that this wasn't true. I showed him his products. Everything in the freezer was their company's besides 2 products.
However, in a week, the driver came to pick up the freezer. I showed the driver all of their products. The driver called the company, and the head of the company told me that I had already got a new company and they were going to take the freezer away. I told him once again that I had not hired a new distributor and I would not give them the freezer. Then he said that I had promised to buy tobacco from them. Which I hadn't.
The drivers had decided to call the police. The police came and the driver started to remove their ice cream products from the freezer and place them in their storage bins. Then they took the ice cream machine. They did not give me a three weeks notice! The sales man mentioned it only 4 days before the drivers took my freezer.

But right now, I need my $36 and I need them to remove their storage bins filled with expired ice cream products. The bins are taking up a lot of space in my cooler. I would also like a refund for all the wasted ice cream product.
I called the sales man on the first week of August. I told him to take the expired products because I had just hired a new company. He agreed but never showed up.
******* **** company keeps telling me that I had a new company while I was doing business with them.
However, I was not. And if you would like proof, here is the name and phone number of the company that I had hired after this whole ordeal: The H.T. Hackney Company - (XXX)XXX-XXXX. My sales person is ******** *******
I really need ******* **** to clean up the mess that they have made in my store.


Business Response
This customer was notified we would be picking up the ice cream box 9 weeks prior. We do this so that they have time to sale thru the product and empty the box. The box (supplied by us at no charge) had competitive product in the freezer box not purchased from us. This is a violation of the agreement. She refused to empty the freezer box. This customer refused to allow us to pick up the freezer box. We had to call the Police Department to assist us in the pickup process. Our company policy is that we guarantee only items guaranteed to us. We note this in our order guide with an R meaning it is returnable. Our policy is we do not issue credit on product purchased from other wholesalers or any ***'s ***** This is because we cannot tell what is ours and what is our competitors. Customers are notified of this policy when they agree to buy from us.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/10/2010Business started: 01/01/1934
Type of Entity

Limited Partnership

Business Management
Principal: Mr. C. Crockett Parks III (President)Customer Contact: Mr. James R. "Bo" Lanier (COO)
Business Category

Food Manufacturers, Wholesalers, Distributors

Alternate Business Names
Charles C. Parks Family Limited Partnership

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Charles C. Parks Company

500 Belvedere Dr

Gallatin, TN 37066-5408

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Charles C. Parks Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 873-2406
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Food Manufacturers, Wholesalers, Distributors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.