BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Emma's Flowers & Gifts Inc

(615) 327-0202View Additional Phone Numbers2410 West End Avenue, NashvilleTN 37203

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Emma's Flowers & Gifts Inc is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Emma's Flowers & Gifts Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Emma's Flowers & Gifts Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/25/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Emmas did not deliver flowers to a funeral in time for the service even though the order was placed 48 hours ahead of time.
An order for funeral flowers was placed 11-5-2013. to be delivered the same day. I received a phone call at 3:30 pm on 11-6-2013 that they had not "made it to the funeral home in time" and "do you have a home address?" I did not, as the flowers were for my bosses father. I said I would call back . When i did I asked for the owner and was told by ******* that the owner was not on the premises , but that she was the mgr. ******* said she would look into it and call me back. A sales asst. named ***** called back , admitted it was her fault and said that " there would be no charge to deliver it to the home" as compensation for our trouble! She said the flowers were left at the funeral home and that they would be delivered on Thursday, 11-7-2013. I disagreed , told her to at least go get them and deliver them on the SAME day as the funeral. Whereupon she said someone ELSE would call me back. ******** then called me , she said that it was impossible to deliver them that day and that she did not have a home address to deliver them to anyway, that it was my responsibility to find that out. I then asked for the name of the owner and was told that it was ******* ******, THE SAME WOMAN I ORIGINALLY SPOKE WITH THAT SAID THE OWNER WAS NOT IN! I told ******** that I wanted those flowers delivered and I wanted them to cover the costs because of all my trouble. No flowers at the funeral of my bosses dad is a very big deal to me! ******** said she would look into it. I told her what to do even, i said "call the funeral home, and get the home address, go get the flowers and deliver them! She said she would call me the morning of Nov. 7th with an update. I just spoke to the funeral home, Nov. 7th 2013, 12:15 pm, ******* ****** and they have the flowers sitting there. They have not heard a single word from Emmas about these flowers and neither have we. I request a full refund and i want their dishonesty noted .

Desired Settlement
refund and apology.

Business Response
First of all the person I spoke with was the HUSBAND of the woman filing this complaint; she is wording it as if she spoke to me directly as well as others in the store and she did not. Her husband was told this is a family business, a corporation and that I was in charge, by ME. I never said "the owner is not in." Furthermore the HUSBAND was told by the saleslady who returned his inquiry that the dishgarden would be sent the next day FOR FREE because it was our fault so I do not know where he got we were only going to take off the delivery. He probably did not register what she was saying because he was too busy asking angry questions about how long she had been here?! As a matter of fact we have already completed this delivery (on Friday Nov. 8th, the next day) and we have taken the entire charge off of the credit card (today, when the Accounts Receivable employee was here in the office). The credit card company may take 2-3 business days to actually take off the charge but we have done, on our end, what is necessary to remove the charge...basically void out the order. Also,we have no one named ******* here. Again, Mr. C was not listening...We have an employee who took this order and she is fairly new (less than 3 months here; although she has been in the INDUSTRY 2 years, Mr. C, does that answer your question? All point of sales systems are different and take getting used to)and she did neglect to place a "time" in that field, on the delivery order. This is OUR FAULT. We missed the delivery because of this and the saleslady did take it upon herself to call the number provided to inform the sender of our mistake. Yes,she should have gone to either me or to a team lead to alert us of the situation, a mistake that will not happen again. The saleslady has been *thoroughly instructed* on her mistakes on the order and in communication. If she had followed procedure we would have offered a new item for free, AND no delivery, no charge whatsoever, in the very first phone call. We have a good reputation because we usually resolve complaints efficiently and quickly and we believe in repeat business. Unfortunately Mr. C thought it was appropriate to call the shop and deal with everyone he spoke with in a nasty, vindictive manner. He was asking open-ended questions and not listening when we were trying to answer his questions. When I told him I needed to look into the matter and call him back he would not let me off the phone. I had to explain several times I needed to find out "who, what, when, where before I could move forward with the situation." I didn't know who had taken this order. I didn't know where the dishgarden was. I wanted to speak to the delivery driver. It was obvious if we called this man back, without all of the answers at hand, it was going to be trouble! I assured him he would be called back. He merely wanted to fight...and when we tried to explain a new dishgarden would indeed be sent out to whomever & where ever he wanted, he would not give us the delivery information. If a sender will not give us the name and the address of next-of-kin how are we supposed to deliver the item? The saleslady Mr. C was speaking with told me she told him it would all be at no charge. Of course we want to resolve problems and yes, we will absolutely do it for free but we have to know where, what day and to whom. It helps if we have a business or recipient cell phone, business name, etc. We didn't want to make a second mistake, after all. The funeral home is not always going to know this information. It is also my understanding the saleslady was quite upset while on the phone with Mr. C and had to pass the phone off to an older associate; she did not tell Mr. C (and she was speaking to HIM, not Mrs. C) she would have to call him back. I feel the way this complaint is worded is very misleading and there is no "dishonesty" other than the fact Mrs. C. is writing as if she was speaking to us and we are being misquoted. Obviously her husband didn't give her all of the facts. Be that as it may, we are truly sorry for our mistake. The dishgarden has gone to the requested next-of-kin. The charge has been taken off the credit card, in our store, and the charge should disappear from the cardholder's account in 2 -3 days. It's all free and we are SORRY! These people need to understand: When you call a company to file a complaint please remember they are usually on your side and will not try to "do you dirty" but if you just want to fight on the phone and intimidate (and that's exactly what was happening here) you're making it harder to resolve anything. You upset everyone and we do have an A+ rating with the BBB precisely because we fix (our few) complaints fast and well. We are too busy to try and play a lot of games, we are just trying to take orders correctly and deliver them the best we can.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/01/1961Business started: 01/01/1938
Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 1960, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Rebecca Tidman (President)
Business Category

Florists - Retail, Gourmet Corporate Gifts, Plants - Retail, Gift Shops, Fruit Baskets - Gift, Gift Baskets & Parcels, Florist - Funeral Bouquets & Wreaths, Balloons - Novelty & Toy, Chocolate & Cocoa

Products & Services

This company offers floral arrangements for all occasions including weddings and corporate flower arrangements as well as gift items, balloons, and fruit and snack baskets and other related services.

Alternate Business Names
Emmas Flowers and Gifts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Emma's Flowers & Gifts Inc

2410 West End Avenue

Nashville, TN 37203

To | From


1 Locations

  • 2410 West End Avenue 

    Nashville, TN 37203(800) 355-0202

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Emma's Flowers & Gifts Inc is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 355-0202

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Florists - Retail


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.