BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/31/2011

Paul Davis Restoration of Middle Tennessee

Phone: (615) 837-4400

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
11/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Horrible from day one, most issues fixed only after the owner got involved. Now only a year later my hardwood floors are bowing up.
We had an issue with this company from day one. Issue after issue, and cutting corners. I could go on and on about how many issues there were. We had one project manager, then there came another project manager and then finally the owner of the company had to get involved. The first project manager never signed a contract with us, damaged our furniture, messed everything up. The second project manager tried to fix everything but he was trying to fix everything by cutting corners. Really crappy work that he hired out to some guy that showed up drunk 3 days late because he said his car broke down. Anyways this brings us to he owner of the company. He fixed all of the issues that we were having at the time. Now only a year later we are faced with another issue that is a result of hiring this company. We had water damage and they had to replace the subfloors and put in hardwood floors. The owner even stated to us that the guys that they subcontracted out to do our hardwood floors were fired. He stated that our job was the last job they did. Well I am not sure what they did wrong but our hardwood floors are bowing up where the subfloor and flooring was put in. It looks horrible. There is a huge bubble going all the way across the hardwood floors that is raised about 3 inches. It is like a speed bump. I have already tried to contact the company and I get no response back. This work was done in July 2012, there is no reason why my hardwood floors should look like this. I can provide pictures of all of the work that we had to get them to correct. We paid for this with a check and had direct contact emails with the owner. I would like my hardwood floors fixed from this company because I should not have to shell out more money for something that was supposed to be done right in the first place.

Desired Settlement
I would like my subflooring that this company replaced and the hardwood floors that they put in to be fixed and redone in the area where is is bowing up. It is approximately a 7x6 foot area.

Business Response
This problem was reported to us beyond our 1-year warranty on workmanship. However, we would like to investigate the cause for the problem and will be contacting Ms. ***** in the next day to arrange a visit to her home to inspect the floors. Following this inspection, we will be in a position to assess the cause of the problem and will advise of the position of our company with regards to this issue.

Business Response
I have been advised by our attorney to not provide repair services to the flooring with my knowledge that the sub floor is wet and will not properly accommodate a new hardwood install without imminent failure. While we firmly believe that the flooring issue found in the *****' home was due predominantly by moisture in the sub flooring emanating from the crawl space, we are willing to offer a cash settlement equal to the value of refinishing the hardwood floors in the affected area of the home. This will provide Ms ***** an opportunity to either make the necessary repairs to the crawl space and sub floor prior to a new hardwood refinishing process OR allow her to proceed with the repairs immediately at her own risk.

The monetary settlement I am offering is $897.00 calculated as follows: 1) total square footage of kitchen, LR and hallway where hardwood is installed is 325; 2) Cost per square foot to sand and refinish the flooring is $2.76/sq ft. This cost is driven from the insurance company reimbursement to our company for this service .

If this offer is acceptable to the *****', then a check will be available for pick-up at our office immediately or mailed to their home. This settlement would be considered a FINAL settlement for this issue or any other issue that may arise from repairs our company made to their home.

It should be noted that this settlement is being offered in spite of this claim being made OUTSIDE of the 12-month warranty period offered by our company. It is made as a gesture of good faith-only to resolve the matter between the parties.

Business Response
As a last and final offer, I will issue a check to Ms. ***** for $1,800.00. This amount is equal to the estimate provide to Ms ***** by ***** ****** ********* and submitted to me by Ms ***** for consideration. If this settlement is accepted, then my attorney will draft a document that must be signed by the *****' prior to the release of funds stating that the financial settlement constitutes a Final and Satisfactory settlement between the parties.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I assumed you would pick the absolute lowest estimate because that is how you work. We, however, are tired of this issue and would like it to come to a close so we can fix our flooring with a reputable company. Paul Davis Restoration is no such company.

In closing I accept your offer of $1800 if these conditions are met...

I and would like the funds to become available asap so we do not have to walk across a subfloor anymore. I can come sign papers on Monday or Tuesday and pick up the check.

Once the money is received I will sign something agreeing that if any further issue arrives with our floors then it is not the responsibility of Paul Davis to fix it. I will not sign anything stating that moisture was the issue here. We all know moisture was not the issue here.

Also I would also like to request that this case not be closed until Paul Davis has held up their end of the deal and provided a check to us in the amount of $1800 and the check has cleared the bank. I do not want to have the issue with them going back on their word once again.

09/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Called 5/8/14 to have someone come look and repair the front porch rails. After several more attempts to get service, was called on 7/7/14 and told
that someone would come and I would not need to be at home. 7/9/14 a rep came out, looked and said he would be back, Called again, 7/30/14 reps, cell phone 719-2901 ****** or ***** would be out on 7/31/14 to make repairs, they had been so busy and he needed to stay in touch with me.
Left a message on 8/7/14. No reply and No show

Desired Settlement
I need the rails repaired and painted again.

Business Response
Our office records indicated that the requested repairs had been made following the July inspection however, the employee who reported having made the repairs is no longer with company. We've since reinspected the rails to the porch and found that they were not re-secured and repainted. We have the repairs scheduled for the week of 9-15.



Consumer Response
Consumer notified BBB the business resolved the issue on Tuesday, Sept 16th.

08/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have tried to contact the company about the repair so that their negligence that resulted in damaged could be fixed and they won't call me back
Paul Davis Restorations was sent out to me and my wife through our insurance company to complete some repairs following a loss caused by sewage. They told us that the project would take a week but it actually took nearly 5 weeks. When they thought they were done, the downstairs (the area affected) was not done professionally so we had to wait additional time for that to be fixed. During the initial time for the repairs, one of their subcontractors dropped a sink onto a brand new floor that had just been put down and gouged a hole in it. **** ***** agreed to warranty that same floor regardless of the decision that we made in regards to the repair of the gouge. After that, my wife brought it to their attention that the repair of the gouge was not holding and they agreed to pull the floor up and relay it with new flooring. This was the week of July 28th. It is now August 6th and we still have not heard anything about when they would come out and put the floor down. We have called 3-4 times with no return call back at all. The project manager is very unprofessional and wanted to do the project the way that he wanted to do it which is why the floor now has to be replaced yet again. I have even called the payment management company and they will not call me back either. When the project manager came out to look into replacing the floor, he was very accusatory and was very smart-mouthed in his approach to my wife and how he worded things. Had he simply done what was requested from the very beginning (that was to lay the floor last) all of this could have been avoided. Since no one will return my call, I look to the Better Business Bureau for assistance. The date of the loss was June 11. The project managers name is ******* ********* They were paid nearly $9000.00 via insurance check per *********** payment schedule

Desired Settlement
I want my floor replaced and I would like to be compensated in some way for the way that my wife and I have been treated. We have been dissatisfied in the past with things but nothing to this extreme

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ********, Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@pdr-usa.net
The ****'s signed a Certificate of Completion with our company indicating they were fully satisfied with the work we performed. This document was signed on 7-28-14. Two days later, on 7-30, I received a call from **** **** stating that a previously-repaired area of her vinyl flooring was 'coming loose'. She was informed immediately that our company would replace the vinyl in the entire area which included the affected room and a non-affected adjoining bathroom.

A project manager met with the ****'s the following day, 7-31, inspected the floor and informed them that new vinyl would be placed on-order immediately and that the delivery for this vinyl would take approximately 7-10 days. I spoke with *** **** by phone on 8-7 and informed her that the vinyl had not yet arrived but was expected to arrive on Monday 8-11. As expected, the vinyl did arrive on 8-11 and the project manager called the ****'s the same day to advise them that the new floor would be installed on Monday, 8-18. We feel that we've properly communicated to the ****'s throughout this process and we have the call logs and emails to support our claim. Further, we've stood firmly behind the quality of our work and without hesitation, agreed to replace flooring which could certainly have been repaired.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After further communication with the owner of the business, an agreement has been reached on the repair of the floor and the project manager who was the problem from the beginning will not be out here to my home. Further this complaint was filed prior to speaking with the owner to let me know that the floor had been ordered. The project manager never informed us of anything on how long it would take for the flooring to come in as the first time it took 2 days. Nevertheless this complaint was never about the owner. Rather it has always been about the project manager who was assigned to this project. The issue with him has at this point been resolved and the project manager that was initially assigned will not return to my home. At this point the owner, my husband and I are communicating just fine.

12/31/2015Problems with Product / Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.